Claim Interpretation
During patent examination, pending claims must be “given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification.” MPEP 2111; See also, MPEP 2173.02. Limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim are not read into the claim. In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-551 (CCPA 1969). See also, In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321-22, 13 USPQ2d 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (“During patent examination the pending claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow”). The reason is simply that during patent prosecution when claims can be amended, ambiguities should be recognized, scope and breadth of language explored, and clarification imposed. An essential purpose of patent examination is to fashion claims that are precise, clear, correct, and unambiguous. Only in this way can uncertainties of claim scope be removed, as much as possible, during the administrative process.
The Examiner respectfully requests of the Applicant in preparing responses, to consider fully the entirety of the reference(s) as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention. It is noted, REFERENCES ARE RELEVANT AS PRIOR ART FOR ALL THEY CONTAIN.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-21, 25, 28-34, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application No. 2017/0160909 A1 to Barnett et al. (hereinafter Barnett).
With regard to claim 17, Barnett discloses:
17. (New) A method for content presentation, comprising:
presenting a set of media content items on a content presentation page (see, Fig. 3, and detailed description, including, illustrates an example scenario 300 associated with dynamically providing layouts based on media content selection, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure, para. 0051);
switching between a plurality of viewing modes based on a mode switching operation for the plurality of viewing modes, the set of media content items being presented in a plurality of different sizes in the plurality of viewing modes (see Fig. 3, and detailed description, including, the interface 304 can present a collection of media content items 306, such as images and/or videos from a camera roll of the computing device 302. A user of the computing device 302 can select a first media content item 308, which can cause a first set of layouts (not explicitly illustrated in the example scenario 300) to be dynamically selected, provided, and previewed, para. 0052); and
in response to switching to at least one predetermined viewing mode of the plurality of viewing modes, presenting the set of media content items and information associated with the set of media content items together (see, detailed description, including, the disclosed technology can enable the preview of the second set of layouts to be navigable, such as via scrolling. The example interface 304 illustrates a scroll bar 318 that moves during scrolling, para. 0053).
With regard to claim 18, Barnett discloses:
18. (New) The method of claim 17, wherein the mode switching operation comprises a multi-touch gesture operation comprising a movement between a plurality of touch points on a touch screen, wherein switching between the plurality of viewing modes comprises (see, Fig. 3, and detailed description, including, illustrates an example computing device (or system) 302. As shown, the example computing device 302 can present an interface 304 configured to dynamically provide layouts based on media content selection, para. 0051):
in response to the multi-touch gesture operation indicating a decrease in a distance between the plurality of touch points, switching from a first viewing mode to a second viewing mode (see, Fig. 4, and detailed description, including, The user can also resize each of the frames. As shown, the user can select the first frame 414 and drag a sizing element, bar, or button 418 in order to resize the first frame 414 from its initial position, which can be determined or set based on the selected media content, para. 0055); and
in response to the multi-touch gesture operation indicating an increase in a distance between the plurality of touch points, switching from the second viewing mode to the first viewing mode (see, detailed description, including, The modified live camera view 506 can be zoomed at a specified zoom level and can be shifted vertically in a specified shift amount. For example, the modified live camera view 506 can be zoomed in by 10% to 20% and can be vertically shifted upward by 10%. para. 0057),
wherein a media content item is presented in a first size in the first viewing mode and is presented in a second size in the second viewing mode, and the first size being greater than the second size (see, Fig. 3, and detailed description, including, in the example scenario 300, the interface 304 can present a collection of media content items 306, such as images and/or videos from a camera roll of the computing device 302, para. 0052).
With regard to claim 19, Barnett discloses:
19. (New) The method of claim 18, wherein the multi-touch gesture operation comprises a two-finger pinch close operation or a two-finger pinch open operation (see, detailed description, including, the user can adjust the zoom level for the media content item within each frame, such as by finger pinching to zoom out or finger spreading to zoom in, para. 0055).
