DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2, and 4 – 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 2 contains periods within the body of the claim on page 2 line 5 and page 3 line 1. Each claim begins with a capital letter and ends with a period. Periods may not be used elsewhere in the claims except for abbreviations. See Fressola v. Manbeck, 36 USPQ2d 1211 (D.D.C. 1995). See MPEP 608.01(m). Additionally, claims 4 – 15 are included in the objection for being dependent on claim 2 and failing to address the deficiency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 17 – 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Babij et. al. ((2020), Design and synthesis of florylpicoxamid, a fungicide derived from renewable raw materials, Green Chem., 22, 6047 – 6054).
Regarding claim 16, Babij et. al. teach that the primary goal of modern agriculture is to address the food security needs of a growing global population while decreasing the impact of food production on our planet’s climate and limited natural resources. See page 6047 column 1 paragraph 1. Babij et. al. teach that due to agrochemicals widespread global usage, the safety, environmental fate, persistence and toxicity of crop protection products are much more important than for other types of chemical products, and regulatory agencies around the world set testing requirements to ensure high standards of product safety. See page 6047 column 2 paragraph 1. Additionally, Babij et. al. teach two new picolinamide fungicide active ingredients that exemplify green design which are fenpicoxamid 1a and florylpicoxamid 2a, with florylpicoxamid have the structure
. See page 6048 column 1 paragraph 2 and Figure 1. Moreover, Babij et. al. teach that by replacing acetyl chloride with acetic anhydride and eliminating DMAP, the N-acetylated impurity (25) was minimized (<2%), and 2a was isolated in nearly quantitative yield with a crystal structure of the final active ingredient is depicted in Fig. 4. See page 6052 column 1 paragraph 2. See claim 16 limitation for a crystalline polymorph of a compound of the formula:
.
Discussion of the Prior Art
The closet prior art of Babij et. al. ((2020), Design and synthesis of florylpicoxamid, a fungicide derived from renewable raw materials, Green Chem., 22, 6047 – 6054) Babij et. al. teach that the primary goal of modern agriculture is to address the food security needs of a growing global population while decreasing the impact of food production on our planet’s climate and limited natural resources. See page 6047 column 1 paragraph 1. Babij et. al. teach that due to agrochemicals widespread global usage, the safety, environmental fate, persistence and toxicity of crop protection products are much more important than for other types of chemical products, and regulatory agencies around the world set testing requirements to ensure high standards of product safety. See page 6047 column 2 paragraph 1. Additionally, Babij et. al. teach two new picolinamide fungicide active ingredients that exemplify green design which are fenpicoxamid 1a and florylpicoxamid 2a, with florylpicoxamid have the structure
. See page 6048 column 1 paragraph 2 and Figure 1. Moreover, Babij et. al. teach that by replacing acetyl chloride with acetic anhydride and eliminating DMAP, the N-acetylated impurity (25) was minimized (<2%), and 2a was isolated in nearly quantitative yield with a crystal structure of the final active ingredient is depicted in Fig. 4. See page 6052 column 1 paragraph 2.
However, the prior art fails to teach a method for the preparation of a crystalline compound of the formula:
, the process comprising: distilling a mixture comprising: an aprotic organic solvent, a protic organic solvent, Compound I and seed Compound I. See claim 1 limitation. Moreover, while the state of the art may teach a motivation for generically making a crystalline compound through heating with an appropriate solvent; the prior art fails to teach a motivation for modifying these generic methods to render obvious the process as recited in claim 1. Thus, since the prior art of Babij et. al. fails to anticipate of render obvious the method of claim 1; claim 1 and 3 are free of the prior art.
Conclusion
Claim 16 is rejected. Claims 2, 4 – 15, and 17 – 18 are objected. Claims 1 and 3 are allowable.
/DAWANNA SHAR-DAY WHITE/Examiner, Art Unit 1627