DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 18, 20, 21, 37, 38, 43 and 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (US 2021/0400760).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses A method for transmitting data forwarding information, performed by a first node (Figure 12, UE), comprising: sending data forwarding information to a second node according to a predetermined trigger event (Figure 12, S1202, S1203; Paragraph 187, When the trigger condition for PSCell addition/change and the trigger condition for PCell handover are simultaneously satisfied, the UE does not initiate access to the target PCell and the target PSCell simultaneously. The UE ignores the fact that the trigger condition for the PSCell addition/change has been satisfied, and initiates access to the target PCell using the related configuration of PCell conditional handover according to the fact that the trigger condition for the PCell handover is satisfied; Paragraph 188, In S1203, the UE reports indication information for indicating that the target PSCell satisfies the condition of PSCell addition/change to the target PCell/MN after the PCell handover is completed).
Regarding claim 3, Yang discloses wherein the predetermined trigger event comprises any one of:
simultaneous MCG and SCG master cell group (MCG) and secondary cell group(SCG) selective activation; or
a simultaneous conditional triggered mobility procedure of MCG and SCG (Paragraph 187, When the trigger condition for PSCell addition/change and the trigger condition for PCell handover are simultaneously satisfied).
Regarding claim 4, Yang discloses wherein the data forwarding information comprises at least one of:
data path identification information of a terminal (Paragraph 189, The indication information may include a frequency point of the target PSCell and physical cell identity (PCI) information);
a data bearer identity (ID);
a data bearer type; or
data transmission status information.
Regarding claim 18, Yang discloses a method for transmitting data forwarding information, performed by a second node (Figure 12, target MN or target SN), comprising: receiving data forwarding information sent by a first node according to a predetermined trigger event (Figure 12, S1202, S1203; Paragraph 187, When the trigger condition for PSCell addition/change and the trigger condition for PCell handover are simultaneously satisfied, the UE does not initiate access to the target PCell and the target PSCell simultaneously. The UE ignores the fact that the trigger condition for the PSCell addition/change has been satisfied, and initiates access to the target PCell using the related configuration of PCell conditional handover according to the fact that the trigger condition for the PCell handover is satisfied; Paragraph 188, In S1203, the UE reports indication information for indicating that the target PSCell satisfies the condition of PSCell addition/change to the target PCell/MN after the PCell handover is completed).
Regarding claim 20, Yang discloses wherein the predetermined trigger event comprises any one of:
simultaneous MCG and SCG master cell group (MCG) and secondary cell group(SCG) selective activation; or
a simultaneous conditional triggered mobility procedure of MCG and SCG (Paragraph 187, When the trigger condition for PSCell addition/change and the trigger condition for PCell handover are simultaneously satisfied).
Regarding claim 21, Yang discloses wherein the data forwarding information comprises at least one of:
data path identification information of a terminal (Paragraph 189, The indication information may include a frequency point of the target PSCell and physical cell identity (PCI) information);
a data bearer identity (ID);
a data bearer type; or
data transmission status information.
Regarding claim 37, Yang discloses a communication device operating as a first node (Figure 12, UE; Figure 17 and paragraph 245, electronic device 1700 as terminal device or base station), comprising:
a processor (Figure 17, processor 1701); and
a memory having a computer program stored thereon (Figure 17, memory 1702 storing application program 17021),
wherein the processor is configured to:
send data forwarding information to a second node according to a predetermined trigger event (Figure 12, S1202, S1203; Paragraph 187, When the trigger condition for PSCell addition/change and the trigger condition for PCell handover are simultaneously satisfied, the UE does not initiate access to the target PCell and the target PSCell simultaneously. The UE ignores the fact that the trigger condition for the PSCell addition/change has been satisfied, and initiates access to the target PCell using the related configuration of PCell conditional handover according to the fact that the trigger condition for the PCell handover is satisfied; Paragraph 188, In S1203, the UE reports indication information for indicating that the target PSCell satisfies the condition of PSCell addition/change to the target PCell/MN after the PCell handover is completed).
