DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 5-10, file 02/13/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under Decourcelle (WO 2016102799 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive, specifically, Decourcelle does not disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious that the light extraction structure is completely encapsulated. Applicant’s specific persuasive argument is on Page 6, described by at least “wholly buried within the glass and spaced away from both major surfaces”. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Zheng et al. (US 20080266902 A1). Further, there are claims objections, below, as well. The Examiner regrets any inconvenience caused to Applicant by this consecutive final rejection.
The Examiner notes that Applicant did not traverse the Official Notice taken regarding the laser engraving in claim 2 on Page 4 of the Office Action filed on 11/19/2025. Accordingly, the laser engraving is admitted prior art under MPEP § 2144.03 (C).
Claim Objections
Claims 6-10 objected to because of the following informalities, below.
Re Claim 6:
On lines 1-2, “wherein the glass assembly comprises” should be changed to – wherein the class assembly further comprises – in order to put the claim in proper form.
Re Claims 7-10:
The claims are objected to due to their dependence on intervening claim 6.
Re Claim 7:
On line 1, “wherein the glass assembly comprises” should be changed to – wherein the class assembly further comprises – in order to put the claim in proper form.
Re Claim 8:
On line 1, “wherein the glass assembly comprises” should be changed to – wherein the class assembly further comprises – in order to put the claim in proper form.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zheng.
Re Claim 1:
Zheng discloses a glass assembly (shown in at least Fig 2 and described in at least ¶ 0020 as well as below) comprising:
a first glass body (lower light guide plate 2) having a first surface (surface facing toward plurality of concave or convex microstructures 5) and a second surface (surface facing toward upper light guide plate 1) which are oppositely arranged (configured arrangement shown in Fig 2);
a second glass body (1) having a third surface (surface facing toward 2) facing the second surface (Fig 2) and a fourth surface (surface facing away from 2) arranged oppositely (Fig 2); and
a light extraction structure (light-diffusing particles 6) arranged in the second glass body (Fig 2) and having a light extraction surface (it necessarily occurs that particles have surfaces, specifically including the light extraction structure (6)), the light extraction structure (6) being completely encapsulated in the second glass body (6), spaced apart from the third and fourth surfaces (Fig 2);
wherein incident light introduced into the second glass body (shown with a solid line on the left side in Fig 2) is extracted at the light extraction structure and is led out from the fourth surface (shown with an arrow in Fig 2).
Re Claim 6:
Zheng further discloses wherein the glass assembly comprises a light source (light source 3) arranged adjacent to the edge of the first glass body and the second glass body (arranged on the left side of both, 2 and 1; Fig 2).
Re Claim 7:
Zheng further discloses wherein the glass assembly comprises a light guide component (PMMA component structure of 1 described in ¶ 0021) configured to conduct the incident light at least toward the light extraction structure in the second glass body (shown in Fig 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng.
Re Claim 2:
Zheng further discloses the claimed light extraction structure (6) is formed in the second glass body (shown in Fig 2).
With further regard to the light extraction structure, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (PHOSITA) to have recognized Zheng’s light extraction structure (6) as an equivalent structure to the claimed light extraction structure is formed in the second glass body by laser engraving for the purpose of extracting light and leading said light to the fourth surface.
Re Claim 3:
Zheng further discloses wherein the light extraction surface (surface of each 6) of the light extraction structure (each 6) is arranged toward the second glass body (surface of each 6 is arranged toward the middle of second glass body (2)).
Re Claim 4:
Zheng further discloses a process for forming a light extraction structure (evident by the structure of 6 shown in Fig 2).
With further regard to the light extraction structure, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (PHOSITA) to have recognized Zheng as at least suggesting an equivalent process to form the light extraction structure (6) to the claimed process of the light extraction structure is formed in the second glass body before or after hot bending process for the purpose of forming a light extraction structure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 8-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Below is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Re Claim 5:
The closest prior art of record (Zheng) fails to any one of disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious the combined structure and functionality of the intermediate layer having a gray scale as set forth in the claim.
Re Claim 8:
The closest prior art of record (Zheng) fails to any one of disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious the combined structure and functionality of the light source as set forth in the claim.
Re Claims 9-10:
The claims contain allowable subject matter due to their dependence on intervening claim 8.
Re Claim 11:
The closest prior art of record (Zheng) fails to any one of disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious the combined structure and functionality of the window assembly as set forth in the claim. The Examiner notes that window assemblies were well-known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention; however, it would not have been obvious to a PHOSITA to incorporate the glass assembly of Zheng into a well-known window assembly for at least the reason of lacking an expectation of success. A PHOSITA would recognize reflection film 4 in Fig 2 of being incompatible with a window assembly.
Re Claim 12:
The claim contains allowable subject matter due to its dependence on intervening claim 11.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KEITH G. DELAHOUSSAYE JR.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/KEITH G. DELAHOUSSAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875