CTNF 18/865,721 CTNF 100968 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-27 AIA Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2022-083507 , filed on 05/23/2022 . Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/14/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Specification Content of Specification (a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION : See 37 CFR 1.72(a) and MPEP § 606. The title of the invention should be placed at the top of the first page of the specification unless the title is provided in an application data sheet. The title of the invention should be brief but technically accurate and descriptive, preferably from two to seven words. It may not contain more than 500 characters. (b) CROSS-REFERENCES TO RELATED APPLICATIONS : See 37 CFR 1.78 and MPEP § 211 et seq. (c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT : See MPEP § 310. (d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT . See 37 CFR 1.71(g). (e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM : The specification is required to include an incorporation-by-reference of electronic documents that are to become part of the permanent United States Patent and Trademark Office records in the file of a patent application. See 37 CFR 1.77(b)(5) and MPEP § 608.05. See also the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System posted on the USPTO website (https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/2019LegalFrameworkPES.pdf) and MPEP § 502.05 (f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR . See 35 U.S.C. 102(b) and 37 CFR 1.77. (g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION : See MPEP § 608.01(c). The specification should set forth the Background of the Invention in two parts: (1) Field of the Invention: A statement of the field of art to which the invention pertains. This statement may include a paraphrasing of the applicable U.S. patent classification definitions of the subject matter of the claimed invention. This item may also be titled “Technical Field.” (2) Description of the Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98: A description of the related art known to the applicant and including, if applicable, references to specific related art and problems involved in the prior art which are solved by the applicant’s invention. This item may also be titled “Background Art.” (h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION : See MPEP § 608.01(d). A brief summary or general statement of the invention as set forth in 37 CFR 1.73. The summary is separate and distinct from the abstract and is directed toward the invention rather than the disclosure as a whole. The summary may point out the advantages of the invention or how it solves problems previously existent in the prior art (and preferably indicated in the Background of the Invention). In chemical cases it should point out in general terms the utility of the invention. If possible, the nature and gist of the invention or the inventive concept should be set forth. Objects of the invention should be treated briefly and only to the extent that they contribute to an understanding of the invention. (i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S) : See MPEP § 608.01(f). A reference to and brief description of the drawing(s) as set forth in 37 CFR 1.74. (j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(g). A description of the preferred embodiment(s) of the invention as required in 37 CFR 1.71. The description should be as short and specific as is necessary to describe the invention adequately and accurately. Where elements or groups of elements, compounds, and processes, which are conventional and generally widely known in the field of the invention described, and their exact nature or type is not necessary for an understanding and use of the invention by a person skilled in the art, they should not be described in detail. However, where particularly complicated subject matter is involved or where the elements, compounds, or processes may not be commonly or widely known in the field, the specification should refer to another patent or readily available publication which adequately describes the subject matter. (k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS : See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP § 608.01(m). The claim or claims must commence on a separate sheet or electronic page (37 CFR 1.52(b)(3)). Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation. There may be plural indentations to further segregate subcombinations or related steps. See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP 608.01(i) - (p). (l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE : See 37 CFR 1.72 (b) and MPEP § 608.01(b). The abstract is a brief narrative of the disclosure as a whole, as concise as the disclosure permits, in a single paragraph preferably not exceeding 150 words, commencing on a separate sheet following the claims. In an international application which has entered the national stage (37 CFR 1.491(b)), the applicant need not submit an abstract commencing on a separate sheet if an abstract was published with the international application under PCT Article 21. The abstract that appears on the cover page of the pamphlet published by the International Bureau (IB) of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is the abstract that will be used by the USPTO. See MPEP § 1893.03(e). (m) SEQUENCE LISTING : See 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825 and MPEP §§ 2421 - 2431. The requirement for a sequence listing applies to all sequences disclosed in a given application, whether the sequences are claimed or not. See MPEP § 2422.01. 06-14 AIA Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure. A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art. If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives. Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps. Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts. The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is more than one paragraph. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b). 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Bell (US 10909758 B2) . Regarding claim 1, Bell teaches an information processing device comprising: a generation unit configured to generate a virtual viewpoint path that is a path including a plurality of viewpoints of a virtual camera on the basis of context information of a space, the context information being represented by a three-dimensional scene graph (col. 29, lines 25-30: “In an aspect, smooth transitioning can comprise determining a destination viewpoint and a path to a destination viewpoint. In another aspect, smooth transitioning can comprise smoothly moving or rotating to a destination viewpoint from an origin viewpoint.”) ; and a rendering unit configured to perform rendering of a virtual space at each viewpoint included in the virtual viewpoint path, to generate teacher image data to be used for learning of a machine learning model (col. 11, lines 15-30: “In another example, selection component 120 can use a variety of suitable artificial intelligence (AI)-based schemes as described supra in connection with facilitating various aspects of the herein described invention. For example, a process for learning explicitly or implicitly how to select 2D imagery data for a given viewpoint, region, or area of a 3D model can be facilitated via an automatic classification system and process. Inferring or learning can employ a probabilistic or statistical-based analysis to infer an action that is to be executed. For example, a support vector machine (SVM) classifier can be employed. Other learning approaches include Bayesian networks, decision trees, and probabilistic classification models providing different patterns of independence can be employed. Learning as used herein also is inclusive of statistical regression that is utilized to develop models of priority.”) . Regarding claim 2, Bell teaches the information processing device according to claim 1, further comprising: an estimation unit configured to estimate a real viewpoint path that is a path including a plurality of viewpoints in a real space (col. 7, lines 28-33: “Rough estimation of camera movement may be computed using various methods such as optical flow or 2D or 3D feature tracking. This information may be used to provide additional clues about alignment when determining automatic alignment of 3D scenes.”) , wherein the generation unit generates the virtual viewpoint path corresponding to the real viewpoint path, on a basis of the context information of the real space and the context information of the virtual space (col. 29, lines 25-30, as above in claim 1 rejection) . Regarding claim 3, Bell teaches the information processing device according to claim 2, wherein the generation unit generates the virtual viewpoint path, on a basis of the context information of the virtual space and the context information of the real space at each viewpoint included in the real viewpoint path (col. 3, lines 50-56: “In an aspect, data used to generate 3D models can be collected from scans (e.g., utilizing sensors) of real-world scenes, spaces (e.g., houses, office spaces, outdoor spaces, etc.), objects (e.g., furniture, decorations, goods, etc.), and the like. Data can also be generated based on computer implemented 3D modeling systems.”) . Regarding claim 4, Bell teaches the information processing device according to claim 2, wherein the estimation unit estimates the real viewpoint path on a basis of sensor data obtained by measurement performed in the real space in accordance with a measurement scenario (col. 3, lines 50-56, as above in claim 3 rejection) . Regarding claim 5, Bell teaches the information processing device according to claim 2, further comprising: a virtual space information processing unit configured to generate the context information of the virtual space on a basis of three-dimensional data of the virtual space and label information of a virtual object arranged in the virtual space (col. 12, lines 24-31: “In an aspect, a pre-selected 2D image or set of 2D images (or associated viewpoints) utilized for transitions based on positions of a 3D model can avoid unnecessary processing during rendering or navigation. For example, if a user never navigates to a portion of a 3D model, the selection component 120 can forgo selection of 2D images for that portion of the 3D model.”) . Regarding claim 6, Bell teaches the information processing device according to claim 3, further comprising: a path converting unit configured to set the context information represented by using a partial graph in an entire three-dimensional scene graph representing the context information of the real space, as the context information of each viewpoint included in the real viewpoint path (col. 32, lines 38-44: “One possible communication between a client 1402 and a server 1404 can be in the form of a data packet transmitted between two or more computer processes wherein the data packet may include video data, resources referencing media items, and the like. The data packet can include a cookie or associated contextual information, for example.”) . Regarding claim 7, Bell teaches the information processing device according to claim 6, wherein the generation unit sets, as a viewpoint of the virtual camera, a point on the virtual space having the context information common to the context information of the real space at each viewpoint included in the real viewpoint path, and the generation unit