DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Applicant’s amendment field 08/19/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-21 are pending and currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104
Foreign Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copies have been received.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a tightening means configured to tighten the sealing member against the probe body in claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitation “a tightening means configured to tighten the sealing member against the probe body” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hancock et al. (U.S. 2023/0248229) in view of Washburn et al. (U.S. 2017/0042408).
With respect to claim 1, Hancock et al. teaches an assembly for endoluminal navigation, the assembly comprising:
a guiding catheter (30) having a proximal end and a distal end, wherein the guiding catheter comprises an elongate flexible tubular catheter body (para [0124]) defining an internal lumen of the catheter, wherein the internal lumen comprises an outlet aperture at the distal end (FIG. 2b for example);
an endoscopic probe (52) comprising a flexible probe body (68, para [0135]) and an imaging device attached to the probe body at a distal end of the probe body (para [0014]), wherein the probe body and the imaging device are sized to be slidingly received in the internal lumen (FIG. 8b for example);
a fluid delivery module (26) attached or attachable to the guiding catheter at the proximal end, wherein the fluid delivery module comprises a first port (46) configured to communicate with the internal lumen, wherein the first port is configured to receive the endoscopic probe for deployment trough the internal lumen (FIG. 2a), and a second port (48) configured to deliver a fluid to the internal lumen; and
an endoscope (12), comprising an endoscope handle (14) connected to an endoscope body (16), the endoscope body comprising an instrument channel wherein the endoscope handle comprises an entry port communicating with the instrument channel (FIG. 1a), wherein the guiding catheter is configured to be slidingly received in the instrument channel and through the entry port (para [0122]-[0124]);
wherein the first port comprises a fluid seal configured to fluidically seal the first port against the probe body while the second port remains in fluid communication with the internal lumen (para [0100]);
However, Hancock et al. does not teach the endoscopic probe comprises a distal portion at the distal end of the probe body wherein the distal portion accommodates the imaging device and has a diameter larger than a diameter of the probe body and smaller than a diameter of the internal lumen. Hancock et al. further does not explicitly teach delivering a fluid to the internal lumen while the endoscopic probe is received within the internal lumen.
With respect to claim 1, Washburn et al. teaches an endoscopic probe (1702) comprises an imaging device (1708) attached to the probe body at a distal end of the probe body (FIG. 3C), wherein the probe body and the imaging device are seized to be slidingly received in an internal lumen (1710, see para [0135] and [0188]),
a port configured to deliver a fluid to the internal lumen while the endoscopic probe extends through the first port and is received within the internal lumen (para [0188]);
wherein the endoscopic probe comprises a distal portion at the distal end of the probe body wherein the distal portion accommodates the imaging device and has a diameter larger than a diameter of the probe body and smaller than a diameter of the internal lumen (para [0186]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify Hancock et al. to have a distal end of the endoscopic probe having a larger diameter in order to accommodate for a larger sensor (para [0186] of Washburn et al.).
With respect to claim 2, Hancock et al. teaches the fluid seal comprises a seal member provided with a through-bore configured to slidingly receive the probe body (para [0100]).
With respect to claim 3, Hancock et al. teaches a fluid source configured to be coupled to the second port (para [0149]).
With respect to claim 4, Washburn et al. teaches a flow control valve coupled between the second port and the fluid source (para [0113],[0233]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify Hancock et al. to include a stopcock in the manner taught by Washburn et al. so that a clinician can ‘toggle’ between infusion and aspiration, or infusion of a first and second fluid, without connecting and reconnecting tubes (para [0113] of Washburn et al.).
With respect to claim 13, Washburn et al. teaches a ratio of a diameter of the probe body to a diameter of the internal lumen is between 0.15 and 0.9 and a ration of a diameter of the distal portion to the diameter of the internal lumen is between 0.3 and 0.95 (para [0187], [0195]).
With respect to claim 14, Hancock et al. in view of Washburn et al. does not explicitly teach the distal portion having an increased diameter has an axial length between 3 mm and 10 mm. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the length of the distal portion because such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size/proportion of the distal portion. It has been held that changes in size or proportion is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to claim 15, Washburn et al. teaches the distal portion has an eternal diameter between 0.8 mm and 2.4 mm (para [0187], [0195]).
With respect to claim 16, Hancock et al. in view of Washburn et al. does not explicitly teach a ration of a diameter of the distal portion to an axial length of the distal portion is between 0.1 and 0.4. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the length of the distal portion because such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size/proportion of the distal portion. It has been held that changes in size or proportion is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to claim 17, Washburn et al. teaches the distal portion has a shape having rotational symmetry about a longitudinal axis of the endoscopic probe (FIG. 3C).
With respect to claim 18, Washburn et al. teaches the imaging device comprises a camera module and a light source (para [0186]).
With respect to claim 19, Hancock et al. teaches the endoscope further comprises a second imaging device arranged at a distal end of the endoscope body (para [0122]).
With respect to claim 20, Hancock et al. teaches an assembly for endoluminal navigation, the assembly comprising:
a guiding catheter (30) having a proximal end and a distal end, wherein the guiding catheter comprises an elongate flexible tubular catheter body (para [0124]) defining an internal lumen of the catheter, wherein the internal lumen comprises an outlet aperture at the distal end (FIG. 2b for example);
an endoscopic probe (52) comprising a flexible probe body (68, para [0135]) and an imaging device attached to the probe body at a distal end of the probe body (para [0014]), wherein the probe body and the imaging device are sized to be slidingly received in the internal lumen (FIG. 8b for example); and
a fluid delivery module (26) attached or attachable to the guiding catheter at the proximal end, wherein the fluid delivery module comprises a first port (46) configured to communicate with the internal lumen, wherein the first port is configured to receive the endoscopic probe for deployment trough the internal lumen (FIG. 2a), and a second port (48) configured to deliver a fluid to the internal lumen.
