Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 3, line 7, θw should read θwg. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zilkie et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2019/0310496 A1) in view of Shindo et al. (WIPO Pub. WO2021059447 A1), Skogen (U.S. Patent 12,355,209 B1) and Ishizaka (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2010/0086255 A1). In the following explanation, U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2010/0086255 A1 is used as an English translation of Shindo et al.
Regarding claim 1, Zilkie et al. teaches in FIG. 3B an optical transmitter, comprising: a distributed feedback (DFB) laser 201 having an active region formed as a multiple quantum well (see paragraph [0030]); an electro-absorption (EA) modulator (EAM) having an absorption region formed as a multiple quantum well; a semiconductor amplifier (SOA); a bent waveguide that rotates a light propagation direction by an angle θwg (the waveguide in FIG. 3B rotates the light propagation by an angle of 180°); and wherein the DFB laser, the EA modulator, the SOA, the bent waveguide, are monolithically integrated on one substrate.
The differences between Zilkie et al. and the claimed invention are (a) Zilkie et al. does not teach that the laser generates an optical gain by current injection and a diffraction grating, (b) Zilkie et al. does not teach that the EAM has composition different from a composition of the DFB laser and the SOA has an active region having a same composition as the composition of the DFB laser, (c) a passive waveguide having a tapered region and a narrow waveguide region, the tapered region converts a width W1 of the passive waveguide connected to the SOA into a width W2 of the narrow waveguide region, where W1 > W2 is satisfied, and the passive waveguide forms the angle θwg with respect to a normal line to an end surface of the substrate and is in contact with the end surface of the substrate.
Shindo et al. teaches in FIG. 2 an optical transmitter comprising a DFB laser, an EAM and a SOA. Shindo et al. teaches in paragraph [0004] the DFB laser has a driving current and a diffraction grating. Shindo et al. teaches in paragraph [0004] that the EAM has a composition different from that of the DFB laser and in paragraph [0009] that the SOA has an active region with an identical composition as the active region of the DFB laser. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Shindo et al. with the optical transmitter of Zilkie et al. because Shindo et al. provides the details of implementation that are missing from Zilkie et al. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use current injection and include a diffraction grating in the DFB laser, use the same composition as the DFB laser active region for the SOA and use different composition as the DFB laser for the EAM, as taught by Shindo et al., in the optical transmitter of Zilkie et al.
The combination of Zilkie et al. and Shindo et al. still fails to teach a passive waveguide with a tapered region and a narrow waveguide region. Skogen teaches in FIG. 1 a SOA with a spot-size converter region 180 so that the output optical mode has a good overlap with an output optical fiber. Ishizaka teaches in FIG. 11 that a spot-size converter has a taper region 14 and a linear region 13. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Skogen and Ishizaka with the modified system of Zilkie et al. and Shindo et al. because a spot-size converter provides an output optical mode that has a good overlap with an output fiber. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a spot-size converter at the output of the transmitter, as taught by Skogen and Ishizaka, in the modified system of Zilkie et al. and Shindo et al. The Examiner notes that Zilkie et al. teaches the passive waveguide forms an angle of 180° with respect to a normal line to the end surface (the bottom surface of FIG. 3B of Zilkie et al.).
Regarding claim 2, Zilkie et al. teaches in FIG. 6 that a plurality of optoelectronic devices can be disposed on a single wafer or chip.
Regarding claim 3, Zilkie et al. teaches that the substrate is an InP substrate (see paragraph [0030]), the DFB laser, the EA modulator, and the SOA are formed on a (100) surface of the InP substrate, the DFB laser has an optical axis in a direction of a substrate crystal orientation [011], and the passive waveguide forms an angle of 180° with respect to the substrate crystal orientation [011] and is in contact with the end surface of the substrate (see FIG. 3B).
Regarding claim 10, Zilkie et al. teaches in paragraph [0043] that the pitch (the distance between the output waveguide in device 200a and the respective output waveguide in device 200b) is less than 250 μm. Even though Zilkie et al. does not teach the exact value as claimed. However, the Examiner recognizes that the claimed difference exists not as a result of an attempt by applicant to solve a problem but merely amounts to selection of expedients known to the artisan of ordinary skill as design choices.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SHI K LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635