DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (AIA )
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
• TOPOLKARAEV ET AL (US 2016/0177044),
in view of MURAKAMI ET AL (US 2007/0173603),
and in view of JP 2005-179386 (YAMAGUCHI-JP ‘386).
TOPOLKARAEV ET AL ‘044 discloses thermoplastic compositions comprising:
• about 60-99 wt% of a matrix polymer (e.g., polyester resins such as poly-3-hydroxybutyrate (PHB), etc.) (corresponding to the recited “polymer B”) forming a continuous phase;
• about 1-30 wt% of a microinclusion additive (e.g., polyolefin-based resins, etc.) (corresponding to the recited “polymer A”) forming a dispersed phase or micro-scale domain (e.g., elliptical; cylindrical; plate-like, etc.) (corresponding to the recited “dispersed phase”);
• about 0.05-20 wt% of a nanoinclusion additive (e.g., modified polyolefin-based resins, etc.) forming a dispersed phase or micro-scale domain (e.g., elliptical; cylindrical; plate-like, etc.);
wherein the ratio of the melt flow rate (MFR) (at 190°C, 10 min, 2.16 kg) of the microinclusion additive to the melt flow rate of the matrix polymer (corresponding to the recited “MFR(A)/MFR(B)”) is typically about 0.2-8 (preferably about 0.5-6, etc.).
The thermoplastic compositions can be formed into a variety of forms, including pellets, wherein the pellets can be formed by:
• melt-kneading the matrix polymer, microinclusion additive, and other components of the thermoplastic composition at typical temperatures of 180°C to 300°C;
• extruding the melted thermoplastic composition;
• cooling and cutting the thermoplastic composition to form pellets;
wherein the conditions (rate, residence time, shear rate, melt processing temperature, etc.) of the mixing and extrusion steps are selected to control the degree of dispersion and size of the microinclusion additive domains (corresponding to the recited “polymer A”) in the matrix polymer (corresponding to the recited “polymer B”). The reference further discloses that after melt-kneading and extrusion, the solidified thermoplastic composition can be subjected to drawing to increase the axial dimension of the microinclusion additive domains to 0.5-250 microns (e.g., 2-50 microns, or 5-25 microns) (corresponding to the recited “dispersed phases of the olefin-based polymer A, each having a length”). (entire document, e.g., paragraph 0003, 0021, 0026-0027, 0036-0037, 0045, 0047-0050, 0052-0055, 0071, 0079-0083, 0087, etc.) However, the reference does not specifically mention the melting point of the polyhydroxyalkanoate (PHA) resin or the distribution of dispersed phases.
MURAKAMI ET AL ‘603 discloses that it is well known in the art to utilize resin compositions (F) with a sea-island structure to produce products with improved impact strength, wherein the composition (F) comprises:
• 20-99 wt% of a polar group-containing polymer (D) (e.g., biodegradable polyesters such as polyhydroxyalkanoate (PHA), polyhydroxybutyrate (PHB), etc.) which forms a continuous “sea” phase;
• up to 80 wt% of an olefin polymer (E) which forms a dispersed “island” phase with a typical domain size of up to 50 microns;
• 1-30 wt% of a resin modifier (C);
wherein the compositions (F) are typically formed by melt kneading components (C), (D), and (E) (e.g., in an extruder, etc.) at typical temperatures of 180°C to 400°C (e.g., 200°C to 280°C) to form composition (F) products (e.g., pellets, which are subsequently remelted and molded to form molded articles). (paragraph 0008, 0069-0070, 0076, 0080-0084, 0100-0102, 0109-0110, etc.)
YAMAGUCHI-JP ‘386 discloses that it is well known in the art to form poly-3-hydroxybutyrate (PHB)-based resin compositions into pellets or granules to facilitate handling for subsequent molding and manufacturing operations, wherein the PHB resins have a melting point (Tm) of 160°C to 185°C, wherein the PHB resin compositions optionally contain other thermoplastic resins or rubbers. The reference further discloses that the granules (e.g., pellets, etc.) are typically formed by known pellet-forming methods (e.g., strand cutting method; underwater cutting method; hot cutting method; etc.), wherein the PHB-based composition (e.g., the PHB resin and other components) are melted and mixed in an extruder at typical temperatures of 160°C to 185°C to form a melt mixture, followed by extrusion, solidification, and cutting (e.g., of the extruded strands) into pellets (e.g., cylindrical, spheroidal, etc.). (paragraph 0002, 0007-0012, 0014, 0016-0017, 0019, etc.)
