DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15,1 7 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US PG Pub. US20210337362A1) hereinafter Wang, in view of BAEK et al. (US PG Pub. US20220053455A) hereinafter Baek.
Regarding claim 1 and similar claim 17 and 19, Wang discloses A method for transmitting a broadcast message, performed by a first Session Management Function (SMF), the method comprising: ([0047-0048], [0202-0206]
a broadcast method performed by a Session Management Function (SMF) for a virtual network group in a 5G system; Fig 17 shows the SMF of claim 17 and the prcoessors and medium of claims 17 and 19 are found at [0319-0320])
performing a first operation for a first Virtual Network (VN) group, wherein the first operation comprises at least one of: ([0203-0206], [0211-0215] SMF executing group-level operations - generating, configuring, modifying, and deleting N4 broadcast rules for 5G Virtual Network group)
creating a first Multicast and Broadcast Service (MBS) session;
revising the first MBS session;
releasing the first MBS session;
deleting the first MBS session; or
disabling the first MBS session, ([0203-0206], [0236-0250], [0253-0266]
SMF establishing group-level N4 sessions -creating, updating rules/address lists -revising, and deleting rules/contexts when UEs leave releasing/deleting)
wherein the first MBS session is used to send one or more multicast messages and/or one or more broadcast messages in the first VN group to at least one first terminal, ([0062-0063], [0077-0080]
group broadcast sessions used to deliver broadcast/multicast data packets to all members -terminals or local members in the VN group.)
and the first terminal represents one or more terminals within the first VN group. ([0043-0046], [0077-0080], [0082] Discloses that members of the 5G VN group consist of UEs (mobile terminals) connected via access networks (RAN))
Wang broadly discloses MBS sessions when describing the SMF establishing group-level N4 sessions, with updates, revising and creating at [0203-0206], [0236-0250], [0253-0266].
However, BAEK [0098-0102], [0115-0121], [0141-0145], [0177-0184] explicitly discloses creating an MB/MBS session (session setup), modifying/updating an MB session (revising), and deactivating/suspending an MB session (disabling/releasing).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination to ensure compliance with 3GPP 5G MBS core network standards, enable seamless multi-vendor interoperability between the SMF and UPF/RAN, and optimize core network transmission resources by leveraging Baek’s dynamic MBS session lifecycle controls to manage the shared delivery resources required for Wang’s VN group broadcast traffic as motivated by Baek’s life cycle operations of creating, revising, disabling, and releasing an MBS session to transmit broadcast/multicast messages to mobile terminals, Baek [0048 -0054].
Regarding claim 2, Wang as modified by Baek discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the multicast messages and/or the broadcast messages in the first VN group comprise part or all of the multicast messages and/or part or all of the broadcast messages originating from an internal interface of the first VN group. ([0006-0007], [0077-0080], [0125-0133] internal broadcast interfaces -5G VN BC internal R / C defined inside the UPF for the VN group, where broadcast messages originate from these internal interfaces to be distributed to group members)
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the broadcast messages and/or the multicast messages in the first VN group are sent by a first User Plane Function (UPF) serving the first VN group to a first base station through the first MBS session, ([0043-0046], [0064-0072], [0101-0103] PSA UPF / intermediate UPFs serving the VN group forwarding broadcast packets to base stations via N3 GTP-U tunnels)
wherein the first base station represents a base station connected to a first UPF and serving the first VN group. ([0043-0046], [0064-0072] RAN nodes connected to the UPF via N3 reference points that serve the member UEs of the VN group)
Wang broadly discloses: and then sent by the first base station to one or more first terminals through Point-To-Point (PTP) or Point-To-Multipoint (PTM), ([0043-0044]
RAN broadcasting/delivering data received from UPF to UEs over air interfaces.)
BAEK explicitly discloses: and then sent by the first base station to one or more first terminals through Point-To-Point (PTP) or Point-To-Multipoint (PTM), ([0048-0052], [0105-0106]
NG-RAN forwarding MBS traffic to UEs via multicast/broadcast transmission (PTM) or individual unicast delivery -PTP)
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination to ensure compliance with 3GPP 5G MBS core network standards, enable seamless multi-vendor interoperability between the SMF and UPF/RAN, and optimize core network transmission resources by leveraging Baek’s dynamic MBS session lifecycle controls to manage the shared delivery resources required for Wang’s VN group broadcast traffic as motivated by Baek’s life cycle operations of creating, revising, disabling, and releasing an MBS session to transmit broadcast/multicast messages to mobile terminals, Baek [0048 -0054].
