DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs), submitted on 14 November 2024 and 03 April 2026, were filed after the mailing date of the patent application on 14 November 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings, received on 14 November 2024, are acceptable for examination.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: Said claim recites “in a case where it is determined that switching of the optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and the plurality of communication stations is necessary on a basis of the cooperation information”, which is a contingent limitation. Examiner reminds Applicant that "[the] broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met", See MPEP 2111.04 and See Ex Parte Schulhauser, Appeal No. 2015-007421 (Jan. 31, 2016). Here, the contingent limitation, (i.e. “in a case where it is determined that switching of the optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and the plurality of communication stations is necessary on a basis of the cooperation information”) is not a condition that is required to occur, therefore the entire limitation is not required to occur. Given that the limitation is not required to occur, said limitation does not possess patentable weight. Examiner has, in the interest of compact prosecution, treated the limitation. Examiner respectfully suggests amending to “in response to determining that switching of the optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and the plurality of communication stations is necessary on a basis of the cooperation information”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: Said claim recites “in a case where it is determined that switching of the optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and the plurality of communication stations is necessary on a basis of the cooperation information”, which is a contingent limitation. Examiner reminds Applicant that "[the] broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met", See MPEP 2111.04 and See Ex Parte Schulhauser, Appeal No. 2015-007421 (Jan. 31, 2016). Here, the contingent limitation, (i.e. “in a case where it is determined that switching of the optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and the plurality of communication stations is necessary on a basis of the cooperation information”) is not a condition that is required to occur, therefore the entire limitation is not required to occur. Given that the limitation is not required to occur, said limitation does not possess patentable weight. Examiner has, in the interest of compact prosecution, treated the limitation. Examiner respectfully suggests amending to “in response to determining that switching of the optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and the plurality of communication stations is necessary on a basis of the cooperation information”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: Said claim recites “in a case where it is determined that switching of the optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and the plurality of communication stations is necessary on a basis of the cooperation information”, which is a contingent limitation. Examiner reminds Applicant that "[the] broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met", See MPEP 2111.04 and See Ex Parte Schulhauser, Appeal No. 2015-007421 (Jan. 31, 2016). Here, the contingent limitation, (i.e. “in a case where it is determined that switching of the optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and the plurality of communication stations is necessary on a basis of the cooperation information”) is not a condition that is required to occur, therefore the entire limitation is not required to occur. Given that the limitation is not required to occur, said limitation does not possess patentable weight. Examiner has, in the interest of compact prosecution, treated the limitation. Examiner respectfully suggests amending to “in response to determining that switching of the optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and the plurality of communication stations is necessary on a basis of the cooperation information”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: Said claim recites “in a case where all terminals accommodated in a communication station that is a sleep target among the plurality of communication stations can be accommodated in another communication station on a basis of the cooperation information”, which is a contingent limitation. Examiner reminds Applicant that "[the] broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met", See MPEP 2111.04 and See Ex Parte Schulhauser, Appeal No. 2015-007421 (Jan. 31, 2016). Here, the contingent limitation, (i.e. “in a case where all terminals accommodated in a communication station that is a sleep target among the plurality of communication stations can be accommodated in another communication station on a basis of the cooperation information”) is not a condition that is required to occur, therefore the entire limitation is not required to occur. Given that the limitation is not required to occur, said limitation does not possess patentable weight. Examiner has, in the interest of compact prosecution, treated the limitation. Examiner respectfully suggests amending to “in response to all terminals accommodated in a communication station being a sleep target among the plurality of communication stations can be accommodated in another communication station on a basis of the cooperation information”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 9-11, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, Claim 9, Claim 11, Claim 18, and Claim 19, said claims recite “in a case where it is determined that switching of the optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and the plurality of communication stations is necessary on a basis of the cooperation information”, which renders said claims unclear because the recitation of “it” can be correlated to any proper noun that precedes the recitation of “it”. Examiner is uncertain whether “it” refers to a determination, which would render the claim unclear because the recitation of “a determination” does not occur in said claim. Examiner respectfully suggests amending to “in response to determining that switching of the optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and the plurality of communication stations is necessary on a basis of the cooperation information” provided that the amendment is consistent with Applicant’s intent.
Regarding Claims 2-6, Claims 2-6 are rejected for depending upon rejected Claim 1.
Claims 7, 13, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 7, Claim 13, Claim 14, and Claim 15, said claims recite “in a case where it is determined that switching of the optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and the plurality of communication stations is necessary”, which renders said claims unclear because the recitation of “it” can be correlated to any proper noun that precedes the recitation of “it”. Examiner is uncertain whether “it” refers to a determination, which would render the claim unclear because the recitation of “a determination” does not occur in said claim. Examiner respectfully suggests amending to “in response to determining that switching of the optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and the plurality of communication stations is necessary” provided that the amendment is consistent with Applicant’s intent.
