DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 13 November 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 11-14, 16, 20-26 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fujishiro et al (United States Pre-Grant Publication 2024/0090050), hereinafter Fujishiro.
Regarding Claim 23, Fujishiro discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity (Figure 9, gNB 200), comprising:
a processor (Figure 9 and paragraph 0078 – the controller 230 includes at least one processor);
memory coupled with the processor (Figure 9 and paragraph 0078 – the controller 230 includes at least one memory); and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor (paragraph 0078 - the memory stores a program to be executed by the processor and information to be used for processing by the processor) to cause the apparatus to:
transmit, to a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS), first control signaling indicating a configuration of radio resources for communicating signals between the network entity and one or more wireless devices via a set of reflective elements of the RIS (Figure 10 and paragraph 0085 and/or Figure 18 and paragraph 0110 – the gNB transmits RIS control configuration to the RIS-UE);
determine a set of restricted locations for the signals reflected by the RIS and one or more restriction types associated with the set of restricted locations (Figure 11 and paragraphs 0086-0088 – the RIS control configuration includes frequency configuration information, mode configuration (including a blocking mode), and direction configuration information for the UE; Figure 13 and paragraphs 0093 – the RIS-UE transmits uplink signaling to the gNB including RIS device capability information than can include mode capability and angle capability information; Figure 18 and paragraph 0113 – the gNB receives a measurement report from the UE); and
transmit, to the RIS, second control signaling indicating the set of restricted locations and the one or more restriction types associated with the set of restricted locations (paragraphs 0097-0100 – the gNB configured various parameters, such as operation mode, propagation direction, and delay times based on the received capability information; Figure 18 and paragraph 0114 – the gNB can reconfigure the RIS device (inclusive of the RIS control configuration including mode configuration and direction configuration information shown in Figure 11) in response to the received measurement report).
Claim 1 is a method claim comprising the same steps performed by the apparatus of Claim 23. Accordingly, Claim 1 is rejected for the same reasons as presented above for Claim 23.
Regarding Claims 2 and 24, Fujishiro discloses wherein transmitting the second control signaling indicating the set of restricted locations comprises: transmitting, to the RIS, an identification of each restricted location of the set of restricted locations (paragraph 0089 - the RIS control configuration may include direction configuration information to configure the propagation direction of the radio wave changed by the RIS device 500. The direction configuration information may be associated with the frequency configuration information (center frequency). The direction configuration information may be information to configure a reflection angle in the RIS device 500 or may be information to configure a refraction angle in the RIS device 500).
Regarding Claims 3 and 25, Fujishiro discloses wherein transmitting the second control signaling indicating the set of restricted locations comprises: transmitting, to the RIS, an indication of a set of reference signals from the network entity for the RIS to determine the set of restricted locations (paragraph 0110 - the measurement configuration provided by the gNB to the RIS-UE may include information to configure at least one selected from the group consisting of a measurement target frequency, a measurement target signal (for example, a DM-RS or a CSI-RS that is a downlink reference signal, and/or an SRS that is an uplink reference signal)).
Regarding Claims 4 and 26, Fujishiro discloses wherein transmitting the second control signaling indicating the set of restricted locations comprises: transmitting, to the RIS, a set of restricted angles and a restriction type associated with each restricted angle (paragraph 0089 - the direction configuration information may be associated with the frequency configuration information (center frequency). The direction configuration information may be information to configure a reflection angle in the RIS device 500 or may be information to configure a refraction angle in the RIS device 500).
Regarding Claim 6, Fujishiro discloses the second control signaling comprises a downlink control information message (paragraph 0084), a media access control-control element (paragraph 0084), radio resource control signaling (paragraph 0084), or a sequence (Note: this is claimed in alternative and is not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding Claim 7, Fujishiro discloses a single control message comprises the first control signaling and the second control signaling (Figure 11, a RIS control configuration message comprises frequency configuration information, mode configuration information, and direction configuration information).
Regarding Claim 8, Fujishiro discloses a first control message comprises the first control signaling and a second control message comprises the second control signaling (paragraphs 0097-0100 – the gNB configured various parameters, such as operation mode, propagation direction, and delay times based on the received capability information; Figure 18 and paragraph 0114 – the gNB can reconfigure the RIS device (inclusive of the RIS control configuration including mode configuration and direction configuration information shown in Figure 11) in response to the received measurement report).
