DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 11/13/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. GR20220100635, filed on 08/03/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 23, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Qiao et al. (Hereinafter “Qiao”, US 20210385625), in view of RAO (Hereinafter “Rao”, WO 2022081893).
Regarding claim 1, and 28: Qiao discloses A network node comprising one or more memories; one or more transceivers; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to perform a method of communication performed by a network node, comprising: (i.e., FIG. 4A shows general hardware elements that may be used to implement any of the various computing devices discussed herein, including any base station, wireless device, or computing device. [0074] Base stations, wireless devices, relay nodes, and other communication devices may comprise one or more transceivers. As described in paragraph [00070] and [0074]).
receiving, from a network entity, core network assistance information for a user equipment (UE), wherein the core network assistance information includes deferred location request information for a request for a deferred positioning session between the UE and a location server; (i.e., [0220] A wireless device positioning capability information may be transferred directly to a location server (e.g. an LMF). A wireless device may support additional functions to support location services. A wireless device may support location requests received from a network for 5GC mobile terminal location request (5GC-MT-LR), 5GC network induced location request (5GC-NI-LR), or a deferred 5GC-MT-LR for periodic or triggered location reporting. A wireless device may support location requests to a network for a 5GC mobile originated location request (5GC-MO-LR). A wireless device may support privacy notification and verification for a 5GC-MT-LR or deferred 5GC-MT-LR for periodic or triggered location reporting. [0302] The AMF 3016 may send a message (e.g. a positioning information request message 3044) to an LMC. The positioning information request message 3044 may request a user plane transmission for the positioning of the wireless device 3004. The LMC may be serving the wireless device 3004. The LMC may be located in a base station (e.g. (R)AN) serving the wireless device 3004 (e.g., shown as LMC/(R)AN 3012). The positioning information request message 3044 sent to the LMC/(R)AN 3012 may comprise one or more information elements/parameters (e.g. the user plane transmission indication) received from the GMLC 3020. As described in paragraph [0220]and [0302]). and
Qiao disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. But does not expressly disclose features of these claims:
transitioning the UE to a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state or an RRC idle state based, at least in part, on the deferred location request information and one or more capabilities of the UE to perform positioning procedures in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state.
In similarly endeavor, Rao discloses:
transitioning the UE to a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state or an RRC idle state based, at least in part, on the deferred location request information and one or more capabilities of the UE to perform positioning procedures in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state. (i.e., [00307] In one embodiment, a WTRU may perform positioning related actions, including selection of PRS configuration, performing measurements on DL-PRS and transmission of measurement reports/location estimates, while operating in INACTIVE state when triggered by one or more events configured by a deferred MT-LR positioning procedure. As described in paragraph [0307]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Rao into the invention of Qiao in order to provide a better method, more efficient for connecting UE for deferred location reporting.
Regarding claim 2, 18, and 29, Rao and Qiao discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above.
And Qiao further discloses:
wherein the deferred location request information includes a UE reporting activity parameter. (i.e., [0186] The mobility event notifications may comprise location reporting, information regarding the wireless device 100, 200 moving into or out of area of interest, etc. As described in paragraph [0186]).
Regarding claim 3, and 19, Rao and Qiao discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above.
And Qiao further discloses:
wherein the UE reporting activity parameter indicates a type of an event that triggered the request for the deferred positioning session. (i.e [0222] The LMF may support a request, received from a serving AMF for a target wireless device, for periodic or triggered location reporting. As described in paragraph [0222]).
Regarding claim 4, and 20, Rao and Qiao discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above.
And Qiao further discloses:
wherein the type of the event comprises:
periodic location reporting,
area event reporting, or motion event reporting. (i.e., [0235] The positioning information request message 2340 may indicate a request for a periodic positioning report. As described in paragraph [0235]).
Regarding claim 5, and 25, Rao and Qiao discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above.
And Qiao further discloses:
wherein the deferred location request information includes a type of a positioning method for the deferred positioning session. (i.e., [0240] The positioning capability 2328 of the (R)AN 2308 (from the LMC/LMF 2312) or the positioning capability 2336 of the (R)AN 2308 (from the (R)AN 2308) may comprise/indicate at least one of: support for enhanced cell identity (ECID) positioning method; As described in paragraph [0240]).
Regarding claim 6, and 26, Rao and Qiao discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above.
And Qiao further discloses:
wherein the type of the positioning method comprises:
an uplink-based positioning method, or a downlink-and-uplink-b ased positioning method. (i.e., [0240] support for enhanced cell identity (ECID) positioning method; support for OTDOA positioning method; support for uplink relative time of arrival positioning method; support for uplink reference signal received power measurements; support for uplink angle of arrival (UL AoA) measurements; As described in paragraph [0240]).
