DETAILED ACTION
Objection to Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the phrase, “receiving digital voltage data: (see claim 1, needs to show and reference corresponding digital input/outputs, digital converters, see spec., page 14, para. [0076]), (two-phase model details in transform blocks 2, 3 (see claims 2, 8, spec, page 12, para. [0063]), method for estimating the electrical position… (see method limitations of claim 9 needs to be shown and referenced with method steps), Angular speed and position estimator module 10 is shown in fig 2, however, Estimated angle AE and speed SE calculation algorithm (claim 9) not clear as it is not referenced, phase-locked loop type algorithm (calculating algorithm, see claim 10), non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a computer program comprising instructions (see claim 13) must be shown (claimed subject-matter must be shown and referenced) or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Objection to Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Therefore, the phrase, “receiving digital voltage data: (see claim 1, needs to show and reference corresponding digital input/outputs, digital converters, spec., page 14, para. [0076]), (two-phase model details in transform blocks 2, 3 (see claims 2, 8, spec, page 12, para. [0063]), method for estimating the electrical position… (see method limitations of claim 9 needs to be shown and referenced with method steps), Angular speed and position estimator module 10 is shown in fig 2, however, Estimated angle AE and speed SE calculation algorithm not clear as it is not referenced, phase-locked loop type algorithm (calculating algorithm, see claim 10), non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a computer program comprising instructions (see claim 13) must be shown (i.e. claimed subject-matter must be shown and referenced in specification). Appropriate correction is required wherever necessary in the specification.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, the phrase, “receiving digital voltage data” is not clear (see claim 1, needs to show and reference corresponding digital input/outputs, digital converters, spec., page 14, para. [0076]) that provide the digital voltage data.
As to claims 1 and 9, the phrase, “c. inputs for voltage data forced to zero in short-circuit mode of the phases of said machine” is not clear as short circuiting is associated with the braking mode of the machine (see method limitation of claim 9), which is not shown and referenced (braking details) in applicant’s figs.1-3 and therefore how the short circuiting and braking is applied not clear as the short circuiting and braking mode details not shown and explained in specification? Angular speed and position estimator module 10 is shown in fig 2, however, Estimated angle AE and speed SE calculation algorithm not clear as it is not referenced.
As to claims 2 and 8, the phrase, “two-phase model” is not clear as the model details in T32 blocks 2, 3 (see claims 2, 8, spec, page 12, para. [0063]) not shown and referenced.
As to claim 10, the phrase, “phase-locked loop type algorithm” (see spec., page 12, para’s [0065], [0077], [0078]) is not clear as it is not referenced in drawings and spec.
What is reference 20 represent in fig.2 of applicant as it not stated in specification.
As to claim 13, the phrase, “non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a computer program comprising instructions” is not clear as it is not shown in applicants fig.1-3 and not referenced in specification (claimed subject-matter) must be shown).
Appropriate correction is required wherever necessary.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jian et al. (Patent No.: US 11,404,983 B2 and Jian hereinafter) in view of Kawamura (US Pub. No.: US 2013/0127383 A1).
As to claim 1, A permanent-magnet synchronous three-phase rotating machine equipped with a control device comprising a command processor for an inverter driving phases of said machine, wherein said processor comprises a angular speed and position estimator module for the rotor of said machine equipped at the input thereof with an input selector module, receiving digital voltage data, where said input selector module is driven by an operating mode command for said machine, and where said input selector module is configured for selecting:
a. - inputs for data representative of three-phase command voltages Va_cmd, Vb_cmd, Vc_cmd for phases A, B, C from the inverter, in powered operating mode of said machine;
b. inputs for data representative of three-phase measured voltages Va_mes, Vb_mes, Vc_mcs for phases A, B, C of said machine, in free-rotation mode; and
c. inputs for voltage data forced to zero in short-circuit mode of the phases of said machine;
as input data for the angular speed and position estimator module of said machine.