Regarding claim 4 and similar 21 and 22, Wang broadly discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the first SMF decides to create the first MBS session according to at least one of the following: first VN group subscription information, first VN group local configuration, first UPF capability serving the first VN group, first SMF capability, a quantity of terminals accessed by the first UPF, or a first indication of a first network function; ([0216-0243], [0251-0266] SMF determining to set up group broadcast rules based on selecting UPFs for the first time, PDU session establishment events, and group membership)
and wherein the first indication is used to require the first SMF to create an MBS session for the first VN group. ([0235-0237] PDU session establishment/modification requests triggering SMF rule creation)
However, BAEK [0071]–[0076], [0097]–[0099], [0175]–[0179] SMF/MBSF deciding to establish an MBS session based on AF service requests (indication from NF/AF), service authorization from PCF/UDM (subscription information), and location/service area configuration, AF sending an MBS service start/session request (first indication) requiring the MBSF/MB-SMF to set up/create an MBS session.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination to ensure compliance with 3GPP 5G MBS core network standards, enable seamless multi-vendor interoperability between the SMF and UPF/RAN, and optimize core network transmission resources by leveraging Baek’s dynamic MBS session lifecycle controls to manage the shared delivery resources required for Wang’s VN group broadcast traffic as motivated by Baek’s life cycle operations of creating, revising, disabling, and releasing an MBS session to transmit broadcast/multicast messages to mobile terminals, Baek [0048 -0054].
Regarding claim 5, Wang as modified by Baek discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the performing the first operation for the first VN group comprises:
performing the first operation on at least one first UPF for the first VN group, wherein the first UPF represents a UPF serving the first VN group. ([0109-0111], [0203-0206], [0216-0218] SMF configuring N4 rules on each PSA UPF selected to serve members of the 5G VN group)
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses: The method according to claim 5, wherein the performing the first operation for the first VN group comprises:
sending a first requirement to the first UPF, ([0236-0237], FIG. 17 (Step 10a) SMF sending an N4 Session Establishment Request (first requirement) to the UPF)
Wang broadly discloses: wherein the first requirement is used to request to create the first MBS session, and the first requirement carries therein a first identifier used to identify the first MBS session. ([0236-0237], FIG. 17 (Step 10a) SMF sending an N4 Session Establishment Request (first requirement) to the UPF)
BAEK explicitly discloses: MBS session IDs ([0101], [0115], [0180] N4 request establishing MB session resources on the UPF, carrying the MB session ID / TMGI identifier)
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination to ensure compliance with 3GPP 5G MBS core network standards, enable seamless multi-vendor interoperability between the SMF and UPF/RAN, and optimize core network transmission resources by leveraging Baek’s dynamic MBS session lifecycle controls to manage the shared delivery resources required for Wang’s VN group broadcast traffic as motivated by Baek’s life cycle operations of creating, revising, disabling, and releasing an MBS session to transmit broadcast/multicast messages to mobile terminals, Baek [0048 -0054].
Regarding claim 7, Wang as modified by Baek discloses: The method according to claim 6, wherein the first requirement further carries therein at least one of the following information of the first MBS session: a first Packet Detection Rule (PDR); or
a first Forwarding Action Rule (FAR). ([0109-0113], [0125-0133], [0159-0164] N4 establishment request carries the First PDR and First FAR configured for group broadcast packet matching and forwarding)
Regarding claim 8, Wang as modified by Baek discloses: The method according to claim 6, further comprising: sending a second requirement to a first Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), ([0235-0243] SMF communicating with AMF)
wherein the first AMF represents an AMF corresponding to a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session of the first terminal served by the first UPF; ([0044], [0047], [0235] AMF handling N1/N2 signaling for the UE’s PDU session connected to the UPF)
the second requirement is used to request to establish a session resource related to the first MBS session, and the second requirement carries therein the first identifier and first information; ([0235-0243] session establishment procedures involving the AMF)
and the first information represents PDU session information of a terminal in the VN group associated with the first AMF. ([0235-0237] SMF managing PDU sessions of VN group member UEs associated with the AMF)
Regarding claim 9, Wang as modified by Baek discloses: The method according to claim 5, wherein the performing the first operation for the first VN group comprises:
sending a third requirement to the first UPF, ([0244-0250], FIGS. 19-20 SMF sending an N4 Session Modification Request (third requirement) to the UPF)
wherein the third requirement is used to request to revise or disable the first MBS session, and the third requirement carries therein a first identifier used to identify the first MBS session and a first PDR and/or a first FAR of the first MBS session. ([0244-0250] N4 Session Modification Request carrying the session identifier and updated PDRs/FARs - modified shared broadcast address lists)
Regarding claim 10, Wang as modified by Baek discloses: The method according to claim 5, wherein performing the first operation for the first VN group comprises: sending a fourth requirement to the first UPF, ([0253-0266], FIG. 21 SMF sending N4 session deletion/modification requests (fourth requirement) to the UPF)
wherein the fourth requirement is used to request to release or delete the first MBS session, and the fourth requirement carries therein a first identifier used to identify the first MBS session. ([0253-0266]
sending a request carrying the group/N4 session identifier to delete or release group broadcast rules and context from the UPF when a terminal moves or departs)
Regarding claim 11, Wang as modified by Baek discloses: The method according to claim 5, wherein performing the first operation for the first VN group comprises: sending a fifth requirement to the first UPF, ([0234-0236] SMF sending an N4 request (fifth requirement) for an individual UE’s PDU session establishment/modification to the UPF.)
wherein the fifth requirement is used to request to establish or revise a PDU session for the first terminal, and the fifth requirement does not carry therein a PDR and/or a FAR of a downlink multicast message and/or a broadcast message. ([0234-0236] that individual UE PDU sessions are independent of group broadcast N4 sessions; PDU-session-level N4 requests handle unicast data and do not carry group broadcast PDRs/FARs.)