Claims 8 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 8 and Claim 17, said claims analogously recite “receive an optical path switching instruction indicating that the management control device determines that it is necessary to an optical path between the terminal accommodation station and the communication station on a basis of the cooperation information”, which renders said claims unclear because the recitation of “it” can be correlated to any proper noun that precedes the recitation of “it”. Examiner is uncertain whether “it” refers to a determination, which would render the claim unclear because the recitation of “a determination” does not occur in said claim. Furthermore, Examiner believes that Applicant has incorrectly claimed what Applicant intends; here, the text of the claim appears to read that “the management control device determines that it is necessary to an optical path” which is unclear because Examiner is uncertain whether the unrecited act of “switching” or the receipt of the optical path switching instruction is caused in response to “the management control device determine[ing] that it is necessary to an optical path”. For the purpose of examination, Examiner will interpret as the receipt of “the optical path switching instruction” is based upon the cooperation information. Examiner respectfully suggests amending to clarify Applicant’s intent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sarashina et al. (US 20170063486 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Sarashina”).
Regarding Claim 1, Sarashina discloses a communication system comprising:
one or more terminal accommodation stations configured to perform communication with one or more terminals (¶48-52 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses optical network unit (ONU)) configured to perform communication with one or more radio resource head (RRH). Examiner correlates the ONU to "one or more terminal accommodation stations". Examiner correlates one or more RRHs to "one or more terminals");
a plurality of communication stations that is connected to the one or more terminal accommodation stations directly or via another device (¶48-52 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses one or more optical line terminal (OLT) that is connected to the one or more ONUs directly. Examiner correlates the one or more OLT to "a plurality of communication stations");
a cooperation information collector (¶57 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses a sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT)) configured to acquire cooperation information indicating a state of communication between the communication station and the one or more terminals, from the communication station (¶88 & Fig. 5 (S1), Sarashina discloses that the sleep controller 240 is configured to acquire a usage bandwidth information and a cover area information where the usage bandwidth information and/or cover area information indicates a level or state of bandwidth usage between the one or more OLT and the one or more RRHs/ONUs);
an optical path switching controller (¶124, Sarashina discloses that the OLT includes a switching element 170) configured to control switching of an optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and the plurality of communication stations (¶48-52 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses the switching element 170 is configured to control switching of an optical path between the RRHs and the OLT) in a case where it is determined that switching of the optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and the plurality of communication stations is necessary on a basis of the cooperation information (¶104-108 & Fig. 5, Sarashina discloses that the optical path is switched away from a RRH/ONU sleep group that has been set to sleep and switched toward, or maintained, to RRHs and ONUs that are set to non-sleep/active/awake); and
a sleep controller (¶57 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses a sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT)) configured to cause a communication station capable of sleep to transition to a sleep state (¶63, Sarashina discloses that the sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT) is configured to cause both ONUs and RRHs to be set in a sleep state) before the switching of the optical path is performed or after the switching is performed (¶134, Sarashina discloses that the switching elements of the OLT is configured to switch communication paths in response to setting a sleep state corresponding to the candidate sleep RRH group).
Regarding Claim 2, Sarashina discloses the communication system according to claim 1.
Sarashina further discloses wherein:
the one or more terminal accommodation stations are optical network units configured to terminate an optical signal (¶48-52 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses optical network unit (ONU)) configured to terminate an optical signal by converting an optical signal to an electrical signal for one or more radio resource head (RRH)),
the plurality of communication stations is optical line terminals that terminate an optical signal (¶48-52 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses the one or more optical line terminal (OLT)), and
the one or more terminals and the one or more terminal accommodation stations are connected by wire (¶73-82 & Fig. 3, Sarashina discloses the one or more RRHs and the one or more ONUs are connected by wire because one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have known that the ONU is an electro-optical/optical-electrical converter configured to convert an optical signal from the OLT to an electrical signal for receipt by the one or more RRHs).
Regarding Claim 7, Sarashina discloses a management control device comprising:
a cooperation information collector (¶57 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses a sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT)) configured to acquire cooperation information indicating a state of communication between a communication station connected, directly or via another device, to one or more terminal accommodation stations (¶48-52 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses one or more optical line terminal (OLT) that is connected to the one or more ONUs via one or more RRHs) that perform communication with one or more terminals and the one or more terminals, from the communication station (¶88 & Fig. 5 (S1), Sarashina discloses that the sleep controller 240 is configured to acquire a usage bandwidth information and a cover area information where the usage bandwidth information and/or cover area information indicates a level or state of bandwidth usage between the one or more OLT and the one or more UEs);
an analyzer (¶57 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses a sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT)) configured to determine necessity of switching of an optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and a plurality of communication stations and sleep control on a basis of the cooperation information (¶104-108 & Fig. 5, Sarashina discloses determining, by the OLT based upon the method of Figure 5, that the optical path is switched away from a RRH/ONU sleep group that has been set to sleep and switched toward, or maintained, to RRHs and ONUs that are set to non-sleep/active/awake);
an optical path switching controller (¶124, Sarashina discloses that the OLT includes a switching element 170) configured to control switching of the optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations (¶48-52 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses the switching element 170 is configured to control switching of an optical path between the RRHs and the OLT) and the plurality of communication stations in a case where it is determined that switching of the optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and the plurality of communication stations is necessary (¶104-108 & Fig. 5, Sarashina discloses that the optical path is switched away from a RRH/ONU sleep group that has been set to sleep and switched toward, or maintained, to RRHs and ONUs that are set to non-sleep/active/awake); and
a sleep controller (¶57 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses a sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT)) configured to cause a communication station capable of sleep to transition to a sleep state (¶63, Sarashina discloses that the sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT) is configured to cause both ONUs and RRHs to be set in a sleep state) before the switching of the optical path is performed or after the switching is performed (¶134, Sarashina discloses that the switching elements of the OLT is configured to switch communication paths in response to setting a sleep state corresponding to the candidate sleep RRH group).
