DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-6 and 8-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bruckner et al., “Ecapsulated subwavelength grating as a quasi-monolithic resonant reflector” OPTICS EXPRESS, 2009, vol.17, no. 26, pp 24334-24341.
Re claim 1, Bruckner et al. discloses a device comprising a layers structure of a grating layer (g) and waveguide layer (s); and a substrate (substrate), the grating layer, and the waveguide layer in this order (Fig. 1(d)), wherein a refractive index different between the grating layer and the waveguide layer is 0.1 or less (since they layer are made of the same material), and light is made incident from a side of the waveguide layer, and a constituent material for the substrate, a constituent material for the grating layer, and a constituent material for the waveguide layer are the same (since the layers are made of the same material) (Fig. 1(d)).
Re claim 5, Bruckner et al. discloses the device wherein the grating layer has a grating period of from 0.26 to 0.60 µm (see “section 4. Encapsulation grating design considerations”).
Re claim 6, Bruckner et al. discloses the device wherein the grating layer has a thickness of 0.20 µm or more (see section 4. “Encapsulation grating design considerations”).
Re claim 8, Bruckner et al. discloses the device wherein the waveguide layer has a thickness of from 0.05 to 1.00 µm (see section “4. Encapsulation grating design considerations”).
Re claim 9, Bruckner et al. discloses the device wherein a grating shape of the grating layer is a two dimensional periodic structure (Fig. 1(d)).
Re claim 10, Bruckner et al. discloses an optical member comprising the guided-mode resonant grating (see section “2. Guided-mode resonant waveguide gratings”).
Re claim 11, Bruckner et al. discloses the device wherein the optical member is a structural color development member or a wavelength selection filter (see section “2. Guided-mode resonant waveguide gratings”)
Re claim 12, Bruckner et al. discloses an optical product comprising the optical member (see section “7. Conclusion”).
Re claim 13-16, As to the product-by-process claim limitations of claims 13-16, "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." (MPEP 2113).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruckner et al.
Bruckner et al. does not disclose device wherein the grating layer has a volume occupancy of 0.15 to 0.65
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to employ the device wherein the grating layer has a volume occupancy of 0.15 to 0.65. It is well known in the art for the volume occupancy of a grating layer to determine the reflection characteristics of the grating layer. Therefore, obtaining the device wherein the grating layer has a volume occupancy of 0.15 to 0.65 to obtain a particular reflection characteristic of the grating is based on a result effective variable, requiring routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
/RICHARD H KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871