DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 13, 2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitation “A method of producing processed soy milk food comprising the following steps 1 to 3” in lines 1-2. It appears the claim should recite “A method of producing processed soy milk food, the method comprising the following steps 1 to 3” in order to directly refer to the term that the transitional phrase “comprising” modifies.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a step of mixing the soy milk coagulum, a coagulant, and a protein material” in lines 4-5. Shun-Tang et al. discloses that soy milk coagulum contains protein (Shun-Tang et al., Abstract on Page 901). It is unclear if the claimed protein material is a different protein material than the soy milk coagulum or if the claimed protein material is the same as the soy milk coagulum that necessarily contains protein as evidenced by Shun-Tang et al.
Clarification is required.
Claims 2-4 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Han et al. US 2012/0156331.
Regarding Claim 1, Han et al. discloses a method of producing processed soy milk food (food composition having cheese like texture comprising a soy protein and a wheat protein) (‘331, Paragraph [0032]). The method comprises the steps of preparing a soy milk coagulum (tofu) (‘331, Paragraph [0034]), mixing the soy milk coagulum, a coagulant, and a protein material (wheat protein) to obtain a raw material mixture (‘331, Paragraphs [0030] and [0033]), and heating the raw material mixture (‘331, Paragraph [0034]). Han et al. also discloses the amount of protein derived from the protein material being 15% to 35% by mass of wheat protein as a solid content by mass relative to the total amount of the raw material mixture and 0.5% to 10% by mass of soy protein as a solid content by mass relative to the total mass of the raw material (‘331, Paragraph [0023]), which overlaps the claimed amount of protein derived from the protein material being 9.5 to 34% by mass relative to the total amount of the raw material mixture and the claimed amount of solid content derived from the soy milk coagulum being 2.5 to 30% by mass relative to the total amount of the raw material mixture, respectively. Where, as by a recitation of ranges or otherwise, a claim covers several compositions, the claim is anticipated if one of them is in the prior art in view of Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citing In re Petering, 301 F.2d 676, 682, 133 USPQ 275, 280 (CCPA 1962)) (MPEP § 2131.03.I.). Furthermore, when the prior art discloses a range which touches or overlaps the claimed range but no specific examples falling within the claimed range are disclosed, a case by case determination must be made as to anticipation. In order to anticipate the claims, the claimed subject matter must be disclosed in the reference with sufficient specificity to constitute an anticipation under the statute in view of ClearValue Inc. v. Pearl River Polymers Inc., 668 F.3d 1340, 101 USPQ2d 1773 (Fed. Cir. 2012) with Atofina v. Great Lakes Chem. Corp, 441 F.3d 991, 999, 78 USPQ2d 1417, 1423 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (MPEP § 2131.03.II.). In the present instance, the prior art of Han et al. discloses an equally broad wheat protein concentration of 15% to 35% by mass relative to the total amount of the raw material mixture that overlaps a majority of the claimed protein concentration of 9.5 to 34%. Similarly, Han et al. discloses 0.5% to 10% by mass of soy protein as a solid content by mass relative to the total mass of the raw material, which overlaps the lower end of the claimed soy milk coagulum range of 2.5 to 30%.
Regarding Claim 2, Han et al. discloses the amount of coagulant used in the step of mixing soy milk coagulum, a coagulant, and a protein material to obtain a raw material mixture typically being in an amount of from 0.1% to 1% by mass and that the amount of coagulant added is not limited as long as it is sufficient for coagulation of the soy protein (‘331, Paragraph [0030]). Where, as by a recitation of ranges or otherwise, a claim covers several compositions, the claim is anticipated if one of them is in the prior art in view of Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citing In re Petering, 301 F.2d 676, 682, 133 USPQ 275, 280 (CCPA 1962)) (MPEP § 2131.03.I.). Furthermore, when the prior art discloses a range which touches or overlaps the claimed range but no specific examples falling within the claimed range are disclosed, a case by case determination must be made as to anticipation. In order to anticipate the claims, the claimed subject matter must be disclosed in the reference with sufficient specificity to constitute an anticipation under the statute in view of ClearValue Inc. v. Pearl River Polymers Inc., 668 F.3d 1340, 101 USPQ2d 1773 (Fed. Cir. 2012) with Atofina v. Great Lakes Chem. Corp, 441 F.3d 991, 999, 78 USPQ2d 1417, 1423 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (MPEP § 2131.03.II.). In the present instance, the prior art of Han et al. discloses coagulant concentration that overlaps the lower end of the claimed coagulant concentration of 0.3 to 10 parts by mass relative to 100 parts by mass of the protein derived from the protein material.
