DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.84 (u)(1), specifically they have different views within the same figure. In the instant drawings, figures 2-3.
Applicant is reminded that drawings must be numbered in consecutive Arabic numerals, starting with 1, independent of the numbering of the sheets and, if possible, in the order in which they appear on the drawing sheet(s), partial views intended to form one complete view, on one or several sheets, must be identified by the same number followed by a capital letter and/or view numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation "FIG." No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claims 3-5 and 11-12 be found allowable, claims 16-20 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-7, and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vachtenberg (US 2023/0248482).
Regarding claim 1, Vachtenberg assembled dental implant (implant body 212, see figures 9-14), comprising:
a metallic body (second portion 218, par 79 disclosing the implant body being made of metal) manufactured at least partially by an additive manufacturing process (par 79 discloses the implant being created by 3D printing, which is a type of additive manufacturing), wherein the metallic body is provided with a cavity, the cavity having an opening;
an inlay part (first portion 214) at least partially introduced within the cavity (see figures 9 and 10) and sealably connected with the metallic body (par 80 discloses the first and second portion welded together to create a single integral component that is hermetically sealed\);
wherein sides of the inlay part mate with an inner surface of the cavity (see figure 9 and par 67 discloses no gap being between the apical region 224 of the cavity 216 and the outerwall of the apical portion of the first portion 214, there being no gap meaning the apical portion mates); and
wherein the inlay part is sealably connected with the metallic body by a weld seam along the opening (par 78 discloses the first portion 214 being welded to the second portion around the opening of the cavity creating a weld seam along the coronal interface 220).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Vachtenberg discloses the metallic body being made of titanium or a titanium alloy (par 112 and 114 discloses the first and second portions being made of a titanium).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Vachtenberg the inlay part is made of titanium or titanium alloy (par 112 and 114 discloses the first and second portions being made of a titanium).
Regarding claim 5 and 18, applicant is advised that “the cavity is formed by machining the metallic body after the additive manufacturing process” is considered a product by process claim and the determination of patentability is based on the product itself, See MPEP 2113. In the instant case, Vachtenberg discloses the cavity is formed within the body and therefore achieves the implied structure of this limitation (see figure 10).
Regarding claim 6, applicant is advised that “the additive manufacturing process involves selective laser melting” is considered a product by process claim and the determination of patentability is based on the product itself, See MPEP 2113. In the instant case, Vachtenberg discloses the structure of previous claim 2 and therefore achieves the implied structure of this limitation.
Regarding claim 7, applicant is advised that “the weld seam is at least partly formed by laser welding the inlay part to the metallic body” is considered a product by process claim and the determination of patentability is based on the product itself, See MPEP 2113, In the instant case, Vachtenberg discloses the weld seam (a weld seam along the coronal interface 220) is at least partly formed by laser welding the inlay part to the body (par 81 and 85).
Regarding claim 11 and 19, Vachtenberg discloses the inlay has an inner bore (compartment 236).
Regarding claim 12 and 20, Vachtenberg discloses the inlay part has a thread in the inner bore (see figure 9).
Regarding claim 13, Vachtenberg discloses the inner bore provides an indexing geometry (see figure 9).
Regarding claim 14, Vachtenberg discloses the inner bore is adapted to connect to an abutment (see figure 14).
Claim 15, Vachtenberg discloses a method for assembling a dental implant (210), comprising:
-providing a metallic body at least partially manufactured via an additive manufacturing process (par 79 discloses the 3D printing of the implant body 212 and second portion 218,disclosed in par 79 disclosing the implant body being made of metal),
-providing a cavity with an opening in the metallic body during the additive manufacturing process and/or by machining the metallic body after the additive manufacturing process (see par 79 which discloses the 3D printing if the implant body which includes a cavity and opening into the body and figure 10);
-inserting, an inlay in the cavity via the opening (see figure 9-10), wherein sides of the inlay mate with inner surface of the cavity (see figure 9 and par 67 discloses no gap being between the apical region 224 of the cavity 216 and the outerwall of the apical portion of the first portion 214, there being no gap meaning the apical portion mates); and
-connecting the inlay to the metallic body using a weld seam and sealing off the cavity (par 78 discloses the first portion 214 being welded to the second portion around the opening of the cavity creating a weld seam along the coronal interface 220).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vachtenberg as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Vladila (WO 2012/165987).
Regarding claims 2 and 8, Vachtenberg discloses the claimed invention as set forth above in claim 1 and further discloses the inlay part (214 portion ) is adhered in the cavity (216, see par 67 which discloses the apical portion of the first portion 214 being welded to the apical region of the cavity to eliminate any gaps, this creating an adhesion between the two), but fails to disclose the adhering being by an adhesive and the adhesive includes epoxy.
Vladila teaches a sealable connection at least partly formed by adhesive including an epoxy (where the inner bush 19 is attached to implant body 18, see figures 42-47 by epoxy or welding, page 26 paragraph 4).
As both Vachtenberg and Vladila disclose a sealable connection (Vachtenberg par 80 and Vladila page 26), it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing to substitute the adhered inlay part to the cavity of Vachtenberg with the alternative adhesive including an epoxy of Vladila to achieve the predictable results of permanently attaching the inlay to the implant body with a sealed connection.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vachtenberg as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Thijs et al (WO 2009/004069).
Regarding claim 9, Vachtenberg fails to disclose the metallic body’s outer surface retains texture from the additive manufacturing process.
This teaches a body outer surface retaining texture from the additive manufacturing process (the porous body 12 is disclosed as being fabricated by a 3D fibre deposition technique, see par 55 which would result in a texture of the outer surface).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Vachtenberg to have the body’s outer surface retains texture from the additive manufacturing process as taught by Thijs for the purpose of enhancing bone adhesion and mechanical properties.
Regarding claim 10, Vachtenberg fails to disclose the additive manufactured metallic body’s outer surface has a rougher surface than the inlay part’s surface.
Thijs taches an additive manufactured body (porous body 12 is disclosed as being created by 3D fibre deposition/rapid prototyping in par 21) has a rougher surface than an inlay part surface (dense member 11, where the surfaces of the porous body of the outer implant is rougher than the outer surface of a dense non-porous body).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of applicants filing to modify Vachtenberg to have the additive manufactured body’s outer surface has a rougher surface than the inlay part’s surface as taught by Thijs for the purpose of providing rigid support and biocompatibility.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 6 of the REMARKS, that Vachtenberg does not show “an inlay part at least partially introduced within the cavity and sealable connected with the metallic body, wherein sides of the inlay part mate with an inner surface of the cavity”, the examiner disagrees. In the embodiment of figures 9-14 and par 67 no gap being between the apical region 224 of the cavity 216 and the outerwall of the apical portion of the first portion 214, there being no gap meaning the apical portion mates. The limitation only requires sides of the inlay mate and not all of the sides or outer surface mating with the inner surface of the cavity.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.N.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/HEIDI M EIDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772
7/21/2026