DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/21/2025 has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 12-14 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 12 and 14, please amend “wherein removing moisture” to “wherein the removing moisture”.
Claim 13, please amend “wherein applying heat to the soil” to “wherein the applying heat to the soil”.
Claim 21, please amend “during applying heat to the soil” to “during the applying heat to the soil”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: Claim 15, “a soil conditioner configured to perform a pretreatment for measuring the moisture characteristic of the soil” is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Prong 1: a soil conditioner (uses a generic placeholder), prong 2: configured to perform (functional language), prong 3: sufficient structure for performing the function is not recited. Therefore, claim 15 invokes 112(f). However, the corresponding structure for performing the functions is described in the specification ([para. 0018] – soil conditioner 101 includes a soil accommodating unit 111, a drying unit 112, and a stirring unit 113).
Claim 15, “a measurement instrument configured to measure the moisture characteristic of the soil that has been pretreated by the soil conditioner” is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Prong 1: a measurement instrument (uses a generic placeholder), prong 2: configured to measure (functional language), prong 3: sufficient structure for performing the function is not recited. Therefore, claim 15 invokes 112(f). However, the corresponding structure for performing the functions is described in the specification ([para. 0027] – a soil accommodating unit 121, a soil saturation unit 122, a water content change measurement unit 123, a matrix potential measurement unit 124, and a maximum corrosion rate measurement unit 125. These structures are further detailed in [paras. 0028-0034]).
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 15-22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 9, claim 9 recites “the moisture characteristic is a matrix potential value”; however, claim 9 is dependent upon claim 8, and claim 8 recites “the moisture characteristic is a water content of the soil”, which is different from a matrix potential value. Thus, claim 9 is indefinite.
Regarding Claim 15, “the moisture characteristic” and “the soil” lack antecedent basis. Claims 16-22 are further rejected by virtue of their dependence upon and because they fail to cure the deficiencies of indefinite claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 7-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding Independent Claim 7, claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 7 is directed to a corrosion estimation method that “estimating corrosion of a metal member buried in the soil from the measured moisture characteristic”, which is an abstract concept that can be done mentally. The additional method steps such as an “performing a pretreatment for measuring a moisture characteristic of soil”, “measuring the moisture characteristic of the soil that has been subjected to the pretreatment” are known as evidenced by the prior art of Shota in the prior art rejection of claim 7 below, and are conventional process previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to gather data on the soil. Furthermore, the additional processes are used to gather data and analyzing/classifying data and are insignificant. Section 2106.04(a)(2) of MPEP states: “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, including managing relationships and legal obligations, advertising and marketing, managing human behavior, and collecting, analyzing, classifying, and storing data” is directed to an abstract idea.
Claim 7 is Ineligible due to the following analysis:
Step 1 (Statutory Category): Claim 7 is directed to a corrosion estimation method, therefore, it is directed to a statutory category, i.e., a method (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A, Prong-1 (the claim is evaluated to determine whether it is directed to a judicial-exception/abstract-idea): Claim 7 recites: “estimating corrosion of a metal member buried in the soil from the measured moisture characteristic”, which is an abstract idea since the corrosion estimation method just uses the moisture characteristic measurements to estimate the corrosion, which can be done mathematically or mentally, thus is a mental step. Therefore, it is directed to a judicial exception/abstract-idea (Step 2A, Prong-1: YES).
Step 2A, Prong-2 (the claim is evaluated to determine whether the judicial-exception/abstract-idea is integrated into a Practical Application): the abstract idea related to “estimating corrosion of a metal member buried in the soil from the measured moisture characteristic” are not used into a practical application, and do not belong to a particular technological environment, industry or field since nothing is done after the mental step. Data gathering to be used in the abstract idea is insignificant extra-solution activity, and not a particular practical application. Consequently, the aforesaid abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application and/or apply, rely on, and/or use to an additional element or elements in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit, thus, monopolizing the steps (Step 2A, Prong-2: NO, because there is no integration of the abstract idea into a practical application).
