DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-8, 11-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. 2006/0181712 (“Degertekin”).
Claim 1
Degertekin discloses an optical sensor element for sensing thermal radiation, comprising: a light emitter (240) having a cavity (280), the light emitter being configured to emit coherent electromagnetic radiation through an emission surface (paragraph [0046]) and to undergo self-mixing interference, SMI, caused by reflected electromagnetic radiation reinjected into the cavity (Fig. 5, paragraph [0070]); a micro-opto-mechanical transducer arranged distant from the emission surface, the transducer being configured to undergo mechanical deflection according to thermal radiation absorbed by the transducer, and to reflect the electromagnetic radiation emitted by the light emitter back into the cavity for generating the SMI (paragraph [0065]); and a detection unit configured to: detect a degree of the generated SMI (photodetector 220); determine from the detected degree a deflection of the transducer (paragraph [0061]); and generate an output signal indicating the determined deflection (paragraph [0082]).
Claim 2
Degertekin discloses the optical sensor element according to claim 1, wherein the micro- opto-mechanical transducer comprises a bimorph or bimetallic-type layer structure formed from a first layer of a first material and a second layer of a second material, the first and second materials having different coefficients of thermal expansion (paragraph [0065]).
Claim 5
Degertekin discloses the optical sensor element according to claim 1, wherein the micro-opto-mechanical transducer is a cantilever or a double-clamped beam (paragraph [0065], cantilever).
Claim 6
Degertekin discloses the optical sensor element according to claim 1, wherein the light emitter is a vertical-cavity surface-emitting laser, VCSEL (paragraph [0046], VCSEL).
Claim 7
Degertekin discloses the optical sensor element according to claim 1, wherein the detection unit, for detecting the degree of the generated SMI, is configured to measure an electrical property of the light emitter, in particular a junction voltage or a bias current (paragraph [0087], voltage potential measured).
Claim 8
Degertekin discloses the optical sensor element according to claim 1, further comprising a photodetector; wherein the light emitter is further configured to emit the coherent electromagnetic radiation through a further emission surface other than the emission surface; the photodetector is configured to detect the electromagnetic radiation emitted through the further emission surface; and the detection unit, for detecting the degree of the generated SMI, is configured to measure an amount of electromagnetic radiation detected by the photodetector (Fig. 5, paragraph [0063, 0070]).
Claim 11
Degertekin discloses the optical sensor element according to claim 1, further comprising a filter element arranged distant from the transducer opposite the light emitter and being characterized by a passband comprising a long-wavelength infrared, LWIR, portion of the electromagnetic spectrum (Fig. 5, paragraph [0063], grating 215).
Claim 12
Degertekin discloses the optical sensor element according to claim 1, further comprising a further lens element arranged between the transducer and the emission surface and being configured to direct the electromagnetic radiation from the light emitter onto a surface of the transducer and to reinject the reflected electromagnetic radiation into the cavity of the light emitter (Fig. 5, paragraph [0065]).
Claim 13
Degertekin discloses a thermal image sensor comprising: a plurality of pixels, with each pixel comprising an optical sensor element according to claim 1; and a processing unit configured to generate a thermal image signal from the output signal of each of the pixels (paragraph [0030], processor 130).
Claim 14
Degertekin discloses the thermal image sensor according to claim 13, wherein the plurality of pixels forms a one-dimensional array or a two-dimensional array (paragraph [0040], array).
Claim 15
Degertekin discloses the thermal image sensor according to claim 13, further comprising a lens arrangement arranged distant from the transducers of the pixels opposite the light emitters and being configured to direct the thermal radiation onto a surface of the transducers (Figs. 4 and 5).
Claim 16
Degertekin discloses he thermal image sensor according to claim 15, wherein the lens arrangement is a micro-lens array (paragraph [0048]).
Claim 18
Degertekin discloses the thermal image sensor according to claim 13, wherein the processing unit is further configured to: divide the plurality of pixels into subgroups of pixels; during an idle phase of the image sensor, enable a sensor operation of a monitoring pixel of at least one subgroup of pixels while the remaining pixels are disabled; and upon detection of a signal above a threshold by means of the monitoring pixel, enable an active phase of the image sensor, wherein a sensor operation of all pixels of each subgroup of pixels is enabled (Figs. 4 and 5, paragraph [0030]).
Claim 19
Degertekin discloses an electronic device comprising an optical sensor element according to claim 1 (device 200).
Claim 20
Degertekin discloses a method of detecting thermal radiation, the method comprising: emitting, by means of a light emitter (light emitter 240), coherent electromagnetic radiation through an emission surface of the light emitter towards a micro-opto-mechanical transducer arranged distant from the emission surface (paragraph [0046]); reinjecting, by means of reflection off the transducer, the electromagnetic radiation into a cavity of the light emitter (Fig. 5, paragraph [0070]); inducing self-mixing interference, SMI, within the cavity caused by the reinjected electromagnetic radiation (paragraph [0065]); detecting a degree of the SMI (photodetector 220); and determining from the detected degree a mechanical deflection of the transducer (paragraph [0061]); wherein the transducer is configured to undergo the mechanical deflection according to thermal radiation absorbed by the transducer (paragraph [0082]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. 2006/0181712 (“Degertekin”) in view of U.S. Patent Pub. 2008/0239531 (“Schenk”).
Claim 3
Degertekin discloses the optical sensor element according to claim 2.
Degertekin discloses a bimorph structure but does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the first layer comprises silicon and the second layer comprises a metal.
Schenk discloses an optical device including silicon and metal (paragraphs [0029-0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein the first layer comprises silicon and the second layer comprises a metal, as disclosed by Schenk, into the device of Degertekin, for the purpose of adjusting the tilt of the device (Schenk, paragraph [0029]).
Claim 4
Degertekin discloses the optical sensor element according to claim 2.
Degertekin does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the first layer forms a strip and the second layer is arranged on a top and a bottom side of the strip.
Schenk discloses the bimorph element as bar shaped (paragraph [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein the first layer forms a strip and the second layer is arranged on a top and a bottom side of the strip, as disclosed by Schenk, into the device of Degertekin, for the purpose of geometrically reducing temperature dependence of tilting (Schenk, paragraph [0033]).
Claims 9-10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. 2006/0181712 (“Degertekin”) in view of U.S. Patent Pub. 2019/0361222 (“Gurin”).
Claim 9
Degertekin discloses the optical sensor element according to claim 1.
Degertekin does not appear to explicitly disclose further comprising a lens element arranged distant from the transducer opposite the light emitter and being configured to direct the thermal radiation onto a surface of the transducer.
Gurin discloses an optical imaging sensor including a lens element opposite the light emitter (Figs. 1 and 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a lens element arranged distant from the transducer opposite the light emitter and being configured to direct the thermal radiation onto a surface of the transducer, as disclosed by Gurin, into the device of Degertekin, for the purpose of improving information for image analysis while using a reduced set of imaging sensors (Gurin, paragraphs [0062-0063]).
Claim 10
Degertekin in view of Gurin discloses the optical sensor element according to claim 9, wherein the lens element is a metalens (Gurin, paragraphs [0062-0063], lens is metalens).
Claim 17
Degertekin discloses the thermal image sensor according to claim 15.
Degertekin does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the lens arrangement comprises a metalens.
Gurin discloses an optical imaging sensor including a metalens element (Figs. 1 and 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein the lens arrangement comprises a metalens, as disclosed by Gurin, into the device of Degertekin, for the purpose of improving information for image analysis while using a reduced set of imaging sensors (Gurin, paragraphs [0062-0063]).
Conclusion
/ERICA S LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853