DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
2. Claims 8 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 recites “an single-symbol” in lines 2 and 6 which should be corrected as “[[an]] a single-symbol”.
Claim 19 recites “an single-symbol” in lines 2 and 6 which should be corrected as “[[an]] a single-symbol”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 18 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 depends upon a cancelled claim 12.
Claim 25 recites that a network device performs the method of claim 11. However, claim 11 is a method performed by a user equipment (UE). Therefore, it is not clear how a method executed by a UE can also be performed by a network device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1, 3, 11, 13, 16, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al (US 20200162216, hereinafter to as Yang).
Re claim 1, Yang teaches a method for information indication, performed by a network device (Base station, Fig. 4-5), the method comprising:
(i) indicating demodulation reference signal (DMRS) information (RRC signaling providing DMRS parameters) of a user equipment (UE) to the UE (UE, Fig. 4-5), wherein the DMRS information (DMRS parameters, Par 0081-0083) comprises at least one of:
(ii) a DMRS type (DMRS configuration type), wherein the DMRS type comprises at least one of a first category of DMRS types (DMRS configuration type 1 or type2) (Fig. 2, Fig. 4-5, Par 0081, Par 0088-0090, Par 0092-0095) or a second category of DMRS types, the second category of DMRS types are enhanced types of the first category of DMRS types from a perspective of supporting a number of ports; or
(iii) DMRS port information corresponding to the UE (DMRS ports to use for transmission), wherein the DMRS port information indicates a DMRS port of a data channel allocated to the UE (DMRS port(s) allocated to the UE for PUSCH transmission) among ports supported by the DMRS type (allocated DMRS ports are supported by the indicated DMRS configuration type) (Fig. 2, Fig. 4-5, Par 0081, Par 0083, Par 0088-0090, Par 0092-0095, Par 0109-0111).
Re claims 3, 13, Yang teaches to send and indicate at least one of each DMRS type in the first category of DMRS types (DMRS configuration type 1 or 2) or each DMRS type in the second category of DMRS types to the UE via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling (RRC signaling providing DMRS parameters including DMRS configuration type 1 or 2) (Fig. 4-5, Par 0081, Par 0088-0090, Par 0092-0095).
Re claim 11, Yang teaches a method for information indication, performed by a user equipment (UE) (UE, Fig. 4-5), the method comprising:
(i) obtaining demodulation reference signal (DMRS) information of the UE (RRC signaling providing DMRS parameters, Fig. 4-5, Par 0081-0083) indicated by a network device (base station, Fig. 4-5), wherein the DMRS information (DMRS parameters, Par 0081-0083) comprises at least one of:
(ii) a DMRS type (DMRS configuration type), wherein the DMRS type comprises at least one of a first category of DMRS types (DMRS configuration type 1 or type2) (Fig. 2, Fig. 4-5, Par 0081, Par 0088-0090, Par 0092-0095) or a second category of DMRS types, the second category of DMRS types are enhanced types of the first category of DMRS types from a perspective of supporting a number of ports; or
(iii) DMRS port information corresponding to the UE (DMRS ports to use for transmission), wherein the DMRS port information indicates a DMRS port of a data channel allocated to the UE (DMRS port(s) allocated to the UE for PUSCH transmission) among ports supported by the DMRS type (allocated DMRS ports are supported by the indicated DMRS configuration type) (Fig. 2, Fig. 4-5, Par 0081, Par 0083, Par 0088-0090, Par 0092-0095, Par 0109-0111); and
(iv) determining the DMRS type and the DMRS port information (determining DMRS port and DMRS configuration type) (Fig. 4-5, Par 0083, Par 0089-0094, Par 0109-0113).
Claim 24 recites a user equipment performing the steps recited in claim 1 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1. Yang further teaches that the UE comprises a processor (1040, Fig. 10), and a memory (1030, Fig. 10) storing a computer program (1035, Fig. 10) to be executed by the processor (Par 0147, Par 0153-0154).
Re claim 16, Yang teaches to obtain a downlink control information (DCI) signaling sent by the network device, wherein a port indication field value of the DCI signaling indicates the DMRS port information (DCI providing DMRS port information) (Fig. 4-5, Par 0082-0083, Par 0089, Par 0092-0096).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 2, 4, 6-7, 9, 14, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Jang et al (US 20250193911, hereinafter referred to as Jang).
Re claim 2, Yang teaches that the first category of DMRS types comprise a DMRS type1 and a DMRS type2 (DMRS configuration type 1 or 2) (Fig. 2, Par 0081, Par 0083, Par 0088-0090).
Yang does not explicitly disclose that the second category of DMRS types comprise a DMRS type3 and a DMRS type4, wherein the DMRS type3 is an enhanced type of the DMRS type1; and the DMRS type4 is an enhanced type of the DMRS type2.