Regarding Claim 8, Sarashina discloses a communication station connected to a terminal accommodation station that communicates with a terminal (¶48-52 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses one or more optical line terminal (OLT) that is connected to one or more optical network units (ONUs) that communicates with one or more radio resource heads (RRHs). Examiner correlates an optical line terminal (OLT) to "a communication station". Examiner correlates a terminal to "one or more optical network units (ONUs)". Examiner correlates the RRH to "a terminal"), the communication station comprising:
a transmitter (¶73-82 & Fig. 3, Sarashina discloses an optical line terminal (OLT) including an optical transmitter 420 and an Optical Network Unit Media Access Control (ONU-MAC)) configured to transmit cooperation information indicating a state of communication with the terminal to a management control device (¶115-116 & Fig. 9, Sarashina discloses that the ONU-MAC is configured to transmit, to the sleep controller, bandwidth usage information);
a receiver (¶73-82 & Fig. 3, Sarashina discloses that the OLT further includes an optical receiver 450) configured to receive an optical path switching instruction indicating that the management control device determines that it is necessary to switch an optical path between the terminal accommodation station and the communication station on a basis of the cooperation information (¶115-116 & Fig. 9, Sarashina discloses that the sleep controller is configured to receive, from the Optical Network Unit Media Access Control (ONU-MAC), bandwidth usage information where the bandwidth usage information indicates whether to select and activate a sleep candidate ONU group and switch data away from the sleep candidate ONU group based upon the bandwidth usage information); and
a sleep processor (¶57 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses that the OLT further includes a sleep controller 240) configured to transition to a sleep state (¶63, Sarashina discloses that the sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT) is configured to cause both ONUs and RRHs to be set in a sleep state) before the switching of the optical path is performed or after the switching is performed on a basis of the optical path switching instruction (¶134, Sarashina discloses that the switching elements of the OLT is configured to switch communication paths).
Regarding Claim 9, Sarashina discloses a control method comprising:
acquiring cooperation information (¶88 & Fig. 5 (S1), Sarashina discloses that the sleep controller 240 is configured to acquire a usage bandwidth information and a cover area information where the usage bandwidth information and/or cover area information indicates a level or state of bandwidth usage between the one or more OLT and the one or more RRHs/ONUs) indicating a state of communication between a communication station connected, directly or via another device, to one or more terminal accommodation stations (¶88 & Fig. 5 (S1), Sarashina discloses that the usage bandwidth information and/or the cover area information indicates a level or state of bandwidth usage between the one or more OLT and the one or more ONUs) that perform communication with one or more terminals and the one or more terminals, from the communication station (¶73-82 & Fig. 3, Sarashina discloses the one or more ONUs perform communication with the one or more RRHs and the one or more ONUs where the communication between the one or more ONUs and the one or more RRHs pass to and from the OLT);
controlling switching of an optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and a plurality of communication stations (¶48-52 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses the switching element 170 is configured to control switching of an optical path between the RRHs and the OLT) in a case where it is determined that switching of the optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and the plurality of communication stations is necessary on a basis of the cooperation information (¶104-108 & Fig. 5, Sarashina discloses that the optical path is switched away from a RRH/ONU sleep group that has been set to sleep and switched toward, or maintained, to RRHs and ONUs that are set to non-sleep/active/awake. Here, the path between the OLT and the active/awake RRHs is necessary based upon the usage bandwidth information and the cover area information); and
causing a communication station capable of sleep to transition to a sleep state before the switching of the optical path is performed or after the switching is performed (¶105 & Fig. 5 (S5), Sarashina discloses that the OLT causes switching away from an optical path corresponding to a particular RRH/ONU sleep group).
