DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 14 November 2024. Claims 1-25 are pending examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graves et al. (US 2014/0161447 A1) (hereinafter Gra) in view of Sarashina (US 2017/0063486 A1) (hereinafter Sar).
Regarding claims 1, 7 and 8, Gra-Sar teaches a communication system/ a management control device/ a control method, comprising:
one or more wireless stations configured to perform wireless communication with one or more terminals (Gra, fig. 1, [0038]-[0050]: Examiner views RRU 132 and its associated antenna 148 as the wireless station, and the user devices as the terminals. [0045] In the reverse direction, RRU 132 receives the incoming cellular traffic from user devices, which is encoded in an upstream coding constellation, for example a QAM format. RRU 132 may recover the I and Q components from the receiver intermediate frequency signal. The I and Q components are fed into a high speed A/D converter, before the digital data is multiplexed with the RRU control channel, and converted into an optical signal. Alternatively the receiver intermediate frequency signal is oversampled and transmitted digitally to the BBU for I and Q extraction. In either example, the BBU performs the decoding functions on the modulation constellation.);
a plurality of distributed stations connected, directly or via another device, to the one or more wireless stations (Gra, fig. 1 and 8, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074]: Examiner views BBUs 264 as plurality of distributed stations, RRUs 272 as one or more wireless stations, and photonic switch 266 as another device. [0061] FIG. 8 illustrates C-RAN 260. C-RAN 260 contains network edge switch 262 coupled to BBUs 264. Photonic switch 266 is optically coupled between BBUs 264 and RRUs 272, which are associated with antennas 270, 278, 286, and 294 forming antenna sites. Initially, antenna 270 has a coverage area 268, antenna 278 has a coverage area 276, antenna 286 has a coverage area 282, and antenna 294 has a coverage area 292.);
a cooperation information collector configured to acquire, from each of the plurality of distributed stations, cooperation information used for either sleep judgment or optical path switching judgment (Gra, fig. 1, 8, 15, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074], [0075]-[0136]: Examiner views traffic mapping block 314 as cooperation information collector and the traffic-load information collected from BBUs 264 as the cooperation information used for optical path switching judgement. [0082] BBUs 264 feed their current measured traffic load level to traffic mapping block 314. Then, traffic mapping block 314 collects data from the BBUs about their current or recent traffic loads, and hence their associated RRU or antenna site loads. [0083] The RRU activation target map is fed to computation block 316. Computation block 316 computes options for an idealized BBU-RRU mapping and compares the options to the current BBU-RRU mapping from BBU-RRU association block 320. The purpose of this step is to identify the changes in provisioned capacity level, and hence the new RRU level activation map, while also disrupting or changing the minimum number of connections. [0085] Computation block 316 derives its action plan by applying the rules and algorithms of mapping rules block 318 to the required changed traffic capacity target map from the traffic mapping block 314. );
an optical path switching controller configured to control switching of an optical path between the one or more wireless stations and the plurality of distributed stations when it is determined, on the basis of the cooperation information, that the switching of the optical path between the one or more wireless stations and the plurality of distributed stations is required (Gra, fig. 1, 8, 15, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074], [0075]-[0136]: Examiner views computation block 316 together with photonic switch connection control block 322 as the optical path switching controller, wherein the traffic information supplied to computation block 316 is used to determine whether a BBU-RRU connection should be changed. [0085] Computation block 316 derives its action plan by applying the rules and algorithms of mapping rules block 318 to the required changed traffic capacity target map from the traffic mapping block 314. [0089] Computation block 316 analyzes the data from the BBU-RRU links and identifies from the traffic loading and a response algorithm from mapping rules block 318 that an action is needed. Computation block 316 consults with BBU-RRU association block 320 to obtain a list of spare RRUs and the locations of the spare RRUs from the RRU location map. When computation block 316 determines that one of the spare RRUs is in the same antenna site as the RRU that is approaching overload, it consults mapping rules block 318 to identify a spare BBU. [0090] computation block 316 writes the changes to BBU-RRU association block 320. Also, computation block 316 causes photonic switch connection control block 322 to appropriately set the connections in photonic switch 266 to implement the new mapping.).
… after the switching of the optical path is performed (Gra, fig. 1, 8, 15, 22, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074], [0075]-[0136]: Examiner views the changing of the photonic-switch connections at step 714 followed by the power-down operation at step 716 as teaching the sequence of optical-path switching followed by a power-state transition. [0121] Then, in step 714, an RRU is unlinked from an RRU. This may be done when the RRU and/or the BBU will be powered down, or if there is a fault in the link between the RRU and the BBU. The unlinking may be performed by changing connections in one or more photonic switch between the BBU and the RRU. [0122] When there is a change of traffic that indicates that an RRU should be powered down, for example when traffic is low at a particular antenna site, in step 716, an RRU is powered down. For example, in the evening, an RRU in a business district is powered down. In another example, an RRU in a residential district is powered down in the morning. Alternatively, a low traffic load is detected in real time.).
Thus, the system of Gra does not explicitly teach a sleep controller configured to cause each of a distributed stations that can sleep to transition to a sleep state…
Similar to the system of Gra, Sar teaches a sleep controller that selects ONUs and RRHs to be placed in a sleep state based on usage-bandwidth and coverage information, and a sleep control unit that generates a sleep command for each RRH selected for sleep, which can be seen as, a sleep controller configured to cause each of a distributed stations that can sleep to transition to a sleep state…(Sar, fig. 2, 4-5, [0047]-[0082], [0084]-[0120]: Examiner views selection of low-traffic ONUs and RRHs for sleep and generation of sleep commands for the selected RRHs as corresponding to the sleep-controller functionality. [0085] an RRH and an ONU that are not performing communication or an RRH and an ONU with low communication traffic among the plurality of RRHs 600 and ONUs 400 are set in a sleep state. [0111] The sleep control unit of the control processor in the BBU generates a downlink RRH control signal containing a sleep command for each RRH to be switched to a sleep state.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gra with Sar to reduce power consumption by transitioning unneeded or low-traffic network units to a sleep state (Sar, [0021]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 2, Gra teaches a communication system according to claim 1:
wherein the another device is a switching device configured to switch the optical path between the one or more wireless stations and the plurality of distributed stations (Gra, fig. 1, 7-8, 15, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074], [0075]-[0136]: Examiner views photonic switch as switching device configured to switch the optical connection between RRUs and BBUs. [0057] Photonic switch 226 is fully connected, so it can connect any BBU to any RRU in a non-blocking manner, without disturbing other optical streams. Photonic switch 226 has a low delay caused by the finite speed of light propagating through the optical path through that photonic switch.),
in a case where the switching device is provided, the optical path switching controller instructs the switching device to switch the optical path between the one or more wireless stations and the plurality of distributed stations when it is determined, on the basis of the cooperation information, that the switching of the optical path between the one or more wireless stations and the plurality of distributed stations is required (Gra, fig. 1, 8, 15, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074], [0075]-[0136]: Examiner views the instruction from computation block 316 to photonic switch connection control block as the instruction to switch the optical path based on the determined change in BBU-RRU mapping. [0099] computation block 316 causes photonic switch connection control block 322 to appropriately set the connections in photonic switch 266 to implement the new mapping. Photonic switch connection control block 322 maps the BBU-RRU connection request from computation block 316 into physical photonic switch port connections.), and
the switching device switches the distributed stations to which the one or more wireless stations are connected, by switching the optical path in response to an instruction from the optical path switching controller (Gra, fig. 1, 8-7, 15, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074], [0075]-[0136]: Examiner views BBU-RRU connection request from computation block and the resulting physical switch-port connections implemented by control block as the switching device switching the BBU-RRU connection in response to the optical-path switching-controller instruction. [0090] photonic switch connection control block 322 implements and validates those switch port connections on the photonic switch. [0121] RRU is unlinked from an RRU. This may be done when the RRU and/or the BBU will be powered down, or if there is a fault in the link between the RRU and the BBU.).
