DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 11, 14-22, and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more.
Step 1 (The Statutory Categories): Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter? MPEP 2106.03.
Per Step 1, claims 1-3, 6, 8, 11, 14-22, and 24-27 are to a system (i.e., a machine), thereby passing Step 1. However, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they are directed to an abstract idea, a judicial exception, without reciting additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The analysis proceeds to Step 2A Prong One.
Step 2A Prong One: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? MPEP 2106.04.
The abstract idea of claim 1 is:
for each of a plurality of TFA types, a set of TFA forms comprising at least one TFA form for filling out to implement TFAs of the TFA type;
at least one value for each of at least one key performance indicator (KPIs) associated with performance in implementing the TFA type; and
a list of members of at least one collaboration network suitable for collaboration in filling out the set of TFA forms;
open a file for a TFA of a given TFA type of the plurality of TFA types and to use the set of TFA forms, at least one KPI, and at least one collaboration network for the TFA type to facilitate implementation of the TFA; and
automatically prioritize filling out the TFA forms of the set of TFA forms for the TFA of the given TFA type based on a value of a KPI of the at least one KPI for the given TFA type; and
The abstract idea steps italicized above pertain to managing and facilitating trade finance agreements, which constitutes a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers commercial activity. This is further supported by [0002]-[0004] of applicant’s specification as filed. (Examiner notes that “[opening] a file” need not be technical and could be performed by an administrator reviewing a paper file folder, for example.) If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers commercial interactions, including contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing, sales activities or behaviors, and/or business relations, then it falls within the Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity – Commercial or Legal Interactions grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Additionally and alternatively, the abstract idea steps italicized above describe the rules or instructions for prioritizing completion of trade finance agreements, which constitutes a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing personal behavior relationships, interactions between people. This is further supported by [0002]-[0004] of applicant’s specification as filed. (Examiner notes that “[opening] a file” need not be technical and could be performed by an administrator reviewing a paper file folder, for example.) If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing personal behavior relationships, interactions between people, including social activities, teaching, and/or following rules or instructions, then it falls within the Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity – Managing Personal Behavior Relationships, Interactions Between People grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? MPEP 2106.04.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements are merely instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer, as described in MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claim 1 recites the following additional elements: a memory or access to a memory; a database comprising; software executable to; a processor operable to execute the software.
These elements are merely instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer, per MPEP 2106.05(f). Applicant has only described generic computing elements in their specification, as seen in [0035] of applicant’s specification as filed, for example.
Further, the combination of these elements is nothing more than a generic computing system applied to the tasks of the abstract idea. Because the additional elements are merely instructions to apply the abstract idea to a generic computing system, they do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, when viewed in combination. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Therefore, per Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements, alone and in combination, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B (The Inventive Concept): Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? MPEP 2106.05.
Step 2B involves evaluating the additional elements to determine whether they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
The examination process involves carrying over identification of the additional element(s) in the claim from Step 2A Prong Two and carrying over conclusions from Step 2A Prong Two pertaining to MPEP 2106.05(f).
The additional elements and their analysis are therefore carried over: applicant has merely recited elements that facilitate the tasks of the abstract idea, as described in MPEP 2106.05(f).
Further, the combination of these elements is nothing more than a generic computing system applied to the tasks of the abstract idea. When the claim elements above are considered, alone and in combination, they do not amount to significantly more.
Therefore, per Step 2B, the additional elements, alone and in combination, are not significantly more. The claims are not patent eligible.
The analysis takes into consideration all dependent claims as well:
Dependent claims 2-3, 8, 11, 18, and 24-27 include additional abstract steps and/and information that further narrow the abstract idea above. This narrowing of the abstract idea does not integrate it into practical application and/or add significantly more.
