Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/22/2025, 10/20/2025, 07/24/2025, 11/14/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
This office action is in response to the Preliminary amendment filed 11/14/2024.
Claims 21-28, 29-36, 37, 38 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 22-24, 28, 29, 30-32, 36, 37, 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. ( US 20220239423, hereinafter, Zhu’s 423 ) in view of Matsumura et al. ( US 20250279869, hereinafter, Matsumura’s 869 ).
Regarding to the claim 21, Zhu’s 423 teaches a method by a user equipment comprising:
receiving, from a network device (base station) on a first cell (serving cell) , configuration information (a configuration for inter-cell operation) (higher layer configured by the network ) [see Paragraphs 0006 & 0007 ] (The UE could be higher layer configured by the network (e.g., via higher layer RRC signaling) a pool of TCI states. The TCI state pool could comprise of TCI states for both the serving cell (associated with the serving cell PCI) and the non-serving (or neighboring) cell(s)/TRP(s)—associated with the non-serving cell PCI(s)) [see Paragraphs 0006 & 0007] [also see the paragraphs 0404 & 0405 & 0411 & 0416 & 0420 & 0436 & 0441] ,
wherein the configuration information (configured TCI-states) includes a set of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states (a pool of TCI states) , and the set of TCI states is associated with a second cell (non serving cell) different from the first cell (serving cell) (the pool of TCI states is associated with the non-serving cell is different from the pool of TCI states associated the serving cell ) [see Figure 14A and Figure 14B ] see the paragraphs 0404 & 0405 & 0411 & 0416 & 0420 & 0436 & 0441] ;
receiving an activation command to activate one or more TCI states ( [0420] In yet another example (example-viii), the UE could receive from the network one or more MAC CE activation commands. Each MAC CE activation command activates one or more TCI states or TCI state IDs/indexes from the higher layer RRC configured pool/list/set of TCI states. The one or more TCI states or TCI state IDs/indexes activated by the same MAC CE activation command could be associated with the same TCI state group/TCI state group ID/index. The TCI state group ID/index could be included/indicated in the corresponding MAC CE activation command. The UE could receive from the network G_tci MAC CE activation commands as described above each associated with a TCI state group (with a TCI state group ID/index)) ,
wherein the one or more TCI states are from the set of TCI states [see Paragraph 0420 ] .
However, Zhu’s 423 does not explicitly teach the applying the one or more TCI states.
Matsumura’s 869, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches the applying the one or more TCI states [see Paragraphs 0392 & 0386-0387 & 0390 ]
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zhu’s 423 in view of Matsumura’s 869 because Matsumura’s 869 suggests that an object of the present disclosure is to provide a terminal, a radio communication method, and a base station that appropriately perform TCI state indication.
Regarding to the claim 22, Zhu’s 423 further teaches wherein the activation command is to activate one of the one or more TCI states for transmission on the second cell [see Paragraphs 0404 & 0405 & 0411 & 0416 & 0420 & 0436 & 0441] [also see the paragraphs 0442 & 0443 & 0447 & 0049-0450 ].
Regarding to the claim 23, Zhu’s 423 further teaches wherein the activation command is to activate two of the one or more TCI states for reception or transmission on the second cell [see Paragraphs 0404 & 0405 & 0411 & 0416 & 0420 & 0436 & 0441] [also see the paragraphs 0442 & 0443 & 0447 & 0049-0450 ].
Regarding to the claim 24, Zhu’s 423 further teaches wherein the activation command is received on a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) [see paragraph 0395].
Regarding to the claim 28, Zhu’s 423 and Matsumura’s 869 teach the limitations of the claim 21 above.
However, Zhu’s 423 does not explicitly teach wherein the activation command is a first activation command, and wherein the one or more TCI states are first one or more TCI states, receiving a second activation command to activate second one or more TCI states, wherein the first one or more TCI states are from the second one or more TCI states.
Matsumura’s 869, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the activation command is a first activation command [see Paragraphs 0349 & 0367 ] , and wherein the one or more TCI states are first one or more TCI states,
receiving a second activation command to activate second one or more TCI states, wherein the first one or more TCI states are from the second one or more TCI states [see Paragraphs 0349 & 0367 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zhu’s 423 in view of Matsumura’s 869 because Matsumura’s 869 suggests that an object of the present disclosure is to provide a terminal, a radio communication method, and a base station that appropriately perform TCI state indication.
