DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, lines 9 and 10, applicant claims “an evaluation of surface properties of the adjacent region and an evaluation of surface properties of the separation region are consistent with each other”, however it is unclear what surface properties of the of the regions applicant is referring to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobashi et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0332373) in view of Fuji et al. (US Patent 2015/0231682).
Re claim 1, Kobashi et al. discloses an outer panel (figure 5) comprising a ridgeline (CL1) and a surface portion adjacent to both sides of the ridgeline on an outer surface.
Kobashi et al. doses not disclose the outer panel having a sheet thickness of less than 0.6 mm and an attainable yield stress of 360 MPa or more, the surface portion including an adjacent region adjacent to the ridgeline and a separation region adjacent to the adjacent region on an opposite side of the ridgeline on both sides of the ridgeline, and an evaluation of surface properties of the adjacent region and an evaluation of surface properties of the separation region being consistent with each other.
Fuji et al. teaches an outer panel having a sheet thickness of less than 0.6 mm and an attainable yield stress of 360 MPa or more (see paragraph 0043, which discloses using sheets having a thickness less than .5mm and TABLE 1 which teaches the materials having yield stresses of 740 or 860 MPa).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct an outer panel, such as that disclosed by Kobashi et al., to have a sheet thickness of less than 0.6 mm and an attainably yield stress of 360 MPa or more, such that the surface portion includes an adjacent region adjacent to the ridgeline and a separation region adjacent to the adjacent region on an opposite side of the ridgeline on both sides of the ridgeline, and an evaluation of surface properties of the adjacent region and an evaluation of surface properties of the separation region are consistent with each other, as taught by Fuji et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to use a material that has an excellent bendability (see Fuji et al., paragraph 0043). It appears from applicant’s specification that the claimed surface properties are entirely the result of the thickness of the sheet and its material strength.
Re claim 2, Kobashi et al. in view of Fuji et al., as applied above, further disclose the adjacent region is a band region having a length of 20 mm in an arrangement direction with the separation region, and the separation region is a band region having a length of 20 mm in an arrangement direction with the adjacent region. Applicant’s claimed band regions are simply defined areas which are capable of being defined in the combination disclosed above.
Re claim 3, Kobashi et al. in view of Fuji et al., as applied above, are capable of being evaluated where an evaluation based on a difference between a maximum value and a minimum value of secondary differential coefficients of a shape of the outer surface in a cross section crossing the ridgeline. Such a limitation only requires the device can be evaluated as such and exhibit the properties required by the evaluation, which, as the examiner has pointed out above, it appears from applicant’s specification that the claimed surface properties are entirely the result of the thickness of the sheet and its material strength.
Re claim 4, Kobayashi et al. further discloses a radius of curvature of the ridgeline in a cross section orthogonal to the ridgeline is equal to or less than 20 mm (see the Abstract of Kabayashi et al.).
Re claim 5,Kobayashi et al. further discloses a plurality of the ridgelines (CL1 and CL3, figure 14) are provided, and the ridgelines do not intersect each other.
Re claim 6, Kobayashi et al. in view of Fuji et al. disclose all the limitations of the claim, as applied above, except for an interval between at least two of the plurality of ridgelines being less than 20 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an interval between at least two of the plurality of ridgelines, such as those disclosed by Kobayashi et al in view of Fuji et al. above, to have an interval between at least two of the plurality of ridgelines be less than 20mm, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated by aesthetic reasons for such a modification.
Re claim 7, Kobayashi et al. further discloses a plurality of the ridgelines (CL1 and CL3, figure 13) are provided, and two or more of the plurality of ridgelines intersect each other.
Re claim 8, Kobayashi et al. further discloses the outer panel is made of steel (see claim 4, the device can be made from steel).
Re claim 9, Kobayashi et al. further discloses a radius of curvature of the ridgeline in a cross section orthogonal to the ridgeline is equal to or less than 10 mm (see the Abstract of Kabayashi et al., 20mm or less includes 10mm or less).
Kobyashi et al. does not disclose the outer panel having a sheet thickness of 0.5 mm or less and an attainable yield stress of 590 MPa or more.
Fuji et al. teaches the outer panel having a sheet thickness of less than 0.6 mm (which includes values less than .5 mm) and an attainable yield stress of 360 MPa or more (which includes a yield stress of 590 MPa or more).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct an outer panel, such as that disclosed by Kobashi et al., to have a sheet thickness of less than 0.5 mm and an attainably yield stress of 590 MPa or more, as taught by Fuji et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to use a material that has an excellent bendability (see Fuji et al., paragraph 0043). It appears from applicant’s specification that the claimed surface properties are entirely the result of the thickness of the sheet and its material strength.
Re claim 10, Kobayahi et al. in view of Fuji et al., as applied above, disclose a difference ΔP/B between a maximum value and a minimum value of secondary differential coefficients of the shape of the outer surface in both the adjacent region and the separation region measured across the ridgeline is equal to or less than 0.012/mm since it appears from applicant’s specification that the claimed surface properties are entirely the result of the thickness of the sheet and its material strength.
Re claim 11, the of Kobayshi in view of Fuji et al., as applied above, is capable of being evaluated based on an amount of reduction in the sheet thickness and thus meets the product by process claim limitation.
Re claim 12, Kobashi et al. discloses an outer panel comprising a ridgeline (CL1 and CL3, figure 14) and a surface portion adjacent to both sides of the ridgeline on an outer surface.
Kobayashi does not disclose wherein the outer panel has a sheet thickness of less than 0.6 mm and an attainable yield stress of 360 MPa or more, the surface portion including an adjacent region adjacent to the ridgeline and a separation region adjacent to the adjacent region on an opposite side of the ridgeline on both sides of the ridgeline, and a difference ΔР/В between a maximum value and a minimum value of secondary differential coefficients of a shape of the outer surface in the adjacent region measured across the ridgeline is equal to or less than 0.012/mm.
Fuji et al. teaches the outer panel having a sheet thickness of less than 0.6 mm and an attainable yield stress of 360 MPa or more (see paragraph 0043, which discloses using sheets having a thickness less than .5mm and TABLE 1 which teaches the materials having yield stresses of 740 or 860 MPa).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct an outer panel, such as that disclosed by Kobashi et al., to have a sheet thickness of less than 0.5 mm and an attainably yield stress of 590 MPa or more, as taught by Fuji et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, such that the surface portion including an adjacent region adjacent to the ridgeline and a separation region adjacent to the adjacent region on an opposite side of the ridgeline on both sides of the ridgeline, and a difference ΔР/В between a maximum value and a minimum value of secondary differential coefficients of a shape of the outer surface in the adjacent region measured across the ridgeline is equal to or less than 0.012/mm, in order to use a material that has an excellent bendability (see Fuji et al., paragraph 0043). It appears from applicant’s specification that the claimed surface properties are entirely the result of the thickness of the sheet and its material strength.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references all disclose vehicle body panel materials.
/JASON S MORROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612
October 9, 2026