Regarding claim 38, Yang discloses a communication device operating as a second node (Figure 12, target MN or target SN; Figure 17 and paragraph 245, electronic device 1700 as terminal device or base station), comprising:
a processor (Figure 17, processor 1701); and
a memory having a compute program stored thereon (Figure 17, memory 1702 storing application program 17021),
wherein the processor is configured to:
perform the method of claim 18 (Figure 12, S1202, S1203; Paragraph 187, When the trigger condition for PSCell addition/change and the trigger condition for PCell handover are simultaneously satisfied, the UE does not initiate access to the target PCell and the target PSCell simultaneously. The UE ignores the fact that the trigger condition for the PSCell addition/change has been satisfied, and initiates access to the target PCell using the related configuration of PCell conditional handover according to the fact that the trigger condition for the PCell handover is satisfied; Paragraph 188, In S1203, the UE reports indication information for indicating that the target PSCell satisfies the condition of PSCell addition/change to the target PCell/MN after the PCell handover is completed).
Regarding claim 43, Yang discloses wherein the predetermined trigger event comprises any one of:
simultaneous MCG and SCG master cell group (MCG) and secondary cell group(SCG) selective activation; or
a simultaneous conditional triggered mobility procedure of MCG and SCG (Paragraph 187, When the trigger condition for PSCell addition/change and the trigger condition for PCell handover are simultaneously satisfied).
Regarding claim 44, Yang discloses wherein the data forwarding information comprises at least one of:
data path identification information of a terminal (Paragraph 189, The indication information may include a frequency point of the target PSCell and physical cell identity (PCI) information);
a data bearer identity (ID);
a data bearer type; or
data transmission status information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 10, 26, 27 and 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as applied to claims 1, 18 and 37 above, and further in view of Jin et al. (US 2021/0243590).
Regarding claim 9, Yang discloses the claimed invention above as well as wherein the predetermined trigger event is a conditional triggered mobility procedure (Yang, Paragraph 187, When the trigger condition for PSCell addition/change and the trigger condition for PCell handover are simultaneously satisfied) but does not disclose the following limitations that are disclose by Jin et al.: the first node is a source master node (MN), and the second node is a target node (Jin et al., Figure 2E, source MN 2e-02, target SN 2e-04 or target MN 2e-05); and sending the data forwarding information to the second node according to the predetermined trigger event comprises: sending, by the source MN, the data forwarding information to the target node (Jin et al., Figure 2E, step 2e-10 Handover Request sent from source MN 2e-02 to target MN 2e-05 and step 2e-15 SN Addition Request sent to target SN 2e-03 in response to handover request).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang with the cited disclosure from Jin et al. in order to concurrent instruction of handover and SN change so that random access to a MN and a SN can be changed sequentially to reduce interruption (Jin et al., Paragraph 327).
Regarding claim 10, Jin et al. disclose wherein in response to the target node being a target MN, the data forwarding information is first data forwarding information sent by the source MN to the target MN (Figure 2E step 2e-10 Handover Request from source MN to target MN); and in response to the target node being a target secondary node (SN) (Figure 2E, target SN 2e-04), the data forwarding information is second data forwarding information sent by the source MN directly to the target SN, or second data forwarding information sent by the source MN to the target SN via the target MN (Figure 2E, step 2e-15, SN addition request from target MN to target SN in response to handover request 2e-10 from source MN).
Regarding claim 26, Yang discloses the claimed invention above as well as wherein the predetermined trigger event is a conditional triggered mobility procedure (Yang, Paragraph 187, When the trigger condition for PSCell addition/change and the trigger condition for PCell handover are simultaneously satisfied) but does not disclose the following limitations that are disclose by Jin et al.: the first node is a source master node (MN), and the second node is a target node (Jin et al., Figure 2E, source MN 2e-02, target SN 2e-04 or target MN 2e-05); and receiving the data forwarding information sent by the first node according to the predetermined trigger event comprises: receiving the data forwarding information sent by the source MN (Jin et al., Figure 2E, step 2e-10 Handover Request sent from source MN 2e-02 to target MN 2e-05 and step 2e-15 SN Addition Request sent to target SN 2e-03 in response to handover request).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang with the cited disclosure from Jin et al. in order to concurrent instruction of handover and SN change so that random access to a MN and a SN can be changed sequentially to reduce interruption (Jin et al., Paragraph 327).
Regarding claim 27, Jin et al. disclose wherein receiving the data forwarding information sent by the source MN, comprises: in response to the target node being a target MN, the data forwarding information being first data forwarding information sent by the source MN to the target MN, receiving the first data forwarding information directly sent by the source MN (Figure 2E step 2e-10 Handover Request from source MN to target MN); and in response to the target node being a target secondary node (SN) (Figure 2E, target SN 2e-04), and the data forwarding information being second data forwarding information sent by the source MN directly to the target SN, or second data forwarding information sent by the source MN to the target SN via the target MN (Figure 2E, step 2e-15, SN addition request from target MN to target SN in response to handover request 2e-10 from source MN), receiving the second data forwarding information sent direction by the source SN, or receiving the second data forwarding information sent by the source MN to the target SN via the target SN (Figure 2E, step 2e-15, SN addition request from target MN to target SN in response to handover request 2e-10 from source MN).