Regarding claim 3, Gra-Sar teaches a communication system according to claim 1:
wherein the another device is a switching device configured to switch the optical path between the one or more wireless stations and the plurality of distributed stations (Gra, fig. 1, 7-8, 15, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074], [0075]-[0136]: Examiner views photonic switch as switching device configured to switch the optical connection between RRUs and BBUs. [0057] Photonic switch 226 is fully connected, so it can connect any BBU to any RRU in a non-blocking manner, without disturbing other optical streams. Photonic switch 226 has a low delay caused by the finite speed of light propagating through the optical path through that photonic switch.),
Thus, the system of Gra does not explicitly teach in a case where the switching device is provided, the switching device includes the optical path switching controller and the sleep controller, and the optical path switching controller receives, from an outside, a notification indicating that the switching of the optical path between the one or more wireless stations and the plurality of distributed stations is required, and controls the switching of the optical path between the one or more wireless stations and the plurality of distributed stations in response to the received notification.
Similar to the system of Gra, Sar teaches an OLT having a managing unit, a switching element, and a DWA controller, and further teaches that the sleep controller may be configured as a functional unit of managing unit, which can be seen as, in a case where the switching device is provided, the switching device includes the optical path switching controller and the sleep controller (Sar, fig. 11, [0084]-[0120], [0121]-[0143], [0145]-[0162]: Examiner views OLT as the switching device, managing unit/DWA controller as providing the optical-path switching control functionality, and sleep controller which Sar teaches may be incorporated into managing unit, as the sleep controller. [0124] The OLT 150 has a managing unit 160, a switching element 170, a plurality of optical subscriber units (OSUs) 200, and a multiplexing-demultiplexing unit 180. [0133] The managing unit 160 has a DWA controller 165 as a functional unit. [0143] the sleep controller 245 may be configured as one functional unit of the managing unit 160 instead of being provided in each OSU 200.), and
Similar to the system of Gra, Sar teaches that managing unit creates a transmission plan and notifies switching element of the transmission plan, and switching element sets communication paths based on the received transmission plan, which can be seen as, the optical path switching controller receives, from an outside, a notification indicating that the switching of the optical path between the one or more wireless stations and the plurality of distributed stations is required, and controls the switching of the optical path between the one or more wireless stations and the plurality of distributed stations in response to the received notification (Sar, fig. 11, [0084]-[0120], [0121]-[0143], [0145]-[0162]: Examiner views the transmission plan received by switching element from managing unit as outside notification, wherein switching element controls the communication-path switching in response to the received transmission plan. [0132] The managing unit 160 notifies the switching element 170 and the OSUs 200 of the transmission plan. [0134] [0134] The switching element 170 sets communication paths… Based on the transmission plan notified by the managing unit 160….
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gra with Sar to reduce power consumption by transitioning unneeded or low-traffic network units to a sleep state (Sar, [0021]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 4, Gra-Sar teaches a communication system according to claim 1:
wherein the cooperation information includes at least information on a number of accommodated terminals for each of the distributed stations and information on a maximum number of accommodated terminals for each of the distributed stations (Gra, fig. 1, 7-8, 15, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074], [0075]-[0136]: Examiner views the number of wireless user devices associate with the RRUs as corresponding to information regarding the number of accommodated terminals, and the disclosed BBU capacity limits as the closest teaching regarding the maximum accommodation capacity. [0081] BBUs 264 already provide all the service level management, traffic flow management, association of end-user devices with specific cell sites (RRUs), etc. As such, they would already have an ability to measure their average and peak real time traffic loads and the number of wireless user devices attached to their RRUs. This information stems from the active per user flows and the capacity of the active traffic packets on the overall input to the BBUs. [0083] Computation block 316 computes options for an idealized BBU-RRU mapping and compares the options to the current BBU-RRU mapping from BBU-RRU association block 320. The purpose of this step is to identify the changes in provisioned capacity level, and hence the new RRU level activation map, while also disrupting or changing the minimum number of connections.),
the optical path switching controller controls the switching of the optical path so as to connect a wireless stations connected to the one of the distributed stations that is an object to be subjected to the sleep judgment to the another one of the distributed stations (Gra, fig. 1, 7-8, 15-16, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074], [0075]-[0136]: Examiner views the selection of a BBU for association with the requested RRU and the creation of the corresponding photonic-switch path as connection of the wireless station to another distributed station through optical-path switching. [0095] Traffic mapping block 314 feeds real time traffic measurements from the BBUs associated with in-service RRUs to computation block 316 after processing the data. Computation block 316 then applies algorithms and rules to the data from mapping rules block 318. Also, computation block 316 decides whether to change a connection, and if so, what the change will be. When a change will be performed, computation block 316 consults BBU-RRU association block 320 and locates an RRU to be added. The RRU may be at the same antenna site or a neighboring antenna site. Computation block 316 determines the RRU to add and a BBU to be associated with that RRU. [0096] Instead of setting one photonic switch, multiple photonic switches are set to create the new BBU-RRU connection. Computation block 316 notifies network management system 372 of the new connection, including the identity of the RRU to be connected and the options for source ports from the bank of BBUs. [0097] Because the RRU is fed from a single demultiplexed optical port of a DWDM wavelength demultiplexer, it operates at a fixed wavelength. Network management system 372 only searches the unutilized BBUs associated with photonic switch ports that are connected to the same wavelength. Once the candidate paths are located, they are analyzed for delay by adding up the delays of the constituent links.).
Thus the system of Gra does not explicitly teach the communication system further comprising an analyzer configured to determine, on a basis of the information on the number of accommodated terminals for each of the distributed stations and the information on the maximum number of accommodated terminals for each of the distributed stations, that the switching of the optical path between the one or more wireless stations and the plurality of distributed stations is required when all terminals accommodated in one of the distributed stations that is an object to be subjected to sleep judgment are allowed to be accommodated in another one of the distributed stations, wherein the sleep controller causes the one of the distributed stations that is an object to be subjected to the sleep judgment to transition to the sleep state, as one of the distributed stations that can sleep.
