Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 14-16, 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nania (US 2018/0015825 A1).
Re claim 1: Nania teaches an acoustic system, comprising:
an interior member for a conveyance (interior of a vehicle (figure 2) including at least one speaker (note teaching of speakers, paragraph [0020];
a state detection unit (304) that detects a state of an occupant or the interior member (monitoring the drowsiness of an occupant); and a control unit that is connected to the speaker and the state detection unit, and that controls the speaker,
wherein the control unit (302) includes a state determination unit that determines the state of the occupant or the interior member based on information received from the state detection unit,
and an acoustic control unit (108) that controls, when sound is emitted from the speaker, at least one of a volume, a tempo, or a direction of the sound emitted from the speaker, based on the determined state of the occupant or the interior member (paragraph [0019 and 0020] increase the volume),
the state detection unit is configured to acquire biometric information of the occupant (paragraph [0028] sensors (304) include biometric sensors),
the state determination unit determines a wakefulness (drowsiness) of the occupant as the state of the occupant based on the biometric information of the occupant,
the acoustic control unit controls the sound emitted from the speaker, based on the determined wakefulness of the occupant, and
the acoustic control unit controls the volume or the tempo of the sound in accordance with the wakefulness of the occupant differently depending on whether the occupant is a driver or not a driver (if the driver is drowsy the arrangement could increase the volume of a speaker directed to the driver, paragraph [0013, 0019] but if the occupant is not the driver the arrangement lowers the audio setting for the passenger seat, paragraph [0023]).
Re claim 14: see teaching in paragraph [0020] the use of a vibration generation such a haptic alert including a vibration in a steering wheel or driver’s seat.
Re claim 15: see teaching in paragraph [0018] monitoring the wakefulness (drowsiness) occurs for a threshold time period before imparting a stimulus (such as speaker volume or vibration)
Re claim 16: see teaching in paragraph [0019] for a continued monitoring of wakefulness (second occasion that occurs after a first occasion) to increasing a stimulus (such as a volume or haptic alert)
Re claim 18: the claimed light generating device is satisfied by displayed warning on the infotainment head unit as discussed in paragraph [0020]
Re claim 19: see use of a vibration generating device (haptic alert) and light generating device (by displayed warning on the infotainment head unit) as taught in paragraphs [0019-0020]
Re claims 20-21: determining the wakefulness of an occupant in a rear seat is deemed to be the monitoring the wakefulness of a passenger which can include a rear seat passenger and control an acoustic (audio system to a lower setting), paragraph [0023] to the rear seat/passenger seat
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Nania et al. in view of Sakata et al. (US 2019/0344805 A1) and Okubo (US 9,746,048 B2)
Re claim 22: The teaching of Nania. is discussed above and incorporated herein. Nania does not teach the specifics of a conveyance seat as set forth, i.e. a headrest, spaced speakers and a damper is connected to a headrest pillar between the speakers. Sakata et al. teaches in a similar environment to include speakers in a conveyance seat (see figure 3) to provide audio to a person using the seat. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate this teaching of Sakata et al. into the arrangement of Nanai to predictably provide a means to provide audio to a user of a seat. This combination of Nania et al. and Sakata et al. does not teach seats including headrests to include a damper. Okubo teaches in a similar environment, seats including headrests to include a damper, i.e. a damper case (17) that is connected to a center of a headrest via a pillar (12) to suppress any vibrations to a user's head. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to incorporate a damper as taught in Okubo into the headrest arrangement Nania et al in view of Sakata et al. as applied to predictably provide a means of suppressing vibrations occurring in this rest to the user. Therefor the claimed subject matter would have been obvious before the filing of the invention.
Re claim 24: as seen from figure 6 of Okubo the headrest includes a pair of pillar portions (12a) that extend inward at portions (12b) approaching each other with damper (17 disposed between
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-13, 17 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The claimed acoustic system including in combination those features of claim 1 wherein, in a case where the occupant is the driver and it is determined that the wakefulness of the occupant is low, the acoustic control unit makes the tempo of the sounds faster, and in a case where the occupant is not the driver and it is determined that the wakefulness of the occupant is low, the acoustic control unit makes the tempo of the sounds slower as set forth in claim 12 is neither taught by nor an obvious variation of the art of record. The claimed acoustic system including in combination those features of claim 1 wherein, in a case where the occupant is the driver and it is determined that the wakefulness of the occupant is low, the acoustic control unit increases the volume of the sound and makes the tempo of the sounds faster, and in a case where the occupant is not the driver and it is determined that the wakefulness of the occupant is low, the acoustic control unit reduces the volume of the sound and makes the tempo of the sounds slower as set forth in claim 13 is neither taught by nor an obvious variation of the art of record. The claimed acoustic system including in combination those features of claim 1 wherein the state detection unit includes a brain wave detection unit that detects a brain wave of the occupant, the state determination unit determines a mood of the occupant based on the brain wave received from the brain wave detection unit, and when the state determination unit determines that the occupant is in a happy mood, the acoustic control unit increases the volume of the sound and makes the tempo of the sounds faster as set forth in claim 17 is neither taught by nor an obvious variation of the art of record. The claimed acoustic system including in combination those features of claim 22/1 wherein an upper end of the damper is positioned below upper ends of the speakers as set forth in claim 23 is neither taught by nor an obvious variation of the art of record.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW SNIEZEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693
/A.S./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693