Step 2B (the claim is evaluated to determine whether recites additional elements that amount to an inventive concept, or also, the additional elements are significantly more than the recited the judicial-exception/abstract-idea): Claim 7 recites the additional elements “performing a pretreatment for measuring a moisture characteristic of soil” and “measuring the moisture characteristic of the soil that has been subjected to the pretreatment”, which are just routine and conventional processes previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to acquire information for determining corrosion. Data gathering to be used in the abstract idea is insignificant extra-solution activity, and not a particular practical application. Therefore, claim 7 does not include additional element(s) significantly more, and/or, does not amount to more than the judicial-exception/abstract-idea itself and the claim is not patent eligible (Step 2B: NO).
Regarding dependent claims 8-14, claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 8-14 depend on the independent claim 7, therefore, have the abstract idea of claim 7 and also have the routine and conventional processes of claim 7.
Claim 8 recites “the moisture characteristic is a water content of the soil”, which is well known by the prior art as a corrosion estimation method (see Claim 8 rejection below).
Claims 9-10 recites “the moisture characteristic is a matrix potential value at a specified soil water content”, which is well known by the prior art as a corrosion estimation method (see Claims 9-10 rejections below).
Claim 11 recites “removing moisture from the soil” is well known in the prior art (see Claim 11 rejection below), and only serves to modify the moisture content in the soil for data collecting.
Claim 12, recites “removing moisture from the soil comprising applying heat to the soil” is well known in the prior art (see Claim 12 rejection below), and only serves to modify the moisture content in the soil for data collecting.
Claim 13 recites “applying heat to the soil comprises limiting a temperature of the soil to 50⁰C or lower” which only serves to remove moisture from the soil for data collection.
Claim 14 recites “removing moisture from the soil comprises decompressing and vacuum drying the soil” is well known in the prior art (see Claim 14 rejection below), and only serves modify the moisture content in the soil for data collecting.
In summary, dependent claims 8-14 do not include additional steps that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding Independent Claim 15, claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 15 is directed to a corrosion estimation device with a calculator that is “configured to estimate corrosion of a metal member buried in the soil from the moisture characteristic measured by the measurement instrument”, which is an abstract concept that can be done mentally. The additional apparatus such as “a soil conditioner, a measurement instrument, and a metal member” are known as evidenced by the prior art of Shota in the prior art rejection of claim 15 below, and are conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve either to measure a soil characteristic. Furthermore, the additional elements are used to gather data and analyzing/classifying data and are insignificant. Section 2106.04(a)(2) of MPEP states: “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, including managing relationships and legal obligations, advertising and marketing, managing human behavior, and collecting, analyzing, classifying, and storing data” is directed to an abstract idea.
Claim 15 is Ineligible due to the following analysis:
Step 1 (Statutory Category): Claim 15 is directed to corrosion estimation device, therefore, it is directed to a statutory category, i.e., an apparatus (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A, Prong-1 (the claim is evaluated to determine whether it is directed to a judicial-exception/abstract-idea): Claim 15 recites: “configured to estimate corrosion of a metal member buried in the soil from the moisture characteristic measured by the measurement instrument”, which is an abstract idea since the calculation unit just does mathematical calculations to estimate the corrosion, thus is a mental step. Therefore, it is directed to a judicial exception/abstract-idea (Step 2A, Prong-1: YES).
Step 2A, Prong-2 (the claim is evaluated to determine whether the judicial-exception/abstract-idea is integrated into a Practical Application): the abstract idea related to “configured to estimate corrosion of a metal member buried in the soil from the moisture characteristic measured by the measurement instrument” are not used into a practical application, and do not belong to a particular technological environment, industry or field since nothing is done after the mental step. Data gathering to be used in the abstract idea is insignificant extra-solution activity, and not a particular practical application. Consequently, the aforesaid abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application and/or apply, rely on, and/or use to an additional element or elements in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit, thus, monopolizing the steps (Step 2A, Prong-2: NO, because there is no integration of the abstract idea into a practical application).