Regarding Claim 3, Han et al. discloses the protein material being wheat protein (‘331, Paragraph [0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. US 2012/0156331.
Regarding Claim 1, Han et al. anticipates the limitations of Claim 1 as enumerated in the anticipation rejections under 35 USC 102 above. However, in the event that it can be argued that Han et al. does not disclose the claimed concentration of protein material being 9.5 to 34% by mass relative to the total amount of the raw material mixture and/or the claimed concentration of solid content derived from the soy milk coagulum being 2.5 to 30% by mass relative to the total amount of the raw material mixture with sufficient specificity, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Han et al. and modify the concentration of protein material and solid content derived from the soy milk coagulum relative to the total amount of raw material mixture since differences in the protein material and solid content derived from the soy milk coagulum concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such protein material and solid content derived from the soy milk coagulum concentration ranges is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). One of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the concentration of wheat protein and soy milk coagulum based upon the desired viscous elasticity of the food composition (‘331, Paragraph [0026]).
Regarding Claim 2, Han et al. anticipates the limitations of Claim 2 as enumerated in the anticipation rejections under 35 USC 102 above. However, in the event that it can be argued that Han et al. does not teach the concentration of coagulant used relative to the mass of the protein derived from the protein material with sufficient specificity, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of Han et al. and use typical solid content concentrations of coagulant of from 0.1% to 1% by mass which overlaps the claimed amount of coagulant being 0.3 to 10 parts by mass relative to 100 parts by mass of the protein derived from the protein material since differences in the coagulant concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such coagulant concentration ranges is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). One of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the coagulant concentration to be large enough to induce coagulation of the soy protein (‘331, Paragraph [0030]).
Regarding Claim 3, Han et al. discloses the protein material being wheat protein (‘331, Paragraph [0034]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. US 2012/0156331 as applied to claim 1 above in view of Sacks “A Beginner’s Guide to Buying and Cooking Tofu” <https://web.archive.org/web/20200722024232/https://foodprint.org/blog/buying-and-cooking-tofu/> (published June 22, 2020) (herein referred to as “Sacks”).
Regarding Claim 4, Han et al. discloses a step of refrigerating the heated raw material mixture after the step of heating the raw material mixture (‘331, Paragraph [0058]). However, Han et al. is silent regarding the refrigerating step being conducted at freezing temperatures.
Sacks discloses tofu can be frozen to preserve the tofu wherein freezing tofu changes its texture and gives it a distinctive sponginess which allows it to soak up more sauce and adds a unique texture to dishes. (Sacks, Page 4).
Both Han et al. and Sacks are directed towards the same field of endeavor of methods of processing soy milk food in the form of tofu. Both methods of Han et al. and Sacks have a step of refrigerating the tofu. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of Han et al. that already stores a tofu food product in a refrigerator and freeze the tofu as taught by Sacks in order to change the texture of the tofu and give it a distinctive sponginess to allow it to soak up more sauce and add a unique texture as desired (Sacks, Page 4).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. US 2012/0156331 as applied to claim 1 above in view of Rhubarbarians “How to Make Crispy Tofu (3 Ways)” <https://web.archive.org/web/20210411042226/https://www.rhubarbarians.com/crispy-tofu/> (published April 2, 2021) (herein referred to as “Rhubarbarians”).
Regarding Claim 4, Han et al. discloses a step of refrigerating the heated raw material mixture after the step of heating the raw material mixture (‘331, Paragraph [0058]). However, Han et al. is silent regarding the refrigerating step being conducted at freezing temperatures.
Rhubarbarians discloses crispy tofu comprising one 14-16 oz. block of firm tofu and all purpose flour for coating the tofu (Bozeman, Page 7) wherein the cooked tofu can be frozen to become more dense and chewy after freezing (Bozeman, Page 15).
