Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(b) The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
It is not clear if the applicant intends to claim that the TA value is different than the actual TA command, in which case it should be inherent since TA value and TA command are two different things, or that the TA value is different from the TA value in the TA command.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng et al (US 2022/03300187 A1) (hereinafter “Cheng”).
Regarding claim 1, Cheng teaches a method performed by a terminal in a satellite communication system, that comprises the steps of
determining a timing advance (TA) value for transmission of an uplink signal (See [0005], [0356], [0358], [0370]: “determining a UE-specific TA based on the satellite ephemeris information”, “determine a total TA based on at least one of the TA variable, the TA offset for the TA variable, the common TA, and the UE-specific TA”) and
determining whether an overlap occurs between a first slot before applying the TA value and a second slot after applying the TA value (See [0138]: “if two adjacent slots overlap due to a TAC, the latter slot is reduced in duration relative to the former slot… if more than two adjacent slots overlap due to a TAC or TA change by a UE, there may be some alternatives/solutions as follows…”)
based on a priority of an interval in which the overlap has occurred, transmitting the uplink signal to a base station according to the TA value ([0138]: “if two adjacent slots overlap due to a TAC, the latter slot is reduced in duration relative to the former slot in the case that a UE and an NW have a misunderstanding on schedule; and the former slot is reduced… in the case that the NW cannot receive the former slot anymore.” This teaching describes a selection or prioritization based on network/UE context.).
Regarding claim 2, Cheng teaches that the TA value is different from a TA command received from the base station (TA value and TA command are two different things).
Regarding claim 3, Cheng teaches that the priority prioritizes one of a signal of the first slot and a signal of the second slot (See [0138]: “if two adjacent slots overlap due to a TAC, the latter slot is reduced in duration relative to the former slot…” which prioritizes the signal in the first slot over the signal in the second slot).
Regarding claim 4, Cheng teaches that the uplink signal is transmitted to the base station via a non-terrestrial network (NTN) satellite (See figures 2 & 4, par [0005], [0072], [0352], [0353]).
Regarding claim 5, Cheng teaches that wherein the TA value is determined based on at least one of a position of the NTN satellite, movement of the NTN satellite, or distance between the terminal and the NTN satellite (See par [137], [0356], [0170], [0180]-[0182], [0382]]).
Regarding claim 6, Cheng teaches that wherein the priority is indicated by radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), or downlink control information (DCI), which is received from the base station ([0208]-[0210]: “the NW may enable or disable the UE to update N.sub.TA,UE-specific in the RRC_CONNECTED state by an RRC message or a MAC CE”; [0210]: triggers for updating TA or handling overlap can be signaled by RRC, MAC CE, or DCI. While not using the word “priority”, the signaling covers which slot or transmission is to be prioritized/used).
Regarding claim 7, Cheng further teaches a terminal in a satellite communication system, the terminal comprising: a transceiver ([0361]-[0368], Fig. 10: Node includes transceiver, processor, memory; controller executes the described method); and a controller connected to the transceiver, wherein the controller is configured to: determine a timing advance (TA) value for transmission of an uplink signal; determine whether an overlap occurs between a first slot before applying the TA value and a second slot after applying the TA value; and based on a priority of an interval in which the overlap has occurred, transmit the uplink signal to a base station according to the TA value (See [0005], [0356], [0358], [0370]: “determining a UE-specific TA based on the satellite ephemeris information”, “determine a total TA based on at least one of the TA variable, the TA offset for the TA variable, the common TA, and the UE-specific TA”) (See [0138]: “if two adjacent slots overlap due to a TAC, the latter slot is reduced in duration relative to the former slot… if more than two adjacent slots overlap due to a TAC or TA change by a UE, there may be some alternatives/solutions as follows…”), ([0138]: “if two adjacent slots overlap due to a TAC, the latter slot is reduced in duration relative to the former slot in the case that a UE and an NW have a misunderstanding on schedule; and the former slot is reduced… in the case that the NW cannot receive the former slot anymore.” This teaching describes a selection or prioritization based on network/UE context.).
Regarding claim 8, Cheng teaches that the TA value is different from a TA command received from the base station (TA value and TA command are two different things).
Regarding claim 9, Cheng teaches that the priority prioritizes one of a signal of the first slot and a signal of the second slot (See [0138]: “if two adjacent slots overlap due to a TAC, the latter slot is reduced in duration relative to the former slot…” which prioritizes the signal in the first slot over the signal in the second slot).
Regarding claim 10, Cheng teaches that the uplink signal is transmitted to the base station via a non-terrestrial network (NTN) satellite (See figures 2 & 4, par [0005], [0072], [0352], [0353]).
Regarding claim 11, Cheng teaches that wherein the TA value is determined based on at least one of a position of the NTN satellite, movement of the NTN satellite, or a distance between the terminal and the NTN satellite (See par [137], [0356], [0170], [0180]- [0182], [0382]]).
Regarding claim 12, Cheng teaches that wherein the priority is indicated by radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), or downlink control information (DCI), which is received from the base station ([0208]-[0210]: “the NW may enable or disable the UE to update N.sub.TA,UE-specific in the RRC_CONNECTED state by an RRC message or a MAC CE”; [0210]: triggers for updating TA or handling overlap can be signaled by RRC, MAC CE, or DCI. While not using the word “priority”, the signaling covers which slot or transmission is to be prioritized/used).
Regarding claim 13, Cheng teaches a method performed by a base station in a satellite communication system, the method comprising:
receiving an uplink signal from a terminal, wherein the uplink signal is received based on a timing advance (TA) value (See par [0005], [0358], [0370], etc.: The method is described in both UE and network/base station context), and wherein the uplink signal is received based on a priority of an interval in which an overlap occurs between a first slot before applying the TA value and a second slot after applying the TA value (See par [0138]: The network can determine which slot to process/receive based on overlap situation and context).
Regarding claim 14, Cheng teaches a base station (gNB) in a satellite communication system, the base station comprising:
a transceiver (gNB); and
a controller (gNB) connected to the transceiver, wherein the controller is configured to receive an uplink signal from a terminal (See figures 2 & 4; par [0005], [0358], [0370]), wherein the uplink signal is received based on a timing advance (TA) value, and wherein the uplink signal is received based on a priority of an interval in which an overlap occurs between a first slot before applying the TA value and a second slot after applying the TA value (See par [0138]: The network can determine which slot to process/receive based on overlap situation and context).
Regarding claim 15, Cheng teaches that wherein the TA value is different from a TA command transmitted to the terminal by the base station (TA value and TA command are two different things), and wherein the uplink signal is received from the terminal via a non-terrestrial network (NTN) satellite (See figures 2 & 4, par [0005], [0072], [0352], [0353]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al (US 12,557,051 B1) teaches overlapping between adjacent slots due to TA adjustments in figure 9, col. 15, lines 4-39.
Shim et al (US 2025/0103796 A1) teaches overlapping between adjacent slots due to TA adjustments in par [113,136,139].
Yan et al (US 2024/0322946 A1) teaches overlapping between adjacent slots due to TA adjustments in par [93].
Lohr (WO 2022087330 A1) teaches that if two adjacent slots overlap due to a TA command, the latter slot is reduced in duration relative to the former slot.
HUY D. VU
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461