Similar to the system of Gra, Sar teaches determining whether everything associated with the sleep candidate can be accommodated by another station, which can be seen as, the communication system further comprising an analyzer configured to determine, on a basis of the information on the number of accommodated terminals for each of the distributed stations and the information on the maximum number of accommodated terminals for each of the distributed stations, that the switching of the optical path between the one or more wireless stations and the plurality of distributed stations is required when all terminals accommodated in one of the distributed stations that is an object to be subjected to sleep judgment are allowed to be accommodated in another one of the distributed stations (Sar, fig. 11, [0084]-[0120], [0121]-[0143], [0145]-[0162]: Examiner views Sar’s comparison of the combined usage bandwidth of the sleep-candidate ONUs with the amount of traffic accommodatable by a single ONU as determining whether the traffic of the sleep candidate can be accommodated by another network unit. [0100] Subsequently, based on the usage bandwidth information of each ONU acquired in step S1, the sleep controller determines whether or not it is possible to identify a combination of ONUs (sleep candidate ONU group) whose total usage bandwidth is smaller than or equal to an amount of traffic (baseband) that can be accommodated by a single ONU (step S4). [0102] In the example in FIG. 8, a total bandwidth used by the ONU-1 to ONU-4 is smaller than or equal to the baseband. The sleep controller identifies this plurality of ONU-1 to ONU-4 as one sleep candidate ONU group. If it is possible to identify a sleep candidate ONU group (Yes in step S4), the process proceeds to step S5. If there are multiple combinations of ONUs whose total usage bandwidth is smaller than or equal to the baseband, each combination is identified as a sleep candidate ONU group.).
Similar to the system of Gra, Sar teaches selecting sleep-candidate ONUs and their connected RRHs to be switched to a sleep state, which can be seen as, the sleep controller causes the one of the distributed stations that is an object to be subjected to the sleep judgment to transition (Sar, fig. 11, [0084]-[0120], [0121]-[0143], [0145]-[0162]: Examiner views Sar’s selection of the low traffic RRHs/ONUs for sleep and generation of sleep commands for the selected units as the sleep-control functionality. [0105] Subsequently, the sleep controller selects ONUs to be switched to a sleep state based on the sleep candidate RRH group identified in step S3 and the sleep candidate ONU group identified in step S4 (step S5). [0106] For example, in a case where the maximum cover area of the RRH connected to the ONU-1 in the sleep candidate ONU group illustrated in FIG. 8 includes the RRHs connected to the ONU-2 to ONU-4 as a sleep candidate RRH group, the ONU-1 and the RRH connected to the ONU-1 are selected as an ONU and [0107] RRH to be maintained in an active state. Then, the ONU-2 to ONU-4 and the RRHs connected to the ONU-2 to ONU-4 are selected as RRHs and ONUs to be switched to a sleep state.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gra with Sar to reduce power consumption by transitioning unneeded or low-traffic network units to a sleep state (Sar, [0021]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 5, Gra-Sar teaches a communication system according to claim 4:
wherein the cooperation information further includes at least one of processing load information relating to a processing load for each of the distributed stations or information on a transmission delay between the one or more terminals and the plurality of distributed stations (Gra, fig. 1, 8, 15, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074], [0075]-[0136]: Examiner views traffic mapping block 314 as cooperation information collector and the traffic-load information collected from BBUs 264 as the cooperation information used for optical path switching judgement. [0082] BBUs 264 feed their current measured traffic load level to traffic mapping block 314. Then, traffic mapping block 314 collects data from the BBUs about their current or recent traffic loads, and hence their associated RRU or antenna site loads. [0083] The RRU activation target map is fed to computation block 316. Computation block 316 computes options for an idealized BBU-RRU mapping and compares the options to the current BBU-RRU mapping from BBU-RRU association block 320. The purpose of this step is to identify the changes in provisioned capacity level, and hence the new RRU level activation map, while also disrupting or changing the minimum number of connections. [0085] Computation block 316 derives its action plan by applying the rules and algorithms of mapping rules block 318 to the required changed traffic capacity target map from the traffic mapping block 314. ).
Thus the system of Gra does not explicitly teach, the analyzer determines, on the basis of the information on the number of accommodated terminals for each of the distributed stations, the information on the maximum number of accommodated terminals for each of the distributed stations, and the processing load information or the information on the transmission delay, that the switching of the optical path between the one or more wireless stations and the plurality of distributed stations is required when all terminals accommodated in the one of the distributed stations that is an object to be subjected to the sleep judgment are allowed to be accommodated in another one of the distributed stations.
Similar to the system of Gra, Sar teaches selecting sleep-candidate ONUs and their connected RRHs to be switched to a sleep state, which can be seen as, the analyzer determines, on the basis of the information on the number of accommodated terminals for each of the distributed stations, the information on the maximum number of accommodated terminals for each of the distributed stations, and the processing load information or the information on the transmission delay, that the switching of the optical path between the one or more wireless stations and the plurality of distributed stations is required when all terminals accommodated in the one of the distributed stations that is an object to be subjected to the sleep judgment are allowed to be accommodated in another one of the distributed stations (Sar, fig. 11, [0084]-[0120], [0121]-[0143], [0145]-[0162]: Examiner views Sar’s comparison of the combined usage bandwidth of the sleep-candidate ONUs with the amount of traffic accommodatable by a single ONU as determining whether the traffic of the sleep candidate can be accommodated by another network unit. [0100] Subsequently, based on the usage bandwidth information of each ONU acquired in step S1, the sleep controller determines whether or not it is possible to identify a combination of ONUs (sleep candidate ONU group) whose total usage bandwidth is smaller than or equal to an amount of traffic (baseband) that can be accommodated by a single ONU (step S4). [0102] In the example in FIG. 8, a total bandwidth used by the ONU-1 to ONU-4 is smaller than or equal to the baseband. The sleep controller identifies this plurality of ONU-1 to ONU-4 as one sleep candidate ONU group. If it is possible to identify a sleep candidate ONU group (Yes in step S4), the process proceeds to step S5. If there are multiple combinations of ONUs whose total usage bandwidth is smaller than or equal to the baseband, each combination is identified as a sleep candidate ONU group.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gra with Sar to reduce power consumption by transitioning unneeded or low-traffic network units to a sleep state (Sar, [0021]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 6, Gra teaches a communication system according to claim 5:
wherein the processing load information includes information on a memory usage rate or information on a usage rate of a central processing unit (CPU) for each of the distributed stations (Gra, fig. 1, 8, 15, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074], [0075]-[0136]: Examiner views measured load levels of the processor-implemented BBUs as processing-resource usage information corresponding to the processor usage rate. [0041] Because the BBUs are remote from the antenna sites, they can be collocated with each other as a centralized resource pool in a convenient location. When collocated, the BBU functions may be implemented en masse in common hardware or virtualized into software functions in high performance processors. [0082] BBUs 264 feed their current measured traffic load level to traffic mapping block 314… traffic mapping block 314 collects data from the BBUs about their current or recent traffic loads… BBUs 264 are ranked in order based on their traffic load. For example, BBUs 264 may be separated into BBUs operating at close to their capacity limits, for example above a first threshold, BBUs operating at a very low load, for example below a second threshold, and BBUs operating with an intermediate load, for example between the first and second threshold.).
