DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84 (h) because Figs 1, 8-9, 11 and 18-19 fail to show the plane upon which a sectional view is taken which should be indicated on the view from which the section is cut by a broken line. The ends of the broken line should be designated by Arabic or Roman numerals corresponding to the view number of the sectional view and should have arrows to indicate the direction of sight. MPEP § 608.02(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al (US 20090308409 A1, hereinafter “Zhu”) in view of Oh (US 20060151355 A1, hereinafter “Oh”).
Claim 1. Zhu discloses sealing lid (Fig 3, 110 and 106) assembly, comprising an inner stopper (Fig 4, 106), an inner lid (Fig 3, 110), and a sealing member (Fig 3, 116), wherein a discharge region (Fig 4, dispensing area 203) is formed in the inner stopper (Fig 4); a discharge hole (Fig 4, 204) is formed in the discharge region (Fig 4); a discharge groove (303) and a sealing region-(Fig 5, 301) are formed in the inner lid (Fig 5); the sealing member (116) is securely combined with the inner lid (110) (Fig 3); the sealing member (116) is configured to seal the discharge groove (¶0036. The sealing member 116 is capable to seal the discharge groove 303); the sealing member (116) is configure to be torn down from the inner lid (¶0036, sealing member 116 is removable and capable to be torn down from the inner lid 110) to expose the discharge groove (Fig 2-3); the inner lid is rotatably connected to the inner stopper through a rotary mechanism (¶0020); the inner lid is made of first plastic (¶0027. Inner lid part is made of plastic); the sealing member is made of second plastic (¶0027. Sealing member part is made from plastic).
Zhu is silent to the sealing member is airtightly combined with the inner lid; hardness of the first plastic is greater than hardness of the second plastic.
The Examiner note that claimed phrase “the inner lid and the sealing member are formed integrally through two-shot injection molding” is being treated as a product by process limitation. As set forth in MPEP 2113, product by process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. Once a product appearing to be substantially the same or similar is found, a 35 USC 102/103 rejection may be made and the burden is shifted to applicant to show an unobvious difference. MPEP 2113.
Oh teaches a compact cosmetic case with airtight sealed structure (abstract and Fig 1-17) including a sealing member (Fig 12, airtight rubber seal 190) is airtightly combined with the inner lid (Fig 12, inner lid 130) to provide an outside surface 131 of the inner lid 130 hinged to the inner casing 110 is in contact with both the upper surface 170 and the first airtight rubber seal 190 of the inner casing 110, so that the compact cosmetic case accomplishes an airtight sealing effect of the inner casing 110 from the outside by the first airtight rubber seal 190 of the upper surface 170 of the inner casing 110, thus maintaining moisture level and scent of the cosmetic C.M in the containing space 120 of the inner casing 110 for a lengthy period (¶0041).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the sealing assembly of Zhu’s device and incorporate the sealing member that is airtightly combined with the inner lid, as taught by Oh, so that the compact cosmetic case accomplishes an airtight sealing effect, thus maintaining moisture level and scent of the cosmetic C.M in the containing space 120 of the inner casing for a lengthy period.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to specify the hardness of the first plastic of the lid to be greater than hardness of the second plastic of the sealing member to provide a physical barrier against unwanted damage of the inner contents of the sealing assembly and provide an efficient protection and durability during use to meet the user’s needs and preference.
Claim 2. Zhu and Oh teach the invention of claim 1. Zhu further teaches wherein a limit mechanism (Fig 4-5, post 205 shown in Fig 4 and groove 305 shown in Fig 5) is provided between the inner stopper and the inner lid (¶0034); when the inner lid is rotated relative to the inner stopper, the limit mechanism is configured to limit the inner lid at a first position and a second position of the inner stopper (¶0034 and Fig 4-5); when the inner lid is located at the first position of the inner stopper, the discharge groove is located on the discharge region and communicates with the discharge hole, and the sealing member covers the discharge region (¶0034); and when the inner lid is located at the second position of the inner stopper, the sealing region covers the discharge region to seal the discharge hole (¶0034).
Claim 3. Zhu and Oh teach the invention of claim 2. Zhu further teaches wherein a puller (annotated Fig 3, A) is fixedly provided on an upper surface of the sealing member (Fig 3); a protrusion (annotated Fig 3, B) is provided on a lower surface of the sealing member and extends downwardly (Fig 3); and the protrusion is configured to be inserted into the discharge hole to seal the discharge hole (¶0036).