Regarding claim 12, and similar claim 20 Wang appears to be silent regarding: The method according to claim 8, further comprising: transmitting a sixth requirement to a Radio Access Network (RAN) by using the first AMF, wherein the sixth requirement is used to request to create a first context of the first MBS session, and/or is used to request to establish a mapping between the first context and a second context of the PDU session, and/or is used to request to allocate an N3 interface tunnel resource to the first MBS session.
However, Baek discloses The method according to claim 8, further comprising: transmitting a sixth requirement to a Radio Access Network (RAN) by using the first AMF, (0102-0103], [0116-0118], [0181-0183] MB-SMF transmitting an N2 SM message (sixth requirement) through the AMF to the NG-RAN.)
wherein the sixth requirement is used to request to create a first context of the first MBS session, and/or is used to request to establish a mapping between the first context and a second context of the PDU session, and/or is used to request to allocate an N3 interface tunnel resource to the first MBS session. ([0102-0103], [0116-0118], [0128-0130] the N2 requirement requesting NG-RAN to create MB session context, manage MB context together with UE PDU session context (establishing a mapping), and allocate shared N3 delivery tunnel resources)
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination to ensure compliance with 3GPP 5G MBS core network standards, enable seamless multi-vendor interoperability between the SMF and UPF/RAN, and optimize core network transmission resources by leveraging Baek’s dynamic MBS session lifecycle controls to manage the shared delivery resources required for Wang’s VN group broadcast traffic as motivated by Baek’s life cycle operations of creating, revising, disabling, and releasing an MBS session to transmit broadcast/multicast messages to mobile terminals, Baek [0048 -0054].
Regarding claim 13, Wang as modified by Baek discloses: The method according to claim 2, wherein the broadcast messages and/or the multicast messages on the internal interface of the first VN group match and forward downlink data packets in the first PDR and/or the first FAR of the first MBS session. ([0105-0107], [0125-0133], [0174-0178] broadcast data packets received at or transmitted to the UPF’s internal broadcast interface match the configured PDR and apply the FAR to forward downlink packets)
Regarding claim 14, Wang as modified by Baek discloses: The method according to claim 7, wherein a source interface of the first PDR comprises an internal interface of the first VN group, and a destination address of the first PDR comprises a broadcast address and/or a multicast address; and ([0127-0133], [0176-0178] the First PDR setting source interface = internal broadcast interface (or access side) and target address = broadcast address list -broadcast/multicast address)
the first FAR is used to instruct to forward the broadcast message and/or the multicast message matching the first PDR through an N3 interface tunnel of the first MBS session, and/or is used to instruct to forward the broadcast message and/or the multicast message matching the first PDR through an N9 interface tunnel of the first MBS session. ([0128-0133], [0176-0178] the First FAR creating outer header tunnel information indicating N3 or N9 reference points to forward matching broadcast/multicast packets)
Regarding claim 15, Wang as modified by Baek discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein a second PDR and/or a second FAR of the PDU session of the first terminal do not support matching of downlink broadcast messages and/or multicast messages, and do not support forwarding of downlink broadcast messages and/or multicast messages. ([0234-0236] individual terminal PDU session rules (PDR/FAR) handle unicast communication and are isolated/separated from group broadcast rules, thereby not supporting matching/forwarding of group downlink broadcast packets)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang, US 2021/0392469 A1, discloses a method for 5G Virtual Network (VN) group multicast communication wherein a Session Management Function (SMF) configures Packet Detection Rules (PDRs) and Forwarding Action Rules (FARs) on User Plane Functions (UPFs) to route multicast packets via specialized target internal multicast interfaces and N3/N9/N19 reference points to group members.
Xiong, US 2023/0025793 A1, discloses a method for establishing a multi-level user-plane Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) session transmission tree in a 5G network with control-plane and user-plane separation, wherein an intermediate Session Management Function (I-SMF) selects an intermediate User Plane Function (I-UPF) to join upstream multicast groups and cascade session start requests to downstream control-plane nodes.
Hong, US 2023/0082017 A1, discloses a method for processing Multicast/Broadcast Service (MBS) data in a 5G network wherein a User Equipment (UE) initiates a PDU session modification request carrying MBS session identification information (e.g., TMGI) to join an MBS session, causing the core network and base station to map the MBS session to Quality of Service (QoS) flows and transmit the MBS data to the UE via Point-to-Point (PTP) or Point-to-Multipoint (PTM) radio bearers.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
NICHOLAS JENSEN
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472