Dependent claims 6, 14-17 and 19-22, beyond any narrowing of the abstract idea, recite further additional elements (claim 6: wherein the software is configured to use a classifier; claim 14: wherein the software is executable to automatically initialize the file; claim 15: wherein the software is executable to provide a graphical user interface (GUI); claim 16: wherein the software is executable to enable a plurality of authorized users to communicate with each other by text and/or voice to access and collaborate via the GUI; claim 17: wherein the software enables the users to communicate in real-time; claim 19: wherein the GUI has a home page… the home page configured to display: a TFA ID card… a responsibility alert radio button (RABUT)… a header banner having wheel radio buttons; claim 20: wherein each wheel radio button; claim 21: cause the GUI to display a menu of selectable action items; claim 22: wherein the menu comprises an action item that causes the GUI to provide a display).
Similar to above, these are generic computing elements, claimed in a results-oriented manner, that merely facilitate the tasks of the abstract idea and are equivalent to “apply it.” Per MPEP 2106.05(f), whether viewed alone or in combination, these further additional elements do not integrate the narrowed abstract idea into practical application and/or add significantly more.
Accordingly, claims 1-3, 6, 8, 11, 14-22, and 24-27 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 15-17, and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leong (US 7167844) in view of Denker (US 20190026848) in view of Razvi (US 20060235778).
Claim 1
Leong discloses:
A system for facilitating production of trade finance agreements (TFAs) {VTrade system described in col. 8, lines 20-25.
facilitating production of trade finance agreements (TFAs) described in Abstract: The disclosure provides for creating a finalized document relating to a transaction. A buyer selects documents associated with a proposed transaction and indicates trade terms of an agreement relating to the documents selected. The trade terms are presented to a seller on an electronic form via an electronic document platform. The electronic form includes a combined purchase order proforma invoice, a transportation document, and a shipping document. The seller can amend the trade terms on the form, and each amendment creates a new version of the form. Negotiations of the trade terms between the buyer and the seller are conducted electronically and the negotiated form detailing the negotiation of the trade terms is generated and displayed electronically, also. A compliance check is performed and is triggered in response to a digital signature of the form. Payment is initiated to the seller after a verification of credit of the buyer.}, the system comprising:
a memory or access to a memory {memory described in col. 11, lines 49-51.} having:
a database comprising for each of a plurality of TFA types, a set of TFA forms comprising at least one TFA form for filling out to implement TFAs of the TFA type {a database comprising for each of a plurality of TFA types, a set of TFA forms comprising at least one TFA form for filling out to implement TFAs of the TFA type described in col. 32, lines 50-65: FIG. 67 is a flowchart depicting a process 6700 for contracting and fulfilling a business to business trade utilizing a network according to one embodiment of the present invention. In operation 6702, a buyer and a seller are allowed to negotiate terms of a transaction via a site on a network until an agreement is reached. In operation 6704, the buyer and the seller are prompted to confirm a form reflecting the negotiation terms of the transaction that have been agreed upon. Such confirmed form is stored in a database. Documents which support the transaction are received in operation 6706 utilizing the network. Such documents are stored in the database in operation 6708. The form and the documents in the database may be checked in operation 6710 based on a predetermined set of rules using a rule-based engine.
for each of a plurality of TFA types, a set of TFA forms comprising at least one TFA form for filling out to implement TFAs of the TFA type further described in col. 17, line 55 to col. 18, line 5: FIG. 5 illustrates a process 500 for affording a virtual trade financial framework. First, in operation 502, an agreement is established between a buyer and a seller for trading purposes. In operation 504, initiation and payment documents are received utilizing a network. Also received, in operation 506, are secondary documents such as an insurance certificate, inspection certificate, certificate of origin, invoice/declaration, counselor's invoice, sanction and boycott declaration, packing list, weight list, lab test report, and/or beneficiary certificate. Thereafter, the secondary documents are sent to a bank to be checked in operation 508. When operating, the buyer accesses the secondary documents via the bank. FIG. 6 illustrates a variation of the process of FIG. 5.};
at least one value for each of at least one key performance indicator (KPIs) associated with performance in implementing the TFA type {at least one value for each of at least one key performance indicator (KPIs) associated with performance in implementing the TFA type col. 31, line 63 to col. 32, line 35: One embodiment of the present invention makes information available online to help buyers and sellers make informed decisions, negotiate contracts, and structure these in accordance with relevant negotiations. According to this embodiment, FIG. 66 is a flowchart that illustrates a process 6600 for affording information services while facilitating a transaction between a buyer and a seller utilizing a network. A buyer and a seller are first allowed to negotiate payment terms of a transaction involving goods via a site on a network in operation 6602. In operation 6604, the payments terms and goods are compared with other payments terms and goods utilizing the network. Such comparison is also displayed. In operation 6606, access may also be had to a database of forms utilizing the network. The buyer and seller are allowed to complete the forms to reflect the negotiated terms utilizing the network in operation 6608. Rules and regulations relating to the goods may also be displayed in operation 6610.