With regard to claim 20, Barnett discloses:
20. (New) The method of claim 17, further comprising detecting the mode switching operation based on the following:
presenting a mode selection portal on the content presentation page (see, Fig. 2A, and detailed description, including, an example layout providing module 202 configured to facilitate dynamically providing layouts based on media content selection, para. 0038);
in response to detecting a trigger operation on the mode selection portal (see, detailed description, including, the layout providing module 202 can utilize the layout selection module 204 to select which layouts are to be included in the set of layouts, para. 0039); and
detecting a selection of the list of the plurality of options (see, detailed description, including, for instance, have already been generated based on manual or other efforts, and the layout selection module 204 can appropriately identify or select certain layouts that are to be included in the set of layouts. In some cases, the layout selection module 204 can specify or predefine criteria that need to be satisfied, or a scenario that needs to occur, in order for a particular layout to be selected for inclusion in the set of layouts, para. 0039).
With regard to claim 21, Barnett discloses:
21. (New) The method of claim 17, further comprising detecting the mode switching operation based on the following:
presenting, in a tab bar of the content presentation page, a plurality of tabs corresponding to the plurality of viewing modes( see, Fig. 3, and detailed description, including, in the example scenario 300, a preview of the second set of layouts can include previews for a first layout 312 in the second set, a second layout 314 in the second set, a third layout 316 in the second set, and so forth. In some case, the user can tap or click on each of the previews (e.g., thumbnail images) in order to access or edit each layout, para. 0052); and
detecting a selection of the plurality of tabs in the tab bar (see, as above, and In some case, the user can tap or click on each of the previews (e.g., thumbnail images) in order to access or edit each layout, para. 0052).
With regard to claim 25, Barnett discloses:
25. (New) The method of claim 17, wherein the set of media content items are presented in a partial region of the content presentation page in the plurality of viewing modes (see, Fig. 3, and detailed description, including, the interface 304 can present a collection of media content items 306, such as images and/or videos from a camera roll of the computing device 302, para. 0052), and the method further comprises:
in response to detecting another mode switching operation, switching to a global page mode in which the set of media content items are presented in a global region of the content presentation page (see, detailed description, including, As shown in the example scenario 300, a preview of the second set of layouts can include previews for a first layout 312 in the second set, a second layout 314 in the second set, a third layout 316 in the second set, and so forth, para. 0052).
With regard to claim 28, Barnett discloses:
28. (New) The method of claim 17, wherein the set of media content items comprises a first set of media content items under a first navigation tab in the content presentation page, and the method further comprises:
in accordance with detecting a navigation switching operation for switching from the first navigation tab to a second navigation tab while presenting the first set of media content items in a third viewing mode of the plurality of viewing modes (see, detailed description, including, in the example scenario 300, a preview of the second set of layouts can include previews for a first layout 312 in the second set, a second layout 314 in the second set, a third layout 316 in the second set, para. 0052),
switching to the second navigation tab (see, detailed description, including, the interface 304 can provide options (e.g., buttons 320, 322, and 324) to switch the collection of media content items 306 from those within the camera roll, para. 0053); and
presenting, in the third viewing mode, a second set of media content items under the second navigation tab (see, detailed description, including, a third layout 316 in the second set, and so forth. In some case, the user can tap or click on each of the previews (e.g., thumbnail images) in order to access or edit each layout, para. 0052).
With regard to claim 29, Barnett discloses:
29. (New) The method of claim 17, wherein the content presentation page comprises a personal page of a content sharing application (see, detailed description, including, the privacy setting identifies a work phone number or a specific set of related information, such as, personal information including profile photo, home phone number, and status, para. 0089).
With regard to claim 30, claim 30 (a device claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 17 (a method claim) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above (with the addition of at least one processing unit (see, computer system 800 includes a processor 802, para. 0093); and
at least one memory coupled to the at least one processing unit and storing instructions for execution by the at least one processing unit, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processing unit (see, detailed description, including, A system memory 814 and one or more network interfaces 816 couple to high performance I/O bus 806. The computer system 800 may further include video memory and a display device coupled to the video memory (not shown) para. 0093).