Regarding to the claim 29, Zhu’s 423 teaches a method by a network device (Base Station) comprising:
sending, to a user equipment on a first cell (serving cell) , configuration information (a configuration for inter-cell operation) (higher layer configured by the network ) [see Paragraphs 0006 & 0007 ] (The UE could be higher layer configured by the network (e.g., via higher layer RRC signaling) a pool of TCI states. The TCI state pool could comprise of TCI states for both the serving cell (associated with the serving cell PCI) and the non-serving (or neighboring) cell(s)/TRP(s)—associated with the non-serving cell PCI(s)) [see Paragraphs 0006 & 0007] [also see the paragraphs 0404 & 0405 & 0411 & 0416 & 0420 & 0436 & 0441] ,
wherein the configuration information (configured TCI-states) includes a set of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states (a pool of TCI states) , and the set of TCI states is associated with a second cell (non serving cell) different from the first cell (serving cell) (the pool of TCI states is associated with the non-serving cell is different from the pool of TCI states associated the serving cell ) [see Figure 14A and Figure 14B ] see the paragraphs 0404 & 0405 & 0411 & 0416 & 0420 & 0436 & 0441] ;
sending an activation command to activate one or more TCI states ( [0420] In yet another example (example-viii), the UE could receive from the network one or more MAC CE activation commands. Each MAC CE activation command activates one or more TCI states or TCI state IDs/indexes from the higher layer RRC configured pool/list/set of TCI states. The one or more TCI states or TCI state IDs/indexes activated by the same MAC CE activation command could be associated with the same TCI state group/TCI state group ID/index. The TCI state group ID/index could be included/indicated in the corresponding MAC CE activation command. The UE could receive from the network G_tci MAC CE activation commands as described above each associated with a TCI state group (with a TCI state group ID/index)) ,
wherein the one or more TCI states are from the set of TCI states [see Paragraph 0420 ] .
However, Zhu’s 423 does not explicitly teach the applying the one or more TCI states.
Matsumura’s 869, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches the applying the one or more TCI states [see Paragraphs 0392 & 0386-0387 & 0390 ]
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zhu’s 423 in view of Matsumura’s 869 because Matsumura’s 869 suggests that an object of the present disclosure is to provide a terminal, a radio communication method, and a base station that appropriately perform TCI state indication.
Regarding to the claim 30, claim 30 is rejected the same ground, or for the same reasons of claim 22, because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 31, claim 31 is rejected the same ground, or for the same reasons of claim 23, because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 32, claim 32 is rejected the same ground, or for the same reasons of claim 24, because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 36, claim 36 is rejected the same ground, or for the same reasons of claim 28, because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 37, Zhu’s 423 teaches a user equipment comprising:
receive, from a network device (base station) on a first cell (serving cell) , configuration information (a configuration for inter-cell operation) (higher layer configured by the network ) [see Paragraphs 0006 & 0007 ] (The UE could be higher layer configured by the network (e.g., via higher layer RRC signaling) a pool of TCI states. The TCI state pool could comprise of TCI states for both the serving cell (associated with the serving cell PCI) and the non-serving (or neighboring) cell(s)/TRP(s)—associated with the non-serving cell PCI(s)) [see Paragraphs 0006 & 0007] [also see the paragraphs 0404 & 0405 & 0411 & 0416 & 0420 & 0436 & 0441] ,
wherein the configuration information (configured TCI-states) includes a set of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states (a pool of TCI states) , and the set of TCI states is associated with a second cell (non serving cell) different from the first cell (serving cell) (the pool of TCI states is associated with the non-serving cell is different from the pool of TCI states associated the serving cell ) [see Figure 14A and Figure 14B ] see the paragraphs 0404 & 0405 & 0411 & 0416 & 0420 & 0436 & 0441] ;
receive an activation command to activate one or more TCI states ( [0420] In yet another example (example-viii), the UE could receive from the network one or more MAC CE activation commands. Each MAC CE activation command activates one or more TCI states or TCI state IDs/indexes from the higher layer RRC configured pool/list/set of TCI states. The one or more TCI states or TCI state IDs/indexes activated by the same MAC CE activation command could be associated with the same TCI state group/TCI state group ID/index. The TCI state group ID/index could be included/indicated in the corresponding MAC CE activation command. The UE could receive from the network G_tci MAC CE activation commands as described above each associated with a TCI state group (with a TCI state group ID/index)) ,
wherein the one or more TCI states are from the set of TCI states [see Paragraph 0420 ] .
However, Zhu’s 423 does not explicitly teach the applying the one or more TCI states.
Matsumura’s 869, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches the applying the one or more TCI states [see Paragraphs 0392 & 0386-0387 & 0390 ]
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zhu’s 423 in view of Matsumura’s 869 because Matsumura’s 869 suggests that an object of the present disclosure is to provide a terminal, a radio communication method, and a base station that appropriately perform TCI state indication.