Also see col. 32, line 60-65: The form and the documents in the database may be checked in operation 6710 based on a predetermined set of rules using a rule-based engine.
Also see col. 58, lines 10-25: Defining the SLA, with its specific, measurable criteria, is the basis for continuous improvement. The continuous improvement effort may focus on providing the same level of service with fewer resources, or on providing better service. An important part of quality management is ensuring that the Environment Management team understands the key performance indicators for service delivery, that these indicators are monitored, and that all personnel are adequately equipped with the tools and training to fill their responsibilities. While the entire team is responsible for delivering quality, the responsibility for Quality management should be assigned to a specific individual on the Environment Management team.}; and
a list of members of at least one collaboration network suitable for collaboration in filling out the set of TFA forms {a list of members of at least one collaboration network suitable for collaboration in filling out the set of TFA forms described in col. 24, lines 13-41: A VTrade system should provide the following security features: Authentication--No one can pretend to be someone else Privacy--Only authorised people and systems can access information. This includes privacy both during transport on the network and against unauthorised insiders Non-repudiation--Users are prevented from denying that they authorised the transaction Transaction Integrity--This ensures that stored or transmitted information in VTrade is unaltered Non-refutability--This ensures that users can verify that the actual exchange took place by providing a digital receipt or similar proof of payment Time stamping--This is especially important for responding to duties with a actionable deadline Security Components: Signature/validation: allow the sender to sign its message before sending them and to validate its signature Encryption/decryption of on-line transaction: allow the sender to encrypt the messages he wants to send in order to keep its content secret Authentication: confirming the identity of parties involved in the transaction Firewall and network security: establishing a barrier between the VTrade corporate network (secure network) and the external Internet (untrusted network). Only VTrade Members is granted access from outside based on user names and passwords, Internet IP address, or domain name.
Also see col. 70, lines 59-64: Collaborative tools 9004 enable groups of people to communicate and to share information, helping them work together effectively, regardless of location Process Integration tools 9006 enforce the correct sequencing of tasks and tools in conformance with a pre-defined methodology.};
software {software described in col. 11, line 65 to col. 12, line 10.} executable to:
open a file for a TFA of a given TFA type of the plurality of TFA types and to use the set of TFA forms, at least one at least one KPI, and at least one collaboration network for the TFA type to facilitate implementation of the TFA {open a file for a TFA, use the set of TFA forms, at least one at least one KPI, and at least one collaboration network to implement the TFA described in col. 32, lines 50-67: FIG. 67 is a flowchart depicting a process 6700 for contracting and fulfilling a business to business trade utilizing a network according to one embodiment of the present invention. In operation 6702, a buyer and a seller are allowed to negotiate terms of a transaction via a site on a network until an agreement is reached. In operation 6704, the buyer and the seller are prompted to confirm a form reflecting the negotiation terms of the transaction that have been agreed upon. Such confirmed form is stored in a database. Documents which support the transaction are received in operation 6706 utilizing the network. Such documents are stored in the database in operation 6708. The form and the documents in the database may be checked in operation 6710 based on a predetermined set of rules using a rule-based engine. ¶ Further, in operation 6712, funds may be released to the seller upon the form and the documents being successfully checked.}.
a processor operable to execute the software {processor described in col 11, In 39-49.}.
While examiner contends that Leong discloses the memory containing a database (i.e., a memory or access to a memory having: a database), an additional reference is provided for the purposes of compact prosecution. Accordingly, examiner looks to Denker, in a similar field of endeavor directed to contract negotiation and drafting, which teaches:
a memory or access to a memory having: a database {a memory or access to a memory having: a database described in [0009]: For example, the various contracts and contract templates described herein may be stored in a database in the memory.}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Leong to include the features of Denker. Given that Leong is directed to conducting trade finance business, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to Denker, in order to facilitate access across user devices {[0009] of Denker}.
