DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial Office action for application SN 18/865,381 having an effective date of 13 November 2024 and a Foreign priority date of 16 May 2022 (Japan). A preliminary amendment was filed on 13 November 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 9-15 of copending Application No. 18/836,902. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the co-pending application claims a lubricating oil composition comprising a base oil, a phosphorous acid ester comprising a sulfur atom-comprising group, a thiadiazole-based compound and a benzotriazole-based compound, and claims an electrically driven unit comprising the lubricating oil composition and a gearbox and an electric motor, which is indistinguishable over the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-13 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda et al (US 2017/0145337).
Masuda et al [“Masuda”] disclose a lubricating composition for transmissions which improves fuel saving properties and has excellent metal fatigue life and heat resistance. The composition contains 50 to 97 percent by mass of (A) a mineral base oil having a 100°C kinematic viscosity of 1.5 mm2/s or higher and 3.5 mm2/s or lower, (B) a monoester-based base oil having a 100°C kinematic viscosity of 2 mm2/s or higher and 10 mm2/s or lower, and (C) a specific sulfur-containing phosphite ester. Masuda discloses that the composition has a 100°C kinematic viscosity of 2.5 mm2/s or higher and 4.0 mm2/s or lower (Abstract). The claimed lubricating oil composition differs by requiring that the 100°C kinematic viscosity be 4.2 mm2/s or more. However, the examiner is of the position that such a slight difference in kinematic viscosity is not expected to alter the disclosed lubricating compositions for transmissions.
Masuda discloses that the sulfur-containing phosphite ester is represented by formula (I) in [0013] and [0066] wherein R is a sulfur-containing hydrocarbyl group having 4 to 20 carbon atoms, and R’ is hydrogen, a hydrocarbyl group having 4 to 20 carbon atoms or a sulfur-containing hydrocarbyl group having 4 to 20 carbon atoms. Examples of the sulfur-containing hydrocarbyl group include hydrocarbyl groups containing a thioether bond (-CH2 – S – CH2-) in their main chain or branched chain [0068]. The examiner is of the position that the sulfur-containing phosphite ester of Masuda may be the same as the compounds of formula (b-1) and (b-2) set forth in dependent claim 2.
Masuda discloses that the lubricating composition may additionally contain a polysulfide and/or a thiadiazole [0014]. Masuda discloses that no particular limitation is imposed on the structure of the thiadiazole, and examples include compounds represented by formula (4), (5) and (6) set forth in [0095]. Masuda allows for the addition of other additives to the composition including benzotriazole corrosion inhibitors [0102]. Although Masuda does not disclose amounts of thiadiazole and benzotriazole, the examiner is of the position that any effective amount of these components could be used in the composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Susukida et al (US 2020/0332218).
Susukida et al. [“Susukida”] discloses a lubricating oil composition comprising a lubricating base oil and (A) a poly(meth)acrylate in an amount of 2 to 10 mass %; (B) a phosphite ester of general formula (1), wherein R1 and R2 are each independently a group having 5 to 20 carbon atoms represented by general formula (2), in an amount of 0.01 to 0.06 mass % in terms of phosphorus; (C) a thiadiazole compound in an amount of 0.01 to 0.2 mass%; and (D) a calcium salicylate detergent in an amount of 0.005 to 0.03 mass % in terms of calcium; wherein the lubricating oil composition has a kinematic viscosity at 40°C of 4.0 to 20.0 mm2/s (Abstract).
Susukida discloses that in one preferred embodiment, the lubricating oil composition may further comprise a tolyltriazole metal deactivator and/or a benzotriazole metal deactivator in an amount of 0.001 to 0.1 mass % [0059]-[0061].
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Susukida discloses that at least one mineral base oil, at least one synthetic base oil, or any mixed base oil thereof may be used as a lubricating base oil in the lubricating oil composition of the invention [0024]-[0028].
In regard to dependent claims 7-8, 14-15 and 19-20, Susukida discloses that the lubricating oil composition is suitable for lubrication of electric motors [0001]-[0003]. Susukida discloses that for lubrication of an electric drive module, it is desirable to lubricate an electric motor and a transmission (gear mechanism) using the same lubricating oil in view of downsizing and weight reduction [0012].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/ELLEN M MCAVOY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771
EMcAvoy
April 14, 2026