Status of Claims
The following is a non-final, first action on the merits, in response to application filed September 13, 2024. The preliminary amended claims 1-19, 30, are currently pending and claims 20-29, have been canceled.
Priority
Certified copy of priority document GR 20220100392, dated May 13, 2022, is acknowledged which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 11/13/2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-12, 15-16, 19, 30, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baskaran et al (hereinafter Baskaran) (WO 2022/096126A1 IDS).
Regarding claims 1, 30, Baskaran discloses a network entity comprising a first network function, in a wireless communication network, the first network function the network entity comprising:
at least one memory (paras. 0023, 0185); and
at least one processor (para. 0028) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the network entity to:
receive blockchain information associated with a user equipment (UE), the blockchain information indicating a blockchain address (the Unified Data Management (UDM) and blockchain enabler function, where the UDM receives a DID from the UE see fig. 3A, step 317 in combination with para. 0117, and fig. 4A, step 417 in combination with para. 0166);
identify a second network function in the wireless communication network based on the blockchain information (the BSEF and Blockchain service infrastructure are the second network function, see fig. 5 and paras. 0182-0183);
send, to the identified second network function, a request for identifying a blockchain asset, the blockchain asset being associated with the blockchain address (discloses where the BSEF and Blockchain service infrastructure are the second network function; and subsequently step 5a, where the UDM sends an ID verification request via the BSEF to the Blockchain service infrastructure, see fig. 5 and paras. 0182-0183);
receive, from the second network function, responsive to sending and in response to the request, blockchain asset information corresponding to the identified blockchain asset (discloses where the UDM receives information from the Blockchain service infrastructure, see fig. 5, step 519); and
update subscription data of the UE based on the blockchain asset information (discloses where subscription information is generated, i.e. updated, see fig. 3b, step 8 combined with para. 0133-0140, and fig. 4b, step 8 combined with para. 0171).
Regarding claim 2, Baskaran discloses wherein the first network function is a User Data Management (UDM) function (see para. 0182).
Regarding claim 3, Baskaran discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the network entity to:
use the blockchain asset information to update Access Management (AM) subscription data associated with the UE apparatus (para. 0116); and
responsive to updating the AM subscription data, inform an AM Function (AMF), that the AM subscription data associated with the UE has been updated (the MNO can later update the network access information and network specific subscription information based on MNO policy using a UE configuration update procedure after the UE 205 registers to the MNO’s network) (para. 0116).
Regarding claim 4, Baskaran discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the network entity to, provide a service to the UE using the blockchain asset information, wherein the service is dependent on the blockchain asset (processor 505 generates a UE permanent identifier using the DIG-ID, where the UE permanent identifier indicates a service provider holding subscription information of the UE and a trust service provider that enabled the DIG-ID generation at the UE (user equipment apparatus). Alternatively, the UE permanent identifier can be termed as User Subscription Identifier/Subscription Unique Identifier) (paras. 0047, 0054).
Regarding claim 5, Baskaran discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the network entity to receive the blockchain information in a subscription request from an Access Management Function (AMF), the subscription request requesting that the AMF receive updated Access Management (AM) subscription data for the UE from the first network function (the UE permanent identifier indicates a service provider holding subscription information of the UE and a trust service provider that enabled the DIG-ID generation at the UE. The method includes sending a Registration request message to a mobile communication network and performing authentication using the DIG-ID. Here, the UE accesses a service provided by the service provider via the mobile communication network in response to successful authentication) (paras. 0005, 0006).
Regarding claim 6, Baskaran discloses wherein: the blockchain information comprises an identifier for a blockchain that stores the blockchain asset (Digital International Mobile Equipment Identifier (“IMEI”) ….. IMEI may contain a verifiable secure device identifier/digital ID which is linked to the actual IMEI and device information stored in a decentralized platform) (para. 0058); and
at least one processor is configured to cause the network entity to identify the second network function using the identifier for the blockchain (para. 0034).
Regarding claim 7, Baskaran discloses identify the second network function using a Network Repository Function (NRF) (see fig. 5, paras. 0182-0183, where the Blockchain service function BSEF infrastructure are the second network function).
Regarding claim 10, Baskaran discloses the UE is permitted to access a certain network slice (the mobile core network 130 supports different types of mobile data connections and different types of network slices, wherein each mobile data connection utilizes a specific network slice. Here, a “network slice” refers to a portion of the mobile core network 130 optimized for a certain traffic type or communication service. Each network slice includes a set of CP and/or UP network functions) (para. 0052).
Regarding claim 11, Baskaran discloses a second network function, the network entity comprising:
at least one memory (paras. 0023, 0185); and
at least one processor (para. 0028) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the network entity to:
receive, from a first network function, a request for blockchain asset information corresponding to a blockchain asset associated with a user equipment (UE), the blockchain asset information indicating one or more services provided to the UE (discloses where the BSEF and blockchain service infrastructure are the second network function and subsequently to step 5a, where the Unified Data Management (UDM) sends an ID verification request via the BSEF to the Blockchain service infrastructure) (paras. 0182-0183, see fig. 5);
determine a blockchain address associated with the blockchain asset based on the request (para. 0189);
acquire the blockchain asset information based on the blockchain address (para. 0189); and send, to the first network function, the blockchain asset information (discloses where information regarding a subscription is send to the UDM) (see fig. 5, steps 7a and 7b).