The combination of Leong and Denker, while disclosing filling out the TFA forms of the set of TFA forms for the TFA of the given TFA type and for the given TFA type {See citations above to col. 17, line 55 to col. 18, line 5 and col. 24, lines 13-41 of Leong.}, doesn’t explicitly teach, however, Razvi, in a similar field of endeavor directed to performance indicator section, teaches:
automatically prioritize based on a value of a KPI of the at least one KPI {automatically prioritize based on a value of a KPI of the at least one KPI described in [0051]: FIG. 3A shows an exemplary flow diagram that illustrates a process of selecting and prioritizing KPIs. A catalog of KPIs can be generated so that the KPI wizard can select KPIs from the catalog (block 301). In the exemplary flow diagram shown, generating a catalog of KPIs is a pre-requisite for the KPI selection wizard. The catalog generation may involve receiving user input of the questionnaire (block 302) and generating a cross-industry KPI list (block 304). In some implementation, the generation of the cross-industry KPI list may be a result of using the five factors shown in FIG. ID, and generating the catalog of cross-industry KPIs may occur prior to a user using the KPI selection wizard.}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination of Leong and Denker to include the features of Razvi. Given that Leong is directed to conducting trade finance business, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to Razvi, in order to facilitate the generation of a list of KPIs that are most relevant to the business at hand (para [0052] of Razvi).
Claim 2
Regarding claim 2, Leong further discloses: wherein the least one value for a KPI of the at least one KPI for a given TFA type of the plurality of TFA types is generated by the system based on processing implementation histories of a plurality of TFAs of the given type {KPI generated based on implementation histories described in col. 58, lines 10-25.}.
Claim 3
Regarding claim 3, Leong further discloses: wherein the at least one KPI comprises a KPI associated with performance in filling out a form of the set of forms for the TFA type {KPI associated with filling out a form described in col 58, In 10-25.}.
Claim 15
Regarding claim 15, Leong further discloses: wherein the software is executable to provide a graphical user interface (GUI) to enable authorized users to access and interact with data in the file {GUI to enable users to access and interact with data described in col. 140, lines 55-65.}.
Claim 16
Regarding claim 16, Leong further discloses: wherein the software is executable to enable a plurality of authorized users to communicate with each other by text and/or voice to access and collaborate via the GUI to fill out a TFA form of the set of TFA forms {plurality of users communicating and collaborating described in col. 70, lines 55-65 and col. 211, lines 1-30.}.
Claim 17
Regarding claim 17, Leong further discloses: wherein the software enables the users to communicate in real-time {real-time communication described in col. 211, lines 1-30.}.
Claim 24
Regarding claim 24, Leong further discloses: wherein prioritizing comprises prioritizing responsive to a current state of progress toward completion of the TFA of the given TFA type {prioritizing responsive to current state of progress described in col. 143, lines 10-25.}.
Claim 25
Regarding claim 25, Leong further discloses: wherein prioritizing comprises prioritizing responsive to a number and qualifications of the members of the at least one collaboration network {prioritizing responsive to a number and qualifications of members described in col. 73, lines 30-40; col. 195, line 60 to col. 196, line 5.}.
Claim 26
Regarding claim 26, Leong further discloses: wherein the at least one KPI is weighted by communications bandwidth consumed in processing the TFA or a stage of the TFA {weighted by communications bandwidth described in col. 211, lines 15-30.}.
Claim 27
Regarding claim 27, Leong further discloses: wherein the at least one KPI is weighted by a function of an amount of funding and risk factors associated with the TFA of the given TFA type {KPI weighted by a function described in col. 28, lines 30-50.}.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Leong, Denker, and Razvi, further in view of Toffey (WO 2021231408 A1).
