DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 07/06/2026 and entered on 07/17/2026 has placed claims 5 and 11-12 in condition for allowance.
Claims 8-10 remain objected, and Claims 1-4 and 6-7 remain rejected; see below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of Brick.
Re Claim 1:
Zheng discloses a lightguide assembly (shown in at least Fig 2 and described in at least ¶ 0020 as well as below) comprising:
a first light guide body (lower light guide plate 2) having a first surface (surface facing toward plurality of concave or convex microstructures 5) and a second surface (surface facing toward upper light guide plate 1) which are oppositely arranged (configured arrangement shown in Fig 2);
a second light guide body (1) having a third surface (surface facing toward 2) facing the second surface (Fig 2) and a fourth surface (surface facing away from 2) arranged oppositely (Fig 2); and
a light extraction structure (light-diffusing particles 6) arranged in the second glass body (Fig 2) and having a light extraction surface (it necessarily occurs that particles have surfaces, specifically including the light extraction structure (6)), the light extraction structure (6) being completely encapsulated in the second light guide body (6), spaced apart from the third and fourth surfaces (Fig 2);
wherein incident light introduced into the second light guide body (shown with a solid line on the left side in Fig 2) is extracted at the light extraction structure and is led out from the fourth surface (shown with an arrow in Fig 2).
Zheng does not disclose that the light guide assembly comprised by the first and second light guide bodies are comprised of glass; instead, Zheng discloses the light guide assembly comprised by the first and second light guide bodies are comprised of PMMA (described in ¶ 0021).
However, prior art recognized equivalence for the same purpose is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2144.06. In the instance of claim 1, Brick teaches a glass assembly (surface light guide 1, Fig 1, ¶ 0060) comprised of a first and second light guide bodies (and two of layers 11-13) may be comprised of either glass or PMMA (¶ 0073) for the purpose of propagating light (Fig 1) through a light guide assembly with high transparency (¶ 0073). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (“PHOSITA”) to recognize Zheng as at least suggesting an equivalent light guide assembly to the claimed glass assembly for the purpose of propagating light (Fig 2) through a glass assembly having high transparency (high light transmittance). The Examiner notes that with equivalence at least suggested, the light guide bodies of Zheng will be mapped as glass.
With further regard to the particles (6), Anticipation is the epitome of obviousness. Connell v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 722 F.2d 1542, 1548, 220 USPQ 193, 198 (Fed. Cir. 1983). It is the Examiner’s position that the limitations regarding the particles are anticipated. However, in the event that another analysis may be had, the Examiner has provided an obviousness rationale below.
Drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911, 200 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to have recognized Zheng as at least suggesting a light extraction structure (light-diffusing particles 6) arranged in the second glass body (Fig 2) and having a light extraction surface (it necessarily occurs that particles have surfaces, specifically including the light extraction structure (6)), the light extraction structure (6) being completely encapsulated in the second light guide body (6), spaced apart from the third and fourth surfaces (Fig 2) due to the spacing of the specific particles shown in Fig 2.
Re Claim 2:
Zheng further discloses the claimed light extraction structure (6) is formed in the second glass body (shown in Fig 2).
With further regard to the light extraction structure, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (PHOSITA) to have recognized Zheng’s light extraction structure (6) as an equivalent structure to the claimed light extraction structure is formed in the second glass body by laser engraving for the purpose of extracting light and leading said light to the fourth surface.
Re Claim 3:
Zheng further discloses wherein the light extraction surface (surface of each 6) of the light extraction structure (each 6) is arranged toward the second glass body (surface of each 6 is arranged toward the middle of second glass body (2)).
Re Claim 4:
Zheng further discloses a process for forming a light extraction structure (evident by the structure of 6 shown in Fig 2).
With further regard to the light extraction structure, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (PHOSITA) to have recognized Zheng as at least suggesting an equivalent process to form the light extraction structure (6) to the claimed process of the light extraction structure is formed in the second glass body before or after hot bending process for the purpose of forming a light extraction structure.
Re Claim 6:
Zheng further discloses wherein the glass assembly comprises a light source (light source 3) arranged adjacent to the edge of the first glass body and the second glass body (arranged on the left side of both, 2 and 1; Fig 2).
Re Claim 7:
Zheng further discloses wherein the glass assembly comprises a light guide component (PMMA component structure of 1 described in ¶ 0021) configured to conduct the incident light at least toward the light extraction structure in the second glass body (shown in Fig 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Below is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Re Claim 8:
The closest prior art of record (Zheng) fails to any one of disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious the combined structure and functionality of the light source as set forth in the claim.
Re Claims 9-10:
The claims contain allowable subject matter due to their dependence on intervening claim 8.
Claims 5 and 11-12 are allowed.
Below is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance.
Re Claim 5:
The closest prior art of record (Zheng) fails to any one of disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious the combined structure and functionality of the intermediate layer having a gray scale as set forth in the claim.
Re Claim 11:
The closest prior art of record (Zheng) fails to any one of disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious the combined structure and functionality of the window assembly as set forth in the claim. The Examiner notes that window assemblies were well-known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention; however, it would not have been obvious to a PHOSITA to incorporate the glass assembly of Zheng into a well-known window assembly for at least the reason of lacking an expectation of success. A PHOSITA would recognize reflection film 4 in Fig 2 of being incompatible with a window assembly.
Re Claim 12:
The claim contains allowable subject matter due to its dependence on intervening claim 11.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and remarks filed in the After Final Response filed on 07/06/2026 was responded to in the Advisory Action filed on 07/09/2026.
Conclusion
KEITH G. DELAHOUSSAYE JR.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/KEITH G. DELAHOUSSAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875