DETAILED ACTION
Objection to Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the phrase (see claims 9-10), the third switching element is a diode must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The output voltage U_B (stated in spec., see page 3, para. [0009], spec., pages 4-5, para. [0014]), the first voltage U1, second voltage U2 needs to be shown in applicant’s figs.1-2. Coil 26 (see spec., page 7, para. [0026]) needs to be referenced. No new matter should be entered.
Objection to Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: (see spec., pages 4-5, para. [0014], Claims 9-10) state the phrase “the third switching element act as a boost switching element or boost diode” must be shown and referenced in spec.
The phrase, “the second switching element 24 (fig.1) is configured to bypass the second power supply device 18 and the coil 26 (see spec., para. [0013], figs.1-2) is not clear as the second switching element 24 is shown connected to the second power supply device 18 and the coil 26. Appropriate correction is required in specification.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claims 9-10, state the phrase “the third switching element a “diode” is not clear as the diode is not shown in applicant’s figs.1-2 and must be shown and referenced in spec. for proper understanding of the invention.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7, 11, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Tse (Pub.No.: US 2010/0213897 A1).
Claim 7 (new): An electrical circuit for controlling a power draw from a first power supply device and from a second power supply device in an electrical device, in particular in a power tool, the electrical circuit comprising:
a first power supply device; and
a second power supply device;
a first switching element;
a second switching element;
a third switching element;
a coil; and
two connection points, the coil connected in series with the first power supply device and the second power supply device, the first switching element being configured to bridge the first power supply device and the coil, and the second switching element being configured to bridge the second power supply device and the coil, an output voltage of the electrical circuit present at the two connection points being greater than a sum of a first voltage of the first power supply device and a second voltage of the second power supply device.
(As to claim 7, Tse teaches (figs.1-13, para. [0003]) an electrical circuit [50a/70/80] (figs.5a, 5, 7-8, 11) for controlling (via control unit 57/79 (fig.5/7) a power draw from a first power supply device 56/77/87 (fig.5/7/8) and from a second power supply device 56/78/88 (fig.5/7/8) in an electrical device [Battery Cell converter/BCC unit] (see figs.5, 5a, 7-13, para’s [0019], [0020], [0022], [0023], [0028]-[0032] & [0046]), in particular in a power tool (see para. [0005]), the electrical circuit 50a/70/80 (figs.5a, 5, 7-8, 11) comprising:
a first power supply device 56/77/87 (figs.5, 7, 8); and
a second power supply device 56/78/88 (figs.5, 7, 8);
a first switching element 55/75/85 (figs.5, 7, 8);
a second switching element 55/76/86 (figs.5, 7, 8);
a third switching element 55/73/83 (figs.5, 7, 8);
a coil 71/81 (figs.7, 8); and
two connection points [53, 51] or Vout connections (see figs.5, 7, 8), the coil 71 connected in series with the first power supply device 77/87 and the second power supply device 78/88 (see figs.7, 8), the first switching element 75/85 being configured to bridge the first power supply device 77/87 and the coil 71/81 (see figs.7, 8), and the second switching element 76/86 being configured to bridge the second power supply device 78/88 and the coil 71/81 (figs.7-8), an output voltage Vo of the electrical circuit 70/80 present at the two connection points (via Vo) being greater than a sum of a first voltage of the first power supply device 55/77/87 and a second voltage of the second power supply device 55/78/88 (Vo can be larger than Vb, wherein Vb is voltage across battery cells, see Tse teaching, para. [0035]; High output voltage such as 48V or higher, see Tse teaching, para. [0047], sum of battery cell units voltages V1+V2+V3+V4, see figs.11-12, 12a, para. [0005], battery cells integrated dc-dc/up converter, boost DC/DC converters, see figs.6-7, para’s [0021], [0038]-[0039], can step up voltages of battery cells (77, 78, fig.7); series stack of BCC’s achieve high effective converter output voltage, see abstract).
Claim 11 (new): The electrical circuit as recited in claim 7 wherein the third switching element is configured to switch a state of the electrical circuit on or off.
(As to claim 11, Tse teaches (figs.1-13, para. [0003]) an electrical circuit 50a/70/80] (figs.5a, 5, 7-8, 11) wherein the third switching element 55/64/73/83 (figs.5/6a/7/8, para’s [0035], [0038]) is configured to switch a state of the electrical circuit on/connect or off/disconnect).