Regarding Claim 28, Fujishiro discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) (Figure 8 – RIS-UE 100B and RIS device 500), comprising:
a processor (Figure 8 and paragraph 0069 - controller 130 includes at least one processor);
memory coupled with the processor (Figure 8 and paragraph 0069 - controller 130 includes at least one memory); and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor (paragraph 0069 – the memory stores a program to be executed by the processor and information to be used for processing by the processor) to cause the apparatus to:
receive first control signaling indicating a configuration of radio resources for communicating signals between a network entity and one or more wireless devices via a set of reflective elements of the RIS (Figure 10 and paragraph 0085 and/or Figure 18 and paragraph 0110 – the gNB transmits RIS control configuration to the RIS-UE);
receive, from the network entity, second control signaling indicating a set of restricted locations for the signals reflected by the RIS and one or more restriction types associated with the set of restricted locations (Figure 18 and paragraph 0114 – the gNB can reconfigure the RIS device (inclusive of the RIS control configuration including mode configuration and direction configuration information shown in Figure 11) in response to the received measurement report); and
control the set of reflective elements of the RIS to reflect the signals according to the configuration based at least in part on the set of restricted locations and the one or more restriction types (paragraphs 0070-0072 – the RIS device is controlled based on RIS control configuration information received by the RIS-UE).
Claim 11 is a method claim comprising the same steps performed by the apparatus of Claim 28. Accordingly, Claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons as presented above for Claim 28.
Regarding Claims 12 and 29, Fujishiro discloses wherein receiving the second control signaling indicating the set of restricted locations comprises: receiving, from the network entity, an identification of each restricted location of the set of restricted locations (paragraph 0089 - the RIS control configuration may include direction configuration information to configure the propagation direction of the radio wave changed by the RIS device 500. The direction configuration information may be associated with the frequency configuration information (center frequency). The direction configuration information may be information to configure a reflection angle in the RIS device 500 or may be information to configure a refraction angle in the RIS device 500).
Regarding Claims 13 and 30, Fujishiro discloses wherein receiving the second control signaling indicating the set of restricted locations comprises: receiving an indication of a set of reference signals from the network entity (paragraph 0110 - the measurement configuration provided by the gNB to the RIS-UE may include information to configure at least one selected from the group consisting of a measurement target frequency, a measurement target signal (for example, a DM-RS or a CSI-RS that is a downlink reference signal, and/or an SRS that is an uplink reference signal)); and determining, by the RIS, the set of restricted locations based at least in part on the set of restricted locations corresponding to the set of reference signals (paragraphs 0111-0113 – the RIS-UE performs measurement and transmits a report based on the received reference signal information).
Regarding Claim 14, Fujishiro discloses wherein receiving the second control signaling indicating the set of restricted locations comprises: receiving, from the network entity, a set of restricted angles and a restriction type associated with each restricted angle (paragraph 0089 - the direction configuration information may be associated with the frequency configuration information (center frequency). The direction configuration information may be information to configure a reflection angle in the RIS device 500 or may be information to configure a refraction angle in the RIS device 500).
Regarding Claim 16, Fujishiro discloses selecting, for each reflective element of the set of reflective elements of the RIS, a reflection configuration based at least in part on the set of restricted locations, the one or more restriction types, or both (paragraph 0089 - the direction configuration information may be associated with the frequency configuration information (center frequency). The direction configuration information may be information to configure a reflection angle in the RIS device 500 or may be information to configure a refraction angle in the RIS device 500).
Regarding Claim 20, Fujishiro discloses the second control signaling comprises a downlink control information message (paragraph 0084), a media access control-control element (paragraph 0084), radio resource control signaling (paragraph 0084), or a sequence (Note: this is claimed in alternative and is not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding Claim 21, Fujishiro discloses wherein a single control message comprises the first control signaling and the second control signaling (Figure 11, a RIS control configuration message comprises frequency configuration information, mode configuration information, and direction configuration information).
Regarding Claim 22, Fujishiro discloses wherein a first control message comprises the first control signaling and a second control message comprises the second control signaling (paragraphs 0097-0100 – the gNB configured various parameters, such as operation mode, propagation direction, and delay times based on the received capability information; Figure 18 and paragraph 0114 – the gNB can reconfigure the RIS device (inclusive of the RIS control configuration including mode configuration and direction configuration information shown in Figure 11) in response to the received measurement report).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 10 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro in view of Ali et al (WIPO Publication 2023/170581), hereinafter Ali.
