DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Akkarakaran et al. (US Application 2021/0037549, hereinafter Akkarakaran).
Regarding claims 1, 22, Akkarakaran discloses an apparatus for wireless communication, a method (Figs. 2, 7-11), comprising:
a processor(240,280); memory (242,282) in electronic communication with the processor([0170]); and instructions stored in the memory, wherein the instructions are executable by the processor to:
transmit a capability message indicating a capability of a UE to perform uplink switching between an uplink band and a sidelink band([0196], which recites capability for switching between uplink band and sidelink band);
receive a grant scheduling an uplink message for transmission over a set of one or more transmit ports([0185], which recites the base station 110 may transmit a grant and/or schedule a communication that conforms to an access link capability of a UE 120);
switch a transmitter of the UE from the uplink band to the sidelink band based at least in part on the set of one or more transmit ports and the capability message([0227], which recites the base station 110 may refrain from scheduling an access link communication in the conflicting resource (e.g., if the prioritization rule indicates that sidelink communications have a higher priority than access link communications).
The prioritization rule for switching from the uplink band to the sidelink band); and
transmit the uplink message using the sidelink band according to the grant and based at least in part on the switching([0227], which recites a prioritization rule for using the sidelink for transmitting the uplink message as claimed by the instant application).
Regarding claims 12, 27,Akkarakaran discloses an apparatus for wireless communication, a method(Figs. 2, 7-11), comprising:
a processor(240,280); memory (242,282) in electronic communication with the processor([0170]); and instructions stored in the memory, wherein the instructions are executable by the processor to:
receive a capability message indicating a capability of a user equipment (UE) to perform uplink switching between an uplink band and a sidelink band([0196], which recites capability for switching between uplink band and sidelink band);
transmit a grant scheduling an uplink message for transmission over a set of one or more transmit ports([0185], which recites the base station 110 may transmit a grant and/or schedule a communication that conforms to an access link capability of a UE 120); and
receive the uplink message using the sidelink band according to the grant and based at least in part on a transmitter of the UE switching from the uplink band to the sidelink band([0227], which recites a prioritization rule for using the sidelink for transmitting the uplink message as claimed by the instant application).
Regarding claims 2, 13, 23, 28, Akkarakaran discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to: transmit a feedback report associated with the grant over the sidelink band based at least in part on switching the transmitter of the UE, wherein the feedback report indicates that the switching was successful([0175],[0227]).
Regarding claims 3, 14, 24,29, Akkarakaran discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to: transmit a feedback report associated with the grant over the sidelink band based at least in part on switching the transmitter of the UE, wherein the feedback report indicates a conflict associated with the uplink message on the sidelink band([0175],[0227]).
Regarding claims 4, 25, Akkarakaran discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to: withhold a feedback report associated with the grant over the sidelink band based at least in part on a conflict associated with the uplink message on the sidelink band([0175],[0227]).
Regarding claims 5, 15, 26, 30,Akkarakaran discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to: reserve one or more future slots of the sidelink band for transmitting the uplink message based at least in part on the grant(Abstract,[0185],[0196],[0227]).
Regarding claims 6, 16, Akkarakaran discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the uplink message is associated with a first radio access technology and scheduled for resources associated with a second radio access technology on the sidelink band(Abstract,[0185],[0196],[0227]).
Regarding claims 7, 17,Akkarakaran discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the uplink message is associated with a set of resources on the sidelink band that is excluded from sidelink communications([0185],[0196],[0227]).
Regarding claims 8, 18,Akkarakaran discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions executable by the processor to transmit the capability message comprise instructions executable by the processor to: transmit, via the capability message, an indication that the UE is capable of performing uplink transmissions using one or more of: the uplink band, the sidelink band, or the uplink band and the sidelink band simultaneously(Abstract,[0185],[0196],[0227]).
Regarding claims 9, 19, Akkarakaran discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the instructions executable by the processor to transmit the capability message comprise instructions executable by the processor to: transmit, via the capability message, an indication of a quantity or set of timing advance groups supported by the UE for simultaneous transmissions over the uplink band and the sidelink band(Abstract,[0185],[0196],[0227]).
Regarding claims 10, 20, Akkarakaran discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: up to two transmissions are scheduled for the uplink band and the sidelink band(Abstract,[0185],[0196],[0227]).
Regarding claims 11, 21, Akkarakaran discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein a switching gap between receiving the grant and transmitting the uplink message is based at least in part on a switching period between bands in a same timing advance group and a defined maximum transmitted timing difference(Abstract,[0185],[0196],[0227]).
Conclusion
/DADY CHERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418