DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are pending in this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-13) in the reply filed on 09/10/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 14-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/10/2026.
Claims 1-13 were examined on their merits.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 9 contains an optional limitation. The broadest, reasonable interpretation of an optional limitation is that it is not required, and the claim has been construed thusly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4, 9, 10, 11, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. §112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claims 2, 4, 10, 11, 12 and 13, the phrases "preferably" and “especially” render the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrases are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 7 recites, “wherein the COT [centroid-of-trajectory] corresponds to the centroid of the trajectory”. This appears to be redundant as a centroid-of-trajectory will necessarily correspond to itself.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the predetermined color space map". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites “said cluster”. It is unclear if this refers to the cluster of COTs or the clusters assigned to an area of the predetermined color space.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 and 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to Judicial Exception(s) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) Abstract Ideas and/or Mental processes.
These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application because they amount to a general linkage of the use of the JEs to a particular technological environment/field of use, that is, classifying white blood cells. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because of the following analysis:
Step 1) The claims are drawn to a process
Step 2A, P1) The claims recite the Judicial Exception of Abstract Ideas. Claim 1 recites, "analyzing", "to classify" and “by extracting”;
Claims 6 and 7 recite, “analyzing” and "determining";
Claim 8 recites, “analyzing”, "assigning" and “classifying”;
Claim 9 recites, “clustering”, "assigning", "determining", “are classified” and "classifying";
Claim 10 recites, “creating”, “scaling”, "aligning", “are classified”, “classifying” and "assigning";
Claim 11 recites, “are selected”;
Claim 12 recites, “are classified”;
and Claim 13 recites “counting”, “determining” and “for obtaining”.
Step 2A, P2) These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical
application because they amount to a general linkage of the use of the JEs to a
particular technological environment/field of use, that is, classifying white blood cells.
Step 2B) The claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly
more than the JEs. Claim 1 recited "providing a sample comprising a plurality of white blood cells", “adding at least one luminescent dye to the sample, thereby staining the white blood cells”, “disposing the stained white blood cells on a test surface”, “recording a luminescence image series of the stained white blood cells at a plurality of different timepoints wherein each luminescence image comprises at least a first and second color channel” and “for each white blood cell of the plurality, obtaining a luminescence data series” which are recited with a high degree of generality, are mere data gathering, and are well-known and routine in the white blood cell differential art. See for example, Powless et al. (2017), cited in the IDS, whom teaches a method comprising providing a
blood sample (inherently comprising a plurality of white blood cells/WBCs), adding a
luminescent dye (acridine orange) to the sample to stain the WBCs, placing the stained
WBCs on a test surface (epi-fluorescence microscope) and recording a series of images
over-time in a first (red) and second color (green) channel (thereby obtaining a data series for each white blood cell) and,
analyzing the data to classify the WBC into predetermined categories (lymphocyte/monocyte/granulocyte) (Pg. 3, Paragraph 2.2, Pg. 3, Paragraph 2.3 and Pg. 4, Fig. 4). Claim 2 merely defines the number of time points and separation time between time points, Claim 3 merely adds a third color channel to each luminescence image and Claims 4-5 merely define the first and second luminescent dyes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 5 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Powless et al. (2016), cited in the IDS.
Powless et al. teaches a method comprising;
providing a blood sample (inherently comprising a plurality of white blood cells/WBCs),
adding a luminescent dye (acridine orange) to the sample to stain the WBCs,
placing the stained WBCs on a test surface (epi-fluorescence microscope) and recording a series of images over-time at time gates of 3-4, 5-6 and 7-8 minutes in a first intensity value (red) and second intensity value (green) channel (thereby obtaining a data series for each white blood cell) and,
analyzing the data to classify the white blood cells into 3 predetermined categories based on three luminescence colors/intensities of a green/blue/red color space corresponding to lymphocyte/monocyte/granulocyte and counting the white blood cells (Pg. 3, Paragraph 2.2, Pg. 3, Paragraph 2.3 and Pg. 4, Paragraph 2.5 and Fig. 4 and Pg. 5, Fig. 5 and Pg. 7, Fig. 8), and reading on Claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 11, 12 and 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powless et al. (2016), cited in the IDS.
