DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 14 November 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6, 8-14, 17-22, 26 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0006988 by Leabman.
Regarding claim 1, Leabman discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at an energy transmitting UE [see at least Figure 1, (102a)], comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor [see at least Figure 1, (104) and (106); paragraph 0046] to cause the apparatus to: determine that the energy transmitting UE is to perform a plurality of transmissions [see at least Figure 19B], each transmission of the plurality of transmissions comprising a data transmission, an energy transmission to charge an energy receiving device in response to a request from the energy receiving device, or both [see at least Figure 19B, (1952)-(1970)]; select, based at least in part on an energy threshold and one or more parameters for prioritizing the plurality of transmissions [see at least paragraphs 0284-0285], one or more transmissions of the plurality of transmissions to perform [see at least Figure 19B]; and transmit the data transmission, the energy transmission to charge the energy receiving device, or both corresponding to the selection [see at least Figure 19B, (1952)-(1970)].
Regarding claim 2, Leabman discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions to select the one or more transmissions are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive the request from the energy receiving device [see at least Figure 19B, (1952)], the request indicating the one or more parameters of the energy receiving device [see at least Figure 19B, (1956); paragraph 0577]; determine a priority level of the request based at least in part on the one or more parameters of the energy receiving device [see at least Figure 19B, (1958)]; and select the energy transmission to charge the energy receiving device based at least in part on the priority level of the request satisfying a priority level threshold [see at least Figure 19B, (1964)].
Regarding claim 6, Leabman discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions to select the one or more transmissions are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive an indication of a first priority of data at the energy receiving device [see at least Figure 19B, (1956)]; and select the one or more transmissions based at least in part on comparing the first priority of the data at the energy receiving device and a second priority of the data transmission [see at least Figure 19B, (1958); paragraphs 0496-0497], wherein the selecting comprises: select the energy transmission to charge the energy receiving device based at least in part on the first priority being greater than the second priority in accordance with the comparing; or select the data transmission based at least in part on the second priority being greater than the first priority in accordance with the comparing [see at least paragraph 0577].
Regarding claim 8, Leabman discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions to select the one or more transmissions are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive control signaling indicating for the energy transmitting UE to prioritize the data transmission, the energy transmission to charge the energy receiving device, or both [see at least Figure 19B, (1956)-(1958)], according to a prioritization schedule in a time-domain, wherein the one or more parameters comprise the prioritization schedule in the time-domain [see at least paragraph 0268; paragraph 0439; paragraph 0565]; and select, at an instance in the time-domain, the one or more transmissions of the plurality of transmissions to perform based at least in part on the prioritization schedule [see at least Figure 19B, (1958)].
Regarding claim 9, Leabman discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a network entity, control signaling indicating the one or more parameters, the energy threshold, or both [see at least Figure 19B, (1956); paragraph 0230].
Regarding claim 10, Leabman discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine that transmitting the data transmission or the energy transmission to charge the energy receiving device corresponds to a first energy value less than the energy threshold [see at least Figure 19B, (1960)]; and transmit additional energy transmissions to charge an additional energy receiving device based at least in part on the energy value being less than the energy threshold, the additional energy transmissions corresponding to a second energy value comprising a difference between the first energy value and the energy threshold [see at least Figure 19B; there are multiple receivers that are charged/powered in a priority order].
Regarding claim 11, Leabman discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more parameters comprise a quality of service value of data associated with the energy receiving device, priority of data associated with the energy receiving device, a remaining packet delay budget of data associated with the energy receiving device, a current quality of service associated with charging the energy receiving device, a current transmit data rate condition associated with the energy receiving device, a current receive data rate condition associated with the energy receiving device, a UE class, an energy state of the energy receiving device, a current charging rate associated with the energy receiving device, a current discharging rate associated with the energy receiving device, a time of arrival of the request, or any combination thereof [see at least paragraphs 0284-0285].
