DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III (Claims 10, 13, 14, 17) in the reply filed on 12/04/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-12, 14-16, 18-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/04/2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/14/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because:
Reference character “2” has been used to designate both a first “attachment part” and a second “attachment part” in Fig. 1.
While they both point to an eye coupling structure, they are claimed as two distinct structures, and should therefore have two different reference characters to distinguish the first eye coupling structure from the second eye coupling structure.
Reference character “3” has been used to designated both a “piston rod” and “a closure part” in Fig. 1.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a coupling module for coupling to a device to be actuated for the transmission of force” in claim 1
The non-structural generic place holder of “a coupling module” is paired with the function of “for coupling to a device to be actuated for the transmission of force”
The specification discusses the corresponding structure with:
“The attachment part is a coupling module designed to be coupled to a device to be actuated in order to transmit force. When the working cylinder is used as intended, the coupling module is connected to a device to be actuated, usually in the form of a hinged connection, for which the coupling module is designed as a joint bearing, also referred to as a rod-eye or joint head. However, the coupling module can also be designed in a different way.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 13, 14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mickelson et al. (US 20040143953), ‘hereinafter’ Mickelson’ in view of Keller et al. (US 9429021), hereinafter ‘Keller’.
Mickelson discloses
Claim 10 (new). A weld-coupled working cylinder (Fig. 1), comprising:
a working cylinder component being a piston rod or a closure part (102);
an attachment part being a coupling module (104) for coupling to a device to be actuated for the transmission of force; and a weld seam (106).
Mickelson does not disclose wherein the weld seam is constructed as a step-wise produced hybrid weld seam having a lower weld seam zone and an upper weld seam zone; in said lower weld seam zone, said working cylinder component having a lower working cylinder component weld seam surface and said attachment part having a lower attachment part weld seam surface, and said lower weld seam surfaces having a butt joint, and said lower weld seam zone being constructed as a laser weld seam; in said upper weld seam zone said working cylinder component having an upper working cylinder component weld seam surface and said attachment part having an upper attachment part weld seam surface, said upper weld seam surfaces having a surface separation defining an upper weld seam space, said upper weld seam zone constructed as a laser hybrid weld seam having a filling of welding filler metal in said upper weld seam space.
However, Keller discloses a welding technique applicable to Mickelson and pertinent to the present application and therefore constitutes analogous art. Keller discloses wherein the weld seam (Keller Fig. 2) is constructed as a step-wise produced hybrid weld seam having a lower weld seam zone (Keller 33) and an upper weld seam zone (Keller 32 and/or 31);
in said lower weld seam zone, said working cylinder component having a lower working cylinder component weld seam surface and said attachment part having a lower attachment part weld seam surface, and said lower weld seam surfaces having a butt joint (Keller butt joint at 33), and said lower weld seam zone being constructed as a laser weld seam (Col. 3 lines 51-67 discloses laser welding for melting the root 33, two structures 26, 27 include respective weld seam surfaces);
in said upper weld seam zone said working cylinder component having an upper working cylinder component weld seam surface and said attachment part having an upper attachment part weld seam surface, said upper weld seam surfaces having a surface separation defining an upper weld seam space (Keller, see 31, weld seam space between the two parts 26, 27),
said upper weld seam zone constructed as a laser hybrid weld seam having a filling of welding filler metal in said upper weld seam space (Keller, Col. 5 lines 16-27 discloses a laser hybrid welding process or filling up the weld seam in 31; Col. 4 discloses that various combinations of welding techniques can be combined).
Since simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is an exemplary rationale that supports a conclusion of obviousness, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the device of Mickelson to have used a weld seam that is constructed as a step-wise produced hybrid weld seam having a lower weld seam zone and an upper weld seam zone; in said lower weld seam zone, said working cylinder component having a lower working cylinder component weld seam surface and said attachment part having a lower attachment part weld seam surface, and said lower weld seam surfaces having a butt joint, and said lower weld seam zone being constructed as a laser weld seam; in said upper weld seam zone said working cylinder component having an upper working cylinder component weld seam surface and said attachment part having an upper attachment part weld seam surface, said upper weld seam surfaces having a surface separation defining an upper weld seam space, said upper weld seam zone constructed as a laser hybrid weld seam having a filling of welding filler metal in said upper weld seam space, as taught by Keller. Using the welding technique taught by Keller to achieve the weld between the two structures of Mickelson would only yield the predictable result of a functioning weld-coupled working cylinder assembly since the weld of Keller and Mickelson both couple together two structures together.
The combination of Mickelson and Keller further renders obvious:
Claim 13 (new). The weld-coupled working cylinder assembly according to claim 10, wherein the lower weld seam zone surface is formed as an inner circular surface or as a ring surface and said upper weld seam zone surface is an outer ring surface which radially encloses said lower weld seam zone surface (Keller Fig. 2, axis 34, lower weld seam zone 33 is an inner circular/ring surface, upper weld seam zone 31 is an outer ring surface that radially encloses the lower weld seam zone 33 with respect to axis 34).
Claim 14 (new). A weld-coupled working cylinder assembly, comprising:
a working cylinder component being a cylinder tube;
an attachment part being a closure part or a further closure part; and
a weld seam constructed as a step-wise produced hybrid weld seam having a lower weld seam zone and an upper weld seam zone;
in said lower weld seam zone, said working cylinder component having a lower working cylinder component weld seam surface and said attachment part having a lower attachment part weld seam surface, said lower weld seam surfaces having a butt joint, and said lower weld seam zone being constructed as a laser weld seam;
in said upper weld seam zone, said working cylinder component having an upper working cylinder component weld seam surface and said attachment part having an upper attachment part weld seam surface, said upper weld seam surfaces having a surface separation defining an upper weld seam space,
said upper weld seam zone being constructed as a laser hybrid weld seam having a filling of welding filler material in said upper weld seam space (see claim 10 rejection for equivalent limitation mapping and discussion).
Claim 17 (new). The weld-coupled working cylinder assembly according to claim 14, wherein the lower weld seam zone surface is formed as an inner circular surface or as a ring surface and said upper weld seam zone surface is an outer ring surface which radially encloses said lower weld seam zone surface (see claim 13 rejection for equivalent limitation mapping and discussion).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kuhnen (US 5532454) discloses a pertinent welding disclosure
/DUSTIN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745 January 28, 2026