DETAILED ACTION
Amendments to claims 1, 3, 5, and 13, filed 23 July 2026 have been entered into the above-identified application. Claims 4 and 15 have been canceled. Claims 1-3 and 5-14 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Olberding (U.S. 4,995,195).
Regarding claim 1, Olberding teaches a window structure comprising: a carrier (14) provided with a window opening (see fig 1), a side of the window opening being an opening and closing side (as seen in fig 1); a window assembly (10) comprising a first door window (26 left side as seen in fig 1) and a second door window (26 right side as seen in fig 1) that are arranged along an extending direction of the opening and closing side (see fig 1), the first door window (26 left side as seen in fig 1) and the second door window (26 right side as seen in fig 1) being configured to cooperate with each other to open or close the window opening (as seen in fig 2, windows 26 open and close along the direction arrows); and a driving assembly (30) comprising a driving member (34), a first transmission member (66/62 combination as seen in fig 4), and a second transmission member (also 66/62, not expressly shown but described in column 2 lines 63-65 as being attached to each central pane 26 and therefore there is an instance on the opposite side as well), the first transmission member and the second transmission member (all 66/62) being arranged along the extending direction of the opening and closing side (see fig 4 and as defined above), and both the first transmission member and the second transmission member (all 66/62) being movably connected to the carrier (14, see figs 1 and 2); wherein the first door window (26 left side as seen in fig 1) is connected to the first transmission member (66/62 as seen in fig 4, via bracket 60), and the second door window (26 right side of fig 4) is connected to the second transmission member (66/62 right side of fig 4 attached to another instance of bracket 60 as defined above), a power input portion of the driving member (36) is spaced apart from the first transmission member and the second transmission member (both 66/62) along a height direction of the window opening (see figs 4 and 5), the driving member (34) comprises a first output portion (49) and a second output portion (48) arranged along the extending direction of the opening and closing side (as seen in fig 4), the first output portion (49) is connected to the first transmission member (66/62 as seen in fig 4, via connection to bracket 60), so as to drive the first transmission member (66/62 as seen in fig 4) to drive the first door window (26 left side as seen in fig 1) to move relative to the window opening (along directional arrows as seen in fig 1), and the second output portion (48) is connected to the second transmission member (66/62 as described above), so as to drive the second transmission member (66/62 as described above) to drive the second door window (26 right side as seen in fig 1) to move relative to the window opening (along directional arrows as seen in fig 1) wherein the carrier (14) is connected to a guide rail (22), the guide rail (22) is provided with a sliding groove (as defined in annotated fig 3) extending along the extending direction of the opening and closing side (see fig 5), the sliding groove (as defined in annotated fig 3) comprises a first groove body (defined in annotated fig 3) and a second groove body (defined in annotated fig 3) that are arranged in a misaligned manner along the height direction of the window opening (as seen in annotated fig 3) and are in communication with each other (see annotated fig 3), the first groove body (as defined in annotated fig 3) is closer to the window opening than the second groove body (see annotated fig 3), the first transmission member and the second transmission member (all 66/62) are provided in the first groove body (via connection to bracket 60 as seen in fig 3), and the driving member (34) is provided in the second groove body (via connection to bracket 60) and the first output portion (49) and the second output portion (48) are connected to the first transmission member and the second transmission member (both 66/62) in a width direction of the sliding groove (via fasteners 64 and connection to brackets 60, see annotated fig 3 and fig 4).
Regarding claim 2, Olberding teaches the window structure of claim 1. Olberding further teaches wherein the first door window and the second door window (both 26) move in opposite directions to cooperate with each other to open or close the window opening (as indicated by the directional arrows in figs 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 3, Olberding teaches the window structure of claim 1. Olberding further teaches wherein the power input portion of the driving member (36) is arranged with the first transmission member and the second transmission member (all 66/62) along a depth direction of the sliding groove (see annotated fig 3), and the depth direction of the sliding groove corresponds to the height direction of the window opening (see fig 5).
Regarding claim 5, Olberding teaches the window structure of claim 1. Olberding further teaches wherein a side wall of the first groove body adjacent to the second groove body (top wall of first groove body as seen in annotated fig 3) is provided with a limiting through hole extending along the extending direction of the opening and closing side (slot as taught in column 2 line 65-column 3 line 2), the first groove body is in communication with the second groove body through the limiting through hole (slot as taught above), the first transmission member comprises a first transmission portion (66/62 as connected to bracket 60 as seen in fig 4) extending through the limiting through hole (as seen in figs 3 and 5) and connected to the first output portion (49), and the second transmission member comprises a second transmission portion (66/62 as connected to bracket 60 as described above) extending through the limiting through hole (as seen in figs 3 and 5) and connected with the second output portion (48).