Both Han et al. and Rhubarbarians are directed towards the same field of endeavor of methods of processing soy milk food in the form of tofu. Both methods of Han et al. and Rhubarbarians have a step of refrigerating the tofu. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of Han et al. that already stores a tofu food product in a refrigerator and freeze the tofu as taught by Rhubarbarians in order to make cooked tofu more dense and chewy after freezing (Bozeman, Page 15). It is noted that the transitional phrase “comprising” recited in Claim 4 does not preclude the unrecited step of cooking tofu/soy milk coagulum disclosed by Rhubarbarians.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hager EP 0 031 622 discloses a soy protein based meat analog binder which binds at relatively low temperatures generally above about 55°C but less than about 80°C (‘622, Page 3, lines 17-20) wherein textured protein food products are formed by mixing particulate textured protein material with a binder comprising an aqueous solution containing at least about 20% by weight of cation exchange treated soybean protein, shaping the coated particulate material into a unitary shaped product, and heating the shaped product to heat set the binder (‘622, Page 7, lines 1-13) wherein particulate textured protein materials consists of from 30 to 100% protein on a dry weight basis (‘622, Page 8, lines 7-19).
Varadan et al. US 2017/0188612 discloses a composition comprising an edible fibrous component including an extruded mixture of isolated plant proteins containing wheat gluten and soy protein isolate and a flavoring agent such as yeast extract, a protein hydrolysate, or an oil, and a flavor compound (‘612, Paragraph [0017]).
Chen et al. US 2024/0130395 discloses gels formed form pulse protein (‘395, Paragraph [0001]) allowing for wider applications as an alternative to animal or soy protein in food additives to provide gel like food texture for meat analogues and egg replacers (‘395, Paragraph [0043]) wherein the heat induced gels from pulse protein are formed by pretreatment with an acidic or alkaline pH causing the formation of a three dimensional coagulum (‘395, Paragraph [0047]).
Niskakoski et al. US 2024/0032564 discloses a plant based proteinaceous binder ingredient for improving structural properties of formed meat replacement food products (‘564, Paragraph [0019]) wherein the plant based proteinaceous binder ingredient comprises a disturbed coagulum (‘564, Paragraph [0029]) wherein the coagulum is a clot or a curd (‘564, Paragraph [0040]).
Singer et al. US 4,961,953 discloses a protein coagulum rendered insoluble through application of heat.
Mase et al. US 2011/0045135 discloses a processed soybean food comprising soy milk having a concentration of 10% to 15% and coagulant agent liquid wherein the coagulant agent liquid includes a coagulant agent generated by dissolving the coagulant agent in warm water in an amount of 0.5 to 1.5 times a volume of the soy milk wherein the coagulant agent coagulates protein contained in the soy milk and contains magnesium chloride and/or calcium chloride wherein a curd is obtained by mixing the soy milk with the coagulant agent liquid (‘135, Paragraph [0010]) wherein the concentration of soy milk represents a percentage of a solid content of the total mass of soy milk (‘135, Paragraph [0011]) wherein general cotton tofu is produced by dissolving the coagulant agent into a small amount of warm water and mixing with soy milk of high temperature (‘135, Paragraph [0013]) wherein the concentration of soy milk in the mixture of the coagulant agent and soy milk is relatively high to make relatively large blocks when protein in the soy milk is coagulated (‘135, Paragraph [0014]).
Moriyama et al. US 2004/0107840 discloses a soy milk coagulating device to make tofu and yuba from soy milk (‘840, Paragraph [0002]) wherein tofu making devices have coagulating units of small volume of 2 to 10 liters to heat and coagulate soy milk using Joule heat through direct electrification (‘840, Paragraph [0005]) wherein the tofu control system heats soy milk to a set temperature (‘840, Paragraph [0030]) wherein calcium chloride, magnesium chloride, calcium sulfate, or the like is used as a coagulant for tofu (‘840, Paragraph [0061]).
Noguchi US 4,992,294 discloses a method of making a silk type bean curd made only using calcium sulfate and glucono delta lactone as coagulating agents (‘294, Column 1, lines 63-66).
Sugisawa et al. US 4,585,665 discloses a method of making pressed tofu comprising the steps of subjecting curd prepared by a adding a coagulant to soybean milk or an aqueous solution of isolated soybean protein and heating to enable compact texture to be imparted to the product wherein a coagulant is added to the soybean milk or aqueous solution of isolated soybean protein to form a curd wherein the coagulant is any of well known coagulants for tofu such as delta gluconic lactones (GDL) and a divalent metal salt such as calcium sulfate wherein the coagulants are used singly or in combination wherein the coagulant is calcium sulfate in an amount of 0.25 to 0.65%.
