DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 31-40 and 46-50 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 1, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
In claim 42, applicants claim the powder as consisting of mica, bioactive glass or a combination thereof. This is the same limitation set forth in claim 41. Therefore, claim 42 does not further limit the subject matter of claim 41 from which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 41-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Agarwal (US 2008/0188609).
Agarwal exemplifies an adhesive comprising the following (p. ):
Agarwal discloses the mica as having a particle size D50 of 10-100 microns, which meets applicants’ “micronized” limitation.
Agarwal anticipates instant claims 41-42.
Claims 41-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hermansen (US 4,940,633).
Hermansen discloses an adhesive comprising a powder filler, having a particle size of 2-200 micron, comprising a blend of a mica and tungsten, where the adhesive is an epoxy (claims 1-6). Hermansen discloses that fumed silica powder can be added to retard settling (col. 4, ll. 8-11).
Hermansen anticipates instant claims 41-42.
As to claim 43, Hermansen discloses the epoxy to include those of diglycidyl ether of Bisphenol A (col. 3, ll. 9-17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 44-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Hermansen, as applied above to claims 41-43, and further in view of WO 2016/077095, Bremmer (3,294,742) and Corley (US 4,579,931), as evidenced by Jukeikis (Design of a Laboratory Study of Contaminant Film Darkening in Space, The Aerospace Corporation, 1993, 91 pages) and Yeh (Room Temperature Curing Structural Adhesive Systems, 29th National SAMPE Symposium, 1984, pp. 46-56).
Hermansen anticipates instant claims 41-42, as described above and applied herein as such, as Hermansen discloses an adhesive/sealant used in bonding/sealing metal structures for use in aerospace, marine, military, automotive and rail applications.
Hermansen discloses the adhesive as Epiphen 825A, which as evidenced by Jukeikis is a novolac epoxy resin, modified with a polythiol and cured with an amine (p. 56).
Hermansen does not teach or suggest the glass transition temperature (Tg) or the heat deflection temperature (HDT), as claimed.
WO ‘095 teaches that the Tg of an epoxy resin system increases as the polymerization reactions proceed, teaching that it is generally desirable for the resin to develop a glass transition temperature in excess of the mold temperature so the part can be demolded without damage. WO ‘095 teaches that the polymer must in addition achieve a glass transition temperature high enough for the part to perform properly in its intended use (pp. 2-3). WO ‘095 teaches that a Tg of greater than 110°C is generally regarded as a minimum requirement for many structural composites (p. 3).
Epiphen 825A has excellent resistance to elevated temperature exposure, and can be post cured at 200F (93°C), as evidenced by Yeh (p. 47).
This suggests Epiphen 825A has a Tg of at least or greater than 93°C, based on the teachings of WO ‘095.
Bremmer teaches that cured epoxy novolac resins customarily result in a heat distortion temperature of from 40-50°C above that of cured epoxy resins which are made by employing a bisphenol (col. 9, ll. 46-56). Corley teaches that a higher heat distortion temperature and glass transition temperature are obtained by use of an epoxy novolac compared to Epoxy Resin A (col. 13, ll. 39-42), which is a diglycidyl ether of Bisphenol A (col. 13, ll. And col. 7, ll. 5-8).
Applicants disclose the following in the instant specification:
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the cured Epiphen 825A of Hermansen to possess a Tg of at least 90°C and a HDT of at least 120°C, as applicants disclose that epoxy resins of bisphenol A diglycidyl ether cured with amine hardeners can meet the claimed limitations, where Bremmer and Corley both teach that epoxy novolacs resins possess higher Tg and HDT than bisphenol A diglycidyl ether epoxy resins.
Hamensen in view of Bremmer and Corley is prima facie obvious over instant claims 43-44.
/Brieann R Johnston/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766