DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is in response to applicant's amendment received on 7/9/2026. Amended claims 1 and 5 and new claims 6-10 are acknowledged and the following new grounds of rejection below are formulated. Claims *** are cancelled. The amendments to the specification have been considered and accepted.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masahiko (JP 3576286), hereinafter “Masahiko” in view of Mizoguchi (U.S. Publication 2019/0300053), hereinafter “Mizoguchi”.
Regarding claim 1, Masahiko discloses the same invention substantially as claimed such as an assembly to turn off one or more cylinders of an engine to reduce load from a crankshaft, wherein the said assembly comprises: one or more butterfly valves (9) of a pre-defined shape housed inside one or more corresponding intake manifolds (manifold of intake passages 10a) of at least one cylinder of the engine, wherein each of the one or more butterfly valves (9) comprises at least one hole (9c and 9c’) sized to allow an air flow greater than a clearance volume (volume of air in the cylinder when the piston is at TDC) of the one or more cylinders to pass through when the one or more butterfly valves are closed, the at least one hole being placed at a pre-defined position in the corresponding at least one butterfly valve (9, shown in figure 2), and configured to reduce effect of negative pressure; and at least one actuator (13) operatively coupled to the corresponding one or more butterfly valves (9), and configured to operate the corresponding cylinders of the engine (paragraphs 14-17), but is silent to disclose the actuator being controlled by the ECM. However, Mizoguchi teaches the use of an ECU (23) controlling the throttle valve actuator (26) to close based upon a drive signal for the purpose of generating a desired engine output (paragraph 57, can be to provide better gas mileage, reduce emissions or even reduce load). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Masahiko by incorporating an ECU to control the throttle valve actuator as taught by Mizoguchi for the purpose of generating a desired engine output. Examiner notes that Masahiko’s holes (9c and 9c’) allow for an air flow greater than a clearance volume of the cylinder to pass through since the intake manifold portion is large. The clearance volume is just the amount of air within a cylinder at TDC which is somewhat small. The throttle body (10) of Masahiko shown in figure 6 after the throttle valve (9) is fairly large. Surely there is more air volume withing throttle body (10) after the throttle valve (9) compared to a clearance volume of the cylinder. Examiner notes that when the throttle valve is closed, maybe at idle, a lot of air flow still stacks up within the throttle body over time and would be greater than the clearance volume.
Regarding claim 2, Masahiko discloses the assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein the engine comprises one of a petrol engine (spark ignition) or a diesel engine (compressed ignition). Examiner notes that it is inherent that the engine is either a spark ignition engine or a compression ignition engine.
Regarding claim 3, Masahiko discloses the assembly as claimed in claim1, wherein the one or more cylinders comprising the butterfly valve (9) corresponds to one of alternate butterfly valves, butterfly valves (9, shown in figure 2) in series, or one or more customized butterfly valves.
Regarding claim 4, Masahiko discloses the assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein the one or more conditions comprises one of a no-load condition (idle condition mentioned in paragraphs 3 and 9), an engine start condition, or a combination thereof.
Claim(s) 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masahiko and Mizoguchi and further in view of Insixiengmai (U.S. Publication 2018/0230926), hereinafter “Insixienhmai”.
Regarding claims 5-10, Masahiko and Mizoguchi discloses the same invention substantially as claimed but is silent to disclose the ECM configured to turn off a subset of the two or more cylinders by turning off the corresponding one or more butterfly valves, providing a an even number of cylinders, turning off the subset including cylinders 1, 3, and 5, and the other subset having cylinders 2, 4, and 6. However, Insixiengmai teaches the use of two throttle valves (91 and 93) in the V-type engine for the purpose of providing independent air-fuel mixing for each bank and improve throttle response, torque, and acceleration. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Masahiko and Mizoguchi by incorporating two throttle valves in a V-type configuration as taught by Insixiengmai for the purpose of providing independent air-fuel mixing for each bank and improve throttle response, torque, and acceleration. Examiner notes that Masahiko teaches a V-type engine and incorporating a secondary throttle valve would be obvious. With regards to claims 6-10, it would be obvious to shut off certain subsets according to the banks of the engine whether it is a 4 cylinder engine or a 6 cylinder engine.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on the new Insixiengmai reference.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892.
/SYED O HASAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747 9/2/2026