Regarding Claim 10, Sarashina discloses a communication system comprising:
one or more terminal accommodation stations configured to perform communication with one or more terminals (¶48-52 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses optical network unit (ONU)) configured to perform communication with one or more radio resource head (RRH). Examiner correlates the ONU to "one or more terminal accommodation stations". Examiner correlates one or more RRHs to "one or more terminals");
a plurality of communication stations that is connected to the one or more terminal accommodation stations directly or via another device (¶48-52 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses one or more optical line terminal (OLT) that is connected to the one or more ONUs via one or more RRHs. Examiner correlates the one or more OLT to "a plurality of communication stations");
a cooperation information collector (¶57 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses a sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT)) configured to acquire cooperation information indicating a state of communication between the communication station and the one or more terminals, from the communication station (¶88 & Fig. 5 (S1), Sarashina discloses that the sleep controller 240 is configured to acquire a usage bandwidth information and a cover area information where the usage bandwidth information and/or cover area information indicates a level or state of bandwidth usage between the one or more OLT and the one or more RRHs/ONUs);
an optical path switching controller (¶124, Sarashina discloses that the OLT includes a switching element 170) configured to control switching of an optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and the plurality of communication stations (¶48-52 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses the switching element 170 is configured to control switching of an optical path between the RRHs and the OLT) in a case where it is determined that switching of the optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and the plurality of communication stations is necessary on a basis of the cooperation information (¶104-108 & Fig. 5, Sarashina discloses that the optical path is switched away from a RRH/ONU sleep group that has been set to sleep and switched toward, or maintained, to RRHs and ONUs that are set to non-sleep/active/awake); and
a sleep controller (¶57 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses a sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT)) configured to cause a communication station capable of sleep to transition to a sleep state (¶63, Sarashina discloses that the sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT) is configured to cause both ONUs and RRHs to be set in a sleep state) before the switching of the optical path is performed (¶134, Sarashina discloses that the switching elements of the OLT is configured to switch communication paths after setting the sleep candidate RRH group to sleep).
Regarding Claim 11, Sarashina discloses a communication system comprising:
one or more terminal accommodation stations configured to perform communication with one or more terminals (¶48-52 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses optical network unit (ONU)) configured to perform communication with one or more radio resource head (RRH). Examiner correlates the ONU to "one or more terminal accommodation stations". Examiner correlates one or more RRHs to "one or more terminals");
a plurality of communication stations that is connected to the one or more terminal accommodation stations directly or via another device (¶48-52 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses one or more optical line terminal (OLT) that is connected to the one or more ONUs via one or more RRHs. Examiner correlates the one or more OLT to "a plurality of communication stations");
a cooperation information collector (¶57 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses a sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT)) configured to acquire cooperation information indicating a state of communication between the communication station and the one or more terminals, from the communication station (¶88 & Fig. 5 (S1), Sarashina discloses that the sleep controller 240 is configured to acquire a usage bandwidth information and a cover area information where the usage bandwidth information and/or cover area information indicates a level or state of bandwidth usage between the one or more OLT and the one or more RRHs/ONUs. Examiner correlates usage bandwidth information and cover area information as "cooperation information"),
the cooperation information including any of information regarding a processing load of the communication station, information regarding a processing delay of the communication station, and information regarding a transmission delay between the communication station and the one or more terminals (¶88 & Fig. 5 (S1) & ¶157, Sarashina discloses that the usage bandwidth information includes information on amount of bandwidth. Examiner correlates the amount of bandwidth to "a processing load of the communication station");
an optical path switching controller (¶124, Sarashina discloses that the OLT includes a switching element 170) configured to control switching of an optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and the plurality of communication stations (¶48-52 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses the switching element 170 is configured to control switching of an optical path between the RRHs and the OLT) in a case where it is determined that switching of the optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and the plurality of communication stations is necessary on a basis of the cooperation information (¶104-108 & Fig. 5, Sarashina discloses that the optical path is switched away from a RRH/ONU sleep group that has been set to sleep and switched toward, or maintained, to RRHs and ONUs that are set to non-sleep/active/awake); and
a sleep controller (¶57 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses a sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT)) configured to cause a communication station capable of sleep to transition to a sleep state (¶63, Sarashina discloses that the sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT) is configured to cause both ONUs and RRHs to be set in a sleep state) before the switching of the optical path is performed or after the switching is performed (¶134, Sarashina discloses that the switching elements of the OLT is configured to switch communication paths in response to setting a sleep state corresponding to the candidate sleep RRH group).