Jang teaches that the second category of DMRS types comprise a DMRS type3 (enhanced DMRS type 1) and a DMRS type4 (enhanced DMRS type 2), wherein the DMRS type3 is an enhanced type of the DMRS type1 (enhanced DMRS type 1 improves/enhances conventional DMRS type 1); and the DMRS type4 is an enhanced type of the DMRS type2 (enhanced DMRS type 2 improves conventional DMRS type 2) (Table 26-3, 26-4, Par 0385-0393, Par 0395-0398, Par 0401-0404, Par 0413, Par 0417).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang by including the step that the second category of DMRS types comprise a DMRS type3 and a DMRS type4, wherein the DMRS type3 is an enhanced type of the DMRS type1; and the DMRS type4 is an enhanced type of the DMRS type2, as taught by Jang for the purpose of improving services provided in a mobile communication system, as taught by Jang (Par 0007-0009, Par 0014).
Re claims 4, 14, Yang does not explicitly disclose to send first information and second information to the UE via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the first information is representation information corresponding to the DMRS type, and the second information indicates whether a DMRS type represented by the first information belongs to the first category of DMRS types or the second category of DMRS types; and wherein in response to the second information indicating that the DMRS type represented by the first information belongs to the second category of DMRS types, a DMRS type indicated by the RRC signaling is an enhanced DMRS type corresponding to the DMRS type represented by the first information; in response to the second information indicating that the DMRS type represented by the first information belongs to the first category of DMRS types, the DMRS type indicated by the RRC signaling is the DMRS type represented by the first information; or wherein indicating the DMRS type to the UE comprises: sending first information to the UE via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling and sending second information to the UE via a dynamic signaling, wherein the first information is representation information corresponding to the DMRS type, and the second information indicates whether a DMRS type represented by the first information belongs to the first category of DMRS types or the second category of DMRS types; and wherein in response to the second information indicating that the DMRS type represented by the first information belongs to the second category of DMRS types, a DMRS type indicated by the RRC signaling is an enhanced DMRS type corresponding to the DMRS type represented by the first information; in response to the second information indicating that the DMRS type represented by the first information belongs to the first category of DMRS types, the DMRS type indicated by the RRC signaling is the DMRS type represented by the first information.
Jang teaches to send first information (dmrs-type) and second information (RRC IE including dmrs-type-r18) to the UE via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling (RRC signaling), wherein the first information is representation information corresponding to the DMRS type (dmrs-type indicating conventional dmrs type 1 or type 2), and the second information indicates whether a DMRS type represented by the first information belongs to the first category of DMRS types or the second category of DMRS types (if configured, dmrs-type-r18 indicates one dmrs type 2, enhanced dmrs type 1, or enhanced dmrs type 2); and wherein in response to the second information indicating that the DMRS type represented by the first information belongs to the second category of DMRS types (enhanced dmrs type 1, or enhanced dmrs type 2), a DMRS type indicated by the RRC signaling is an enhanced DMRS type corresponding to the DMRS type represented by the first information (enhanced dmrs type indicated by dmrs-type-r18 is determined and conventional dmrs type indicated by dmrs-type is ignored); in response to the second information indicating that the DMRS type represented by the first information belongs to the first category of DMRS types, the DMRS type indicated by the RRC signaling is the DMRS type represented by the first information (if dmrs-type-r18 is not configured, conventional dmrs type indicated by the dmrs-type is used, if dmrs-type-r18 indicates conventional dmrs type 2, then the conventional dmrs type 2 is used) (Par 0385-0393); or wherein indicating the DMRS type to the UE comprises: sending first information to the UE via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling and sending second information to the UE via a dynamic signaling, wherein the first information is representation information corresponding to the DMRS type, and the second information indicates whether a DMRS type represented by the first information belongs to the first category of DMRS types or the second category of DMRS types; and wherein in response to the second information indicating that the DMRS type represented by the first information belongs to the second category of DMRS types, a DMRS type indicated by the RRC signaling is an enhanced DMRS type corresponding to the DMRS type represented by the first information; in response to the second information indicating that the DMRS type represented by the first information belongs to the first category of DMRS types, the DMRS type indicated by the RRC signaling is the DMRS type represented by the first information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang by including the step to send first information and second information to the UE via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the first information is representation information corresponding to the DMRS type, and the second information indicates whether a DMRS type represented by the first information belongs to the first category of DMRS types or the second category of DMRS types; and wherein in response to the second information indicating that the DMRS type represented by the first information belongs to the second category of DMRS types, a DMRS type indicated by the RRC signaling is an enhanced DMRS type corresponding to the DMRS type represented by the first information; in response to the second information indicating that the DMRS type represented by the first information belongs to the first category of DMRS types, the DMRS type indicated by the RRC signaling is the DMRS type represented by the first information; or wherein indicating the DMRS type to the UE comprises: sending first information to the UE via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling and sending second information to the UE via a dynamic signaling, wherein the first information is representation information corresponding to the DMRS type, and the second information indicates whether a DMRS type represented by the first information belongs to the first category of DMRS types or the second category of DMRS types; and wherein in response to the second information indicating that the DMRS type represented by the first information belongs to the second category of DMRS types, a DMRS type indicated by the RRC signaling is an enhanced DMRS type corresponding to the DMRS type represented by the first information; in response to the second information indicating that the DMRS type represented by the first information belongs to the first category of DMRS types, the DMRS type indicated by the RRC signaling is the DMRS type represented by the first information, as taught by Jang for the purpose of improving services provided in a mobile communication system, as taught by Jang (Par 0007-0009, Par 0014).