Regarding claim 12, Baskaran discloses wherein the second network function is an Application Function (AF) (the remote units 105 communicate with an application server 141 via a network connection with the mobile core network 130. For example, a mobile application 107 (e.g., web browser, media client, telephone/VoIP application) in a remote unit 105 may trigger the remote unit 105 to establish a PDU session) (para. 0047).
Regarding claim 15, Baskaran discloses wherein:
the request comprises a subscription request, the subscription request being a request to identify one or more blockchain assets associated with the UE apparatus and/or a request that the first network function be informed when one or more blockchain assets associated with the UE apparatus change (as shown in Figure 5 request procedure may be used to enable a 3GPP network function ("NF") 501 (such AUSF and/or UDM and/or provisioning server) to communicate with the external identity framework 505 via a Digital Identification, Authentication and trust Services Enabler Function ("D-IDASEF") or Blockchain Service Enabler Function ("BSEF") (collectively referred to as "D-IDASEF/BSEF" 503) to perform the DID based ID verification, and authentication to enable subscription provisioning to the appropriate UE) (para. 0182); and
at least one processor is configured to, responsive to the blockchain address being determined, send a subscription response to the first network function, a subscription response (the identity framework 505 includes Blockchain services infrastructure (e.g., BSI 144) and/or Permissioned Distributed Ledger ("PDL") services infrastructure. In some embodiments, the identity framework 505 includes a Digital-ID framework, a Decentralized-ID framework, and/or a Self-Sovereign ID framework) (paras. 0182, 0183).
Regarding claim 16, Baskaran discloses the second network function is arranged to establish a secure connection with a blockchain node of a blockchain network that stores a blockchain upon which is located where the blockchain asset is located (Digital International Mobile Equipment Identifier (“IMEI”) ….. IMEI may contain a verifiable secure device identifier/digital ID which is linked to the actual IMEI and device information stored in a decentralized platform) (para. 0058);
send, to the blockchain node via the secure connection, a request for the blockchain asset information associated with the blockchain address (the Unified Data Management (UDM) and blockchain enabler function, where the UDM receives a DID from the UE see fig. 3A, step 317 in combination with para. 0117, and fig. 4A, step 417 in combination with para. 0166); and
the receiver is further arranged to receive, from the blockchain node via the secure connection, the requested blockchain asset information (discloses where subscription information is generated, i.e. updated, see fig. 3b, step 8 combined with para. 0133-0140, and fig. 4b, step 8 combined with para. 0171).
Regarding claim 19, Baskaran discloses wireless communication, the UE comprising:
at least one memory (paras. 0023, 0185); and
at least one processor (para. 0028) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to:
send, to a network node in a wireless communication network, blockchain information indicating a blockchain address (see fig. 3a, step 313, paras. 0098-0099, also fig. 4a, step 413 and paras. 0163-0164); and
utilize a service in the wireless communication network, responsive to subscription data of the UE being updated based on a blockchain asset associated with the blockchain address para. 0171 discloses subscription information is generated, that is, updated; see figs. 3a and 4b, combined with paras. 0133-0140, in fig. 4b, step 8 combined with para. 0171).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 13, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baskaran et al (hereinafter Baskaran) (WO 2022/096126A1, IDS) in view of Yantis et al (hereinafter Yantis) (US 2021/0319429, IDS).
Regarding claims 9, 13, Baskaran discloses limitation noted with claim 1, 11. Baskaran does not explicitly show the use of NFTs for subscription management, that is, wherein the requested blockchain asset comprises:
a non-fungible token (NFT);
an identifier for an NFT;
one or more attributes of an NFT;
metadata of an NFT;
a report comprising one or more of the foregoing; or
a combination thereof. Yantis discloses a method for facilitating transactions via a tokenization platform maintaining a distributed ledger that includes a main chain of blocks and a first side chain of blocks. The main chain of blocks collectively store information relating to plurality of users, including item providers and consumers, wherein the information relating to the plurality of users includes a plurality of public addresses, wherein each respective public address corresponds to a respective account of a respective user of the tokenization platform (paras. 0025, 0829, 0884). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the tokenization with the process of Baskaran for the benefit of provide both the flexibility and convenience of virtual item transactions and the reliability and value of physical item transactions.
Claim(s) 14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baskaran et al (hereinafter Baskaran) (WO 2022/096126A1, IDS).
Regarding claim 14, Baskaran discloses limitation noted with claim 11. Baskaran discloses use of processor/code to carryout operations for embodiments outlined except, configured to decrypt, using a public cryptographic key associated with the UE, at least a part of the request to verify ownership of the blockchain asset; and acquire the blockchain asset information responsive to the ownership being verified. Encryption, a method of transforming information/data into coded form called ciphertext, and decryption with a correct key, is a process notoriously known in the art for secure data transmission. A person of ordinary skill in the art would conveniently make us of the known Encryption, decryption technique to decrypt part of the blockchain asset information to verify ownership. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to provide verification of authentication of certain ownership of the blockchain asset.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 17, 18, objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/QUTBUDDIN GHULAMALI/
Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2632.