Regarding claims 9, 13 and 17, Gra-Sar teaches a communication system/ a management control device/ a control method, comprising:
one or more wireless stations configured to perform wireless communication with one or more terminals (Gra, fig. 1, [0038]-[0050]: Examiner views RRU 132 and its associated antenna 148 as the wireless station, and the user devices as the terminals. [0045] In the reverse direction, RRU 132 receives the incoming cellular traffic from user devices, which is encoded in an upstream coding constellation, for example a QAM format. RRU 132 may recover the I and Q components from the receiver intermediate frequency signal. The I and Q components are fed into a high speed A/D converter, before the digital data is multiplexed with the RRU control channel, and converted into an optical signal. Alternatively the receiver intermediate frequency signal is oversampled and transmitted digitally to the BBU for I and Q extraction. In either example, the BBU performs the decoding functions on the modulation constellation.);
a plurality of distributed stations connected, directly or via another device, to the one or more wireless stations (Gra, fig. 1 and 8, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074]: Examiner views BBUs 264 as plurality of distributed stations, RRUs 272 as one or more wireless stations, and photonic switch 266 as another device. [0061] FIG. 8 illustrates C-RAN 260. C-RAN 260 contains network edge switch 262 coupled to BBUs 264. Photonic switch 266 is optically coupled between BBUs 264 and RRUs 272, which are associated with antennas 270, 278, 286, and 294 forming antenna sites. Initially, antenna 270 has a coverage area 268, antenna 278 has a coverage area 276, antenna 286 has a coverage area 282, and antenna 294 has a coverage area 292.);
a cooperation information collector configured to acquire, from each of the plurality of distributed stations, cooperation information used for at least optical path switching judgment (Gra, fig. 1, 8, 15, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074], [0075]-[0136]: Examiner views traffic mapping block 314 as cooperation information collector and the traffic-load information collected from BBUs 264 as the cooperation information used for optical path switching judgement. [0082] BBUs 264 feed their current measured traffic load level to traffic mapping block 314. Then, traffic mapping block 314 collects data from the BBUs about their current or recent traffic loads, and hence their associated RRU or antenna site loads. [0083] The RRU activation target map is fed to computation block 316. Computation block 316 computes options for an idealized BBU-RRU mapping and compares the options to the current BBU-RRU mapping from BBU-RRU association block 320. The purpose of this step is to identify the changes in provisioned capacity level, and hence the new RRU level activation map, while also disrupting or changing the minimum number of connections. [0085] Computation block 316 derives its action plan by applying the rules and algorithms of mapping rules block 318 to the required changed traffic capacity target map from the traffic mapping block 314. ); and
an optical path switching controller configured to control switching of an optical path between the one or more wireless stations and the plurality of distributed stations when it is determined, on the basis of the cooperation information, that the switching of the optical path between the one or more wireless stations and the plurality of distributed stations is required (Gra, fig. 1, 8, 15, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074], [0075]-[0136]: Examiner views computation block 316 together with photonic switch connection control block 322 as the optical path switching controller, wherein the traffic information supplied to computation block 316 is used to determine whether a BBU-RRU connection should be changed. [0085] Computation block 316 derives its action plan by applying the rules and algorithms of mapping rules block 318 to the required changed traffic capacity target map from the traffic mapping block 314. [0089] Computation block 316 analyzes the data from the BBU-RRU links and identifies from the traffic loading and a response algorithm from mapping rules block 318 that an action is needed. Computation block 316 consults with BBU-RRU association block 320 to obtain a list of spare RRUs and the locations of the spare RRUs from the RRU location map. When computation block 316 determines that one of the spare RRUs is in the same antenna site as the RRU that is approaching overload, it consults mapping rules block 318 to identify a spare BBU. [0090] computation block 316 writes the changes to BBU-RRU association block 320. Also, computation block 316 causes photonic switch connection control block 322 to appropriately set the connections in photonic switch 266 to implement the new mapping.).
Regarding claim 10, 14, and 18, Sar teaches a communication system/ a management control device/ a control method, comprising:
Thus, the system of Gra does not explicitly teach a sleep controller configured to cause each of a distributed stations that can sleep to transition to a sleep state.
Similar to the system of Gra, Sar teaches a sleep controller that selects ONUs and RRHs to be placed in a sleep state based on usage-bandwidth and coverage information, and a sleep control unit that generates a sleep command for each RRH selected for sleep, which can be seen as, a sleep controller configured to cause each of a distributed stations that can sleep to transition to a sleep state (Sar, fig. 2, 4-5, [0047]-[0082], [0084]-[0120]: Examiner views selection of low-traffic ONUs and RRHs for sleep and generation of sleep commands for the selected RRHs as corresponding to the sleep-controller functionality. [0085] an RRH and an ONU that are not performing communication or an RRH and an ONU with low communication traffic among the plurality of RRHs 600 and ONUs 400 are set in a sleep state. [0111] The sleep control unit of the control processor in the BBU generates a downlink RRH control signal containing a sleep command for each RRH to be switched to a sleep state.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gra with Sar to reduce power consumption by transitioning unneeded or low-traffic network units to a sleep state (Sar, [0021]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 11 and 12, Gra-Sar teaches a distributed station connected to a wireless station configured to perform wireless communication with one or more terminals/ a control method, the control method/the distributed station comprising:
a transmitter configured to transmit, to a management control device, cooperation information used for at least optical path switching judgment (Gra, fig. 1, 8, 15, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074], [0075]-[0136]: Examiner views traffic mapping block 314 as cooperation information collector and the traffic-load information collected from BBUs 264 as the cooperation information used for optical path switching judgement. [0082] BBUs 264 feed their current measured traffic load level to traffic mapping block 314. Then, traffic mapping block 314 collects data from the BBUs about their current or recent traffic loads, and hence their associated RRU or antenna site loads. [0083] The RRU activation target map is fed to computation block 316. Computation block 316 computes options for an idealized BBU-RRU mapping and compares the options to the current BBU-RRU mapping from BBU-RRU association block 320. The purpose of this step is to identify the changes in provisioned capacity level, and hence the new RRU level activation map, while also disrupting or changing the minimum number of connections. [0085] Computation block 316 derives its action plan by applying the rules and algorithms of mapping rules block 318 to the required changed traffic capacity target map from the traffic mapping block 314.);
a receiver configured to receive an optical path switching instruction with the wireless station indicating that the management control device has determined, on the basis of the cooperation information, that switching of an optical path between the wireless station and the distributed station is required (Gra, fig. 1, 8, 15, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074], [0075]-[0136]: Examiner views computation block 316 together with photonic switch connection control block 322 as the optical path switching controller, wherein the traffic information supplied to computation block 316 is used to determine whether a BBU-RRU connection should be changed. [0085] Computation block 316 derives its action plan by applying the rules and algorithms of mapping rules block 318 to the required changed traffic capacity target map from the traffic mapping block 314. [0089] Computation block 316 analyzes the data from the BBU-RRU links and identifies from the traffic loading and a response algorithm from mapping rules block 318 that an action is needed. Computation block 316 consults with BBU-RRU association block 320 to obtain a list of spare RRUs and the locations of the spare RRUs from the RRU location map. When computation block 316 determines that one of the spare RRUs is in the same antenna site as the RRU that is approaching overload, it consults mapping rules block 318 to identify a spare BBU. [0090] computation block 316 writes the changes to BBU-RRU association block 320. Also, computation block 316 causes photonic switch connection control block 322 to appropriately set the connections in photonic switch 266 to implement the new mapping.); and
Thus, the system of Gra does not explicitly teach a sleep processor configured to transition to a sleep state after the switching of the optical path is performed, in accordance with the optical path switching instruction.