Regarding claim 7, Rao and Qiao discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above.
And Rao further discloses:
wherein transitioning the UE to the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state comprises:
transitioning the UE to the RRC inactive state. (i.e., [0307] In one embodiment, a WTRU may perform positioning related actions, including selection of PRS configuration, performing measurements on DL-PRS and transmission of measurement reports/location estimates, while operating in INACTIVE state when triggered by one or more events configured by a deferred MT-LR positioning procedure. As described in paragraph [0307]).
Regarding claim 8, Rao and Qiao discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above.
And Rao further discloses:
wherein the one or more capabilities of the UE to perform positioning procedures in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state include a capability of the UE to support small data transmission radio bearer 2 (SDT-SRB2) signaling. (i.e., [0220] In one embodiment, the WTRU (operating in INACTIVE state) may send one or more types of positioning information (e.g., measurement reports and/or location information) using SDT configured for one or more SRBs based on a data volume threshold configured and/or associated with the SRBs. In this case, the different SRBs (e.g., SRB1 , SRB2, SRB3) may be configured in the WTRU, possibly for carrying the positioning information in NAS messages using SDT. As described in paragraph [0220]).
Regarding claim 11, Rao and Qiao discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above.
And Qiao further discloses:
wherein the core network assistance information is received in a Context Modification Request message. (i.e., [0121] The new AMF 855 may send a wireless device Context Modification Request 940 to a N3IWF 938. The new AMF 855 may create an NGAP wireless device association, towards the N3IWF 938 to which the wireless device 100, 200 is connected (e.g., by sending one or more messages to the N3IWF 938). As described in paragraph [0121]).
Regarding claim 14, 23, and 27 Rao and Qiao discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above.
And Qiao further discloses:
wherein the network entity is an access and mobility management function (AMF). (i.e., [0302] The AMF 3016 may send a message (e.g. a positioning information request message 3044) to an LMC. The positioning information request message 3044 may request a user plane transmission for the positioning of the wireless device 3004. The LMC may be serving the wireless device 3004. The LMC may be located in a base station (e.g. (R)AN) serving the wireless device 3004 (e.g., shown as LMC/(R)AN 3012).. As described in paragraph [00302]).
Regarding claim 15 Rao and Qiao discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above.
And Qiao further discloses:
wherein the network node is a base station or a component of the base station. (i.e., [0302] The AMF 3016 may send a message (e.g. a positioning information request message 3044) to an LMC. The positioning information request message 3044 may request a user plane transmission for the positioning of the wireless device 3004. The LMC may be serving the wireless device 3004. The LMC may be located in a base station (e.g. (R)AN) serving the wireless device 3004 (e.g., shown as LMC/(R)AN 3012).. As described in paragraph [00302]).
Regarding claim 16, and 30 Rao and Qiao discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above.
And Qiao further discloses:
A location server, comprising: one or more memories; one or more transceivers; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to: configured to perform a method of communication performed by a location server, comprising: (i.e., FIG. 4A shows general hardware elements that may be used to implement any of the various computing devices discussed herein, including any base station, wireless device, or computing device. [0074] Base stations, wireless devices, relay nodes, and other communication devices may comprise one or more transceivers. As described in paragraph [00070] and [0074]).
A method of communication performed by a location server, comprising:
receiving a request for a deferred user equipment (UE) location, (i.e., [0222] The LMF may receive location requests, for a target wireless device, from the serving AMF via an Nlmf interface. As described in paragraph [0222]).
wherein the request comprises a request for periodic location reporting, a request for location reporting based on the UE changing an area, or a request for location reporting based on the UE moving more than a specified distance; (i.e.,[0223] The LMF selection functionality may be supported by the LMF, for example, if the LMF determines that it is unsuitable or unable to support location determination for the current wireless device access network or serving cell (e.g., for the deferred 5GC-MT-LR procedure for periodic, or triggered location events). As described in paragraph [0223]).
configuring the UE to perform a deferred positioning session based, at least in part, on the request for the deferred UE location; (i.e., [0222] An LMF may manage the overall co-ordination and scheduling of resources required for determining a location of a wireless device (e.g., that is registered with or accessing a CN, such as a 5GCN). The LMF may calculate or verify a final location estimate and/or a velocity estimate. The LMF may estimate the achieved accuracy. The LMF may receive location requests, for a target wireless device, from the serving AMF via an Nlmf interface. The LMF may interact with the wireless device to exchange location information as applicable for wireless device-assisted and/or wireless device-based position methods. As described in paragraph [0222]).
And transmitting, to a network entity, deferred location request information for the deferred positioning session.
(i.e., [0266] The LMC/LMF 2812 may send a response message (e.g. a positioning information response message 2860) to the AMF 2816. As described in paragraph [0266]).
Regarding claim 17 Rao and Qiao discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above.