Claim 4. Zhu and Oh teach the invention of claim 2. Zhu further teaches wherein the inner stopper comprises a first bottom disc (annotated Fig 4, C) and a circle of first sidewall (annotated Fig 4, D) extending along an axial direction at a periphery of the first bottom disc (Fig 4); and the inner lid comprises a second bottom disc (annotated Fig 5, E) and a circle of second sidewall (annotated Fig 5, F) extending along the axial direction at a periphery of the second bottom disc (Fig 5).
Claim 5. Zhu and Oh teach the invention of claim 4. Zhu further teaches wherein each of the first bottom disc (annotated Fig 4 above, C) and the second bottom disc (annotated Fig 5 above, E) is a circular structure (Fig 4-5); a diameter of the first bottom disc is greater than a diameter of the second bottom disc (Fig 3, 110 with second bottom disc “E” fits inside 106 with first bottom disc “C”); the discharge region (Fig 4, dispensing area 203) is located on the first bottom disc (Fig 4); and the sealing region (301), the discharge groove and the sealing member are located on the second bottom disc (Fig 3 and ¶0036).
Claim 7. Zhu and Oh teach the invention of claim 4. Zhu further teaches wherein the limit mechanism comprises a guide post (Fig 4, guide post of 205) and a guide groove (Fig 5, guiding slot 305); during assembly, the guide post is provided in the guide groove (¶0034) and the guide post is configure to slide in the guide groove (¶0034); the guide post (205) is provided on the first bottom disc (Fig 4), and the guide groove (305) is formed in the second bottom disc (Fig 5); and the guide groove (305) is a circular arc-shaped structure (Fig 5), and the guide groove (305) is coaxial with the first bottom disc or the second bottom disc (Fig 3).
Claim 8. Zhu and Oh teach the invention of claim 4. Zhu further teaches wherein the limit mechanism comprises a guide post (Fig 4, post of 205) and a guide groove (Fig 5, guiding slot 305); during assembly, the guide post is provided in the guide groove (¶0034) and the guide post (guide post 205) is configure to slide in the guide groove (¶0034); and the guide groove (305) is a circular arc-shaped structure (Fig 5), and the guide groove (305) is coaxial with the first bottom disc or the second bottom disc (Fig 3).
Zhu is silent to the guide post is provided on the circle of first sidewall, and the guide groove is formed in the circle of second sidewall.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was made to rearrange the location of the guide post to be positioned on the bottom side of the circle of first sidewall, and the guide groove to be positioned on the bottom side of the circle of second sidewall, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim 9. Zhu and Oh teach the invention of. Zhu further teaches a packaging container (Fig 3, packaging of rotating dispenser mechanism container 100).
Claim 10. Zhu and Oh teach the invention of claim 9. Zhu further teaches further a case (Fig 3, 101), an outer lid (Fig 3, 115), wherein the inner stopper is fixedly provided in the case (Fig 3 and ¶0035); the outer lid is detachably covered onto the case (¶0033); the sealing lid assembly is located in the case and the outer lid (Fig 3).
Zhu is silent to a powder puff, and a gasket, the powder puff is provided in the inner lid; and the gasket is attached to an inner surface of the outer lid.
Oh further teaches a powder puff (powder puff P), and a gasket (airtight rubber seal 190 and 191), the powder puff is provided in the inner lid (Fig 12, powder puff P is provided in the inner lid 130); and the gasket (190 and 191) is attached to an inner surface of the outer lid (Fig 12, airtight rubber seal 191 is attached to an inner surface of the outer lid 160) in order to accomplishes the airtight sealing effect of the inner casing 110 from the outside by the weight of the powder puff P in the power puff seat 140 of the inner lid 130, and by the outer lid 160 to compress an upper surface of the powder puff P.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combination of Zhou and Oh device and incorporate the powder puff and the gasket and place the powder puff in the inner lid, and attachment of the gasket to the inner surface of the lid, as taught by Oh’s device, to accomplishes the airtight sealing effect by the weight of the powder puff P in the power puff seat and by the outer lid to compress an upper surface of the powder puff P.