(As to claim 1, Jian teaches (see figs. 2A-2B, (col.7, lines 29-30), (col.8, lines 14-24), (col.10, lines 52-55)) a permanent-magnet synchronous three-phase rotating motor [M] equipped with a control device [control unit 2] comprising a command processor [control IC 6] for an inverter 1 driving phases [U, V, W] of said motor [M], wherein said processor [control IC 6] (of control device 2, fig.2A] comprises a angular speed and position estimator module 43 (output Estimated speed, Estimated Angle, see figs.3A/3B/3C) for the rotor of said motor [M] (col.13, lines 12-32) equipped at the input thereof with an input selector module [switches 50, 51] (see fig.3C, (col.16, lines 30-50)), receiving digital voltage data VADC (via motor control algorithm 300c, see fig.3C, 4-5, data such as Voltage Amplitude Vm, Angle, Vα’, Vβ’ derived from VADC, see fig.3C, (col.15, lines 47-64), (col.17, lines 36-58)) where said input selector module 50, 51 is driven by an operating mode command (catch spin mode command [Signal 1] applied to switches 50, 51, see fig.3C, figs.10-14, (col.15, lines 1-6), (col.23, lines 54-65) or target speed command 15S via target speed generator 15 for closed loop speed control, see fig.3C; modes, see (col.9, lines9-22)) for said motor [M], and where said input selector module 50, 51 (via motor controller algorithm 300c, see fig.3C) is configured for selecting:
a. - inputs for data [Voltage components Vα, Vβ] (AC voltage components, see fig.3C, (col.12, lines 14-34)) representative of three-phase command voltages for phases U, V, W from the inverter 1 (fig.2A, 2B), in powered operating mode (closed loop control, see (col.16, lines 30-43) of said motor [M];
b. inputs for data [Vα’, Vβ]] representative of three-phase measured voltages [CEMF/BEMF voltages] for phases U, V, W of said motor [M] (see line to line voltages UV, VW, WV being measured, see figs.4-5, 7-9, (col.17, lines 1-67), (col.18, lines 1-11, 46-50)), in free-rotation mode [motor [M] (Motor [M] runs freely when switch 52 is open, see fig.3C; relative to catch spin method, see fig.1, (col.1, lines 26-62), (col.14, lines 33-40), motor run freely after “stop” and before start, see figs.1, 10, 11, 12, 13-14, see determination of line to line voltage relative to catch spin process, see (col.21, lines 38-47)); and
as input data [Iα, Iβ, Vα, Vβ, Vα’, Vβ’] (fig.3C) for the angular speed and position estimator module 43 of said motor machine [M], fig.2A-2B).
Jian teaches current data Iqref, Idref = 0 and voltage data Vd=0 forced to zero (via control of switches 46, 47, & 50, 51, 52 for disabling speed control and disable the space vector PWM module 39 (see fig.3C, (col.15, lines 21-30, (col.16, lines 1-23) & (col.18, lines 46-48).
Jian do not mention inputs for voltage data forced to zero in short-circuit mode of the phases of said machine.
Kawamura teaches (figs.1-2, 6) inputs for voltage data Vd*, Vq* forced to zero in short-circuit control mode 28 (fig.2, 6, para’s [0029] & [0055] thru [0058]) of the phases U, V, W of motor 4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have inputs for voltage data forced to zero in short-circuit mode of the phases of motor machine of Kawamura in the system of Jian because service life of the switching elements is lengthened (see Kawamura, para’s [0007], large switching losses can be prevented, see para. [0059]).
As to claim 2, (Currently Amended) The permanent-magnet synchronous three-phase rotating machine according to claim 1 wherein said data representative of measured voltages are two- phase voltage type data Vα1 and Vß1 from a two-phase model in a stator reference frame calculated by means of a second Clarke transform starting with measured voltages Va_mes, Vb_mes, Vc_mes.
