DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the invention of Group I in the reply filed on 16 September 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “a thorough search of the subject matter of any one group of claims would necessarily encompass a search for the subject matter of the remaining claims. Thus, it is respectfully submitted that the search and examination of the entire application could be made without serious burden.” This is not found persuasive because, contrary to what applicant suggests, the examination burden is not limited exclusively to a prior art search but also includes the effort required to apply the art by making and discussing all appropriate grounds of rejection. Multiple inventions, such as those in the present application, normally require additional reference material and further discussion for each additional invention examined. Concurrent examination of multiple inventions would thus typically involve a significant burden even if all searches were coextensive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 32-43 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 16 September 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 30 is rejected as being indefinite because it is unclear if the limitation “a connector arrangement” requires an additional element to the “agent connector arrangement” recited in claim 27, or if it is referring to the same structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 27-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guardiano et al. (US 2017/0291052).
Regarding claim 27, Guardiano teaches an access facilitation conduit (fig. 1A) suitable for allowing access by a firefighting accessory (113) through an aperture (par. 52 – “pre-drilled hole”) in a barrier (101) at least partially surrounding a compartment (par. 52 – “apartment”), the access facilitation conduit comprising:
a frame (102/105) adapted to be mounted within the aperture of the barrier (par. 54; fig. 1A), the frame defining a passage therethrough (fig. 1A); and
an agent connector arrangement (107/108/109/110) configured for connection to a source of fire extinguishing agent (113) to thereby allow a flow of fire extinguishing agent through the passage (par. 55); and
a cover (106) retainable by the frame to seal the passage (par. 52, the cover being removably attachable to the frame from outside of the compartment to allow access to the connector arrangement (par. 55); and
a rupturable membrane (103) retainable by the frame to at least partially cover the passage (fig. 1A), the rupturable membrane being configured for being ruptured to access the passage (par. 55).
Regarding claim 28, Guardiano teaches the access facilitation conduit described regarding claim 27, and further wherein the rupturable membrane is configured for being ruptured by engagement of the firefighting accessory with the access facilitation conduit (par. 55 – “the firefighter inserts the main stream nozzle tip 113 from a fire hose into the door opening and pushes it against pivoting ball joint nozzle stop 104 causing a slight (e.g., 0.5 inch) forward movement of the pivoting nozzle stop striking, ejecting and breaking the eye piece and glass viewer panel 103”).
Regarding claim 29, Guardiano teaches the access facilitation conduit described regarding claim 27, and further wherein the access facilitation conduit includes a nozzle arrangement (113/104) configured for extending through the aperture in the barrier (fig. 1B/1C).
Regarding claim 30, Guardiano teaches the access facilitation conduit described regarding claim 27, and further wherein the access facilitation conduit includes a connector arrangement (108/110) for connecting to a source of fire extinguishing agent (113, see par. 55, fig. 1C).
Regarding claim 31, Guardiano teaches the access facilitation conduit described regarding claim 27, and further wherein the access facilitation conduit includes a frame connecting arrangement (112) configured for connecting the frame to the barrier (par. 54; fig. 1A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Eppelsheimer (US 369,636), Zetty (US 765,760), and Goble (US 4,858,695) all disclose access facilitation conduits having elements of the claimed invention.
/CODY J LIEUWEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752