DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 19, 20, 22, 23, 26-28 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kron (US 11,731,710).
Regarding Claims 1 and 22, Kron discloses an underbody assembly for a vehicle, comprised of an elongated panel 21 configured to be coupled to a mounting structure 20 that is configured to be coupled to an underbody of the vehicle (Fig. 2) such that the elongated panel is positioned between wheels located on a first side of the vehicle and wheels located on a second side of the vehicle (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 2, the vehicle includes a front set of wheels (Fig. 5) and at least one set of rear wheels (Fig. 5), and wherein the elongated panel extends from a first location proximal to the front set of wheels (directly beside), to a second location proximal to the at least one set of rear wheels (proximal to the front of the rear wheels).
Regarding Claim 3, the elongated panel 21 is positioned between the front set of wheels, and the at least one set of rear wheels (two panels make up elongated panel, one between each set of wheels).
Regarding Claim 5, the elongated panel 21 may be a single piece (Fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 6, the elongated panel 31 may comprise a plurality of panel portions (two separate portions; Fig. 8), and wherein the plurality of panel portions assembled together (assembled together via the chassis) comprise a length of the elongated panel.
Regarding Claims 7, 19 and 20, the plurality of panel portions 21 assembled together include a first panel portion and a second panel portion that are spaced apart by a gap (Fig. 6) and parallel.
Regarding Claims 8-10, the elongated panel 21 is positioned at an angle with respect to a vertical axis, which is 0 degrees (Fig. 6).
Regarding Claims 17 and 28, the mounting structure is coupled to a chassis frame rail of the vehicle (via the axle and suspension).
Regarding Claim 23, the underbody assembly is a first underbody assembly, and wherein the vehicle comprises a second underbody assembly comprising at least one additional elongated panel 21 configured to couple to another mounting structure on the underbody of the vehicle (Fig. 4), such that the at least one additional elongated panel is positioned proximal to rear wheels of the vehicle and extends further toward a rear of the vehicle (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 26, Kron discloses a method comprised of coupling an elongated panel 21 to a mounting structure 20; and coupling the mounting structure to an underbody of the vehicle (via the axles and suspension), such that the elongated panel extends between wheels located on a first side of the vehicle and wheels located on a second side of the vehicle (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 27, the elongated panel 21 is coupled to the mounting structure 20 before the mounting structure is coupled to the underbody.
Regarding Claim 31, the elongated panel 21 comprises one of a pair of elongated panels (Fig. 2) that couple in spaced-apart relation between the wheels on the first side and the wheels on the second side (Fig. 2), such that the pair of elongated panels are substantially parallel to each other.
Regarding Claim 32, the elongated panel 21 comprises one of a pair of elongated panels (Fig. 2) that are mounted in spaced-apart relation between the wheels on the first side and the wheels on the second side (Fig. 2), such that the pair of elongated panels are positioned at an angle relative to each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kron as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Senatro (US 2014/0217776).
Regarding Claim 4, Kron does not appear to disclose any set dimensions for the panel. Senatro discloses an underbody fairing assembly for a vehicle (Fig. 1), wherein the lengths of the panels may be less than 3 meters (paragraph 0047), heights are between 0.05 and 0.8 meters, and the thickness is between 0.01 and 0.1 meters (paragraph 0049). Senatro also discloses that the sizes of the panels may be changed to accommodate different sized vehicles as needed. Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to size the panels of Kron with the limits of Senatro in order to fit a specific sized vehicle, but to able to vary the dimensions as needed for other vehicles.
Claim(s) 24 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kron as applied to claims 22 and 23 above, and further in view of Butler (US 2021/0197902).
Regarding Claims 24 and 25, Kron appears to disclose the use of the panel device for the rear axles of a trailer type vehicle. Butler discloses the use of aerodynamic devices associated to the drive wheels of a tractor that is capable of being coupled to a trailer. Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use the device of Kron on the rear drive axles of Butler in order to further improve the airflow around the axles to reduce the fuel consumption, as is taught by Kron.
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kron as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Emery (US 10,343,731).
Regarding Claim 32, Kron does not appear to disclose the multiple panels set at an angle to each other. Emery discloses a panel device for use on the underbody of a vehicle, wherein each panel may be adjusted to be at angle to one another (see Fig.7 for multiple panels set at multiple angles). Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to allow the panels of Kron to be set an angle to one another in order to optimize the airflow, as needed, around the various underbody parts and axles.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-16, 18, 21, 29, 30, 33 and 34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claims 11-16 and 30, applicant’s use of an elongated panel assembly located between left and right side wheels of the underbody of a vehicle, wherein the vehicle includes a power source (tank or battery) positioned below it with the panel positioned between the ground and the power source, is novel.
Regarding Claims 18 and 29, applicant’s attachment of the underbody panel to the body side fairing of the vehicle is novel.
Regarding Claims 21 and 34, applicant’s use of different height for each of the panels such that one is closer to the ground, is novel.
Regarding Claim 33, having each of the panels a different length is novel.
Conclusion
/JASON S DANIELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612