Re claims 6, 17, Yang does not explicitly disclose that in response to the network device needing to indicate a DMRS type in the second category of DMRS types, indicating the DMRS port information to the UE comprises: determining a first correspondence for each DMRS type in the second category of DMRS types, wherein the first correspondence is a correspondence between a port indication field value of a downlink control information (DCI) signaling and the DMRS port information; and indicating the DMRS port information by sending the DCI signaling to the UE based on the first correspondence.
Jang teaches that in response to the network device needing to indicate a DMRS type in the second category of DMRS types (enhanced DMRS type 1, enhanced DMRS type 2), indicating the DMRS port information (DMRS port indication, Par 0363, Par 0428-0432, Par 0520-0526, Table 27-1, 27-2, 31-1, 31-2) to the UE comprises: determining a first correspondence for each DMRS type in the second category of DMRS types (Table 27-1, 27-2, 31-1, 31-2 indicate DMRS port corresponding to enhanced DMRS type 1, enhanced DMRS type 2), wherein the first correspondence is a correspondence between a port indication field value of a downlink control information (DCI) signaling (antenna port field in DCI) and the DMRS port information (DMRS ports indicated in table 27-1 corresponding to 64 entries and each entry (associated with DMRS ports) can be expressed in 4, 5, 6, or 7 bits in the DCI, Par 0363, Par 0428-0432; for enhanced DMRS type 2, each entry in table 31-1, 31-2 is associated with a number of DMRS ports); and indicating the DMRS port information by sending the DCI signaling to the UE based on the first correspondence (DCI indicating an entry associated with table 27-1, 27-2 for enhanced DMRS type 1 and table 31-1, 31-2 for enhanced DMRS type 2 to determine the corresponding DMRS ports) (Fig. 24-25, Table 27-1, 27-2, 31-1, 31-2, Table 33-1 to 33-4, Par 0363, Par 0428-0432, Par 0520-0526, Par 0531-0534, Par 0537-0539).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang by including the step that in response to the network device needing to indicate a DMRS type in the second category of DMRS types, indicating the DMRS port information to the UE comprises: determining a first correspondence for each DMRS type in the second category of DMRS types, wherein the first correspondence is a correspondence between a port indication field value of a downlink control information (DCI) signaling and the DMRS port information; and indicating the DMRS port information by sending the DCI signaling to the UE based on the first correspondence, as taught by Jang for the purpose of improving services provided in a mobile communication system, as taught by Jang (Par 0007-0009, Par 0014).
Re claims 7, 18, Yang teaches that the DMRS information further comprises a symbol length of the DMRS type, and the symbol length comprises one symbol or two symbols (maximum number of DMRS symbols) (Par 0081-0083, Par 0088-0090).
Re claims 9, 20, Yang does not explicitly disclose that in response to the network device needing to indicate a DMRS type in the second category of DMRS types, indicating the DMRS port information to the UE comprises: determining a second correspondence for each DMRS type in the first category of DMRS types, wherein the second correspondence is a correspondence between a port indication field value of a downlink control information (DCI) signaling and the DMRS port information; and indicating the DMRS port information to the UE by sending the DCI signaling based on the second correspondence.
Jang teaches that in response to the network device needing to indicate a DMRS type in the second category of DMRS types, indicating the DMRS port information to the UE comprises: determining a second correspondence for each DMRS type in the first category of DMRS types (table 25-1 to 25-8 DMRS ports corresponding DMRS type 1 and DMRS type 2), wherein the second correspondence is a correspondence between a port indication field value of a downlink control information (DCI) signaling (antenna port filed in DCI indicating an entry corresponding to table 25-1 to 25-8) and the DMRS port information (each entry in table 25-1 to 25-8 indicates the associated DMRS ports); and indicating the DMRS port information to the UE by sending the DCI signaling based on the second correspondence (antenna port field in DCI indicating an entry in table 25-1 to 25-8 to determine the corresponding DMRS ports) (Table 5, Table 7, table 25-1 to 25-8, Par 0363-0365, Par 0367, Par 0376, Par 0379, Par 0428-0432).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang by including the step that in response to the network device needing to indicate a DMRS type in the second category of DMRS types, indicating the DMRS port information to the UE comprises: determining a second correspondence for each DMRS type in the first category of DMRS types, wherein the second correspondence is a correspondence between a port indication field value of a downlink control information (DCI) signaling and the DMRS port information; and indicating the DMRS port information to the UE by sending the DCI signaling based on the second correspondence, as taught by Jang for the purpose of improving services provided in a mobile communication system, as taught by Jang (Par 0007-0009, Par 0014).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 10, 19, and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HARUN CHOWDHURY/Examiner, Art Unit 2473