DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-7 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheong (US 2008/0298688, previously cited) in view of Gouch, et al. (GB 2503052, herein Gouch).1 2 Regarding claim 1, Cheong teaches a consumer product comprising an outer packaging (paragraph 0006: media on a physical object), the outer packaging having a visible code and having a first colour, a second colour and a third colour (paragraph 0079: CMYK includes 4 colors: cyan, magenta, yellow, black), wherein each colour occupies a surface of the outer packaging and wherein the surface occupied by the first colour, the second colour and the third colour is larger than the surface occupied by other colours (see Fig. 2A), characterised in that wherein the visible code includes a matrix of square cells (Fig. 2A): with a first group of cells being of the first colour (paragraph 0036); a second group of cells being of the second colour (paragraph 0036); a third group of cells (paragraph 0036) or3 a frame surrounding the first group and the second group of cells being of the third colour, wherein: the first colour has a brightness that is in a first range of brightness; the second colour has a brightness that is in a second range of brightness, with the second range of brightness being brighter than the first range of brightness (paragraph 0090); and wherein the third colour is in the first range of brightness or in the second range of brightness (paragraph 0090). Cheong does not explicitly teach a surface of the outer packaging not occupied by the visible code having the first, second, and third colours. Gouch teaches a surface of the outer packaging not occupied by the visible code having the first, second, and third colours (pages 1-2, lines 28-31 & 1-5, respectively: the target 1 has a set of colors outside the code). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of Cheong and Gouch, because such a combination aids in calibrating the scanner (page 2, lines 7-14 of Gouch). Regarding claim 2, Cheong further teaches the code has a first outer frame and a second frame consecutive to the first outer frame, with the first outer frame being of the first colour and the second frame being of the second colour (Fig. 1: color code & paragraph 0038). Regarding claim 3, Cheong further teaches the code has a first outer frame and a second frame consecutive to the first outer frame, with the first outer frame being of the third colour and the second frame being of the second colour Fig. 1: color code & paragraph 0038), with the third colour being in the first range of brightness (paragraph 0090). Regarding claim 4, Cheong further teaches the code has a first outer frame and a second frame consecutive to the first outer frame, with the first outer frame being of the second colour and the second frame being of the first colour (paragraphs 0038 & 0079). Regarding claim 5, Cheong further teaches the code has a first outer frame and a second frame consecutive to the first outer frame, with the first outer frame being of the second colour and the second frame being of the third colour, with the third colour being in the first range of brightness (paragraph 0079). Regarding claim 6, Cheong further teaches the packaging also has a fourth colour (C4) which is in the first range of brightness or in the second range of brightness, with a fourth group of cells being of the fourth colour (paragraph 0079). Regarding claim 7, Cheong further teaches a device having a camera and a processor, the processor being configured to assign a first value to the colours corresponding to the first range of brightness and to assign a second different value to the colours corresponding to the second range of brightness, such that a binary code can be obtained from a code comprising three or more colours (paragraph 0079).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. New reference Gouch has been used to teach the newly added limitations. See above.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW MIKELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876
1 A copy of this reference is attached to this Office Action.
2 In addition to the cited portions of each reference, please see also the associated figures.
3 Note that this limitation lists the third group of cells and the frame in the alternative using “or”, so only one of the two is required to anticipate the claim.
4 The Examiner can also be reached at matthew.mikels@uspto.gov.