Sato et al. US 5,945,151 discloses a method of producing soybean protein foods prepared using soy milk (‘151, Column 1, lines 4-8) wherein the soybean protein food comprises a coagulant comprising glucono delta lactone, magnesium chloride, sodium citrate, and an edible material and dissolved to make a solution that is added to soy milk to form a mixture which mixture is maintained at 80°C for 20 minutes to produce tofu (‘151, Column 5, lines 33-54).
Lundberg et al. US 2021/0161173 discloses soy protein isolates are usually used as the foundation for most meat analogs wherein soy protein isolate is a highly pure form of soy protein with a minimum protein content of 90% (‘173, Paragraph [0005]) wherein soy proteins coagulate at 68°C (‘173, Paragraph [0010]).
Ohno US 2020/0113201 discloses a method for producing a vegetable fresh cheese like food product in which an emulsified oil composition in which a soybean emulsified composition and a soybean protein material are used together containing 0.1 to 0.5 wt% of a protein coagulant (‘201, Paragraph [0030]) wherein the protein coagulant includes glucono delta lactone, magnesium chloride, calcium sulfate, and bittern, (‘201, Paragraph [0069]).
Graham et al. US 2019/0037880 discloses a method of making protein milk and tofu like foods from oilseeds (‘880, Paragraph [0001]) wherein tofu is a highly nutritious, protein rich food made from the curds of soybean milk wherein basic regular tofu is a bland white, soft product prepared from soybeans for extraction of soy protein wherein whole dry soybeans are saturated with water at ambient temperature and ground to the desired particulate size which ground soybean slurry is cooked with heat to denature soy protein and remove some volatile flavors wherein the resultant soy slurry is filtered to remove soy pulp or fiber and the slurry is filtered prior to cooking (‘880, Paragraph [0003]) wherein silken tofu has a high moisture content and firm tofu has a texture similar to firm custard and extra firm tofu has a majority of the liquid removed (‘880, Paragraph [0004]) wherein tofu is obtained using a variety of coagulants at different concentrations applied to milk produced under different conditions, e.g. meal to water ratio, soaking time (‘880, Paragraph [0057]).
Modler US 2002/0197369 discloses a method of the continuous production of soft protein foods such as soft cheese, tofu, and casein (‘369, Paragraph [0001]) comprising the step of separating coagulated soyfood to provide the tofu product (‘369, Paragraph [0048]) wherein the coagulant is typically a mineral salt such as chloride and sulfate salts of calcium or magnesium or an organic acid such as citric, lactic, or acetic acid when making tofu (‘369, Paragraph [0195]) wherein soybean milk contains solids protein, and fat and is processed by continuous heating and addition of calcium chloride, coagulation and curd separation (‘369, Paragraph [0249]).
Katayama et al. US 4,391,835 discloses a method of making a simulated tofu product comprising the steps of mixing fish protein with soybean protein prior to the mixture being heat coagulated to substantially eliminate the sticky and heavy sensation or starch gel like mouth feel wherein the soybean protein is a soybean protein isolate wherein the kind and/or amount of soybean protein to be employed varies depending on the kind and/or amount of fish protein to be mixed therewith.
Fujiwara US 2011/0305812 discloses a means for preventing syneresis and deterioration in texture of a food composition containing pureed soybean curd such as tofu puree and water and imparting tolerance to freezing within the food composition (‘812, Paragraph [0012]) wherein the food composition contains pureed soybean curd, a heat coagulable substance, lambda carrageenan, and water solidified by a heat treatment (‘812, Paragraph [0020]).
Katayama et al. US 3,950,550 discloses a fried tofu product which can be stored frozen with minimum deterioration in texture and mouthfeel.
Morita et al. US 2006/0216399 discloses a frozen food which can be preserved over a long period of time (‘399, Paragraph [0008]) wherein an almond tofu like paste is frozen (‘399, Paragraph [0033]).
Ramsay “How to Freeze Tofu: Tips for Using Frozen Tofu” <https://www.masterclass.com/articles/how-to-freeze-tofu> (published October 19, 2021) discloses a method of freezing tofu to keep a tofu block long past its expiration date (Ramsey, Page 1) wherein tofu is also known as bean curd and is coagulated soy milk of a liquid made from soybeans and is produced when soy milk is heated with a salty or acidic coagulant and pressed into a block after the milk curdles wherein tofu has a neutral flavor allowing it to blend well into many recipes and comes in many consistencies (Ramsey, Page 2) wherein previously frozen then thawed tofu has a more chewy, spongy, consistency to better accept marinades than fresh tofu (Ramsey, Page 4).