Regarding Claim 12, Sarashina discloses a communication system comprising:
one or more terminal accommodation stations configured to perform communication with one or more terminals (¶48-52 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses optical network unit (ONU)) configured to perform communication with one or more radio resource head (RRH). Examiner correlates the ONU to "one or more terminal accommodation stations". Examiner correlates one or more RRHs to "one or more terminals");
a plurality of communication stations that is connected to the one or more terminal accommodation stations directly or via another device (¶48-52 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses one or more optical line terminal (OLT) that is connected to the one or more ONUs via one or more RRHs. Examiner correlates the one or more OLT to "a plurality of communication stations");
a cooperation information collector (¶57 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses a sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT)) configured to acquire cooperation information indicating a state of communication between the communication station and the one or more terminals, from the communication station (¶88 & Fig. 5 (S1), Sarashina discloses that the sleep controller 240 is configured to acquire a usage bandwidth information and a cover area information where the usage bandwidth information and/or cover area information indicates a level or state of bandwidth usage between the one or more OLT and the one or more RRHs/ONUs. Examiner correlates usage bandwidth information and cover area information as "cooperation information");
an optical path switching controller (¶124, Sarashina discloses that the OLT includes a switching element 170) configured to control switching of an optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and the plurality of communication stations (¶48-52 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses the switching element 170 is configured to control switching of an optical path between the RRHs and the OLT) in a case where all terminals accommodated in a communication station that is a sleep target among the plurality of communication stations can be accommodated in another communication station on a basis of the cooperation information (¶104-108 & Fig. 5, Sarashina discloses that the optical path is switched away from a RRH/ONU sleep group that has been set to sleep and switched toward, or maintained, to RRHs and ONUs that are set to non-sleep/active/awake); and
a sleep controller (¶57 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses a sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT)) configured to cause the communication station that is the sleep target to transition to a sleep state (¶63, Sarashina discloses that the sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT) is configured to cause both ONUs and RRHs to be set in a sleep state) before the switching of the optical path is performed or after the switching is performed (¶134, Sarashina discloses that the switching elements of the OLT is configured to switch communication path before setting the paths corresponding to the sleep candidate RRH group to a sleep/inactive state).
Regarding Claim 13, Sarashina discloses a management control device comprising:
a cooperation information collector (¶57 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses a sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT)) configured to acquire cooperation information indicating a state of communication between a communication station connected, directly or via another device, to one or more terminal accommodation stations (¶48-52 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses one or more optical line terminal (OLT) that is connected to the one or more ONUs via one or more RRHs) that perform communication with one or more terminals and the one or more terminals, from the communication station (¶88 & Fig. 5 (S1), Sarashina discloses that the sleep controller 240 is configured to acquire a usage bandwidth information and a cover area information where the usage bandwidth information and/or cover area information indicates a level or state of bandwidth usage between the one or more OLT and the one or more UEs);
an analyzer (¶57 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses a sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT)) configured to determine necessity of switching of an optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and a plurality of communication stations and sleep control on a basis of the cooperation information (¶104-108 & Fig. 5, Sarashina discloses determining, by the OLT based upon the method of Figure 5, that the optical path is switched away from a RRH/ONU sleep group that has been set to sleep and switched toward, or maintained, to RRHs and ONUs that are set to non-sleep/active/awake);
an optical path switching controller (¶124, Sarashina discloses that the OLT includes a switching element 170) configured to control switching of the optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations (¶48-52 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses the switching element 170 is configured to control switching of an optical path between the RRHs and the OLT) and the plurality of communication stations in a case where it is determined that switching of the optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and the plurality of communication stations is necessary (¶104-108 & Fig. 5, Sarashina discloses that the optical path is switched away from a RRH/ONU sleep group that has been set to sleep and switched toward, or maintained, to RRHs and ONUs that are set to non-sleep/active/awake); and
a sleep controller (¶57 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses a sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT)) configured to cause a communication station capable of sleep to transition to a sleep state (¶63, Sarashina discloses that the sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT) is configured to cause both ONUs and RRHs to be set in a sleep state) before the switching of the optical path is performed (¶134, Sarashina discloses that the switching elements of the OLT is configured to switch communication path before setting the paths corresponding to the sleep candidate RRH group to a sleep/inactive state).
Regarding Claim 14, Sarashina discloses a management control device comprising:
a cooperation information collector (¶57 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses a sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT)) configured to acquire cooperation information indicating a state of communication between a communication station connected, directly or via another device, to one or more terminal accommodation stations (¶48-52 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses one or more optical line terminal (OLT) that is connected to the one or more ONUs via one or more RRHs) that perform communication with one or more terminals and the one or more terminals, from the communication station (¶88 & Fig. 5 (S1), Sarashina discloses that the sleep controller 240 is configured to acquire a usage bandwidth information and a cover area information where the usage bandwidth information and/or cover area information indicates a level or state of bandwidth usage between the one or more OLT and the one or more UEs),
the cooperation information including any of information regarding a processing load of the communication station, information regarding a processing delay of the communication station, and information regarding a transmission delay between the communication station and the one or more terminals (¶88 & Fig. 5 (S1) & ¶157, Sarashina discloses that the usage bandwidth information includes information on amount of bandwidth. Examiner correlates the amount of bandwidth to "a processing load of the communication station");
an analyzer (¶57 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses a sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT)) configured to determine necessity of switching of an optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and a plurality of communication stations and sleep control on a basis of the cooperation information (¶104-108 & Fig. 5, Sarashina discloses determining, by the OLT based upon the method of Figure 5, that the optical path is switched away from a RRH/ONU sleep group that has been set to sleep and switched toward, or maintained, to RRHs and ONUs that are set to non-sleep/active/awake);
an optical path switching controller (¶124, Sarashina discloses that the OLT includes a switching element 170) configured to control switching of the optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations (¶48-52 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses the switching element 170 is configured to control switching of an optical path between the RRHs and the OLT) and the plurality of communication stations in a case where it is determined that switching of the optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and the plurality of communication stations is necessary (¶104-108 & Fig. 5, Sarashina discloses that the optical path is switched away from a RRH/ONU sleep group that has been set to sleep and switched toward, or maintained, to RRHs and ONUs that are set to non-sleep/active/awake); and
a sleep controller (¶57 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses a sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT)) configured to cause a communication station capable of sleep to transition to a sleep state (¶63, Sarashina discloses that the sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT) is configured to cause both ONUs and RRHs to be set in a sleep state) before the switching of the optical path is performed or after the switching is performed (¶134, Sarashina discloses that the switching elements of the OLT is configured to switch communication paths in response to setting a sleep state corresponding to the candidate sleep RRH group).