Regarding claim 12, Leabman discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the UE class indicates a minimum or default charging rate of the energy receiving device, a minimum or default discharge rate of the energy receiving device, a transmit data rate of the energy receiving device, a receive data rate of the energy receiving device, a quality of service condition associated with charging the energy receiving device, a charging technique of the energy receiving device, a harvesting architecture of the energy receiving device, a capability to harvest radio frequency energy from one or more of frequency bands, a capability to harvest from different type of energy harvesting technologies, an application monitored by the energy receiving device, or any combination thereof [see at least paragraphs 0284-0285].
Regarding claim 13, Leabman discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the energy transmission comprises a repetition of the data transmission [see at least Figure 19B; the method is repeated].
Regarding claim 14, Leabman discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity [see at least Figure 1, (100), (116) and (118)], comprising: a processor [see at least Figure 1, (104)]; memory coupled with the processor [see at least Figure 1, (106)]; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor [see at least paragraph 0046] to cause the apparatus to: determine that an energy transmitting user equipment (UE) [see at least Figure 1, (102a)] is to perform a plurality of transmissions, each transmission of the plurality of transmissions comprising a data transmission, an energy transmission to charge an energy receiving device in response to a request from the energy receiving device, or both [see at least Figure 19B, (1952)-(1970)]; and transmit, to the energy transmitting UE and based at least in part on an energy threshold of the energy transmitting UE [see at least paragraphs 0284-0285], one or more parameters for prioritizing the plurality of transmissions at the energy transmitting UE [see at least Figure 19B, (1956)-(1958)].
Regarding claim 17, Leabman discloses the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit control signaling indicating for the energy transmitting UE to prioritize the data transmission, the energy transmission to charge the energy receiving device, or both [see at least Figure 19B, (1956)-(1958)], according to a prioritization schedule in a time-domain, wherein the one or more parameters comprise the prioritization schedule in the time-domain [see at least paragraph 0268; paragraph 0439; paragraph 0565].
Regarding claim 18, Leabman discloses the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit, to the energy transmitting UE, control signaling indicating the one or more parameters, the energy threshold, or both [see at least Figure 19B, (1956); paragraph 0230].
Regarding claim 19, Leabman discloses the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the one or more parameters comprise a quality of service value of data associated with the energy receiving device, priority of data associated with the energy receiving device, a remaining packet delay budget of data associated with the energy receiving device, a current quality of service associated with charging the energy receiving device, a current transmit data rate condition associated with the energy receiving device, a current receive data rate condition associated with the energy receiving device, a UE class, an energy state of the energy receiving device, a current charging rate associated with the energy receiving device, a current discharging rate associated with the energy receiving device, a time of arrival of the request, or any combination thereof [see at least paragraphs 0284-0285].
Regarding claim 20, Leabman discloses the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the UE class indicates a minimum or default charging rate of the energy receiving device, a minimum or default discharge rate of the energy receiving device, a transmit data rate of the energy receiving device, a receive data rate of the energy receiving device, a quality of service condition associated with charging the energy receiving device, a charging technique of the energy receiving device, a harvesting architecture of the energy receiving device, a capability to harvest radio frequency energy from one or more of frequency bands, a capability to harvest from different type of energy harvesting technologies, an application monitored by the energy receiving device, or any combination thereof [see at least paragraphs 0284-0285].
Regarding claim 21, Leabman discloses a method for wireless communication at an energy transmitting UE [see at least Figure 1, (102a)], comprising: determining that the energy transmitting UE is to perform a plurality of transmissions, each transmission of the plurality of transmissions comprising a data transmission, an energy transmission to charge an energy receiving device in response to a request from the energy receiving device, or both [see at least Figure 19B, (1952)-(1970)]; selecting, based at least in part on an energy threshold and one or more parameters for prioritizing the plurality of transmissions [see at least paragraphs 0284-0285], one or more transmissions of the plurality of transmissions to perform; and transmitting the data transmission, the energy transmission to charge the energy receiving device, or both corresponding to the selection [see at least Figure 19B, (1956)-(1958)].