Step 2B (the claim is evaluated to determine whether recites additional elements that amount to an inventive concept, or also, the additional elements are significantly more than the recited the judicial-exception/abstract-idea): Claim 15 recites the additional element(s)“a soil conditioner, a measurement instrument, and a metal member”, which are just routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to perform, acquire information for performing soil characteristic measurements. Therefore, claim 15 does not include additional element(s) significantly more, and/or, does not amount to more than the judicial-exception/abstract-idea itself and the claim is not patent eligible (Step 2B: NO).
Regarding dependent claims 16-22, claims 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 16-22 depend on the independent claim 15, therefore, have the abstract idea of claim 15 and also have the routine and conventional structures above of claim 15.
Claim 16 recites “the measurement instrument is configured to measure a water content of the soil”, which is well known by the prior art as a measurement instrument (see Claim 16 rejection below).
Claims 17-18 recites “the measurement instrument is configured to measure a matrix potential at a specified soil water content”, which is well known by the prior art as a measurement instrument (see Claims 17-18 rejections below).
Claim 19 recites “the soil conditioner is configured to perform the pretreatment by removing moisture from the soil” is well known in the prior art (see Claim 19 rejection below), and only serves modify the moisture content in the soil for data collecting.
Claim 20, recites “the soil conditioner is configured to remove moisture from the soil by applying heat to the soil” is well known in the prior art (see Claim 20 rejection below), and only serves modify the moisture content in the soil for data collecting.
Claim 21 recites “the soil conditioner is configured to limit a temperature of the soil to 50⁰C or lower during applying heat to the soil” which only serves to remove moisture from the soil for data collection.
Claim 22 recites “the soil conditioner is configured to remove moisture from the soil comprises decompressing and vacuum drying the soil” is well known in the prior art (see Claim 22 rejection below), and only serves modify the moisture content in the soil for data collecting.
In summary, dependent claims 16-22 do not include additional steps that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-8, 11, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shota (JP 2019-203768 A, English machine translation provided).
Regarding Claim 7, Shota teaches a corrosion estimation method (corrosion estimation for a buried metal material [para. 0017]) comprising:
performing a pretreatment (electrochemical measurement unit 22 adds water to the soil sample [para. 0023]) for measuring a moisture characteristic of soil (corrosion rate is measured for soil samples using polarization resistance at various water content amounts [para. 0023]);
measuring the moisture characteristic of the soil that has been subjected to the pretreatment (corrosion rate is measured at a plurality of soil moisture contents [para. 0023]); and
estimating corrosion of a metal member buried in the soil (corrosion is estimated for a metal material buried in the soil [para. 0022]) from the measured moisture characteristic (different amounts of soil moisture contents are used along with polarization resistance to measure a corrosion rate and generates a corrosion estimation curve to determine the corrosion of a metal material in soil [paras. 0026-0028]).
Regarding Claim 8, Shota teaches the corrosion estimation method according to claim 7, wherein: the moisture characteristic is a water content of the soil (soil moisture content of soil is decreased [para. 0023]).
Regarding Claim 11, Shota teaches the corrosion estimation method according to claim 7, wherein performing the pretreatment comprises removing moisture from the soil (soil moisture content is decreased [para. 0023]).
Regarding Claim 15, Shota teaches a corrosion estimation device (electrochemical measurement unit 22 [para. 0023]) comprising:
a soil conditioner (a water supply device [para. 0046]), the limitation “configured to perform a pretreatment for measuring the moisture characteristic of the soil” is a functional limitation. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does [MPEP 2114(II)]. A functional recitation of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114. In the instant case, the water supply device is a device for adding water to the soil sample [para. 0046]. Thus, the soil conditioner of Shota is capable of performing the claimed function above;
a measurement instrument (electrical measurement unit 22 [para. 0055]), the limitation “configured to measure the moisture characteristic of the soil that has been pretreated by the soil conditioner” is a functional limitation. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does [MPEP 2114(II)]. A functional recitation of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114. In the instant case, the electrochemical measurement unit 22 may include sensor values to detect the soil water content [para. 0055]. Thus, the measurement instrument of Shota is capable of performing the claimed function above;
a calculator (corrosion rate calculation unit 42 [para. 0026]) configured to estimate corrosion of a metal member buried in the soil from the moisture characteristic measured by the measurement instrument (corrosion rate calculation unit 42 calculates a corrosion rate for each soil moisture content [para. 0026], corrosion estimation can be of a metal member buried in the soil [para. 0017]).