Regarding claim 6, Olberding teaches the window structure of claim 5. Olberding further teaches wherein the first transmission portion is a first rack portion (66/62 as connected to bracket 60 as seen in fig 4), the second transmission portion is a second rack portion (66/62 as connected to bracket 60 as described above), the first output portion (49) is engaged with the first rack portion (of 62 of the 66/62 combination defined above, as seen in fig 4), so as to drive the first rack portion to drive the first door window (26 left side as seen in fig 1, moves along directional arrows) to move, and the second output portion (48) is engaged with the second rack portion (of 62 of the 66/62 combination defined above), so as to drive the second rack portion (of 62 of the 66/62 combination defined above) to drive the second door window (26 right side as seen in fig 1, moves along directional arrows) to move.
Regarding claim 13, Olberding teaches the window structure of claim 3. Olberding further teaches wherein the guide rail comprises a first guide rail (22) and a second guide rail (18), the first guide rail (22) and the second guide rail (18) are arranged along the height direction of the window opening (as seen in fig 1), the sliding groove (as defined in annotated fig 3) is formed on one of the first guide rail (22) and the second guide rail, and the first door window (26 left side as seen in fig 1) and the second door window (26 right side as seen in fig 1) are arranged between the first guide rail (22) and the second guide rail (18, see fig 1).
Regarding claim 14, Olberding teaches the window structure of claim 1. Olberding further teaches a door window assembly (10) comprising the window structure of claim 1 (see fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olberding (U.S. 4,995,195) in view of Snider (U.S. 2017/0356231).
Regarding claim 7, Olberding teaches the window structure of claim 6. Though Olberding teaches a power input portion of the driving member, it is silent that the power input portion is a driving rack.
Snider teaches a similar window structure where the power input portion of the driving member is a driving rack (24a, see fig 5). The driving rack (24a) and each of the first rack portion and the second rack portion are arranged along the height direction of the window opening (as seen in fig 5).
The combination then of Olberding and Snider teaches the first output portion (49 Olberding) comprises a first driving gear (37 Olberding left side as seen in fig 6) and a reversing member (40 Olberding), the second output portion (48 Olberding) comprises a second driving gear (37 Olberding right side as seen in fig 6), the first driving gear (37 Olberding left side as seen in fig 6) is engaged with the driving rack (24a Snider), the second driving gear (37 Olberding right side as seen in fig 6) is engaged with both the driving rack (24a Snider) and the second rack portion (of 62, see figs 4 and 6 Olberding), the reversing member (40 Olberding) is engaged with the first rack portion (via 49 Olberding), and the reversing member (40 Olberding) is engaged with the first driving gear (37 Olberding, via 49), so that under a transmission of the reversing member (40 Olberding), the first rack portion moves in a direction opposite to a moving direction of the second rack portion (column 2 ,lines 45-51 Olberding).
Olberding and Snider are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of powered window assemblies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Olberding to incorporate the teachings of Snider and provide a driving rack as the power input portion of the driving member. Doing so would ensure both the first door window and second door window open and close at the same rate.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Olberding and Snider teaches the window structure of claim 7. Olberding and Snider further teach wherein the reversing member (40 Olberding) comprises at least one reversing gear (40 Olberding is connected to the reversible motor 34, the driving rack of Snider as per the combination above is therefore the reversing gear), and the first driving gear (37 Olberding) is in transmission cooperation with the first rack portion (of 62 Olberding) through the at least one reversing gear (reversible motor 34 Olberding).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Olberding and Snider teaches the window structure of claim 7. Olberding and Snider further teach wherein a side wall of the second groove body (bottom wall of second groove body as seen in annotated fig 3) is further provided with a limiting groove extending along an extending direction of the second groove body (slot as taught in column 2 line 65-column 3 line 2 Olberding), and the driving rack (24a Snider) is movably provided in the limiting groove (via connection through bracket 60 Olberding).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Olberding and Snider teaches the window structure of claim 7. Olberding and Snider further teach wherein the driving assembly further comprises a driving source (shaft on which 24a Snider rotates, see fig 5), the driving source further comprises a driving gear portion (outer gear of 24a Snider, see fig 5), the driving gear portion is engaged with the driving rack (24a Snider) to drive the driving rack to move (see fig 5 Snider), and the driving rack drives the first driving gear (37 left side as seen in fig 6 Olberding) and the second driving gear (37 right side as seen in fig 6 Olberding) to rotate.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Olberding and Snider teaches the window structure of claim 10. Olberding further teaches wherein the first driving gear, the reversing member, the second driving gear, and the driving gear portion are spaced apart along an extending direction of the second groove body (see fig 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Olberding and Snider teaches the window structure of claim 11. Olberding and Snider further teach wherein the driving gear portion (outer gear of 24a Snider) is provided between the first driving gear (37 left side as seen in fig 6 Olberding) and the second driving gear (37 right side as seen in fig 6 Olberding), and the first driving gear (37 left side as seen in fig 6 Olberding) is provided between the reversing member (70 Olberding) and the driving gear portion (outer gear of 24a Snider).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has amended independent claim 1 to first and second transmission members connect to the first and second output members in the width direction, as can be seen in the cutaway view in annotated fig 3. Olberding in combination with Snider reaches all the limitations of the claimed invention.
Applicant’s claim amendments have overcome the drawing objections from the non-final office action and the drawing objections have been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUSAN M. HESCHEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3637
/Muhammad Ijaz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631