With regard to claim 31, claim 31 (a device claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 18 (a method claim) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
With regard to claim 32, claim 32 (a device claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 19 (a method claim) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
With regard to claim 33, claim 33 (a device claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 20 (a method claim) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
With regard to claim 34, claim 34 (a device claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 21 (a method claim) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
With regard to claim 36, claim 36 (a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 30 (a device claim) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22-23, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnett in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0258919 A1 to Peng et al.
With regard to claim 22, Barnett fails to explicitly disclose:
22. (New) The method of claim 17, wherein the plurality of viewing modes comprises at least one of the following:
a single-column viewing mode,
a dual-column viewing mode,
a three-column viewing mode,
a six-column viewing mode,
a nine-column viewing mode.
Peng discloses:
22. (New) The method of claim 17, wherein the plurality of viewing modes comprises at least one of the following:
a single-column viewing mode, a first switch from the two-column thumbnail view mode to the single-column complete view mode and second switch from the single-column complete view mode to the two-column thumbnail view mode, which will be illustrated respectively hereinafter, para. 0071).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed, and having the teachings of Peng and Barnett before her, to be motivated to combine the features from Barnett, with Peng, including, a single-column viewing mode, a first switch from the two-column thumbnail view mode to the single-column complete view mode and second switch from the single-column complete view mode to the two-column thumbnail view mode, which will be illustrated respectively hereinafter, para. 0071).
Therefore, a rationale to support a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.1
With regard to claim 22, Barnett fails to explicitly disclose:
23. (New) The method of claim 22, wherein the at least one predetermined viewing mode comprises at least one of the following: the single-column viewing mode, the dual-column viewing mode, the three-column viewing mode.
Peng discloses:
wherein the at least one predetermined viewing mode comprises at least one of the following: the single-column viewing mode, the dual-column viewing mode, the three-column viewing mode (see, as above, and view mode switch includes a first switch from the two-column thumbnail view mode to the single-column complete view mode and second switch from the single-column complete view mode to the two-column thumbnail view mode, the view mode switch is interpreted as a predetermined viewing mode selector, para. 0071).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed, and having the teachings of Peng and Barnett before her, to be motivated to combine the features from Barnett, with Peng, including, view mode switch includes a first switch from the two-column thumbnail view mode to the single-column complete view mode and second switch from the single-column complete view mode to the two-column thumbnail view mode, the view mode switch is interpreted as a predetermined viewing mode selector, para. 0071).
Therefore, a rationale to support a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.2
With regard to claim 35, claim 35 (a device claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 22 (a method claim) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24, 26 and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
For convenience they are reproduced below:
24. (New) The method of claim 17, wherein the at least one predetermined viewing mode comprises a first predetermined viewing mode and a second predetermined viewing mode, wherein a media content item is presented in a first predetermined size in the first predetermined viewing mode and presented in a second predetermined size in the second predetermined viewing mode, the first predetermined size is greater than the second predetermined size, and
first information associated with the media content items and presented in the first predetermined viewing mode is more than second information associated with the media content items and presented in the second predetermined viewing mode.
26. (New) The method of claim 25, further comprising:
in response to detecting, in the global page mode, a movement operation in a predetermined direction of the content presentation page, translating a media content item that is outside an edge of the content presentation page in the predetermined direction into the global region of the content presentation page.
27. (New) The method of claim 26, further comprising:
in response to detecting, in the global page mode, a mode switching operation for the plurality of viewing modes, switching between the plurality of viewing modes in the global page mode to present the set of media content items in the plurality of viewing modes in the global region of the content presentation page.
A sampling of the prior art made of record and not relied upon and considered pertinent to Applicants’ disclosure includes: U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/028186 A1 to Vogel et al. that discusses: The method involves displaying a current view of spreadsheet data associated with a workbook including sheets. An instruction is received to change the current view of the data. The current view is changed to a thumbnail view that displays a thumbnail representing one of the sheets when the current view is a data view and the instruction is a zoom instruction that indicates to display the thumbnail view. The current view is changed to the data view when the current view is the thumbnail view and the instruction is the zoom instruction that indicates to display the data view.
Conclusion
WILLIAM D. TITCOMB
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2178
/WILLIAM D TITCOMB/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178 10-27-26
1 KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385 (2007).
2 KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385 (2007).