Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2019-155251 (hereinafter JP ‘251) in view of JP 2018001436 (hereinafter JP ‘436).
As regarding claim 1, JP ‘251 discloses the claimed invention for a hydrogen-permeable filter comprising: a mesh including a plurality of wires that are woven ([0017]-[0026]).
JP ‘251 does not disclose a tungsten mesh including a plurality of tungsten wires that are woven. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a tungsten mesh including a plurality of tungsten wires that are woven in order to enhance filter performance, since it was known in the art as shown in JP ‘436 ([0006], [0012] and figs. 1-4).
As regarding claim 2, JP ‘251 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘251 as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the plurality of tungsten wires each have an elongation percentage greater than or equal to 5%. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the plurality of tungsten wires each have an elongation percentage greater than or equal to 5% in order to enhance filter performance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen elongation percentage or upon another variable recited in the claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen elongation percentages are critical and unexpected results.
As regarding claim 3, JP ‘251 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘251 as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the tungsten mesh has a mesh count greater than or equal to 600. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the tungsten mesh has a mesh count greater than or equal to 600 in order to enhance filter performance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
As regarding claim 4, JP ‘251 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘251 as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the plurality of tungsten wires each have a tensile strength greater than or equal to 1600 MPa. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the plurality of tungsten wires each have a tensile strength greater than or equal to 1600 MPa in order to enhance filter performance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
As regarding claim 5, JP ‘251 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘251 as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the plurality of tungsten wires each have a tensile strength greater than or equal to 2400 MPa. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the plurality of tungsten wires each have a tensile strength greater than or equal to 2400 MPa in order to enhance filter performance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
As regarding claim 6, JP ‘251 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘251 as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the plurality of tungsten wires each have a tensile strength greater than or equal to 4800 MPa. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the plurality of tungsten wires each have a tensile strength greater than or equal to 4800 MPa in order to enhance filter performance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
As regarding claim 7, JP ‘251 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘251 as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the plurality of tungsten wires each have a diameter less than or equal to 40 pm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the plurality of tungsten wires each have a diameter less than or equal to 40 pm in order to enhance filter performance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
As regarding claim 9, JP ‘251 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘251 as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the hydrogen-permeable filter is used within a range in which hydrogen pressure is less than or equal to 135 MPa. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the hydrogen-permeable filter is used within a range in which hydrogen pressure is less than or equal to 135 MPa in order to enhance filter performance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2019-155251 (hereinafter JP ‘251) in view of JP 2018001436 (hereinafter JP ‘436), as applied supra, and further in view of Pall (US 3780872).
As regarding claim 8, JP ‘251 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘251 as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein a weave pattern of the tungsten mesh is Dutch weave. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein a weave pattern of the tungsten mesh is Dutch weave in order to enhance filter performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Pall (col 2 ln 13-16; col 7 ln 2; and col 6 ln 57).
Conclusion
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773