Similar to the system of Gra, Sar teaches a sleep controller that selects ONUs and RRHs to be placed in a sleep state based on usage-bandwidth and coverage information, and a sleep control unit that generates a sleep command for each RRH selected for sleep, which can be seen as, a sleep processor configured to transition to a sleep state after the switching of the optical path is performed, in accordance with the optical path switching instruction (Sar, fig. 2, 4-5, [0047]-[0082], [0084]-[0120]: Examiner views selection of low-traffic ONUs and RRHs for sleep and generation of sleep commands for the selected RRHs as corresponding to the sleep-controller functionality. [0085] an RRH and an ONU that are not performing communication or an RRH and an ONU with low communication traffic among the plurality of RRHs 600 and ONUs 400 are set in a sleep state. [0111] The sleep control unit of the control processor in the BBU generates a downlink RRH control signal containing a sleep command for each RRH to be switched to a sleep state.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gra with Sar to reduce power consumption by transitioning unneeded or low-traffic network units to a sleep state (Sar, [0021]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 14, Sar teaches the management control device according to claim 13 further comprising,
Thus, the system of Gra does not explicitly teach a sleep controller configured to cause each of a distributed stations that can sleep to transition to a sleep state.
Similar to the system of Gra, Sar teaches a sleep controller that selects ONUs and RRHs to be placed in a sleep state based on usage-bandwidth and coverage information, and a sleep control unit that generates a sleep command for each RRH selected for sleep, which can be seen as, a sleep controller configured to cause each of a distributed stations that can sleep to transition to a sleep state (Sar, fig. 2, 4-5, [0047]-[0082], [0084]-[0120]: Examiner views selection of low-traffic ONUs and RRHs for sleep and generation of sleep commands for the selected RRHs as corresponding to the sleep-controller functionality. [0085] an RRH and an ONU that are not performing communication or an RRH and an ONU with low communication traffic among the plurality of RRHs 600 and ONUs 400 are set in a sleep state. [0111] The sleep control unit of the control processor in the BBU generates a downlink RRH control signal containing a sleep command for each RRH to be switched to a sleep state.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gra with Sar to reduce power consumption by transitioning unneeded or low-traffic network units to a sleep state (Sar, [0021]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 15 and 19, Gra teaches a distributed station connected to a wireless station that performs wireless communication with one or more terminals / a control method, the control method/ the distributed station comprising:
a transmitter configured to transmit, to a management control device, cooperation information used for at least optical path switching judgment (Gra, fig. 1, 8, 15, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074], [0075]-[0136]: Examiner views traffic mapping block 314 as cooperation information collector and the traffic-load information collected from BBUs 264 as the cooperation information used for optical path switching judgement. [0082] BBUs 264 feed their current measured traffic load level to traffic mapping block 314. Then, traffic mapping block 314 collects data from the BBUs about their current or recent traffic loads, and hence their associated RRU or antenna site loads. [0083] The RRU activation target map is fed to computation block 316. Computation block 316 computes options for an idealized BBU-RRU mapping and compares the options to the current BBU-RRU mapping from BBU-RRU association block 320. The purpose of this step is to identify the changes in provisioned capacity level, and hence the new RRU level activation map, while also disrupting or changing the minimum number of connections. [0085] Computation block 316 derives its action plan by applying the rules and algorithms of mapping rules block 318 to the required changed traffic capacity target map from the traffic mapping block 314.); and
a receiver configured to receive an optical path switching instruction with the wireless station indicating that the management control device has determined, on the basis of the cooperation information, that switching of an optical path between the wireless station and the distributed station is required (Gra, fig. 1, 8, 15, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074], [0075]-[0136]: Examiner views computation block 316 together with photonic switch connection control block 322 as the optical path switching controller, wherein the traffic information supplied to computation block 316 is used to determine whether a BBU-RRU connection should be changed. [0085] Computation block 316 derives its action plan by applying the rules and algorithms of mapping rules block 318 to the required changed traffic capacity target map from the traffic mapping block 314. [0089] Computation block 316 analyzes the data from the BBU-RRU links and identifies from the traffic loading and a response algorithm from mapping rules block 318 that an action is needed. Computation block 316 consults with BBU-RRU association block 320 to obtain a list of spare RRUs and the locations of the spare RRUs from the RRU location map. When computation block 316 determines that one of the spare RRUs is in the same antenna site as the RRU that is approaching overload, it consults mapping rules block 318 to identify a spare BBU. [0090] computation block 316 writes the changes to BBU-RRU association block 320. Also, computation block 316 causes photonic switch connection control block 322 to appropriately set the connections in photonic switch 266 to implement the new mapping.).
Regarding claim 16, Sar teaches the distributed station according to claim 15,
Thus, the system of Gra does not explicitly teach Further comprising a sleep processor configured to transition to a sleep state.
Similar to the system of Gra, Sar teaches a sleep controller that selects ONUs and RRHs to be placed in a sleep state based on usage-bandwidth and coverage information, and a sleep control unit that generates a sleep command for each RRH selected for sleep, which can be seen as, Further comprising a sleep processor configured to transition to a sleep state (Sar, fig. 2, 4-5, [0047]-[0082], [0084]-[0120]: Examiner views selection of low-traffic ONUs and RRHs for sleep and generation of sleep commands for the selected RRHs as corresponding to the sleep-controller functionality. [0085] an RRH and an ONU that are not performing communication or an RRH and an ONU with low communication traffic among the plurality of RRHs 600 and ONUs 400 are set in a sleep state. [0111] The sleep control unit of the control processor in the BBU generates a downlink RRH control signal containing a sleep command for each RRH to be switched to a sleep state.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gra with Sar to reduce power consumption by transitioning unneeded or low-traffic network units to a sleep state (Sar, [0021]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 18, Sar teaches the control method according to claim 17,
Thus, the system of Gra does not explicitly teach wherein each of the distributed stations that can sleep is caused to transition to a sleep state.
