DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the motor in said body configured to allow motorized actuation of said at least one first gear must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-59 objected to because of the following informalities: Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: Holder in claims 3, and 19 (see page 13, final paragraph for details of the claimed holder).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5, 16, 18-21, 32-36, 54-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 32, the applicant’s term “axially” is introduced in relation to the distal end, and then re-introduced in relation to the rod. It is presumed these “axially” defined orientations are one in the same? If not, it’s unclear what the applicant means by each axially as the first recitation of axially is undefined.
Additionally, it is not clear what the “first gear” is protruding from, as shown in the applicants figures 4a and 4b, the first gear 414 is provided within the distal end housing in the axial direction (shown by cross-section of 4b) and not shown in figure 4a. It’s unclear as to how the first gear protrudes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anmelder (DE 10 2005 040 573) in view of He (US Pat No 9,038,505).
Regarding claim 1, Anmelder discloses a manual release tool configured for manually rotating a gear of a motor unit of a motorized robotic system, comprising:
a. a body (12);
b. a handle on a proximal side of said body;
c. a distal end of said body comprising at least one first gear (26) protruding axially from said distal end;
the at least one first gear configured to operatively interact with at least one second gear of said motor unit of said motorized robotic system (capable of interacting);
It is noted that Anmelder fails to disclose the features of the knob. However, He discloses a similar tool wherein the mechanical elements are rotated by a knob (53) which rotates a gear (32). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device of Anmelder with the teachings of He to achieve the predictable result of easily and manually providing the actuation for the end tool/gear.
The combination discloses force is transmitted by said knob to said at least one first gear using an axially oriented rod; the force being converted into rotation of said at least one first gear perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of said body and conveyed in a plane of said narrow distal end of said body by rotation of said at least one first gear in said plane.
Regarding claim 2, the combination discloses said conveying is performed by a series of side by side gears operatively connected to said at least one first gear.
Claim(s) 32, 34, 35, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anmelder (DE 10 2005 040 573) in view of Hu et al (US Pat No 10,525,572).
Regarding claim 32, Anmelder discloses a manual release tool configured for manually rotating a gear of a motor unit of a motorized robotic system, comprising:
a. a body (12);
b. a knob (18) rotatable around an axis of the body and located on a proximal side of said body;
c. a distal end of said body comprising at least one first gear (26) protruding axially from said distal end;
said at least one first gear configured to operatively interact with at least one second gear of said motor unit of said motorized robotic system (capable of interacting);
It is noted that Anmelder fails to disclose the features of the knob and the motor provided in the body. However, Hu discloses a similar tool wherein the mechanical elements are rotated by a motor (31) which rotates a gear (24). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device of Anmelder with the teachings of Hu to achieve the predictable result of easily and integrally providing the actuation for the end tool/gear.
The combination discloses the force is transmitted by said motor to said at least one first gear using an axially oriented rod; said force being converted into rotation of said at least one first gear perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of said body and conveyed in a plane of said narrow distal end of said body by rotation of said at least one first gear in said plane.
Regarding claim 34, the combination discloses circuitry (e.g. for button 33) configured to control said at least one motor.
Regarding claim 35, the combination discloses circuitry is operable by a user using one or more of a button (33), an external device connected via wireless connection and a GUI.
Regarding claim 36, Anmelder discloses conveying is performed by a series of side by side gears operatively connected to said at least one first gear.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, 16, 18, 19, 20, 21, 33, and 54-59 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cited art generally discloses features believed to be relevant to applicant’s claimed invention, relating to a tool which operates by rotating the handle to actuate the end of the tool.
/Patrick Cicchino/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619