DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This office action for US Patent application 18/865850 is responsive to communications filed on November 14th, 2024. Currently, claims 1-17 are pending are presented for examination while claims 4, 7, 9-10, 16 were canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 11, 17 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, 11-15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C §102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by ZHAO et al. (US 20220321909 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu et al. (US 20220060699 A1) meets the claim limitations, as follows:
A method of reconstructing a current block, performed by a video decoding device, the method comprising:
deriving an intra prediction mode of the current block [i.e. identify an intra prediction mode of a coded block; paragraph. 0140]; and
generating a prediction block of the current block by performing intra prediction based on reference samples from the plurality of reference lines using a weighted combination [i.e. multiple reference lines are selected for intra-prediction for the coded block. The more than one reference lines may be combined with or without weight; paragraph. 0140],
wherein the plurality of reference lines includes a reference line immediately adjacent to the current block [i.e. the reference line 1610 or 1618 immediately adjacent to the coded block 1602; Fig. 16].
Regarding claim 2, ZHAO et al. (US 20220321909 A1) discloses the following claim limitations as set forth in claim 1.
Furthermore, ZHAO et al. (US 20220321909 A1) discloses the claim limitations as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein the weighted combination is performed by applying different weights to prediction values generated based on reference samples derived from the plurality of reference lines [i.e. generate a prediction of the coded block by applying weights; paragraph. 0140].
Regarding claim 3, ZHAO et al. (US 20220321909 A1) discloses the following claim limitations as set forth in claim 1.
Furthermore, ZHAO et al. (US 20220321909 A1) discloses the claim limitations as follows:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: decoding a flag from a bitstream, wherein the flag indicates whether intra prediction of the current block is performed based on the plurality of reference lines [i.e. a reference line index may be indicated by a parameter extracted from a coded bitstream; paragraph. 0140, 0148, 0166].
Regarding claim 5, ZHAO et al. (US 20220321909 A1) discloses the following claim limitations as set forth in claim 1.
Furthermore, ZHAO et al. (US 20220321909 A1) discloses the claim limitations as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein generating the prediction block includes:
performing a preset arithmetic operation between reference samples at corresponding positions derived from the plurality of reference lines [i.e. the prediction of the coded block is derived by averaging, interpolating or any other manner from reference lines; paragraph. 0140].
Regarding claim 6, ZHAO et al. (US 20220321909 A1) discloses the following claim limitations as set forth in claim 5.
Furthermore, ZHAO et al. (US 20220321909 A1) discloses the claim limitations as follows:
The method of claim 5,: when a reference sample derived from one reference line is available but a corresponding reference pixel of sample derived from the other reference line is not available, the prediction block is generated by using a value of the available reference sample [i.e. paragraph. 0010, 0140].
Regarding claim 8, ZHAO et al. (US 20220321909 A1) discloses the following claim limitations as set forth in claim 1.
Furthermore, ZHAO et al. (US 20220321909 A1) discloses the claim limitations as follows:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: when intra prediction is not performed based on the plurality of reference lines, the prediction block of the current block is generated using a single reference line adjacent to the current block based on the intra prediction mode [i.e. the intra prediction of the coded block may be based on a single reference line from multiple reference lines; paragraph. 0140].
Regarding claim 11, all the claim limitations which are set forth and rejected as per discussion for claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, all the claim limitations which are set forth and rejected as per discussion for claim 3.
Regarding claim 13, all the claim limitations which are set forth and rejected as per discussion for claim 5.
Regarding claim 14, all the claim limitations which are set forth and rejected as per discussion for claim 6.
Regarding claim 15, all the claim limitations which are set forth and rejected as per discussion for claim 8.
Regarding claim 17, all the claim limitations which are set forth and rejected as per discussion for claim 1.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (20200244956).
Claim 17 directed to a non-transitory computer readable recording medium (CRM) storing a bitstream generated by an encoding method. The claim does not recite that the CRM contains executable instruction, that when executed, implement the encoding method. The bitstream is a product produced by the encoding method. Therefore, the claims are not limited to the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. (See MPEP 2113 - Product-by-Process claims.) Hence, the encoding method steps recited are given patentable weight only to structures in the bitstream that are implied by the steps.
To be given patentable weight, the CRM and the bitstream (i.e. descriptive material) must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the descriptive material performs some function with respect to the CRM to which it is associated. See MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed “computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists”. MPEP §2111.05(III).
The CRM storing the claimed bitstream in claim 17 merely services as a support for the CRM of the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the stored bitstream and the CRM.
Therefore, the structure bitstream, which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III).
Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Lee recites a storage medium storing a bitstream (Fig. 1-2, the bitstream from Fig. 1 is stored in Fig. 2, 210; paragraph. 0002, a method and apparatus for encoding/decoding an image and a recording medium storing a bitstream).
New Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAM D PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487