DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is in response to applicant's amendment received on 12/29/2025. Amended claims 1 and 5 are acknowledged and the following new grounds of rejection below are formulated. The amendments to the drawings have been considered and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masahiko (JP 3576286), hereinafter “Masahiko” in view of Sato et al. (U.S. Patent 5,907,971), hereinafter “Sato”.
Regarding claim 1, Masahiko discloses the same invention substantially as claimed such as an assembly to turn off one or more cylinders of an engine to reduce load from a crankshaft, wherein the said assembly comprises: one or more butterfly valves (9) of a pre-defined shape housed inside one or more corresponding intake manifolds (manifold of intake passages 10a) of at least one cylinder of the engine, wherein each of the one or more butterfly valves (9) comprises at least one hole (9c and 9c’) sized to allow an air flow greater than a clearance volume (volume of air in the cylinder when the piston is at TDC) of the one or more cylinders to pass through when the one or more butterfly valves are closed, the at least one hole being placed at a pre-defined position in the corresponding at least one butterfly valve (9, shown in figure 2), and configured to reduce effect of negative pressure; and at least one actuator (13) operatively coupled to the corresponding one or more butterfly valves (9), and configured to operate the corresponding cylinders of the engine (paragraphs 14-17), but is silent to disclose the actuator being controlled by the ECM. However, Sato teaches the use of an ECM controlling the throttle valve actuator (3) for the purpose of allowing from an engine from failing to start and to take into account other engine operating parameters before opening the throttle valve to help protect the engine from failure (column 1, lines 29-59). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Masahiko by incorporating an ECM to control the throttle valve actuator as taught by Sato for the purpose of allowing from an engine from failing to start and to take into account other engine operating parameters before opening the throttle valve to help protect the engine from failure. Examiner notes that Masahiko’s holes (9c and 9c’) allow for an air flow greater than a clearance volume of the cylinder to pass through since the intake manifold portion is large. The clearance volume is just the amount of air within a cylinder at TDC which is somewhat small. The throttle body (10) of Masahiko shown in figure 6 after the throttle valve (9) is fairly large. Surely there is more air volume withing throttle body (10) after the throttle valve (9) compared to a clearance volume of the cylinder. Examiner notes that when the throttle valve is closed, maybe at idle, a lot of air flow still stacks up within the throttle body over time and would be greater than the clearance volume.
Regarding claim 2, Masahiko discloses the assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein the engine comprises one of a petrol engine (spark ignition) or a diesel engine (compressed ignition). Examiner notes that it is inherent that the engine is either a spark ignition engine or a compression ignition engine.
Regarding claim 3, Masahiko discloses the assembly as claimed in claim1, wherein the one or more cylinders comprising the butterfly valve (9) corresponds to one of alternate butterfly valves, butterfly valves (9, shown in figure 2) in series, or one or more customized butterfly valves.
Regarding claim 4, Masahiko discloses the assembly as claimed in claim1, wherein the one or more conditions comprises one of a no-load condition (idle condition mentioned in paragraphs 3 and 9), an engine start condition, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 5, Masahiko and Sato disclose the assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein the engine control module (Masahiko, claim 1, controller) is configured to turn off the corresponding at least one butterfly valve to reduce negative pressure inside the cylinder which reduced a load of the crankshaft (claim 2, cylinder deactivation is present, and due to shutoff, it is inherent that the load on the crankshaft will be reduced).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Masahiko does not describe sizing the air hole relative to the clearance volume in any manner. Examiner notes that the sizing of the hole according the amended claims just needs to be greater than the clearance volume of the cylinder, which is the case. Explanation is given above in the rejection of claim 1.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 with the ECM controlling the actuator, have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection relies on the new Sato reference.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYED O HASAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747 4/7/2026