Claim 6
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Leong, Denker, and Razvi doesn’t explicitly disclose, however, Toffey, in a similar field of endeavor directed to digitization and trading of trade finance assets, teaches: wherein the software is configured to use a classifier to determine a figure of merit for an implementation of a TFA of a TFA type of the plurality of TFA types based on one or more KPIs determined for the implementation of the TFA {classifier to determine a figure of merit described in [0097]: By way of these examples, the data processing and artificial intelligence system 410 may train models such as pricing models, predictive models, models that operate on smart contract data, classification models, and models used to configure or optimize workflows (e.g., various types of neural networks, regression-based models, and other machine -learned models}.
Also see [0101]: In some embodiments, the document type model can comprise a classifier or classification model for classifying an unknown document as one of a class of document types. Such document types can include an invoice, a purchase order, a bank guarantee, a letter of credit, an insurance certificate, a bill of lading, a logistics document, a customs document, an air waybill, a certificate of origin, an inspection certificate, a bill of exchange, an import declaration, an export declaration, a packing list, a bank payment obligation, and a letter of indemnity, although any other document type is within the scope of the present disclosure.}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination of Leong, Denker, and Razvi to include the features of Toffey. Given that Leong is directed to conducting trade finance business, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to Toffey, in order to facilitate the configuration or optimization of business-related workflows (para [0097] of Toffey).
Claims 8, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Leong, Denker, and Razvi, further in view of Culver (US 20220076207).
Claim 8
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Leong, Denker, and Razvi doesn’t explicitly disclose, however, Culver, in a similar field of endeavor directed to user collaboration of shared documents, teaches: wherein members of the at least one collaboration network for the TFA of the given TFA type are determined by the system based on processing implementation histories of a plurality of TFAs of the given type {determined based on implementation histories described in [0403]: It will be appreciated that the association made between a particular event in the events group 730 and its default role from the set of default roles by the projects module 302 may be based on known history or prior experience. For example, certain events in the design phase events 810 (e.g., responsibility for the building's overall external aesthetic design) are typically associated with an architect. As a result, such events would typically be associated with the default “architect” role by the module 302.
Also see [0404]: It will be appreciated that the association made between a particular event in the events group 730 and its default role from the set of default roles by the projects module 302 may be based on known history or prior experience. For example, certain events in the design phase events 810 (e.g., responsibility for the building's overall external aesthetic design) are typically associated with an architect. As a result, such events would typically be associated with the default “architect” role by the module 302.}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination of Leong, Denker, and Razvi to include the features of Culver. Given that Leong is directed to conducting trade finance business, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to Culver, in order to facilitate member assignment and/or selection (para. [0405], [0460] of Culver).
Claim 11
Regarding claim 11, Culver further teaches: wherein the processing comprises generating a profile of a member of the at least one collaboration network {generating profile described in para [0068]}.
The motivation and rationale to combine this additional feature of Culver is the same as set forth previously.
Claim 18
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Leong, Denker, and Razvi doesn’t explicitly disclose, however, Culver, in a similar field of endeavor directed to user collaboration of shared documents, teaches: wherein the software is executable to automatically provide a user who has accessed the GUI to fill out a TFA form of the set of TFA forms with a list of at least one member of a collaboration network associated with the TFA form for collaborating with in filling out the form {fil out with a list of at least one member described in [0460]: An open invitation is extended to all members of a named group (e.g., a company) and/or the user community 14 who satisfy certain minimum qualification criteria and remains available until a first member accepts (or is selected from a group of applicants to accept) responsibility for the role. When such an invitation is issued, the projects module 302 and the community management module 304 may search the user profile database 314 to identify all users in the community 14 whose profile 340.sub.i includes these criteria and alert them that such a role is available for a project. Should only a single member from this subset of the user community 14 accept the invitation, he or she assumes responsibility for this role in the project. Alternatively, if more than one member accepts the invitation, the first user may be provided with the opportunity to choose from these applicants as to who will assume responsibility for the role.}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination of Leong, Denker, and Razvi to include the features of Culver. Given that Leong is directed to conducting trade finance business, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to Culver, in order to facilitate member assignment and/or selection (para. [0405], [0460] of Culver).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Leong, Denker, and Razvi, further in view of Papa (US 20170270537).