Regarding Claim 15, Sarashina discloses a management control device comprising:
a cooperation information collector (¶57 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses a sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT)) configured to acquire cooperation information indicating a state of communication between a communication station connected, directly or via another device, to one or more terminal accommodation stations (¶48-52 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses one or more optical line terminal (OLT) that is connected to the one or more ONUs via one or more RRHs) that perform communication with one or more terminals and the one or more terminals, from the communication station (¶88 & Fig. 5 (S1), Sarashina discloses that the sleep controller 240 is configured to acquire a usage bandwidth information and a cover area information where the usage bandwidth information and/or cover area information indicates a level or state of bandwidth usage between the one or more OLT and the one or more UEs);
an analyzer (¶57 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses a sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT)) configured to determine that switching of an optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and a plurality of communication stations and sleep control are necessary (¶100 & ¶105 & ¶111 & Fig. 5 (S4 & S5), Sarashina discloses determining, by the sleep controller, a sleep candidate RRH group and further determining, by the sleep controller, to switch communication paths between the RRHs/ONUs and the OLT indicated to be set to a sleeping state to other communication paths between the RRHs/ONUs and the OLT to be kept in the awake/active state based upon the usage bandwidth information and the cover area information) in a case where all terminals accommodated in a communication station that is a sleep target can be accommodated in another communication station on a basis of the cooperation information (¶100-105 & Fig. 5 (S4 & S5), Sarashina discloses a case where it is determines that a sleep candidate RRH group should be placed in a sleep state which further requires switching at least one communication path corresponding to each RRH/ONU of the sleep candidate RRH group to another communication path to an active/awake RRH/ONU based upon the usage bandwidth information and the cover area information. Here, the active path is decided based upon which active RRH/ONU has sufficient resources to accommodate the bandwidth usage corresponding to the sleep candidate RRH group);
an optical path switching controller (¶124, Sarashina discloses that the OLT includes a switching element 170) configured to control switching of the optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations (¶48-52 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses the switching element 170 is configured to control switching of an optical path between the RRHs and the OLT) and the plurality of communication stations in a case where it is determined that switching of the optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and the plurality of communication stations is necessary (¶104-108 & Fig. 5, Sarashina discloses that the optical path is switched away from a RRH/ONU sleep group that has been set to sleep and switched toward, or maintained, to RRHs and ONUs that are set to non-sleep/active/awake); and
a sleep controller (¶57 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses a sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT)) configured to cause the communication station that is the sleep target to transition to a sleep state (¶63, Sarashina discloses that the sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT) is configured to cause both ONUs and RRHs to be set in a sleep state) before the switching of the optical path is performed or after the switching is performed (¶134, Sarashina discloses that the switching elements of the OLT is configured to switch communication paths in response to setting a sleep state corresponding to the candidate sleep RRH group).
Regarding Claim 16, Sarashina discloses a communication station connected to a terminal accommodation station that communicates with a terminal (¶48-52 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses one or more optical line terminal (OLT) that is connected to one or more optical network units (ONUs) that communicates with one or more radio resource heads (RRHs). Examiner correlates an optical line terminal (OLT) to "a communication station". Examiner correlates a terminal to "one or more optical network units (ONUs)". Examiner correlates the RRH to "a terminal"), the communication station comprising:
a transmitter (¶73-82 & Fig. 3, Sarashina discloses an optical line terminal (OLT) including an optical transmitter 420 and an Optical Network Unit Media Access Control (ONU-MAC)) configured to transmit cooperation information indicating a state of communication with the terminal to a management control device (¶115-116 & Fig. 9, Sarashina discloses that the ONU-MAC is configured to transmit, to the sleep controller, bandwidth usage information);
a receiver (¶73-82 & Fig. 3, Sarashina discloses that the OLT further includes an optical receiver 450 and a sleep controller 240) configured to receive an optical path switching instruction (¶115-116 & Fig. 9, Sarashina discloses that the sleep controller is configured to receive, from the Optical Network Unit Media Access Control (ONU-MAC), bandwidth usage information) indicating that the management control device determines that it is necessary to switch an optical path between the terminal accommodation station and the communication station on a basis of the cooperation information (¶115-116 & Fig. 9, Sarashina discloses that the bandwidth usage information indicates whether to select and activate a sleep candidate ONU group and switch data away from the sleep candidate ONU group based upon the bandwidth usage information); and
a sleep processor (¶57 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses a sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT)) configured to transition to a sleep state (¶63, Sarashina discloses that the sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT) is configured to cause both ONUs and RRHs to be set in a sleep state) before the switching of the optical path is performed on a basis of the optical path switching instruction (¶134, Sarashina discloses that the switching elements of the OLT is configured to switch communication paths in response to setting a sleep state corresponding to the candidate sleep RRH group).
