Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5,10,14,19, 23 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI, Peng-xiang et al (CN 114269018 A) (see IDS) (see Machine English translations attached) in view of JIANG, Da-jie et al (CN 114449528A) (see IDS) (see Machine English translations attached).
With regards to claims 1 and 19, Peng-xiang et al discloses a first network node/method for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory ( Peng-xiang et al discloses in claim 9, A millimeter wave communication system beam configuration electronic device comprising: at least one processor and memory communicatively coupled with at least one processor), configured to: and communicate, with a third network node, using a beam of a set of beams that is configured based at least in part on the positioning information ( see abstract and claim 1, a millimeter wave communication system beam configuration method, comprising: forming, by the millimeter wave base station, a beam information table according to the
beam configuration case; collecting base station location information by millimeter wave base stations; receiving, by the millimeter wave base station, RIS ID and RIS location information (corresponding to positioning information associated with the RIS) transmitted by RIS; obtaining a horizontal pointing angle of the RIS with respect to the millimeter wave base station using the base station position information and
the RIS position information with reference to a horizontal beam pointing at 0 degrees, counterclockwise; obtaining a vertical pointing angle of the RIS with respect to the millimeter wave base station, based on a vertical beam pointing at 0 degrees, counter clock wise; forming, by a millimeter wave base station, a BSBeam-RIS coverage situation information table according to the beam information table and a
horizontal pointing angle and a vertical pointing angle corresponding to RIS; when configuring time domain location of transmit beam by the mm Wave base station, avoids that beams covered by same RIS under different mm Wave base stations are transmitted at same time instant.
Peng-xiang et al discloses all of the subject matter discussed above, except for receive, from a second network node associated with a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS), positioning information associated with the RIS;
However, JIANG, Da-jie et al. discloses in (see page 12, Embodiment 1: RIS change/control the first signal characteristic to implicitly indicate the information of the RIS- step 1: The base station transmits a configuration message comprising one or more of the following: parameters of signal manipulation/signal modulation of RIS, number of RIS states, RIS Handover timing. The base station transmits corresponding configuration information (over base station's interface with RIS). The RIS codes modulation information according to configuration information and index/ID of RIS.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Peng-xiang et al as taught by JIANG, Da-jie et al to arrive at the claimed invention, wherein the receive, from a second network node associated with a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS), positioning information associated with the RIS with a reasonable expectation of success, thus
improve wireless communications systems (see JIANG, Da-jie, abstract). MPEP 2143 Rationale C.
With regards to claims 10 and 28, JIANG, Da-jie et al discloses a second network node for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to (see JIANG, Da-jie , claim 41. A network side device, comprising: a network side device, a network side device and a network side device; a processor, a memory and a program stored on the memory and capable of running on the processor): configure a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) associated with the second network node; and transmit, to a first network node and based at least in part on configuring the RIS, positioning information associated with the RIS (see JIANG, Da-jie et al. page 12, Embodiment 1: RIS change/control the first signal characteristic to implicitly indicate the information of the RIS- step 1:: The base station transmits a configuration message comprising one or more of the following: parameters of signal manipulation/signal modulation of RIS, number of RIS states, RIS Handover timing. The base station transmits corresponding configuration information (over base station's interface with RIS). The RIS codes modulation information according to configuration information and index/ID of RIS.
JIANG, Da-jie et al discloses all of the subject matter discussed above, except for to enable the first network node to communicate with a third network node using a beam of a set of beams that is configured based at least in part on the positioning information.
However Peng-xiang et al in same endeavor discloses a network node for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to (Peng-xiang et al discloses in claim 9, A millimeter wave communication system beam configuration electronic device comprising: at least one processor and memory communicatively coupled with at least one processor),: to enable the first network node to communicate with a third network node using a beam of a set of beams that is configured based at least in part on the positioning information ( see abstract and claim 1, a millimeter wave communication system beam configuration method, comprising: forming, by the millimeter wave base station, a beam information table according to the
beam configuration case; collecting base station location information by millimeter wave base stations; receiving, by the millimeter wave base station, RIS ID and RIS location information (corresponding to positioning information associated with the RIS) transmitted by RIS; obtaining a horizontal pointing angle of the RIS with respect to the millimeter wave base station using the base station position information and
the RIS position information with reference to a horizontal beam pointing at 0 degrees, counterclockwise; obtaining a vertical pointing angle of the RIS with respect to the millimeter wave base station, based on a vertical beam pointing at 0 degrees, counter clock wise; forming, by a millimeter wave base station, a BSBeam-RIS coverage situation information table according to the beam information table and a
horizontal pointing angle and a vertical pointing angle corresponding to RIS; when configuring time domain location of transmit beam by the mm Wave base station, avoids that beams covered by same RIS under different mm Wave base stations are transmitted at same time instant.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of JIANG, Da-jie et al. as taught by Peng-xiang et al to arrive at the claimed invention, wherein to enable the first network node to communicate with a third network node using a beam of a set of beams that is configured based at least in part on the positioning information with a reasonable expectation of success, thus improve the coverage capability of the millimeter-wave network. deploying RIS in the millimeter wave communication system (see Peng-xiang et al, background section). MPEP 2143 Rationale C.
With regards to claim 5,14 and 23, the combination of JIANG Da-jie and Peng-xiang et al discloses the first network node of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the positioning information, are configured to receive the positioning information via at least one of:
an X2 interface (processors (claim 9) in a base station (eNB) are configured to receive positioning information via an X2 interface, see Peng-xiang et al , abstract, the millimeter wave base station uses the base station position information and the RIS position information to obtain the horizontal pointing angle and vertical pointing angle of the RIS relative to the millimeter wave base station; the millimeter wave base station according to the beam information table and the horizontal pointing angle corresponding to the RIS, vertical pointing angle, forming BS Beam-RIS coverage condition information table, configuring the time domain position of the sending beam . Also fig. 9, a millimeter wave communication system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 6-9, 11-13,15-18, 20-22, 24-27, 29 and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the prior arts cited alone or in combination provides the motivation to teach the limitations as recited in claims 2-4, 6-9, 11-13,15-18, 20-22, 24-27, 29 and 30.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Sadiq; Bilal (US 20180205585 A1) discloses a base station may identify a first set of millimeter wave (mmW) communication beams to transmit a synchronization signal. The base station may transmit the synchronization signal and identify a second set of mmW communication beams to transmit a reference signal, where the second set of mmW communication beams may be associated with the first set of beams.
/HELENE E TAYONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631 February 7, 2026