Regarding Claim 9, Fujishiro discloses the limitations of Claim 1, as described above. However, Fujishiro does not disclose receiving an indication of interference value from at least one wireless device of the one or more wireless devices; and adding, to the set of restricted locations, a restricted location associated with the at least one wireless device based at least in part on the interference value exceeding a threshold interference value. In an analogous art, Ali discloses this. Specifically, Ali discloses configuration information for beam sweeping to generate the RIS-specific signal interference information, and an indication to report an interference level for each beam; where implementing the mitigation procedure includes transmitting, to the second network device, at least some of the RIS-specific signal interference information; where implementing the mitigation procedure includes configuring the RIS with one or more of phase coefficients or amplitude coefficients to mitigate signal interference caused by signal reflected by the RIS (Figure 3 at 324; paragraphs 0066 and 0112). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Fujishiro and Ali. One would have been motivated to do so in order to mitigate signal interference and increase signal quality (refer to paragraph 0005 of Ali).
Regarding Claim 10, Fujishiro discloses the limitations of Claim 1, as described above. However, Fujishiro does not disclose receiving, from a wireless node, joint scheduling information; determining that interference exists for at least one wireless device of the one or more wireless devices; and adding, to the set of restricted locations, a restricted location associated with the at least one wireless device based at least in part on the interference existing. In an analogous art, Ali discloses this. Specifically, Ali discloses configuration information for beam sweeping to generate the RIS-specific signal interference information, and an indication to report an interference level for each beam; where implementing the mitigation procedure includes transmitting, to the second network device, at least some of the RIS-specific signal interference information; where implementing the mitigation procedure includes configuring the RIS with one or more of phase coefficients or amplitude coefficients to mitigate signal interference caused by signal reflected by the RIS (Figure 3 at 324; paragraphs 0066 and 0112). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Fujishiro and Ali. One would have been motivated to do so in order to mitigate signal interference and increase signal quality (refer to paragraph 0005 of Ali).
Regarding Claim 17, Fujishiro discloses the limitations of Claim 16, as described above. However, Fujishiro does not disclose the reflection configuration comprises a coefficient amplitude and phase value for the each reflective element. In an analogous art, Ali discloses this. Specifically, Ali discloses the base station configures the RIS to avoid signal interference using phase coefficients and amplitude coefficients (paragraph 0076). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Fujishiro and Ali. One would have been motivated to do so in order to mitigate signal interference and increase signal quality (refer to paragraph 0005 of Ali).
Regarding Claim 18, Fujishiro discloses the limitations of Claim 11, as described above. However, Fujishiro does not disclose wherein controlling the set of reflective elements comprises: identifying that interference exists between a location of the one or more wireless devices and a restricted location; and generating a set of reflection coefficients for the set of reflective elements based at least in part on the set of restricted locations and the one or more restriction types. In an analogous art, Ali discloses this. Specifically, Ali discloses configuration information for beam sweeping to generate the RIS-specific signal interference information, and an indication to report an interference level for each beam; where implementing the mitigation procedure includes transmitting, to the second network device, at least some of the RIS-specific signal interference information; where implementing the mitigation procedure includes configuring the RIS with one or more of phase coefficients or amplitude coefficients to mitigate signal interference caused by signal reflected by the RIS (Figure 3 at 324; paragraphs 0066 and 0112). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Fujishiro and Ali. One would have been motivated to do so in order to mitigate signal interference and increase signal quality (refer to paragraph 0005 of Ali).
Regarding Claim 19, Fujishiro discloses the limitations of Claim 11, as described above. However, Fujishiro does not disclose wherein controlling the set of reflective elements comprises: identifying a lack of interference between a location of the one or more wireless devices and a restricted location; and generating a set of reflection coefficients for the set of reflective elements exclusive of the set of restricted locations and the one or more restriction types. In an analogous art, Ali discloses this. Specifically, Ali discloses configuration information for beam sweeping to generate the RIS-specific signal interference information, and an indication to report an interference level for each beam; where implementing the mitigation procedure includes transmitting, to the second network device, at least some of the RIS-specific signal interference information; where implementing the mitigation procedure includes configuring the RIS with one or more of phase coefficients or amplitude coefficients to mitigate signal interference caused by signal reflected by the RIS (Figure 3 at 324; paragraphs 0066 and 0112). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Fujishiro and Ali. One would have been motivated to do so in order to mitigate signal interference and increase signal quality (refer to paragraph 0005 of Ali).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 15 and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Duarte Gelvez et al (United States Pre-Grant Publication US 20240014864 A1) is directed to restricting propagation of reference signals from a RIS.
/ANDREW W CHRISS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472