generates the virtual viewpoint path (col. 15, line 59 – col. 16, line 4: “The sets of captured content can correspond to sets based on a particular capturing device (e.g., device.sub.1 412 and device.sub.N 414), axis point, viewpoint, and the like. In embodiments, construction component 310 can render models based on the captured content, stored content, computer generated content, and the like. It is noted, that construction component 310 can utilize a combination of different sets of captured content to generate one or more 3D models or 2D models. In an aspect, construction component 310 can correlate the 2D images or 2D viewpoints and the 3D model in a common coordinate system. In another aspect, selection component 320 can select 2D images or 2D viewpoints based on a given position in the 3D model.”) . Regarding claim 8, Bell teaches the information processing device according to claim 7, wherein the generation unit sets a viewpoint of the virtual camera, on a basis of a score indicating a common degree of the context information of the virtual space with respect to the context information of the real space (col. 8, line 50 – col. 9, line 1: “Selection component 120 can select appropriate 2D images based on a selection criterion or selection criteria. Selection criteria can comprise a score of a content match, user input, an image quality metric, capture position data (e.g., position of a capturing device), angle of view, user input, metadata, and the like. For example, selection component 120 can compare 2D imagery data to 3D imagery data to generate a score. In an aspect, a 2D image can comprise a panoramic image of a particular scene. The panoramic image can be compared to an image of a 3D model where the image of the 3D model corresponds to the panoramic rendering generated from a particular viewpoint within the 3D model. In another aspect, selection component 120 can compare 2D images to select a 2D image as appropriate. For example, given a position or viewpoint in a 3D model, selection component 120 can select one or more images from a set of 2D images (e.g., a set of panoramic 2D images) associated with the position or viewpoint in the model.”) . Regarding claim 9, Bell teaches the information processing device according to claim 2, wherein the generation unit generates a plurality of the virtual viewpoint paths individually in a plurality of the virtual spaces, the plurality of the virtual viewpoint paths corresponding to the real viewpoint path whose number is one (col. 14, lines 18-28: “In other embodiments, selection component 120 can generate a first set of positions relative to a 3D model and select a 2D image to associate with the first set of positions. For example, selection component 120 can use a metric of distance to determine the 2D image (222, 232) associated with each region of 3D model 208. The minimum distance between a given location in the 3D model and the capture position (224, 234) of any 2D image (222, 232) may be used as a metric. 2D images can be associated with positions of a 3D model prior to rendering or navigation of 3D model 208.”) . Regarding claim 10, Bell teaches the information processing device according to claim 2, wherein the context information of the real space is represented by a three-dimensional scene graph in which at least an object arranged in the real space is represented with a node and a relative relationship between nodes is represented with an edge, and the context information of the virtual space is represented by a three-dimensional scene graph in which at least a virtual object arranged in the virtual space is represented with a node and a relative relationship between nodes is represented with an edge (col. 14, lines 18-28, as above in claim 9 rejection) . Regarding claim 11, Bell teaches the information processing device according to claim 2, wherein the real space and the virtual space are spaces having different pieces of the context information (col. 3, lines 50-56: “In an aspect, data used to generate 3D models can be collected from scans (e.g., utilizing sensors) of real-world scenes, spaces (e.g., houses, office spaces, outdoor spaces, etc.), objects (e.g., furniture, decorations, goods, etc.), and the like. Data can also be generated based on computer implemented 3D modeling systems.”) . Claim 12 is substantially similar to claim 1, and differs only in that it teaches a method as opposed to a device. As such, it is rejected on a similar basis to claim 1. Claim 13 is substantially similar to claim 1, and differs only in that it teaches a computer to execute processing as opposed to a device. As such, it is rejected on a similar basis to claim 1. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RYAN A BARHAM whose telephone number is (571)272-4338. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri, 8:30am-5pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Xiao Wu, can be reached at (571) 272-7761. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /RYAN ALLEN BARHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2613 /XIAO M WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2613 Application/Control Number: 18/865,721 Page 2 Art Unit: 2613 Application/Control Number: 18/865,721 Page 3 Art Unit: 2613 Application/Control Number: 18/865,721 Page 4 Art Unit: 2613 Application/Control Number: 18/865,721 Page 5 Art Unit: 2613 Application/Control Number: 18/865,721 Page 6 Art Unit: 2613 Application/Control Number: 18/865,721 Page 7 Art Unit: 2613 Application/Control Number: 18/865,721 Page 8 Art Unit: 2613 Application/Control Number: 18/865,721 Page 9 Art Unit: 2613 Application/Control Number: 18/865,721 Page 10 Art Unit: 2613 Application/Control Number: 18/865,721 Page 11 Art Unit: 2613 Application/Control Number: 18/865,721 Page 12 Art Unit: 2613