Regarding claim 22, Leabman discloses the method of claim 21, wherein selecting the one or more transmissions comprises: receiving the request from the energy receiving device, the request indicating the one or more parameters of the energy receiving device [see at least Figure 19B, (1952)-(1956)]; determining a priority level of the request based at least in part on the one or more parameters of the energy receiving device [see at least Figure 19B, (1958)]; and selecting the energy transmission to charge the energy receiving device based at least in part on the priority level of the request satisfying a priority level threshold [see at least Figure 19B, (1960)-(1970)].
Regarding claim 26, Leabman disclose a method for wireless communication at a network entity [see at least Figure 1, (100), (116) and (118)], comprising: determining that an energy transmitting user equipment (UE) [see at least Figure 1, (102a)] is to perform a plurality of transmissions, each transmission of the plurality of transmissions comprising a data transmission, an energy transmission to charge an energy receiving device in response to a request from the energy receiving device, or both [see at least Figure 19B, (1952)-(1970)]; and transmitting, to the energy transmitting UE and based at least in part on an energy threshold of the energy transmitting UE [see at least paragraphs 0284-0285], one or more parameters for prioritizing the plurality of transmissions at the energy transmitting UE [see at least Figure 19B, (1956)-(1958)].
Regarding claim 29, Leabman discloses the method of claim 26, further comprising: transmitting control signaling indicating for the energy transmitting UE to prioritize the data transmission, the energy transmission to charge the energy receiving device, or both [see at least Figure 19B, (1956)-(1958)], according to a prioritization schedule in a time-domain, wherein the one or more parameters comprise the prioritization schedule in the time- domain [see at least paragraph 0268; paragraph 0439; paragraph 0565].
Regarding claim 30, Leabman discloses the method of claim 26, further comprising: transmitting, to the energy transmitting UE, control signaling indicating the one or more parameters, the energy threshold, or both [see at least Figure 19B, (1956); paragraph 0230].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5, 15, 23 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0006988 by Leabman in view of US 2015/0333536 by Ganem et al. (Ganem hereinafter).
Regarding claim 3, Leabman discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Leabman fails to explicitly disclose wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive control signaling indicating for the energy transmitting UE to prioritize the plurality of transmissions according to a first time of arrival of the request, wherein the one or more parameters comprise the time of arrival of the request. However, Ganem discloses this limitation [see at least paragraph 0078].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to prioritize receivers based on time of arrival of a request in order to transmit to receivers that have first requested transmission. Thus, allowing for first requested receivers to be serviced before later requested receivers and prioritizing earlier customers.
Regarding claim 4, Leabman in view of Ganem teaches the apparatus of claim 3.
Ganem discloses wherein the instructions to select the one or more transmissions are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: select the energy transmission to charge the energy receiving device based at least in part on the time of arrival of the request being before another time of arrival of a second request from a second energy receiving device [see at least paragraph 0078].
Regarding claim 5, Leabman in view of Ganem teaches the apparatus of claim 3.
Ganem discloses wherein the instructions to select the one or more transmissions are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: select the energy transmission to charge the energy receiving device, the data transmission, or both based at least in part on the time of arrival of the request satisfying a threshold time of arrival; or select the data transmission based at least in part on the time of arrival of the request failing to satisfy a threshold time of arrival [see at least paragraph 0078].
Regarding claim 15, Leabman discloses the apparatus of claim 14.
Leabman fails to explicitly disclose wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit control signaling indicating for the energy transmitting UE to prioritize the plurality of transmissions according to a first time of arrival of the request, wherein the one or more parameters comprise the time of arrival of the request. However, Ganem discloses this limitation [see at least paragraph 0078].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to prioritize receivers based on time of arrival of a request in order to transmit to receivers that have first requested transmission. Thus, allowing for first requested receivers to be serviced before later requested receivers and prioritizing earlier customers.
Regarding claim 23, Leabman discloses the method of claim 21.
Leabman fails to explicitly disclose further comprising: receiving control signaling indicating for the energy transmitting UE to prioritize the plurality of transmissions according to a first time of arrival of the request, wherein the one or more parameters comprise the time of arrival of the request. However, Ganem discloses this limitation [see at least paragraph 0078].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to prioritize receivers based on time of arrival of a request in order to transmit to receivers that have first requested transmission. Thus, allowing for first requested receivers to be serviced before later requested receivers and prioritizing earlier customers.