(As to claim 2, Jian teaches The permanent-magnet synchronous three-phase rotating motor machine [M] (figs.2A, 2B) according to claim 1 wherein said data representative of measured voltages [CEMF/BEMF voltages VADC] for phases U, V, W of said motor [M] (see line to line voltages UV, VW, WV being measured, see figs.4-5, 7-9, (col.17, lines 1-67), (col.18, lines 1-11, 46-50)) are transformed [via second transform processing block 53] (correspond to line voltages amplitude Vm from PLL 900, see fig.3C, (col.16, lines 1-4), (col.20, lines 24-27)) as two-phase voltage type data Vα’ and Vß’. Jian also teaches (see (col.12, lines 42-51), (col.18, lines 46-60) FOC uses Clarke transform for transforming alpha and beta data).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jian et al. (Patent No.: US 11,404,983 B2) and Kawamura (US Pub. No.: US 2013/0127383 A1) combination and in view of Nondahl et al. (Patent No. US, 9374, 028 B2).
As to claim 8, (Currently Amended) The permanent-magnet synchronous three-phase rotating machine according to claim 1 wherein said data representative of command voltages are two-phase voltage type data Vα2 and Vß2 from a two-phase model in a stator reference frame corresponding to a first Clarke transform of the three-phase command voltages Va_cmd, Vb_cmd, Vc_cmd.
Jian teaches The permanent-magnet synchronous three-phase rotating motor machine [M] (figs.2A, 2B) according to claim 1 wherein said data representative of command voltages [Vα and Vß] (via 38, fig.3C) are two-phase voltage type data Vα2 and Vß. Jian also teaches (see (col.12, lines 42-51), FOC uses Clarke transform for transforming alpha and beta data.
Jian do not mention voltage transform corresponding to the three-phase command voltages Va_cmd, Vb_cmd, Vc_cmd.
Nondahl teaches (fig.2) transform of voltage data [Vα* and Vß*] via transform block [Vabc to Vα,ß] 51 of corresponding command voltages Va, Vb, Vc.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have voltage transform corresponding to the three-phase command voltages Va_cmd, Vb_cmd, Vc_cmd of Nondahl in the combination system of Jian and Kawamura because improved motor techniques for sensorless motor speed control (see Nondahl, (col.1, lines 40-45)).
Allowable Subject-Matter
Claims 3-7, 9-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 3-7, 9-13 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As to claim 3, the prior art of records (closest prior art, Jian (Patent No.: US 11,404,983 B2) and Kawamura (US Pub. No.: US 2013/0127383 A1)
fails to teach
a. an inverse Park matrix module receiving on input, in addition to the voltage data coming from the selector module, current data Iα and Iß calculated from the currents Ia, Ib, Ic for the phases of said machine by means of a third Clarke transform(4), where said inverse Park matrix submodule supplies voltages Vδ, Vγ and currents Iδ, Iγ in a δ, γ rotating reference frame for estimation;
b. a counter-electromotive force estimator module giving counter-electromotive force values Eδ, Ey in said rotating reference frame for estimation;
c. a speed estimator submodule having as output data an estimated speed, looped back on the counter-electromotive force estimator submodule.
Dependent claims 4-7 are depend on allowable claim 3.
As to claim 9, the prior art of records (closest prior art, Jian (Patent No.: US 11,404,983 B2) and Kawamura (US Pub. No.: US 2013/0127383 A1)
fails to teach
c. zero voltages in operating mode with short-circuits applied to the phases of the machine (40) by the inverter (30) in braking mode of the machine;
Dependent claims 10-13 are depend on allowable claim 9.
However, formal requirements outstanding (see objection to drawings and specification and 35 USC 112 rejection of claims 1-13 needs to be corrected and clarified in response to this office action.
Citation of Pertinent Prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: a) Taniguchi et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0222158 A1) teaches (figs.1-11, abstract) inverter control device and motor drive system that calculate and estimate speed and rotational angle.
b) Perisic et al. (Patent No.: US 8, 664, 901 B2) teaches (1-5, abstract) method and system for estimating electrical angular speed of a PM machine.
Conclusion
/ANTONY M PAUL/
Primary Examiner of Art Unit 2837