The teachings of Powless et al. were discussed above.
Powless et al. did not teach a method wherein the luminescence image series comprises at least 4 luminescence images, separated from each other by at least 5 seconds, as required by Claim 2.
While the above cited reference does not specifically teach the claimed image number limitations and the time period between images, those of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would recognize the number of images taken and the time period between images as an optimizable variable. In this instance, Powless teaches obtaining multiple images over time with a period of time between time gates.
These are effective results based on the desired number of images at each time point.
This is motivation for the ordinary artisan to practice or test the image number and time therebetween widely to determine those that are functional and optimal which would be inclusive or cover the instantly claimed ranges. Absent any teaching of criticality by the Applicant concerning the claimed image number and timing between images, it would be prima facie obvious that the ordinary artisan would recognize these limitations are an optimizable variable which can be met as a matter of routine optimization, see the MPEP at 2144.05 Il. B. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because the prior art teaches obtaining the same images over time at different time points and the determination of the optimal image number and timing between images by routine optimization was within the purview of those of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date.
Claim(s) 1-5, 6 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powless et al. (2016), as applied to Claims 1-5 and 11-13 above, and further in view of Sbalzarini et al. (2005), both cited in the IDS.
The teachings of Powless et al. were discussed above.
Powless et al. did not teach a method wherein analyzing the luminescence data series of each WBC comprises determining a trajectory over time of the WBC in a color space formed by said color channels, as required by Claim 6.
Sbalzarini et al. teaches that in imaging a sequence of images at discrete time points can be used to ascertain the motion of physical particles in two-dimensions and the reconstruction of an ordered series of point locations over the recording time points of the individual images is called a trajectory (Pg. 183, Column 2, Lines 15-27) and that the automated detection of trajectories from image sequences provides knowledge which can be used to quantify particle motions, such as diffusion coefficients or transport velocities (Pg. 183, Column 2, Lines 1-6).
It would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Powless et al. of serially imaging over time and distinguishing/analyzing luminescent stained white blood cells/WBC in a color space formed by three channels with the use of the method of Sbalzarini et al. of analyzing serial images to determine trajectories of the WBC as taught by Sbalzarini et al. because this would provide an additional data point for analysis of the imaged cells, that of motion over time. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because this would provide additional data which can be used to quantify the motion of the stained WBC. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because Powless et al. is drawn to the obtaining of serial images of stained cells over time and Sbalzarini et al. is drawn to the analysis of serial images of particles over time.
Claim(s) 1-6, 7 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powless et al. (2016) in view of Sbalzarini et al. (2005), both cited in the IDS, as applied to Claims 1-6 and 11-13 above, and further in view of Frade et al. (1997).
The teachings of Powless et al. were discussed above.
Powless et al. did not teach a method further comprising determining a Centroid-of-Trajectory for the WBC, as required by Claim 7.
Frade et al. teaches that in imaging analysis if an object data point appears or disappears between two successive images over time this is a situation of collision (combination) or occlusion (separation) and the trajectory must be examined using the centroid of trajectory (an average of all points that make of the path or curve over time or space).
It would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Powless et al. and Sbalzarini et al. of serially imaging over time and distinguishing/analyzing luminescent stained white blood cells/WBC including their trajectories, with the use of the method of Frade et al. of determining the Centroid-of-Trajectory for each imaged object as taught by Frade et al. because this would provide an additional data point for analysis of the imaged cells which can be used to distinguish between combined of separated imaged cells. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because this would provide additional data which can be used to quantify the individually stained and serially imaged WBC. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because Powless et al. is drawn to the obtaining of serial images of stained cells over time and Sbalzarini et al. and Frade et al. are both drawn to the analysis of serial images of particles/objects over time.
No claims are allowed.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Sharmila G Landau can be reached at (571) 272-0614. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAUL C MARTIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1653 09/29/2026