Regarding Claim 16, Shota teaches a corrosion estimation device according to claim 15;
the limitation “the measurement instrument is configured to measure a water content of the soil” is a functional limitation. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does [MPEP 2114(II)]. A functional recitation of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114. In the instant case, the electrochemical measurement unit 22 may include sensor values to detect the soil water content [para. 0055]. Thus, the measurement instrument of Shota is capable of performing the claimed function above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shota, as applied to claims 7-8 and 15-16 above, and in view of Whalley (Measurement of the matric potential of soil water in the rhizosphere. Jour. of Experimental Botany. 2013; 64(13), pages 3951-3963).
Regarding Claim 9, Shota teaches the corrosion estimation method according to claim 8.
Shota is silent on wherein: the moisture characteristic is a matrix potential value at a specified soil water content.
Whalley teaches measurements of matric potential of soil water (title), and teaches the moisture characteristic is a matrix potential value (matric potential can be measured for soil using, for example, a water-filled hydraulic tensiometer [second para. col. 1, page 3954]; illustrated in Fig. 4 on page 3955) at a specified soil water content (water content and matric potential are needed to fully describe the soil water status [para. 2 col. 2, page 3952]).
Shota and Whalley are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of methods for measuring soil parameters. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the moisture characteristic in the method of Shota to be a matrix potential value at a specified soil water content using a matrix potential measurement device such as a tensiometer, as taught by Whalley, as a matrix potential depends on soil properties including soil water content, surface properties, and surface tension of the soil water (Whalley, [abstract]).
Regarding Claim 10, Shota teaches the corrosion estimation method according to claim 7.
Shota is silent on wherein: the moisture characteristic is a matrix potential value at a specified soil water content.
Whalley teaches measurements of matric potential of soil water (title), and teaches the moisture characteristic is a matrix potential value (matric potential can be measured for soil using, for example, a water-filled hydraulic tensiometer [second para. col. 1, page 3954]; illustrated in Fig. 4 on page 3955) at a specified soil water content (water content and matric potential are needed to fully describe the soil water status [para. 2 col. 2, page 3952]).
Shota and Whalley are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of methods for measuring soil parameters. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the moisture characteristic in the method of Shota to be a matrix potential value at a specified soil water content using a matrix potential measurement device such as a tensiometer, as taught by Whalley, as a matrix potential depends on soil properties including soil water content, surface properties, and surface tension of the soil water (Whalley, [abstract]).
Regarding Claim 17, Shota teaches the corrosion estimation device according to claim 16.
Shota is silent on the measurement instrument is configured to measure a matrix potential at a specified water content.
Whalley teaches measurements of matric potential of soil water (title), and teaches measurement instrument is configured to measure a matrix potential (matric potential can be measured for soil using, for example, a water-filled hydraulic tensiometer [second para. col. 1, page 3954]; illustrated in Fig. 4 on page 3955) at a specified water content (water content and matric potential are needed to fully describe the soil water status [para. 2 col. 2, page 3952]).
Shota and Whalley are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of methods for measuring soil parameters. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the measurement instrument of Shota to include a tensiometer configured to measure a matrix potential at a specified water content, as taught by Whalley, as a matrix potential depends on soil properties including soil water content, surface properties, and surface tension of the soil water (Whalley, [abstract]).
Regarding Claim 18, Shota teaches the corrosion estimation device according to claim 15.
Shota is silent on the measurement instrument is configured to measure a matrix potential at a specified water content.
Whalley teaches measurements of matric potential of soil water (title), and teaches measurement instrument is configured to measure a matrix potential (matric potential can be measured for soil using, for example, a water-filled hydraulic tensiometer [second para. col. 1, page 3954]; illustrated in Fig. 4 on page 3955) at a specified water content (water content and matric potential are needed to fully describe the soil water status [para. 2 col. 2, page 3952]).