Regarding claim 27, Leabman discloses the method of claim 26.
Leabman fails to explicitly disclose further comprising: transmitting control signaling indicating for the energy transmitting UE to prioritize the plurality of transmissions according to a first time of arrival of the request, wherein the one or more parameters comprise the time of arrival of the request. However, Ganem discloses this limitation [see at least paragraph 0078].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to prioritize receivers based on time of arrival of a request in order to transmit to receivers that have first requested transmission. Thus, allowing for first requested receivers to be serviced before later requested receivers and prioritizing earlier customers.
Claims 7, 16, 24-25 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0006988 by Leabman in view of US 2021/0152022 by Kim et al. (Kim hereinafter).
Regarding claim 7, Leabman discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Leabman fails to disclose wherein the instructions to select the one or more transmissions are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive control signaling indicating for the energy transmitting UE to prioritize the data transmission, wherein the control signaling comprises the one or more parameters; and select the data transmission to perform based at least in part on the control signaling. However, Kim discloses this limitation [see at least paragraph 0107].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to prioritize data transmission in order to allow the system act as a communication device. Thus, expanding the communication area and allowing the system to identify more receivers that can be serviced leading to an expanded power network.
Regarding claim 16, Leabman discloses the apparatus of claim 14.
Leabman fails to disclose wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit control signaling indicating for the energy transmitting UE to prioritize the data transmission, wherein the control signaling comprises the one or more parameters. However, Kim discloses this limitation [see at least paragraph 0107].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to prioritize data transmission in order to allow the system act as a communication device. Thus, expanding the communication area and allowing the system to identify more receivers that can be serviced leading to an expanded power network.
Regarding claim 24, Leabman discloses the method of claim 21, wherein selecting the one or more transmissions comprises: receiving an indication of a first priority of data at the energy receiving device [see at least Figure 19B, (1958)]; and selecting the one or more transmissions based at least in part on comparing the first priority of the data at the energy receiving device and a second priority of the data transmission [see at least Figure 19B, (1956)-(1958); paragraphs 0284-0285], wherein the selecting comprises: selecting the energy transmission to charge the energy receiving device based at least in part on the first priority being greater than the second priority in accordance with the comparing [see at least Figure 19B, (1960)-(1970)].
Leabman fails to disclose or selecting the data transmission based at least in part on the second priority being greater than the first priority in accordance with the comparing. However, Kim discloses this limitation [see at least paragraph 0107].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to prioritize data transmission in order to allow the system act as a communication device. Thus, expanding the communication area and allowing the system to identify more receivers that can be serviced leading to an expanded power network.
Regarding claim 25, Leabman discloses the method of claim 21.
Leabman fails to disclose wherein selecting the one or more transmissions comprises: receiving control signaling indicating for the energy transmitting UE to prioritize the data transmission, wherein the control signaling comprises the one or more parameters; and selecting the data transmission to perform based at least in part on the control signaling. However, Kim discloses this limitation [see at least paragraph 0107].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to prioritize data transmission in order to allow the system act as a communication device. Thus, expanding the communication area and allowing the system to identify more receivers that can be serviced leading to an expanded power network.
Regarding claim 28, Leabman discloses the method of claim 26.
Leabman fails to disclose further comprising: transmitting control signaling indicating for the energy transmitting UE to prioritize the data transmission, wherein the control signaling comprises the one or more parameters. However, Kim discloses this limitation [see at least paragraph 0107].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to prioritize data transmission in order to allow the system act as a communication device. Thus, expanding the communication area and allowing the system to identify more receivers that can be serviced leading to an expanded power network.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Staring et al. (US 2025/0038581) discloses a wireless power transmission system that selects communication modes.
Butt et al. (US 2022/0346022) discloses energy harvesting systems with power/data transmission.
/JOEL BARNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/DANIEL CAVALLARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836