Similar to the system of Gra, Sar teaches a sleep controller that selects ONUs and RRHs to be placed in a sleep state based on usage-bandwidth and coverage information, and a sleep control unit that generates a sleep command for each RRH selected for sleep, which can be seen as, wherein each of the distributed stations that can sleep is caused to transition to a sleep state (Sar, fig. 2, 4-5, [0047]-[0082], [0084]-[0120]: Examiner views selection of low-traffic ONUs and RRHs for sleep and generation of sleep commands for the selected RRHs as corresponding to the sleep-controller functionality. [0085] an RRH and an ONU that are not performing communication or an RRH and an ONU with low communication traffic among the plurality of RRHs 600 and ONUs 400 are set in a sleep state. [0111] The sleep control unit of the control processor in the BBU generates a downlink RRH control signal containing a sleep command for each RRH to be switched to a sleep state.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gra with Sar to reduce power consumption by transitioning unneeded or low-traffic network units to a sleep state (Sar, [0021]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 20, Gra teaches the control method according to claim 19,
wherein transition to a sleep state is performed when sleep can be performed (Gra, fig. 1, 8, 15, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074], [0075]-[0136]: Examiner views Gra’s determination of whether a BBU is to be powered down and subsequent powering down of the BBU when so determined as performing the sleep-state transition when sleep can be performed. [0127] After powering down the antenna, in step 726, the system determines if a BBU that was previously linked to one of the powered down RRUs will be powered down. Shutting down an antenna site may be performed at a very low traffic time, such as the middle of the night. In such a case, it is likely that many of the BBUs may be powered down, because of the reduced power load. However, one or more of the BBUs may be rerouted to another RRU. When a BBU is to be powered down, the BBU is powered down in step 730. On the other hand, when the BBU is not to be powered down, the BBU is linked to another RRU, for example by reconfiguring connections in a photonic switch, in step 728. [0128] After step 730 or step 728, the system determines if there are more BBUs that were previously linked to RRUs that were powered down in step 729. When there are more BBUs to examine, in step 726, it is determined if the next BBU is to be powered down. When there are not more BBUs to examine, they system proceeds to step 732.).
Regarding claim 21 and 22, Gra teaches a communication system/ a management control device comprising:
one or more wireless stations configured to perform wireless communication with one or more terminals (Gra, fig. 1, [0038]-[0050]: Examiner views RRU 132 and its associated antenna 148 as the wireless station, and the user devices as the terminals. [0045] In the reverse direction, RRU 132 receives the incoming cellular traffic from user devices, which is encoded in an upstream coding constellation, for example a QAM format. RRU 132 may recover the I and Q components from the receiver intermediate frequency signal. The I and Q components are fed into a high speed A/D converter, before the digital data is multiplexed with the RRU control channel, and converted into an optical signal. Alternatively the receiver intermediate frequency signal is oversampled and transmitted digitally to the BBU for I and Q extraction. In either example, the BBU performs the decoding functions on the modulation constellation.);
a plurality of distributed stations connected, directly or via another device, to the one or more wireless stations (Gra, fig. 1 and 8, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074]: Examiner views BBUs 264 as plurality of distributed stations, RRUs 272 as one or more wireless stations, and photonic switch 266 as another device. [0061] FIG. 8 illustrates C-RAN 260. C-RAN 260 contains network edge switch 262 coupled to BBUs 264. Photonic switch 266 is optically coupled between BBUs 264 and RRUs 272, which are associated with antennas 270, 278, 286, and 294 forming antenna sites. Initially, antenna 270 has a coverage area 268, antenna 278 has a coverage area 276, antenna 286 has a coverage area 282, and antenna 294 has a coverage area 292.);
a cooperation information collector configured to acquire, from each of the plurality of distributed stations, cooperation information used for optical path switching judgment, the cooperation information being a combination of information regarding the one or more wireless stations connected to the plurality of distributed stations and information regarding a communication of the plurality of distributed stations (Gra, fig. 1, 8, 15, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074], [0075]-[0136]: Examiner views traffic mapping block 314 as cooperation information collector and the traffic-load information collected from BBUs 264 as the cooperation information used for optical path switching judgement. [0082] BBUs 264 feed their current measured traffic load level to traffic mapping block 314. Then, traffic mapping block 314 collects data from the BBUs about their current or recent traffic loads, and hence their associated RRU or antenna site loads. [0083] The RRU activation target map is fed to computation block 316. Computation block 316 computes options for an idealized BBU-RRU mapping and compares the options to the current BBU-RRU mapping from BBU-RRU association block 320. The purpose of this step is to identify the changes in provisioned capacity level, and hence the new RRU level activation map, while also disrupting or changing the minimum number of connections. [0085] Computation block 316 derives its action plan by applying the rules and algorithms of mapping rules block 318 to the required changed traffic capacity target map from the traffic mapping block 314. );
an optical path switching controller configured to control switching of an optical path between the one or more wireless stations and the plurality of distributed stations when it is determined, on the basis of the cooperation information, that the switching of the optical path between the one or more wireless stations and the plurality of distributed stations is required (Gra, fig. 1, 8, 15, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074], [0075]-[0136]: Examiner views computation block 316 together with photonic switch connection control block 322 as the optical path switching controller, wherein the traffic information supplied to computation block 316 is used to determine whether a BBU-RRU connection should be changed. [0085] Computation block 316 derives its action plan by applying the rules and algorithms of mapping rules block 318 to the required changed traffic capacity target map from the traffic mapping block 314. [0089] Computation block 316 analyzes the data from the BBU-RRU links and identifies from the traffic loading and a response algorithm from mapping rules block 318 that an action is needed. Computation block 316 consults with BBU-RRU association block 320 to obtain a list of spare RRUs and the locations of the spare RRUs from the RRU location map. When computation block 316 determines that one of the spare RRUs is in the same antenna site as the RRU that is approaching overload, it consults mapping rules block 318 to identify a spare BBU. [0090] computation block 316 writes the changes to BBU-RRU association block 320. Also, computation block 316 causes photonic switch connection control block 322 to appropriately set the connections in photonic switch 266 to implement the new mapping.)..
Regarding claim 23, Gra-Sar teaches a distributed station connected to a wireless station configured to perform wireless communication with one or more terminals,
the distributed station comprising:
a transmitter configured to transmit, to a management control device, cooperation information used for at least optical path switching judgment, the cooperation information being a combination of information regarding connected wireless station and information regarding a communication of the distributed station (Gra, fig. 1, 8, 15, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074], [0075]-[0136]: Examiner views traffic mapping block 314 as cooperation information collector and the traffic-load information collected from BBUs 264 as the cooperation information used for optical path switching judgement. [0082] BBUs 264 feed their current measured traffic load level to traffic mapping block 314. Then, traffic mapping block 314 collects data from the BBUs about their current or recent traffic loads, and hence their associated RRU or antenna site loads. [0083] The RRU activation target map is fed to computation block 316. Computation block 316 computes options for an idealized BBU-RRU mapping and compares the options to the current BBU-RRU mapping from BBU-RRU association block 320. The purpose of this step is to identify the changes in provisioned capacity level, and hence the new RRU level activation map, while also disrupting or changing the minimum number of connections. [0085] Computation block 316 derives its action plan by applying the rules and algorithms of mapping rules block 318 to the required changed traffic capacity target map from the traffic mapping block 314.);
a receiver configured to receive an optical path switching instruction between the wireless station and the distributed station indicating that the management control device has determined, on the basis of the cooperation information, that switching of an optical path between the wireless station and the distributed station is required (Gra, fig. 1, 8, 15, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074], [0075]-[0136]: Examiner views computation block 316 together with photonic switch connection control block 322 as the optical path switching controller, wherein the traffic information supplied to computation block 316 is used to determine whether a BBU-RRU connection should be changed. [0085] Computation block 316 derives its action plan by applying the rules and algorithms of mapping rules block 318 to the required changed traffic capacity target map from the traffic mapping block 314. [0089] Computation block 316 analyzes the data from the BBU-RRU links and identifies from the traffic loading and a response algorithm from mapping rules block 318 that an action is needed. Computation block 316 consults with BBU-RRU association block 320 to obtain a list of spare RRUs and the locations of the spare RRUs from the RRU location map. When computation block 316 determines that one of the spare RRUs is in the same antenna site as the RRU that is approaching overload, it consults mapping rules block 318 to identify a spare BBU. [0090] computation block 316 writes the changes to BBU-RRU association block 320. Also, computation block 316 causes photonic switch connection control block 322 to appropriately set the connections in photonic switch 266 to implement the new mapping.); and
Thus, the system of Gra does not explicitly teach a sleep processor configured to transition to a sleep state after the switching of the optical path is performed, in accordance with the optical path switching instruction.