Regarding to the claim 38, Zhu’s 423 teaches a network device comprising:
at least one memory; and
at least one hardware processor coupled to the at least one memory,
wherein the at least one hardware processor is configured to:
send, to a user equipment on a first cell (serving cell) , configuration information (a configuration for inter-cell operation) (higher layer configured by the network ) [see Paragraphs 0006 & 0007 ] (The UE could be higher layer configured by the network (e.g., via higher layer RRC signaling) a pool of TCI states. The TCI state pool could comprise of TCI states for both the serving cell (associated with the serving cell PCI) and the non-serving (or neighboring) cell(s)/TRP(s)—associated with the non-serving cell PCI(s)) [see Paragraphs 0006 & 0007] [also see the paragraphs 0404 & 0405 & 0411 & 0416 & 0420 & 0436 & 0441] ,
wherein the configuration information (configured TCI-states) includes a set of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states (a pool of TCI states) , and the set of TCI states is associated with a second cell (non serving cell) different from the first cell (serving cell) (the pool of TCI states is associated with the non-serving cell is different from the pool of TCI states associated the serving cell ) [see Figure 14A and Figure 14B ] see the paragraphs 0404 & 0405 & 0411 & 0416 & 0420 & 0436 & 0441] ;
send an activation command to activate one or more TCI states ( [0420] In yet another example (example-viii), the UE could receive from the network one or more MAC CE activation commands. Each MAC CE activation command activates one or more TCI states or TCI state IDs/indexes from the higher layer RRC configured pool/list/set of TCI states. The one or more TCI states or TCI state IDs/indexes activated by the same MAC CE activation command could be associated with the same TCI state group/TCI state group ID/index. The TCI state group ID/index could be included/indicated in the corresponding MAC CE activation command. The UE could receive from the network G_tci MAC CE activation commands as described above each associated with a TCI state group (with a TCI state group ID/index)) ,
wherein the one or more TCI states are from the set of TCI states [see Paragraph 0420 ] .
However, Zhu’s 423 does not explicitly teach the applying the one or more TCI states.
Matsumura’s 869, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches the applying the one or more TCI states [see Paragraphs 0392 & 0386-0387 & 0390 ]
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zhu’s 423 in view of Matsumura’s 869 because Matsumura’s 869 suggests that an object of the present disclosure is to provide a terminal, a radio communication method, and a base station that appropriately perform TCI state indication.
Claim(s) 25, 26, 27, 33, 34, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. ( US 20220239423, hereinafter, Zhu’s 423 ) in view of Matsumura et al. ( US 20250279869, hereinafter, Matsumura’s 869 ), and further in view of Seo et al. ( US 20210050936, hereinafter, Seo’s 936 )
Regarding to the claim 25, Zhu’s 423 and Matsumura’s 869 teach the limitations of the claim 21 above.
However, Zhu’s 423 does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more TCI states are applied after completion of a random access procedure on the second cell, or after a predefined duration after Hybrid Automatic Repeat ReQuest Acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) transmission in Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) corresponding the activation command.
Seo’s 936, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the one or more TCI states are applied after completion of a random access procedure on the second cell, or after a predefined duration after Hybrid Automatic Repeat ReQuest Acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) transmission in Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) corresponding the activation command [see paragraph 0195] .
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( Zhu’s 423 and Matsumura’s 869), and further in view of Seo’s 936 because Seo’s 936 suggests that there remains a need for more efficient handover technologies to minimize service interruption and improve service quality.
Regarding to the claim 26, Zhu’s 423 and Matsumura’s 869 teach the limitations of the claim 21 above.
However, Zhu’s 423 does not explicitly teach wherein wherein the predefined duration is 3 milli seconds.
Seo’s 936, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the predefined duration is 3 milli seconds [see paragraph 0195] .
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( Zhu’s 423 and Matsumura’s 869), and further in view of Seo’s 936 because Seo’s 936 suggests that there remains a need for more efficient handover technologies to minimize service interruption and improve service quality.
Regarding to the claim 27, Zhu’s 423 and Matsumura’s 869 teach the limitations of the claim 21 above.
However, Zhu’s 423 does not explicitly teach wherein the predefined duration depends on a capability of the user equipment.
Seo’s 936, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the predefined duration depends on a capability of the user equipment [see paragraph 0195] .
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( Zhu’s 423 and Matsumura’s 869), and further in view of Seo’s 936 because Seo’s 936 suggests that there remains a need for more efficient handover technologies to minimize service interruption and improve service quality.
Regarding to the claim 33, claim 33 is rejected the same ground, or for the same reasons of claim 25, because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 34, claim 34 is rejected the same ground, or for the same reasons of claim 26, because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 35, claim 35 is rejected the same ground, or for the same reasons of claim 27, because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Conclusion
/CHUONG T HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412