Claim 14
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Leong, Denker, and Razvi doesn’t explicitly disclose, however, Papa, in a similar field of endeavor directed to business reporting, teaches: wherein the software is executable to automatically initialize the file with the set of TFA forms {automatically initialize described in [0151]: In some embodiments, a create resolution process may be performed by the system, which may include one or more of the following steps. A corporate officer may initiate the process, upon which the system may initialize a resolution document object with default values. The corporate officer may provide additional information, key data, and/or resolution metadata, which may be used by the system to generate a resolution document. The resolution document may be provided to the corporate officer for approval. The same process may be used to create and approve corporate bylaws.}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination of Leong, Denker, and Razvi to include the features of Papa. Given that Leong is directed to conducting trade finance business, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to Culver, in order to facilitate prepopulating documents with key information (para [0151] of Papa).
No Prior Art Applied to Claims 19-22
There is no prior art applied to claims 19-22. Examiner was unable to find the following features of claim 19 in the prior art, when viewed in combination:
wherein the GUI has a home page that provides a view of a plurality of TFA files from which a user may select a TFA file to interact with, the home page configured to display:
a TFA ID card for each of a plurality of TFA deals that the system facilitates, which identifies and displays summary data for the deal;
a responsibility alert radio button (RABUT) that alerts the user to a total number of TFA files from the plurality of TFA file for which the user has a responsibility; and
a header banner having wheel radio buttons each of which wheel radio button is associated with a different TFA ID feature that characterizes TFA deals for which TFA ID cards are displayed on the home page and is partitioned into a plurality of sectors, each sector representing a different particular value that the ID feature may assume;
wherein a sector is selectable to filter the home page display to show only those TFA ID cards that are distinguished by the particular TFA ID value.
Some of prior art cited above contains a high-level description of the claimed features.
Leong teaches in col. 198, lines 30-35: Capitalizing on the two-way interaction and an audience of the general public, advertising is often utilized on applications deployed on the Internet. In a browser-based implementation, the use of frames or banners creates the possibility to dedicate a section of the display to advertising.
Denker teaches in [0047]: Upon scrolling through the contract, the receiving party sees that certain section of the contract are highlighted in the color of the initiating party (blue). If the receiving party selects a highlighted paragraph, the selection is called out in a box and an icon appears in the right corner of the box that represents radio buttons. If the receiving party selects the icon, the words “Show Options” appear.
Denker also taches in [0066]: As described above, one example of the system includes a GUI designated as the legal build view. in the example described, the GUI includes a colored banner, the upper right corner of which identifies the user by name, as well as identifies the associated color from the party identification page (e.g., blue). In the upper left corner of the banner, the particular contract is identified (e.g., for a lease, with the other party's name and the property address). In a preferred embodiment of the system, the center of the banner includes a button entitled “EZ-CHOOSE”. Below the banner, the screen is split in half (the center margin of which may be dragged left or right to increase one side of the screen and correspondingly shrink the other).
Papa teaches in [0102]: To give the user a quick idea about the quality of a given document, the system provides a report card, which may include a confidence indicator, an action audit, a term summary, and a list of core records including value source. The confidence indicator is computed from core records and metadata of the document. The best score that a document can receive may be set to one hundred, in some embodiments. In this embodiment, a document having a score of one hundred would have the following attributes: It was generated from a document template; its terms are all default terms; there are no document modifications; it was signed by stakeholders via the system; and it has a value source of highest confidence. The score decreases, for example, if a document has been uploaded and no e-signatures were applied. The confidence indicator, along with other document quality data, may be collected and attached as the document report card. The aforementioned functionality can then be used to quickly validate the state of corporate documentation, which can greatly reduce the volume of documents to be reviewed by outside experts, such as attorneys, auditors, or the like.
Culver teaches in [0308]: FIG. 10 lists a set of interfaces that can be displayed by the user interface sub-module 910 to the logged-in user. As used here, the term “user interface” (or simply “interface”) generally refers to a graphical user interface that allows the user to input information to the system 10, as well as receive information from the system 10. The user interface (such as those displayed by the sub-module 910, among others) is typically comprised of user-manipulatable controls that enable the user to input and/or receive this information. Examples of such controls may include buttons, text fields, checkboxes, drop-down menus, radio buttons and/or hypertext links, among many others.
