DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
The claims recite, “A computer-readable storage medium”. However, the claim is not limited to statutory subject matter. The specification does not define the computer-readable medium in such a way to exclude non-statutory matter. The claim covers both statutory and non-statutory embodiments (under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim when read in light of the specification and in view of one skilled in the art) embraces subject matter that is not eligible for patent protection and therefore is directed to non-statutory subject matter (See MPEP § 2106, I, Step 1).
Under the principles of compact prosecution, the claims have been examined as the Examiner anticipates the claims will be amended to obviate these 35 U.S.C. issues. For example, --A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium…--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-11, 13-17, 26, 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al. (US 2024/0284516 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses a random access method, performed by a terminal device (Abstract), comprising: sending a first random access message to a network device repeatedly at a plurality of random access occasions (paragraph [0056]; [0085]-[0086]; [0111]; and so on, describing a PRACH repetition transmission by a terminal on a plurality of random occasions, ROs); determining, based on at least one or more parameters of one of the plurality of random access occasions, a random access-radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI) of the terminal device (figs. 5-6; paragraph [0135]-[0142]; [0150]-[0157]; [0196]-[0205]; [0240]-[0253]; and so on, illustrating determining the random access radio network temporary identifier based on parameters of one reference random occasions); and detecting a second random access message or a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) sent by the network device by using the RA-RNTI (paragraph [0137]; [0147]; [0242]; [0345]; and etc., describing monitoring and/or detecting and/or determining RAR based on RA-RNTI).
Regarding claim 7. Wu discloses random access method, performed by a network device (12), comprising: receiving a first random access message repeatedly sent by a terminal device (11) at a plurality of random access occasions (paragraph [0056]; [0085]-[0086]; [0111]; and so on, describing network-side device receives a PRACH repetition transmission transmitted by a terminal on a plurality of random occasions, ROs); determining, based on at least one or more parameters of according to one of the plurality of random access occasions, a random access-radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI) of the terminal device (figs. 5-6; paragraph [0135]-[0142]; [0150]-[0157]; [0196]-[0205]; [0240]-[0253]; and so on, illustrating determining the random access radio network temporary identifier based on parameters of one reference random occasions); and sending a second random access message or a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) scrambled with the RA-RNTI to the terminal device (paragraph [0137]; [0147]; [0242]; [0345]; and etc., describing RAR based on RA-RNTI is sent from the network-side device to the terminal to be monitored and/or detected and/or determined by the terminal).
Regarding claim 13, Wu further discloses a terminal device, comprising a processor and a memory having a computer program stored thereon (Fig.10; and so on, describing a communication device (1000) comprising a processor (1001) and a memory (1002)), wherein the processor is configured to send a first random access message to a network device repeatedly at a plurality of random access occasions (paragraph [0056]; [0085]-[0086]; [0111]; and so on, describing a PRACH repetition transmission by a terminal on a plurality of random occasions, ROs); determine, based on at least one or more parameters of one of the plurality of random access occasions, a random access-radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI) of the terminal device (figs. 5-6; paragraph [0135]-[0142]; [0150]-[0157]; [0196]-[0205]; [0240]-[0253]; and so on, illustrating determining the random access radio network temporary identifier based on parameters of one reference random occasions); and detect a second random access message or a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) sent by the network device by using the RA-RNTI (paragraph [0137]; [0147]; [0242]; [0345]; and etc., describing monitoring and/or detecting and/or determining RAR based on RA-RNTI).
Regarding claim 26, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 7 above. The claim is a mere reformulation of claim 7 to define the corresponding network device, and the rejection to claim 7 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 29, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1 above. The claim is a mere reformulation of claim 1 to define the corresponding computer-readable storage medium, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 30, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 7 above. The claim is a mere reformulation of claim 7 to define the corresponding computer-readable storage medium, and the rejection to claim 7 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 2, 8, and 14, Wu further discloses determining, based on at least one or more parameters of one of the plurality of random access occasions, the RA-RNTI of the terminal device comprises: determining, according to a protocol agreement ( paragraph [0065]; and so on, describing the parameters of the random occasion set are determined according to a preset rule), a target random access occasion among the plurality of random access occasions (figs. 5-6, illustrating determining a reference random access occasion among the plurality of occasions); and determining the RA-RNTI of the terminal device according to the target random access occasion (figs. 5-6; paragraph [0135]-[0142]; [0150]-[0157]; [0196]-[0205]; [0240]-[0253], illustrating determining the random access radio network temporary identifier of the reference random access occasion).
Regarding claim 3, 9, and 15, Wu further discloses, an index of the target random access occasion has an association relation with a number of the plurality of random access occasions (e.g. Fig. 5-6).
Regarding claim 4 and 16, Wu further discloses wherein determining, based on at least one or more parameters of one of the plurality of random access occasions, the RA-RNTI of the terminal device comprises: receiving indication information sent by the network device (such as paragraph [0217]; and so on, describing the parameters of the random occasion set are determined according to a configuration from the network side device), wherein the indication information is used to determine a target random access occasion among the plurality of random access occasions (paragraph [0137]; [0147]; [0242]; [0345]; and etc., describing determining a reference random access occasion among the plurality of occasions); and determining the RA-RNTI of the terminal device according to the target random access occasion ((paragraph [0137]; [0147]; [0242]; [0345]; and so on, illustrating determining the random access radio network temporary identifier of a reference random access occasion from the set of random occasions).
Regarding claim 5, 11, and 17, Wu further discloses determining, according to system frame numbers (SFNs) of system frames where the plurality of random access occasions are, a target random access occasion among the plurality of random access occasions (paragraph [0299]; and etc., illustrating a parameter of the random occasion set includes an index value of a unit of time in which the random occasion is located, where the time unit includes at least one of: a frame, subframe, slot, or symbol); and determining the RA-RNTI of the terminal device according to the target random access occasion ((paragraph [0137]; [0147]; [0242]; [0345]; and etc., illustrating determining the random access radio network temporary identifier based on a reference random access occasion from the set of random occasions); wherein indexes of target random access occasions in two groups of random access occasions in adjacent system frames are different (e.g. Figs. 5-6; paragraph [0102]-[0111]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 10, Wu discloses wherein determining, based on at least one or more parameters of according to one of the plurality of random access occasions, the RA-RNTI of the terminal device comprises: determining a target random access occasion among the plurality of random access occasions (e.g. figs. 5-6; paragraph [0141]-[0148]; [0159]-[0188]; [0218]-[0232]; and so on); determining the RA-RNTI of the terminal device according to the target random access occasion (figs. 5-6; paragraph [0135]-[0142]; [0150]-[0157]; [0196]-[0205]; [0240]-[0253]; and etc.); and sending indication information to the terminal device, wherein the indication information indicates the target random access occasion (paragraph [0074]; [0092]-[0093]; [0101]; and so on).
Regarding claim 31-32, Wu further discloses comprising: determining a last random access occasion among the plurality of random access occasions as a target random access occasion (paragraph [0143]-[0147]; and so on); determining the RA-RNTI of the terminal device according to the target random access occasion (e.g. paragraph [0047]).
Conclusion
/KIBROM T HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461