Similar to the system of Gra, Sar teaches a sleep controller that selects ONUs and RRHs to be placed in a sleep state based on usage-bandwidth and coverage information, and a sleep control unit that generates a sleep command for each RRH selected for sleep, which can be seen as, a sleep processor configured to transition to a sleep state after the switching of the optical path is performed, in accordance with the optical path switching instruction (Sar, fig. 2, 4-5, [0047]-[0082], [0084]-[0120]: Examiner views selection of low-traffic ONUs and RRHs for sleep and generation of sleep commands for the selected RRHs as corresponding to the sleep-controller functionality. [0085] an RRH and an ONU that are not performing communication or an RRH and an ONU with low communication traffic among the plurality of RRHs 600 and ONUs 400 are set in a sleep state. [0111] The sleep control unit of the control processor in the BBU generates a downlink RRH control signal containing a sleep command for each RRH to be switched to a sleep state.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gra with Sar to reduce power consumption by transitioning unneeded or low-traffic network units to a sleep state (Sar, [0021]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 24, Gra-Sar teaches a communication system comprising:
one or more wireless stations configured to perform wireless communication with one or more terminals (Gra, fig. 1, [0038]-[0050]: Examiner views RRU 132 and its associated antenna 148 as the wireless station, and the user devices as the terminals. [0045] In the reverse direction, RRU 132 receives the incoming cellular traffic from user devices, which is encoded in an upstream coding constellation, for example a QAM format. RRU 132 may recover the I and Q components from the receiver intermediate frequency signal. The I and Q components are fed into a high speed A/D converter, before the digital data is multiplexed with the RRU control channel, and converted into an optical signal. Alternatively the receiver intermediate frequency signal is oversampled and transmitted digitally to the BBU for I and Q extraction. In either example, the BBU performs the decoding functions on the modulation constellation.);
a plurality of distributed stations connected, directly or via another device, to the one or more wireless stations (Gra, fig. 1 and 8, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074]: Examiner views BBUs 264 as plurality of distributed stations, RRUs 272 as one or more wireless stations, and photonic switch 266 as another device. [0061] FIG. 8 illustrates C-RAN 260. C-RAN 260 contains network edge switch 262 coupled to BBUs 264. Photonic switch 266 is optically coupled between BBUs 264 and RRUs 272, which are associated with antennas 270, 278, 286, and 294 forming antenna sites. Initially, antenna 270 has a coverage area 268, antenna 278 has a coverage area 276, antenna 286 has a coverage area 282, and antenna 294 has a coverage area 292.);
a management control device connected to each of the plurality of distributed stations (Gra, fig. 1, 8, 15, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074], [0075]-[0136]: [0039] In a radio access network (RAN), cellular wireless system, functionality is co-located with the antenna site. However, in a C-RAN, the per-user and per-service functions, the radio control functions, and the coding functions are centralized. The field-located functions may be limited to analog RF functions and the digital-to-analog (D/A) and analog-to-digital (A/D) functions to link the digitally formatted modem I and Q data to the analog RF functions. Also, the residual synchronization, control, and slave operations administration and management (OAM) functions for field equipment are in the antenna.); and
wherein the management control device comprises (Gra, fig. 1, 8, 15, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074], [0075]-[0136]: [0042] In C-RAN 100, data to be delivered to end users' systems enter BBU 102 from a data center or data network in the form of transmission control protocol internet protocol (TCP/IP) packet streams addressed to the users' IP addresses. The data streams are buffered in mapping block 104 to be forwarded to the users when the flow control across the wireless system has the capacity. As packets are forwarded, they pass through demultiplexer 114 and queues 118. The streams are multiplexed with streams from wireless link control processing block 106 by multiplexers 120. Then, the streams are multiplexed by multiplexer 124. The composite data stream, which is the data stream to be transmitted, is forwarded to digital coding block 110.);
a cooperation information collector configured to acquire, from each of the plurality of distributed stations, cooperation information used for at least optical path switching judgment (Gra, fig. 1, 8, 15, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074], [0075]-[0136]: Examiner views traffic mapping block 314 as cooperation information collector and the traffic-load information collected from BBUs 264 as the cooperation information used for optical path switching judgement. [0082] BBUs 264 feed their current measured traffic load level to traffic mapping block 314. Then, traffic mapping block 314 collects data from the BBUs about their current or recent traffic loads, and hence their associated RRU or antenna site loads. [0083] The RRU activation target map is fed to computation block 316. Computation block 316 computes options for an idealized BBU-RRU mapping and compares the options to the current BBU-RRU mapping from BBU-RRU association block 320. The purpose of this step is to identify the changes in provisioned capacity level, and hence the new RRU level activation map, while also disrupting or changing the minimum number of connections. [0085] Computation block 316 derives its action plan by applying the rules and algorithms of mapping rules block 318 to the required changed traffic capacity target map from the traffic mapping block 314. );
an optical path switching controller configured to control switching of an optical path between the one or more wireless stations and the plurality of distributed stations when it is determined, on the basis of the cooperation information, that the switching of the optical path between the one or more wireless stations and the plurality of distributed stations is required (Gra, fig. 1, 8, 15, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074], [0075]-[0136]: Examiner views computation block 316 together with photonic switch connection control block 322 as the optical path switching controller, wherein the traffic information supplied to computation block 316 is used to determine whether a BBU-RRU connection should be changed. [0085] Computation block 316 derives its action plan by applying the rules and algorithms of mapping rules block 318 to the required changed traffic capacity target map from the traffic mapping block 314. [0089] Computation block 316 analyzes the data from the BBU-RRU links and identifies from the traffic loading and a response algorithm from mapping rules block 318 that an action is needed. Computation block 316 consults with BBU-RRU association block 320 to obtain a list of spare RRUs and the locations of the spare RRUs from the RRU location map. When computation block 316 determines that one of the spare RRUs is in the same antenna site as the RRU that is approaching overload, it consults mapping rules block 318 to identify a spare BBU. [0090] computation block 316 writes the changes to BBU-RRU association block 320. Also, computation block 316 causes photonic switch connection control block 322 to appropriately set the connections in photonic switch 266 to implement the new mapping.).; and
Thus, the system of Gra does not explicitly teach a controller configured to receive a sleep control instruction transmitted from the management control device and transition a sleep capable distributed station to a sleep state according to a received the sleep control instruction; a sleep controller configured to transmit the sleep control instruction to the controller