Shota and Whalley are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of methods for measuring soil parameters. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the measurement instrument of Shota to include a tensiometer configured to measure a matrix potential at a specified water content, as taught by Whalley, as a matrix potential depends on soil properties including soil water content, surface properties, and surface tension of the soil water (Whalley, [abstract]).
Claims 12-14 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shota, as applied to claims 11 and 15 above, and in view of Stegemeier (US 2004/0228690 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Shota teaches the corrosion estimation method according to claim 11.
Shota is silent on wherein removing moisture from the soil comprises applying heat to the soil.
Stegemeier teaches method for remediating contaminated soil (abstract), and teaches wherein removing moisture from the soil comprises applying heat to the soil (soil remediation system may include one or more heat injection wells 36 [para. 0054]).
Shota and Stegemeier are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of methods for controlling soil contamination. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the removing moisture step in the method of Shota by applying heat to the soil, as taught by Stegemeier, as heating the soil allows for increased removal and movement of contaminants (Stegemeier, [para. 0009]).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Shota teaches the corrosion estimation method according to claim 12;
the limitation “wherein applying heat to the soil comprises limiting a temperature of the soil to 50⁰C or lower” has no patentable weight. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to limit a temperature of the soil to 50⁰C or lower as this would function is a predictable manner given these conditions.
Regarding Claim 14, Shota teaches the corrosion estimation method according to claim 11.
Shota is silent on wherein removing moisture from the soil comprises decompressing and vacuum drying the soil.
Stegemeier teaches method for remediating contaminated soil (abstract), and teaches wherein removing moisture from the soil comprises decompressing and vacuum drying the soil (a vacuum source may be configured to draw a vacuum for soil remediation purposes [para. 0060]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the removing moisture step in the method of Shota by decompressing and vacuum drying the soil, as taught by Stegemeier, as a vacuum may be used to aid in moving contaminants away from target soil (Stegemeier, [para. 0009]).
Regarding Claim 19, Shota teaches the corrosion estimation device according to claim 15.
Shota is silent on wherein the soil conditioner is configured to perform pretreatment by removing moisture from the soil.
Stegemeier teaches an apparatus for remediating contaminated soil (abstract), and teaches wherein the soil conditioner is configured to remove moisture from the soil (soil remediation system may include one or more heat injection wells 36 [para. 0054]).
Shota and Stegemeier are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of methods for controlling soil contamination. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Shota by adding heating injection wells to the soil conditioner so that the soil conditioner is configured to remove moisture from the soil by applying heat to the soil, as taught by Stegemeier, as heating the soil allows for increased removal and movement of contaminants (Stegemeier, [para. 0009]).
Regarding Claim 20, modified Shota teaches the corrosion estimation device according to claim 19, and teaches wherein the soil conditioner is configured to remove moisture from the soil by applying heat to the soil (as outlined in the claim 19 rejection above, Stegemeier teaches soil remediation system may include one or more heat injection wells 36 [para. 0054]).
.
Regarding Claim 21, modified Shota teaches the corrosion estimation device according to claim 20,
the limitation “wherein the soil conditioner is configured to limit a temperature of the soil to 50⁰C or lower during applying heat to the soil” has no patentable weight. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to limit a temperature of the soil to 50⁰C or lower as this would function is a predictable manner given these conditions.
Regarding Claim 22, Shota teaches the corrosion estimation device according to claim 19.
Shota is silent on wherein the soil conditioner is configured to remove moisture from the soil by decompressing and vacuum drying the soil.
Stegemeier teaches wherein the soil conditioner is configured to remove moisture from the soil by decompressing and vacuum drying the soil (a vacuum source may be configured to draw a vacuum for soil remediation purposes [para. 0060]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of modified Shota by adding a vacuum source to the soil conditioner so that the soil conditioner is configured to remove moisture from the soil by decompressing and vacuum drying the soil, as taught by Stegemeier, as a vacuum may be used to aid in moving contaminants away from target soil (Stegemeier, [para. 0009]).
Conclusion
/R.L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1795
/SHIZHI QIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1795