Regarding claim 45, Yang discloses the claimed invention above as well as wherein the predetermined trigger event is a conditional triggered mobility procedure (Yang, Paragraph 187, When the trigger condition for PSCell addition/change and the trigger condition for PCell handover are simultaneously satisfied) but does not disclose the following limitations that are disclose by Jin et al.: the first node is a source master node (MN), and the second node is a target node (Jin et al., Figure 2E, source MN 2e-02, target SN 2e-04 or target MN 2e-05); and the processor is further configured to: send the data forwarding information to the target node (Jin et al., Figure 2E, step 2e-10 Handover Request sent from source MN 2e-02 to target MN 2e-05 and step 2e-15 SN Addition Request sent to target SN 2e-03 in response to handover request).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang with the cited disclosure from Jin et al. in order to concurrent instruction of handover and SN change so that random access to a MN and a SN can be changed sequentially to reduce interruption (Jin et al., Paragraph 327).
Claim(s) 5, 11, 22, 28 and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as applied to claims 1, 4, 18, 21 and 37 above, and further in view of Da Silva et al. (US 2024/0040451).
Regarding claim 5, Yang discloses the claimed invention above but does not disclose the following limitations that are disclosed by Da Silva et al.:
wherein the data path identification information of the terminal comprises at least one of downlink transmission path identification information or uplink transmission path identification information, wherein the downlink transmission path identification information comprises at least one of a first data transmission source address or a first data transmission target address, and the uplink transmission path identification information comprises at least one of a second data transmission source address or a second data transmission target address; or
wherein the data bearer ID (Da Silva et al., Table 1, DRB IDs in DRB list) comprises at least one of a session ID, a data flow ID, a service ID, a transmission path ID, or a logical channel ID (Da Silva et al., Table 1, session info including session ID, session setup info, session resources); or
wherein the data transmission status information comprises at least one of downlink data transmission status information or uplink data transmission status information, wherein the downlink data transmission status information comprises at least one of a serial number corresponding to first transmission data or a serial number corresponding to first discarded data, and the uplink data transmission status information comprises at least one of a serial number corresponding to second transmission data or a serial number corresponding to second discarded data,
wherein the serial number corresponding to the first transmission data and the serial number corresponding to the second transmission data each comprises at least one of:
an initial transmission data serial number;
N serial numbers before the initial transmission data serial number, N being a positive integer;
M serial numbers after the initial transmission data serial number, M being a positive integer; or
a serial number corresponding to each transmission data; and the serial number corresponding to the first discarded data and the serial number corresponding to the second discarded data each comprises at least one of:
a lower boundary value of serial numbers of discarded data; an upper boundary value of serial numbers of discarded data; or
the lower boundary value and the upper boundary value of serial numbers of discarded data.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang with the cited disclosure from Da Silva et al. in order to allow a MN to initiation configuration of inter-SN conditional PSCell change requiring less signaling compared to SN-initiation inter-SN CPC (Da Silva et al., Paragraph 117).
Regarding claim 11, Yang discloses the claimed invention above as well as wherein a conditional triggered mobility procedure comprises conditional handover (CHO) and conditional primary secondary cell (PSCeII) change (CPC) (Yang, Paragraph 187, When the trigger condition for PSCell addition/change and the trigger condition for PCell handover are simultaneously satisfied)
Yang does not disclose the following limitations that are disclosed by Da Silva et al.: the first node is a source SN (Da Silva et al., Figures 3-5, S-SN 50), and the second node is a target SN (Da Silva et al., Figures 3-5, T-SN 40); and sending the data forwarding information to the second node according to the predetermined trigger event comprises: sending, by the source SN, third data forwarding information for data transmission between the source SN and the target SN to the target SN; or, sending, by the source SN, the third data forwarding information to a source MN, and forwarding, by the source MN, the third data forwarding information to the target SN (Da Silva et al., Figures 3-5 and paragraph 267, S-SN 50 sends STATUS Transfer message to MN 20 which forwards the SN STATUS TRANSFER to T-SN 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang with the cited disclosure from Da Silva et al. in order to allow a MN to initiation configuration of inter-SN conditional PSCell change requiring less signaling compared to SN-initiation inter-SN CPC (Da Silva et al., Paragraph 117).