Claim 11. Zhu and Oh teach the invention of claim 3. Zhu further teaches wherein the inner stopper comprises a first bottom disc (annotated Fig 4, C) and a circle of first sidewall extending along an axial direction at a periphery of the first bottom disc (annotated Fig 4, D); and the inner lid comprises a second bottom disc (annotated Fig 5, E) and a circle of second sidewall (annotated Fig 5, F) extending along the axial direction at a periphery of the second bottom disc.
Claim 12. Zhu and Oh teach the invention of claim 9. Zhu further teaches wherein in the sealing lid assembly, a limit mechanism (Fig 4-5, post 205 shown in Fig 4 and groove 305 shown in Fig 5) is provided between the inner stopper and the inner lid (¶0034); when the inner lid is rotated relative to the inner stopper, the limit mechanism is configured to limit the inner lid at a first position and a second position of the inner stopper (¶0034 and Fig 4-5); when the inner lid is located at the first position of the inner stopper, the discharge groove is located on the discharge region and communicates with the discharge hole, and the sealing member covers the discharge region (¶0034); and when the inner lid is located at the second position of the inner stopper, the sealing region covers the discharge region to seal the discharge hole (¶0034).
Claim 13. Zhu and Oh teach the invention of claim 12. Zhu further teaches wherein in the sealing lid assembly, a puller (annotated Fig 3, A) is fixedly provided on an upper surface of the sealing member (Fig 3); a protrusion (annotated Fig 3, B) is provided on a lower surface of the sealing member and extends downwardly (Fig 3); and the protrusion is configured to be inserted into the discharge hole to seal the discharge hole (¶0036).
Claim 14. Zhu and Oh teach the invention of claim 12. Zhu further teaches wherein in the sealing lid assembly, the inner stopper comprises a first bottom disc (annotated Fig 4, C) and a circle of first sidewall (annotated Fig 4, D) extending along an axial direction at a periphery of the first bottom disc (Fig 4); and the inner lid comprises a second bottom disc (annotated Fig 5, E) and a circle of second sidewall (annotated Fig 5, F) extending along the axial direction at a periphery of the second bottom disc (Fig 5).
Claim 15. Zhu and Oh teach the invention of claim 14. Zhu further teaches wherein in the sealing lid assembly, each of the first bottom disc (annotated Fig 4 above, C) and the second bottom disc (annotated Fig 5 above, E) is a circular structure (Fig 4-5); a diameter of the first bottom disc is greater than a diameter of the second bottom disc (Fig 3, 110 with second bottom disc “E” fits inside 106 with first bottom disc “C”); the discharge region (Fig 4, dispensing area 203) is located on the first bottom disc (Fig 4); and the sealing region (301), the discharge groove and the sealing member are located on the second bottom disc (Fig 3 and ¶0036).
Claim 17. Zhu and Oh teach the invention of claim 14. Zhu further teaches wherein in the sealing lid assembly, the limit mechanism comprises a guide post (Fig 4, guide post of 205) and a guide groove (Fig 5, guiding slot 305); during assembly, the guide post is provided in the guide groove (¶0034) and the guide post is configure to slide in the guide groove (¶0034); the guide post (205) is provided on the first bottom disc (Fig 4), and the guide groove (305) is formed in the second bottom disc (Fig 5); and the guide groove (305) is a circular arc-shaped structure (Fig 5), and the guide groove (305) is coaxial with the first bottom disc or the second bottom disc (Fig 3).
Claim 18. Zhu and Oh teach the invention of claim 14. Zhu further teaches wherein in the sealing lid assembly, the limit mechanism comprises a guide post (Fig 4, post of 205) and a guide groove (Fig 5, guiding slot 305); during assembly, the guide post is provided in the guide groove (¶0034) and the guide post (guide post 205) is configure to slide in the guide groove (¶0034); and the guide groove is a circular arc-shaped structure, and the guide groove (305) is coaxial with the first bottom disc or the second bottom disc (Fig 3).
Zhu is silent to the guide post is provided on the circle of first sidewall, and the guide groove is formed in the circle of second sidewall.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was made to rearrange the location of the guide post to be positioned on the bottom side of the circle of first sidewall, and the guide groove to be positioned on the bottom side of the circle of second sidewall, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Additional references were also reviewed during the examination of this application and listed for your reference in the notice of reference cited form.
/KARIM ASQIRIBA/Examiner, Art Unit 3772