Similar to the system of Gra, Sar teaches a sleep controller that selects ONUs and RRHs to be placed in a sleep state based on usage-bandwidth and coverage information, and a sleep control unit that generates a sleep command for each RRH selected for sleep, which can be seen as, a controller configured to receive a sleep control instruction transmitted from the management control device and transition a sleep capable distributed station to a sleep state according to a received the sleep control instruction; a sleep controller configured to transmit the sleep control instruction to the controller (Sar, fig. 2, 4-5, [0047]-[0082], [0084]-[0120]: Examiner views selection of low-traffic ONUs and RRHs for sleep and generation of sleep commands for the selected RRHs as corresponding to the sleep-controller functionality. [0085] an RRH and an ONU that are not performing communication or an RRH and an ONU with low communication traffic among the plurality of RRHs 600 and ONUs 400 are set in a sleep state. [0111] The sleep control unit of the control processor in the BBU generates a downlink RRH control signal containing a sleep command for each RRH to be switched to a sleep state.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gra with Sar to reduce power consumption by transitioning unneeded or low-traffic network units to a sleep state (Sar, [0021]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 25, Gra-Sar teaches a communication system comprising:
one or more wireless stations configured to perform wireless communication with one or more terminals (Gra, fig. 1, [0038]-[0050]: Examiner views RRU 132 and its associated antenna 148 as the wireless station, and the user devices as the terminals. [0045] In the reverse direction, RRU 132 receives the incoming cellular traffic from user devices, which is encoded in an upstream coding constellation, for example a QAM format. RRU 132 may recover the I and Q components from the receiver intermediate frequency signal. The I and Q components are fed into a high speed A/D converter, before the digital data is multiplexed with the RRU control channel, and converted into an optical signal. Alternatively the receiver intermediate frequency signal is oversampled and transmitted digitally to the BBU for I and Q extraction. In either example, the BBU performs the decoding functions on the modulation constellation.);
a plurality of distributed stations connected via another device to the one or more wireless stations (Gra, fig. 1 and 8, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074]: Examiner views BBUs 264 as plurality of distributed stations, RRUs 272 as one or more wireless stations, and photonic switch 266 as another device. [0061] FIG. 8 illustrates C-RAN 260. C-RAN 260 contains network edge switch 262 coupled to BBUs 264. Photonic switch 266 is optically coupled between BBUs 264 and RRUs 272, which are associated with antennas 270, 278, 286, and 294 forming antenna sites. Initially, antenna 270 has a coverage area 268, antenna 278 has a coverage area 276, antenna 286 has a coverage area 282, and antenna 294 has a coverage area 292.);
a switching device configured to switch connection between the one or more wireless stations and the plurality of distributed stations (Gra, fig. 1, 7-8, 15, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074], [0075]-[0136]: Examiner views photonic switch as switching device configured to switch the optical connection between RRUs and BBUs. [0057] Photonic switch 226 is fully connected, so it can connect any BBU to any RRU in a non-blocking manner, without disturbing other optical streams. Photonic switch 226 has a low delay caused by the finite speed of light propagating through the optical path through that photonic switch.);
a cooperation information collector configured to acquire, from each of the plurality of distributed stations, cooperation information used for at least optical path switching judgment (Gra, fig. 1, 8, 15, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074], [0075]-[0136]: Examiner views traffic mapping block 314 as cooperation information collector and the traffic-load information collected from BBUs 264 as the cooperation information used for optical path switching judgement. [0082] BBUs 264 feed their current measured traffic load level to traffic mapping block 314. Then, traffic mapping block 314 collects data from the BBUs about their current or recent traffic loads, and hence their associated RRU or antenna site loads. [0083] The RRU activation target map is fed to computation block 316. Computation block 316 computes options for an idealized BBU-RRU mapping and compares the options to the current BBU-RRU mapping from BBU-RRU association block 320. The purpose of this step is to identify the changes in provisioned capacity level, and hence the new RRU level activation map, while also disrupting or changing the minimum number of connections. [0085] Computation block 316 derives its action plan by applying the rules and algorithms of mapping rules block 318 to the required changed traffic capacity target map from the traffic mapping block 314. ); and
an optical path switching controller configured to control switching of an optical path between the one or more wireless stations and the plurality of distributed stations when it is determined, on the basis of the cooperation information, that the switching of the optical path between the one or more wireless stations and the plurality of distributed stations is required (Gra, fig. 1, 8, 15, [0038]-[0050], [0051]-[0074], [0075]-[0136]: Examiner views computation block 316 together with photonic switch connection control block 322 as the optical path switching controller, wherein the traffic information supplied to computation block 316 is used to determine whether a BBU-RRU connection should be changed. [0085] Computation block 316 derives its action plan by applying the rules and algorithms of mapping rules block 318 to the required changed traffic capacity target map from the traffic mapping block 314. [0089] Computation block 316 analyzes the data from the BBU-RRU links and identifies from the traffic loading and a response algorithm from mapping rules block 318 that an action is needed. Computation block 316 consults with BBU-RRU association block 320 to obtain a list of spare RRUs and the locations of the spare RRUs from the RRU location map. When computation block 316 determines that one of the spare RRUs is in the same antenna site as the RRU that is approaching overload, it consults mapping rules block 318 to identify a spare BBU. [0090] computation block 316 writes the changes to BBU-RRU association block 320. Also, computation block 316 causes photonic switch connection control block 322 to appropriately set the connections in photonic switch 266 to implement the new mapping.).;
Thus, the system of Gra does not explicitly teach wherein the switching device comprises a sleep controller configured to transition a sleep capable distributed station to a sleep state.
Similar to the system of Gra, Sar teaches a sleep controller that selects ONUs and RRHs to be placed in a sleep state based on usage-bandwidth and coverage information, and a sleep control unit that generates a sleep command for each RRH selected for sleep, which can be seen as, wherein the switching device comprises a sleep controller configured to transition a sleep capable distributed station to a sleep state (Sar, fig. 2, 4-5, [0047]-[0082], [0084]-[0120]: Examiner views selection of low-traffic ONUs and RRHs for sleep and generation of sleep commands for the selected RRHs as corresponding to the sleep-controller functionality. [0085] an RRH and an ONU that are not performing communication or an RRH and an ONU with low communication traffic among the plurality of RRHs 600 and ONUs 400 are set in a sleep state. [0111] The sleep control unit of the control processor in the BBU generates a downlink RRH control signal containing a sleep command for each RRH to be switched to a sleep state.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gra with Sar to reduce power consumption by transitioning unneeded or low-traffic network units to a sleep state (Sar, [0021]-[0022]).
Conclusion
/F.L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468