However, Hancock et al. does not explicitly teach delivering a fluid to the internal lumen while the endoscopic probe is received within the internal lumen.
With respect to claim 1, Washburn et al. teaches an endoscopic probe (1702) comprises an imaging device (1708) attached to the probe body at a distal end of the probe body (FIG. 3C), wherein the probe body and the imaging device are seized to be slidingly received in an internal lumen (1710, see para [0135] and [0188]),
a port configured to deliver a fluid to the internal lumen while the endoscopic probe extends through the first port and is received within the internal lumen (para [0188]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify Hancock et al. to be configured to deliver a fluid to the internal lumen while the endoscopic probe extends through the first port and is received within the internal lumen in the manner taught by Washburn et al. in order to allow for delivery of medications such as anti-inflammatory agents, antibiotics, anesthetics under visualization (para [0180] of Washburn et al.).
Claim(s) 5, 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hancock et al. (U.S. 2023/0248229) in view of Washburn et al. (U.S. 2017/0042408) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Su et al. (U.S. 2017/0224202).
Hancock et al. teaches an assembly as set forth above. However, Hancock et al. does not teach an attachment module.
With respect to claim 5, Su et al. teaches an attachment module (146), wherein the attachment module comprises a connector system (202) and a telescopic tubular body (146), the telescopic tubular body extending from a first end to a second end opposite the first end and defining an internal channel of the attachment module, wherein the internal channel is sized to slidingly receive a catheter body (para [0035] for example), wherein the connector system is provided at the second end and is configured to secure the attachment module to a support (FIG. 2A).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Hancock et al to include the attachment module as taught by Su et al. in order to avoid catheter kinking when the catheter handle droops or whenever the catheter shaft is vulnerable to kinking (para [0038] of Su et al.).
With respect to claim 8, Su et al. teaches the attachment module further comprises a second locking system configured to fixedly secure the guiding catheter axially relative to the support, wherein the second locking system is arranged at the second end (para [0034],[0036]).
With respect to claim 9, Su et al. teaches the endoscope handle forms the support and comprises a connector part, wherein the connector system is configured to cooperate with the connector part to attach the attachment module to the endoscope handle (para [0038])
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hancock et al. (U.S. 2023/0248229) in view of Washburn et al. (U.S. 2017/0042408) and Su et al. (U.S. 2017/0224202) as applied to claim 5 above and further in view of Dickhans et al. (U.S. 2015/0073407).
Hancock et al. in view of Su et al. teaches an attachment module as set forth above. However, Hancock et al. in view of Su et al. does not teach a first locking system.
With respect to claim 6, Dickhans et al. teaches an attachment module further includes a handle member (16) attached to the telescopic tubular body at the first end and a first locking system configured to lock a motion of a medical tool relative to the handle member in respect of at least one of: a translation along a longitudinal axis of the telescopic tubular body and a rotation about the longitudinal axis (para [0066]).
With respect to claim 7, Dickhans et al. teaches the medical tool comprises a first connector member (27) configured to releasably interlock with a corresponding connector member of the locking system so as to enable an integral motion of the tool and the handle member (para [0066]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify Hancock et al. in view of Su et al. to include a first locking system in the manner taught by Dickhans et al. in order to fix the elongated instrument to the bronchoscope and therefore allow the two to move in concert (para [0027] of Dickhans et al.).
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hancock et al. (U.S. 2023/0248229) in view of Washburn et al. (U.S. 2017/0042408) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Gessler et al. (U.S. 2022/0040460).
Hancock et al. teaches an assembly as set forth above. However, Hancock et al. does not teach a reinforcement braid.
With respect to claim 10, Gessler et al. teaches a wall of a catheter body comprises a reinforcement braid (52) configured to transmit a torque and/or a rotation of the proximal end to the distal end so as to navigate the guiding catheter.
With respect to claim 11, Gessler et al. teaches a probe body comprises a reinforcement braid (62).
With respect to claim 12, Gessler et al. teaches a probe body comprises a sheath (64) and a central wire (62) made of a metal alloy arranged inside the sheath (para [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the catheter and probe body of Hancock et al. to utilizer a reinforcement braid in the manner taught by Gessler et al. because Gessler et al. teaches it is a known alternative to single layer tubes such as those disclosed in Hancock et al. (para [0052] of Gessler et al.).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hancock et al. (U.S. 2023/0248229) in view of Washburn et al. (U.S. 2017/0042408) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Nguyen et al. (U.S. 2006/0293560).
Hancock et al. teaches an assembly as set forth above. However, Hancock et al. does not teach a tightening means for the fluid seal.
With respect to claim 21, Nguyen et al. teaches a fluid seal comprising a tightening means configured to tighten the sealing member against an internal body (FIG. 2F-K).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the fluid seal of Hancock et al. to include the tightening means as taught by Nguyen et al. in order to form a seal and hold the device in place (para [0068] of Nguyen et al.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Hancock does not teach the amended claim language and that Washburn fails to remedy the deficiencies of Hancock. This is not persuasive at least because Washburn explicitly teaches the new limitations, as set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALEXANDRA L. SURGAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3795
/ALEXANDRA L NEWTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799