And Qiao further discloses:
wherein the deferred location request information comprises:
a confirmation of whether a periodic or triggered location report for the deferred positioning session was successfully activated in the UE, or configured reporting information and at least one configured positioning method provided to the UE for the deferred positioning session. (i.e., [0222] An LMF may manage the overall co-ordination and scheduling of resources required for determining a location of a wireless device (e.g., that is registered with or accessing a CN, such as a 5GCN). The LMF may calculate or verify a final location estimate and/or a velocity estimate. The LMF may estimate the achieved accuracy. The LMF may receive location requests, for a target wireless device, from the serving AMF via an Nlmf interface. The LMF may interact with the wireless device to exchange location information as applicable for wireless device-assisted and/or wireless device-based position methods. As described in paragraph [0222]).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Qiao et al. (Hereinafter “Qiao”, US 20210385625), in view of RAO (Hereinafter “Rao”, WO 2022081893), and further in view of Babaei (Hereinafter “Babaei”, US 20210235339.)
Regarding claim 9: Qiao and Rao disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. But does not expressly disclose features of these claims:
wherein the deferred location request information includes one or more parameters indicating expected UE behavior.
In similarly endeavor, Babaei discloses:
wherein the deferred location request information includes one or more parameters indicating expected UE behavior. (i.e., [0247] The S-NODE addition request message may comprise an expected UE behavior IE. For example, the expected behavior IE may indicate the behavior of a wireless device with predictable activity and/or mobility behavior, to assist the NG-RAN node in determining the optimum RRC connection time. In an example, the expected UE behavior IE may comprise the first information element indicating the wireless device type. As described in paragraph [0247]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Babaei into the invention of Qiao and Rao in order to provide a better method, more efficient for connecting UE for deferred location reporting.
Regarding claim 10 Qiao, Rao and Babaei disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
And Babaei further discloses:
wherein the one or more parameters include:
expected UE mobility, handover interval, or any combination thereof. (i.e., [0247] The S-NODE addition request message may comprise an expected UE behavior IE. For example, the expected behavior IE may indicate the behavior of a wireless device with predictable activity and/or mobility behavior, to assist the NG-RAN node in determining the optimum RRC connection time. In an example, the expected UE behavior IE may comprise the first information element indicating the wireless device type. As described in paragraph [0247]).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Qiao et al. (Hereinafter “Qiao”, US 20210385625), in view of RAO (Hereinafter “Rao”, WO 2022081893), and further in view of KIM et al. (Hereinafter “Kim”, US 20190007992).
Regarding claim 12: Qiao and Rao disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. But does not expressly disclose features of these claims:
wherein the core network assistance information is received in a Context Modification Request message.
In similarly endeavor, Kim discloses:
wherein the core network assistance information is received in a Context Modification Request message. (i.e., [0427] In operation 4 that is conditionally performed, the AMF device may send, to the SMF device, an Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request (PDU session ID(s), cause(s), UE location information, access type). As described in paragraph [0427]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Kim into the invention of Qiao and Rao in order to provide a better method, more efficient for connecting UE for deferred location reporting.
Regarding claim 13: Qiao, Rao and Kim disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
And Kim further discloses:
further comprising:
transmitting a Context Modification Response message to the network entity in response to reception of the Context Modification Request message. (i.e., [0458] In operation 11 that is performed conditionally, the SMF device may send, to the AMF device, an Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext response (N2 SM information (PDU session ID, QFI(s), QoS profile(s), CN N3 tunnel information, S-NSSAI), cause). As described in paragraph [0458]).
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Qiao et al. (Hereinafter “Qiao”, US 20210385625), in view of RAO (Hereinafter “Rao”, WO 2022081893), and further in view of Edge et al. (Hereinafter “Edge”, US 20210051559.)
Regarding claim 21: Qiao and Rao disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. But does not expressly disclose features of these claims:
wherein the UE reporting activity parameter is transmitted to the network entity in an NlmfLocation_DetermineLocation Response service operation.
In similarly endeavor, Edge discloses:
wherein the UE reporting activity parameter is transmitted to the network entity in an NlmfLocation_DetermineLocation Response service operation. (i.e., [0105] At stage 5c, the LMF 120 sends an Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation response to the AMF 115. As described in paragraph [0105]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Edge into the invention of Qiao and Rao in order to provide a better method, more efficient for connecting UE for deferred location reporting.
Regarding claim 22: Qiao, Rao and Edge disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
And Edge further discloses:
wherein the configured reporting information is for inclusion in core network assistance information for radio resource control (RRC) state transition for the UE. (i.e., [0105] At stage 5c, the LMF 120 sends an Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation response to the AMF 115. As described in paragraph [0105]).
Conclusion
/Eric M. Vo/Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644