Regarding claims 1-11, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize known PHB resins with melting points of 160°C to 185°C (as suggested in YAMAGUCHI-JP ‘386) as the matrix polymer of the thermoplastic compositions of TOPOLKARAEV ET AL ‘044 in order to facilitate the production of pellets for subsequent molding operations.
Further regarding claims 1, 5, 7, 9, 11, one of ordinary skill in the art would have selected the conditions (rate, residence time, shear rate, melt processing temperature, etc.) of the mixing and extrusion steps used to produce pellets from the thermoplastic compositions of TOPOLKARAEV ET AL ‘044 to: (i) obtain a high degree of dispersion (as represented by the number of dispersed phases in 1200 µm2) of the microinclusion additive domains (corresponding to the recited “polymer A is a dispersed phase”) in the pellets formed from the thermoplastic compositions of TOPOLKARAEV ET AL ‘044; and (ii) control the size of the microinclusion additive domains in the pellets formed from the thermoplastic compositions of TOPOLKARAEV ET AL ‘044 (e.g., up to 50 microns, as suggested in MURAKAMI ET AL ‘603); in order to produce molded articles with uniform mechanical properties and effective improvements in impact resistance for specific applications (e.g., since a poor and/or non-uniform distribution of the microinclusion additive domains can lead to undesirable localized stress concentrations which negatively affect the impact strength of a product; and/or an excessively low concentration of the microinclusion additive domains can result in an inability to manifest the desired improvement in impact resistance; etc.).
Regarding claims 7-10, one of ordinary skill in the art would have used a mixture of pre-compounded pellets formed from the thermoplastic compositions of TOPOLKARAEV ET AL ‘044 and other polymeric pellets (e.g., masterbatch pellets containing an olefin-based polymer carrier and functional additives (for example, pigments, fillers, stabilizers, flame retardants, etc.) (corresponding to the recited “olefin-based polymer C”) at temperatures above the melting points of the matrix polymer (e.g., PHB-based resins with melting points of 160°C or more, as suggested in YAMAGUCHI-JP ‘386) to produce molded articles with specific enhanced performance properties (e.g., coloration, mechanical properties, durability, fire resistance, etc.).
Regarding claim 11, one of ordinary skill in the art would have utilized known pelletizing methods (e.g., strand cutting, etc.) as suggested in YAMAGUCHI-JP ‘386 to produce pellets from the thermoplastic compositions of TOPOLKARAEV ET AL ‘044.
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
• TOPOLKARAEV ET AL (US 2016/0177044), in view of MURAKAMI ET AL (US 2007/0173603), and in view of JP 2005-179386 (YAMAGUCHI-JP ‘386),
as applied to claims 1-11 above,
and further in view of MATSUBARA ET AL (US 5,438,090).
MATSUBARA ET AL ‘090 discloses that it is well known in the art to form compositions for molding by melt-blending a base resin (e.g., polyesters, etc.) and masterbatch pellets (e.g., containing one or more additives and an olefin-based polymer) in order to form molded articles with improved or modified performance properties (e.g., flexibility, coloration, slip properties, durability, etc.) (line 12-39, 55-61, col. 1; line 64, col. 6 to line 20, col. 7; etc.).
Regarding claims 7-10, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to melt-blend a mixture of pre-compounded pellets formed from the thermoplastic compositions of TOPOLKARAEV ET AL ‘044 and other polymeric pellets (e.g., masterbatch pellets containing an olefin-based polymer carrier and functional additives, such as, pigments, fillers, stabilizers, flame retardants, etc., as suggested by MATSUBARA ET AL ‘090) (corresponding to the recited “olefin-based polymer C”) at temperatures above the melting points of the matrix polymer (e.g., PHB-based resins with melting points of 160°C or more, as suggested in YAMAGUCHI-JP ‘386) to produce molded articles with specific enhanced performance properties (e.g., coloration, mechanical properties, durability, fire resistance, etc.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
HONG ET AL (US 2008/0293894) disclose poly-3-hydroxybutyrate (PHB) resins with melting points above 170°C.
NAKAMICHI ET AL (2005/0154158) disclose compositions comprising a PHA continuous phase and a polyolefin-based resin dispersed phase, wherein the composition can be in the form of pellets.
TOPOLKARAEV ET AL (US 2015/0159012) and LEON ET AL (US 2024/0034876) disclose PHA-based compositions with a polyolefin-based elastomer disperse phase. CHIBA ET AL (US 2024/0141152) disclose multi-phase PHA / olefin-based compositions.
TANIMOTO (US 2022/0204685) disclose pellets formed from multi-phase PHA / olefin-based compositions.
The General Information telephone number for Technology Center 1700 is (571) 272-1700.
July 11, 2026
/Vivian Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787