Claim 12 (new): An electrical device comprising the electrical circuit as recited in claim 7.
(As to claim 12, Tse teaches (figs.1-13, para. [0003]) an electrical device [Battery Cell converter/BCC system] (para. [0033]) comprising the electrical circuit [50a/70/80] (figs.5a, 5, 7-8, 11, para’s [0019], [0020], [0022], [0023], [0028]-[0032], [0035] & [0039]).
Claim 13 (new): The electrical device as recited in claim 12 wherein the electrical device is a power tool.
(As to claim 13, Tse teaches (figs.1-13, para. [0003]) an electrical device [Battery Cell converter/BCC system] (para. [0033]) is a power tool (see para. [0005]).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tse (Pub.No.: US 2010/0213897 A1) in view of KUBOTA (Pub.No.: US 2018/0233787 A1).
Claim 8 (new): The electrical circuit as recited in claim 7 wherein the first switching element or second switching element is a MOSFET.
(As to claim 8, Tse teaches (figs.1-13, para. [0003]) an electrical circuit 50a/70/80] (figs.5a, 5, 7-8, 11), wherein having a first switching element 55/75/85 (figs.5, 7, 8) or a
a second switching element 55/76/86.
Tse do not mention switching element is a MOSFET.
KUBOTA teaches an electric circuit 220 (figs.2, 14, para. [0055]) wherein a first switching element 252 is a MOSFET.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first switching element is a MOSFET of KUBOTA in the system of Tse because a balance correction device equalizes voltages of cells and protect from one of overcurrent, overvoltage or overdischarge (see KUBOTA, para’s [0009] & [0041]).
Claim 9 (new): The electrical circuit as recited in claim 8 wherein the third switching element a diode.
(As to claim 9, Tse teaches (figs.1-13, para. [0003]) an electrical circuit 50a/70/80] (figs.5a, 5, 7-8, 11), wherein having the third switching element 55/73/83 (figs.5, 7, 8).
Tse do not mention the third switching element is a diode.
KUBOTA teaches an electric circuit 220 (figs.2, 14, para. [0055]) wherein a third switching element 262/264 (figs.2, 14) is a diode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a third switching element is a diode of KUBOTA in the system of Tse because a balance correction device equalizes voltages of cells and protect from one of overcurrent, overvoltage or overdischarge (see KUBOTA, para’s [0009] & [0041]).
Claim 10 (new): The electrical circuit as recited in claim 7 wherein the third switching element a diode.
(As to claim 10, Tse teaches (figs.1-13, para. [0003]) an electrical circuit 50a/70/80] (figs.5a, 5, 7-8, 11), wherein having the third switching element 55/73/83 (figs.5, 7, 8).
Tse do not mention the third switching element is a diode.
KUBOTA teaches an electric circuit 220 (figs.2, 14, para. [0055]) wherein a third switching element 262/264 (figs.2, 14) is a diode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a third switching element is a diode of KUBOTA in the system of Tse because a balance correction device equalizes voltages of cells and protect from one of overcurrent, overvoltage or overdischarge (see KUBOTA, para’s [0009] & [0041]).
Citation of pertinent prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
a) Tse (US Pub.No.: US 2013/0038289 A1) teaches (figs.1-13, abstract) BATTERY-CELL CONVERTER SYSTEMS.
b) Prior art of records (AIT EL BACHA et al., WO 2022069277 A1 correspond to US PUB.No.: US 2023/0378771 A1) teaches (figs1-2, abstract) dynamic system for balancing charging voltage for battery modules.
c) Smolenaers (Pub.No.: US 2018/0254732 A1) teaches (figs.1-20, abstract) a controller for an inductive load having one or more windings.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed on 11/14/2024, with respect to replacement drawing have been fully considered and are not persuasive for the following reasons: Drawing Objection of figs.1-2 needs to be corrected as noted in this office action. Amendment to specification dated 11/14/2024 is acknowledged, however objection to specification needs to be corrected as noted in this office action.
Conclusion
/ANTONY M PAUL/
Primary Examiner of Art Unit 2837