Bull “In Defense of Tofu” <https://food52.com/story/6876-in-defense-of-tofu> (published June 11, 2013) discloses freezing tofu gives it a spongy texture once it defrosts (Bull, Page 5).
Samira “How to Make Tofu at Home – Two Simple Methods” <https://web.archive.org/web/20200807204147/https://www.alphafoodie.com/how-to-make-tofu-at-home-two-simple-methods/> (published March 24, 2020) discloses a method of making tofu comprising the steps of heating soymilk to a boil, adding coagulant (Samira, Pages 13-23), and freezing the tofu (Samira, Page 9).
Amcarmen “Homemade Egg Tofu” <https://amcarmenskitchen.com/2021/06/09/homemade-egg-tofu/> (published June 9, 2021) discloses egg tofu comprising eggs and soy milk (Amcarmen, Pages 2-3).
Shilpa “Tofu Chapatis” <https://www.aayisrecipes.com/parathas-and-rotis/tofu-chapati/> (published May 18, 2011) discloses tofu chapatis comprising crumbled firm tofu, wheat flour, and salt (Shilpa, Page 2).
International Food Information Council “Baking? Here’s Your Guide to Flours” <https://ific.org/resources/articles/baking-heres-your-guide-to-flours/> (published November 12, 2020) discloses all purpose flour is the most versatile flour that is a type of white flour containing only the endosperm, not the bran or germ, of the wheat kernel and is milled form a mixture of soft and hard wheat with a moderate amount of protein wherein a recipe calling for “flour” generally refers to all purpose flour (IFIC, Page 1).
Bernard “Deep Fried Tofu Recipe” <https://web.archive.org/web/20210317195405/https://makeitdairyfree.com/crispy-fried-tofu/> (published January 29, 2021) discloses 1 block crispy fried tofu comprising frozen extra firm tofu made of soy and 1 cup all purpose flour (Bernard, Pages 8-9).
Curious Little Kitchen “Panko Fried Tofu” <https://web.archive.org/web/20141009000325/https://food52.com/recipes/29867-panko-fried-tofu> (published July 20, 2014) discloses panko fried tofu comprising 1 packet firm tofu, 1 egg, 0.5 cups flour, and 1 cup panko crumbs (Curious Little Kitchen, Page 1).
Hocker “Freeze Your Fried Tofu. You Will Thank Us Later.” <https://web.archive.org/web/20181203183206/https://tastecooking.com/freeze-fried-tofu-will-thank-us-later/> (archived on December 3, 2018) discloses frozen fried tofu expands the cell walls and turns the blocks dense and chewy after defrosting (Hocker, Page 3).
Reeser “Crispy Baked Tofu Nuggets” <https://web.archive.org/web/20190717045855/https://cozypeachkitchen.com/crispy-baked-tofu-nuggets/> (published December 30, 2018) discloses crispy baked tofu nuggets comprising 14 ounces extra firm tofu dunked in vegetable broth and 2 eggs then coated in ½ cup all purpose flour (Reeser, Pages 8-9).
All Recipes “Egg Fried Tofu” <https://web.archive.org/web/20180104230623/https://www.allrecipes.com/recipe/246937/egg-fried-tofu/> (archived January 4, 2018) discloses egg fried tofu comprising 16 ounces firm tofu dipped in 1 egg and fried in hot oil until lightly browned (All Recipes, Pages 1-2).
Sha “Vegan Tofu Chocolate Protein Mousse (No Cream)” <https://www.myplantifulcooking.com/tofu-protein-chocolate-mousse/> (published July 19, 2021) discloses a vegan chocolate protein mousse comprising a 14 oz. block silken tofu, ¼ cup chocolate flavored pea protein powder, maple syrup, and cocoa powder (Sha, Page 9).
Lin “The Best Vegan Fried Chicken (gluten free)” <https://www.marystestkitchen.com/best-vegan-fried-chicken-gluten-free/> (published April 25, 2018) discloses medium firm tofu comprising soybeans, calcium sulphate, and glucono delta lactone (Lin, Page 8).
/ERICSON M LACHICA/Examiner, Art Unit 1792