Regarding Claim 17, Sarashina discloses a communication station connected to a terminal accommodation station that communicates with a terminal (¶48-52 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses one or more optical line terminal (OLT) that is connected to one or more optical network units (ONUs) that communicates with one or more radio resource heads (RRHs). Examiner correlates an optical line terminal (OLT) to "a communication station". Examiner correlates a terminal to "one or more optical network units (ONUs)". Examiner correlates the RRH to "a terminal"), the communication station comprising:
a transmitter (¶73-82 & Fig. 3, Sarashina discloses an optical line terminal (OLT) including an optical transmitter 420 and an Optical Network Unit Media Access Control (ONU-MAC)) configured to transmit cooperation information indicating a state of communication with the terminal to a management control device (¶115-116 & Fig. 9, Sarashina discloses that the ONU-MAC is configured to transmit, to the sleep controller, bandwidth usage information),
the cooperation information including any of information regarding a processing load of the communication station, information regarding a processing delay of the communication station, and information regarding a transmission delay between the communication station and the terminal (¶88 & Fig. 5 (S1) & ¶157, Sarashina discloses that the usage bandwidth information includes information on amount of bandwidth. Examiner correlates the amount of bandwidth to "a processing load of the communication station");
a receiver (¶57 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses a sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT)) configured to receive an optical path switching instruction (¶115-116 & Fig. 9, Sarashina discloses that the sleep controller is configured to receive, from the Optical Network Unit Media Access Control (ONU-MAC), bandwidth usage information) indicating that the management control device determines that it is necessary to switch an optical path between the terminal accommodation station and the communication station on a basis of the cooperation information (¶115-116 & Fig. 9, Sarashina discloses that the bandwidth usage information indicates whether to select and activate a sleep candidate ONU group and switch data away from the sleep candidate ONU group based upon the bandwidth usage information); and
a sleep processor (¶57 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses a sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT)) configured to transition to a sleep state (¶63, Sarashina discloses that the sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT) is configured to cause both ONUs and RRHs to be set in a sleep state) before the switching of the optical path is performed or after the switching is performed on a basis of the optical path switching instruction (¶134, Sarashina discloses that the switching elements of the OLT is configured to switch communication path before setting the paths corresponding to the sleep candidate RRH group to a sleep/inactive state).
Regarding Claim 18, Sarashina discloses a control method comprising:
acquiring cooperation information (¶88 & Fig. 5 (S1), Sarashina discloses that the sleep controller 240 is configured to acquire a usage bandwidth information and a cover area information where the usage bandwidth information and/or cover area information indicates a level or state of bandwidth usage between the one or more OLT and the one or more RRHs/ONUs) indicating a state of communication between a communication station connected, directly or via another device, to one or more terminal accommodation stations (¶88 & Fig. 5 (S1), Sarashina discloses that the usage bandwidth information and/or the cover area information indicates a level or state of bandwidth usage between the one or more OLT and the one or more ONUs) that perform communication with one or more terminals and the one or more terminals, from the communication station (¶88 & Fig. 5 (S1), Sarashina discloses that the usage bandwidth information and/or the cover area information indicates a level or state of bandwidth usage between the one or more OLT and the one or more ONUs);
controlling switching of an optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and a plurality of communication stations (¶48-52 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses the switching element 170 is configured to control switching of an optical path between the RRHs/ONUs and the OLT) in a case where it is determined that switching of the optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and the plurality of communication stations is necessary on a basis of the cooperation information (¶100-105 & Fig. 5 (S4 & S5), Sarashina discloses a case where it is determines that a sleep candidate RRH group should be placed in a sleep state which further requires switching at least one communication path corresponding to each RRH/ONU of the sleep candidate RRH group to another communication path to an active/awake RRH/ONU based upon the usage bandwidth information and the cover area information. Here, the active path is decided based upon which active RRH/ONU has sufficient resources to accommodate the bandwidth usage corresponding to the sleep candidate RRH group); and
causing a communication station capable of sleep to transition to a sleep state (¶63, Sarashina discloses that the sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT) is configured to cause both ONUs and RRHs to be set in a sleep state) before the switching of the optical path is performed (¶134, Sarashina discloses that the switching elements of the OLT is configured to switch communication path before setting the paths corresponding to the sleep candidate RRH group to a sleep/inactive state).