Regarding claim 22, Yang discloses the claimed invention above but does not disclose the following limitations that are disclosed by Da Silva et al.:
wherein the data path identification information of the terminal comprises at least one of downlink transmission path identification information or uplink transmission path identification information, wherein the downlink transmission path identification information comprises at least one of a first data transmission source address or a first data transmission target address, and the uplink transmission path identification information comprises at least one of a second data transmission source address or a second data transmission target address; or
wherein the data bearer ID (Da Silva et al., Table 1, DRB IDs in DRB list) comprises at least one of a session ID, a data flow ID, a service ID, a transmission path ID, or a logical channel ID (Da Silva et al., Table 1, session info including session ID, session setup info, session resources); or
wherein the data transmission status information comprises at least one of downlink data transmission status information or uplink data transmission status information, wherein the downlink data transmission status information comprises at least one of a serial number corresponding to first transmission data or a serial number corresponding to first discarded data, and the uplink data transmission status information comprises at least one of a serial number corresponding to second transmission data or a serial number corresponding to second discarded data,
wherein the serial number corresponding to the first transmission data and the serial number corresponding to the second transmission data each comprises at least one of:
an initial transmission data serial number;
N serial numbers before the initial transmission data serial number, N being a positive integer;
M serial numbers after the initial transmission data serial number, M being a positive integer; or
a serial number corresponding to each transmission data; and
the serial number corresponding to the first discarded data and the serial number corresponding to the second discarded data each comprises at least one of:
a lower boundary value of serial numbers of discarded data; an upper boundary value of serial numbers of discarded data; or
the lower boundary value and the upper boundary value of serial numbers of discarded data.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang with the cited disclosure from Da Silva et al. in order to allow a MN to initiation configuration of inter-SN conditional PSCell change requiring less signaling compared to SN-initiation inter-SN CPC (Da Silva et al., Paragraph 117).
Regarding claim 28, Yang discloses the claimed invention above as well as wherein a conditional triggered mobility procedure comprises conditional handover (CHO) and conditional primary secondary cell (PSCeII) change (CPC) (Yang, Paragraph 187, When the trigger condition for PSCell addition/change and the trigger condition for PCell handover are simultaneously satisfied).
Yang does not disclose the following limitations that are disclosed by Da Silva et al.: the first node is a source SN (Da Silva et al., Figures 3-5, S-SN 50), and the second node is a target SN (Da Silva et al., Figures 3-5, T-SN 40); and receiving the data forwarding information sent by the first node according to the predetermined trigger event comprises: receiving the third data forwarding sent by the source SN for data transmission between the source SN and the target SN to the target SN; or, receiving the third data forwarding information sent by the source SN to the source MN and then forwarded by the source MN (Da Silva et al., Figures 3-5 and paragraph 267, S-SN 50 sends STATUS Transfer message to MN 20 which forwards the SN STATUS TRANSFER to T-SN 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang with the cited disclosure from Da Silva et al. in order to allow a MN to initiation configuration of inter-SN conditional PSCell change requiring less signaling compared to SN-initiation inter-SN CPC (Da Silva et al., Paragraph 117).
Regarding claim 46, Yang discloses the claimed invention above as well as wherein a conditional triggered mobility procedure comprises conditional handover (CHO) and conditional primary secondary cell (PSCeII) change (CPC) (Yang, Paragraph 187, When the trigger condition for PSCell addition/change and the trigger condition for PCell handover are simultaneously satisfied)
Yang does not disclose the following limitations that are disclosed by Da Silva et al.: the first node is a source SN (Da Silva et al., Figures 3-5, S-SN 50), and the second node is a target SN (Da Silva et al., Figures 3-5, T-SN 40); and the processor is further configured to: send third data forwarding information for data transmission between the source SN and the target SN to the target SN; or send the third data forwarding information to a source MN, wherein the third data forwarding information is forwarded by the source MN to the target SN (Da Silva et al., Figures 3-5 and paragraph 267, S-SN 50 sends STATUS Transfer message to MN 20 which forwards the SN STATUS TRANSFER to T-SN 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang with the cited disclosure from Da Silva et al. in order to allow a MN to initiation configuration of inter-SN conditional PSCell change requiring less signaling compared to SN-initiation inter-SN CPC (Da Silva et al., Paragraph 117).
Conclusion
/OTIS L THOMPSON, JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477
September 9, 2026