Examiner also considered the following references, which are generally relevant to the field of endeavor:
Margulies (US 20070038499), which teaches in [0056]: Exemplary interfaces 120A-E include an Interaction Manager 120A, a Supervision Manager 120B, and an Administration Manager 120C. The Interaction Manager 120A, the Supervisor Manager 120B, and the Administration Manager 120C provide interfaces for the agent, a supervisor or the like, and an administrator, respectively, to interact with the network 100. In one embodiment of the invention, the interfaces 120A-C are browser-based applications. Interfaces 120D and 120E are further included to facilitate communication with respective database servers and user/callers opting to contact the call center via email, web chat, VoIP, web page forms, or other communication techniques facilitated through the IP network 116.
Datars (US 20080115103), which teaches in [0044]: The details web part 606 is an area of the user interface as provided by the presentation component 306 that presents more specific information for a single performance indicator, such as information related to the task items selected for generation of the performance indicator. Based on the example list of FIG. 5, this can include the Item description, priority value, status information, time constraint data, and do on. The forms 608 facilitate creation and updating of the performance indicator information.
Begue (US 20100082358), which teaches in [0029]: The transaction manager 132 also maintains and manages a transaction information history cache. The transaction history cache includes information that is mutually shared by the trading partners 102, 104, and 106 and that is used in the execution of business rules related to new transactions. The transaction management operations of the TPCM 112, such as selective caching of transaction data into a transaction history cache and B2B message management utilizing automatically generated user interfaces, are discussed in greater detail in related applications "Automatic Determination of Selective Message Caching To Support Rules in a Trading Partner Collaboration Management Environment" and "Automatically Generating User Interfaces in a Trading Partner Collaboration Management Environment".
Still, these references stop well short the specificity required by the claim. Accordingly, there is no prior art applied to claim 19. Dependent claims 20-22, by virtue of their dependency, also have no prior art applied.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
“Transforming agreements into contracts” (NPL attached), which teaches: We propose a way of transforming agreements into contracts in a dynamic, efficient and speedy manner, using advanced forms of matchmaking technology in a novel way. This complements the other directions in which the agreements are to be used, namely configuration, instantiation, enactment supervision and relationship termination and evaluation.
Margulies (US 20070038499), which teaches in [0056]: Exemplary interfaces 120A-E include an Interaction Manager 120A, a Supervision Manager 120B, and an Administration Manager 120C. The Interaction Manager 120A, the Supervisor Manager 120B, and the Administration Manager 120C provide interfaces for the agent, a supervisor or the like, and an administrator, respectively, to interact with the network 100. In one embodiment of the invention, the interfaces 120A-C are browser-based applications. Interfaces 120D and 120E are further included to facilitate communication with respective database servers and user/callers opting to contact the call center via email, web chat, VoIP, web page forms, or other communication techniques facilitated through the IP network 116.
Datars (US 20080115103), which teaches in [0044]: The details web part 606 is an area of the user interface as provided by the presentation component 306 that presents more specific information for a single performance indicator, such as information related to the task items selected for generation of the performance indicator. Based on the example list of FIG. 5, this can include the Item description, priority value, status information, time constraint data, and do on. The forms 608 facilitate creation and updating of the performance indicator information.
Begue (US 20100082358), which teaches in [0029]: The transaction manager 132 also maintains and manages a transaction information history cache. The transaction history cache includes information that is mutually shared by the trading partners 102, 104, and 106 and that is used in the execution of business rules related to new transactions. The transaction management operations of the TPCM 112, such as selective caching of transaction data into a transaction history cache and B2B message management utilizing automatically generated user interfaces, are discussed in greater detail in related applications "Automatic Determination of Selective Message Caching To Support Rules in a Trading Partner Collaboration Management Environment" and "Automatically Generating User Interfaces in a Trading Partner Collaboration Management Environment".
JOHN SAMUEL WASAFF
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3629
/JOHN S. WASAFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629