Regarding Claim 19, Sarashina discloses a control method comprising:
acquiring cooperation information (¶88 & Fig. 5 (S1), Sarashina discloses that the sleep controller 240 is configured to acquire a usage bandwidth information and a cover area information where the usage bandwidth information and/or cover area information indicates a level or state of bandwidth usage between the one or more OLT and the one or more RRHs/ONUs) indicating a state of communication between a communication station connected, directly or via another device, to one or more terminal accommodation stations (¶88 & Fig. 5 (S1), Sarashina discloses that the usage bandwidth information and/or the cover area information indicates a level or state of bandwidth usage between the one or more OLT and the one or more ONUs) that perform communication with one or more terminals and the one or more terminals, from the communication station (¶73-82 & Fig. 3, Sarashina discloses the one or more ONUs perform communication with the one or more RRHs and the one or more ONUs where the communication between the one or more ONUs and the one or more RRHs pass to and from the OLT),
the cooperation information including any of information regarding a processing load of the communication station, information regarding a processing delay of the communication station, and information regarding a transmission delay between the communication station and the one or more terminals (¶88 & Fig. 5 (S1) & ¶157, Sarashina discloses that the usage bandwidth information includes information on amount of bandwidth. Examiner correlates the amount of bandwidth to "a processing load of the communication station");
controlling switching of an optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and the plurality of communication stations (¶48-52 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses the switching element 170 is configured to control switching of an optical path between the RRHs/ONUs and the OLT) in a case where it is determined that switching of the optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and the plurality of communication stations is necessary on a basis of the cooperation information (¶100-105 & Fig. 5 (S4 & S5), Sarashina discloses a case where it is determines that a sleep candidate RRH group should be placed in a sleep state which further requires switching at least one communication path corresponding to each RRH/ONU of the sleep candidate RRH group to another communication path to an active/awake RRH/ONU based upon the usage bandwidth information and the cover area information. Here, the active path is decided based upon which active RRH/ONU has sufficient resources to accommodate the bandwidth usage corresponding to the sleep candidate RRH group); and
causing a communication station capable of sleep to transition to a sleep state (¶63, Sarashina discloses that the sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT) is configured to cause both ONUs and RRHs to be set in a sleep state) before the switching of the optical path is performed or after the switching is performed (¶134, Sarashina discloses that the switching elements of the OLT is configured to switch communication path before setting the paths corresponding to the sleep candidate RRH group to a sleep/inactive state).
Regarding Claim 20, Sarashina discloses a control method comprising:
acquiring cooperation information (¶88 & Fig. 5 (S1), Sarashina discloses that the sleep controller 240 is configured to acquire a usage bandwidth information and a cover area information where the usage bandwidth information and/or cover area information indicates a level or state of bandwidth usage between the one or more OLT and the one or more RRHs/ONUs) indicating a state of communication between a communication station connected, directly or via another device, to one or more terminal accommodation stations (¶88 & Fig. 5 (S1), Sarashina discloses that the usage bandwidth information and/or the cover area information indicates a level or state of bandwidth usage between the one or more OLT and the one or more ONUs) that perform communication with one or more terminals and the one or more terminals, from the communication station (¶73-82 & Fig. 3, Sarashina discloses the one or more ONUs perform communication with the one or more RRHs and the one or more ONUs where the communication between the one or more ONUs and the one or more RRHs pass to and from the OLT);
controlling switching of an optical path between the one or more terminal accommodation stations and the plurality of communication stations (¶48-52 & Fig. 1, Sarashina discloses the switching element 170 is configured to control switching of an optical path between the RRHs/ONUs and the OLT) in a case where all terminals accommodated in a communication station that is a sleep target among the plurality of communication stations can be accommodated in another communication station on a basis of the cooperation information (¶100-105 & Fig. 5 (S4 & S5), Sarashina discloses a case where it is determines that a sleep candidate RRH group should be placed in a sleep state which further requires switching at least one communication path corresponding to each RRH/ONU of the sleep candidate RRH group to another communication path to an active/awake RRH/ONU based upon the usage bandwidth information and the cover area information. Here, the active path is decided based upon which active RRH/ONU has sufficient resources to accommodate the bandwidth usage corresponding to the sleep candidate RRH group); and
causing the communication station that is the sleep target to transition to a sleep state (¶63, Sarashina discloses that the sleep controller 240 of an optical line unit (OLT) is configured to cause both ONUs and RRHs to be set in a sleep state) before the switching of the optical path is performed or after the switching is performed (¶134, Sarashina discloses that the switching elements of the OLT is configured to switch communication path before setting the paths corresponding to the sleep candidate RRH group to a sleep/inactive state).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Conclusion
/ERIC NOWLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2474