DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites:
20. The positioning an mounting interface according to claim 17, wherein
each of the two recesses and/or each of the two pins enclose an angle less than 180 degrees. Emphasis added.
Claim 20 is indefinite because “the two recesses” and “the two pins” each lack antecedent basis as claim 17 describes “at least two recesses” and “at least two pins.”
To overcome this rejection, claim 20 could be amended to read:
20. The positioning an mounting interface according to claim 17, wherein
each of the at least two recesses and/or each of the at least two pins enclose an angle less than 180 degrees.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16–18, 20–22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schumacher, US 2019/0105586 A1 (Schumacher-586).
Regarding claim 16, Schumacher-586 teaches an interface between air dryer cartridge 10 and air dryer module 12, which reads on the claimed “positioning and mounting interface for positioning a desiccant cartridge in, and mounting to, an air control device of a vehicle.” See Schumacher-586 Fig. 1a, [0022].
The interface comprises an “annular portion,” as claimed, which is the circular portion of base 14 comprising guide grooves 20. See Schumacher-586 Fig. 1a, [0023]. The grooves 20 read on the claimed “at least one recess.”
The interface also comprises a “receiving portion of the air control device,” as claimed, which is the portion of the module 12 having head pins 24. See Schumacher-586 Fig. 1a, [0024]. The pins 24 read on the claimed “at least one pin.”
The guide grooves 20 are configured for engaging with the pins 24, as claimed. See Schumacher-586 Figs. 1a–1c, [0024].
Regarding claim 17, Schumacher-586 teaches that the annular portion comprises three grooves 20 for engaging with three pins 24, which reads on “at least two recesses for engaging with at least two pins of the receiving portion of the air control device.” See Schumacher-586 Figs. 1a–1c, [0024].
Regarding claim 18, Schumacher-586 teaches a “central annular bushing,” as claimed (the bushing around opening 18) for engaging with center bearing in the form of pipe nozzle 22 (the “central nozzle of the air control device”). See Schumacher-586 Fig. 1a, [0024], [0026]. The “central annular bushing” is arranged inside the annular portion, as seen in Fig. 1a.
Regarding claim 20, Schumacher-586 teaches that each of the grooves 20 and pins 24 has an angle less than 180 degrees, as claimed, as seen in Fig. 1a.
Regarding claim 21, Schumacher-586 teaches that a cross section of each of the grooves 20 is formed at least partially as a circular ring sector, as claimed, because the grooves 20 are arc-shaped. See Schumacher-586 Fig. 1a, [0023].
Regarding claim 22, Schumacher-586 teaches that an inside radius of opening 18 (the “second recess”) is smaller than inside of the recess inside of sealing surface 26 (the “first recess”).
Regarding claim 24, Schumacher-586 teaches that the annular portion comprises a “plurality of ribs arranged transversely to a circumferential direction of the annular portion,” as claimed, which is the material between grooves 20, as seen in Fig. 1a. The plurality of ribs are spaced equidistantly from each other, as seen in Fig. 1a.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schumacher, US 2019/0105586 A1 (Schumacher-586) in view of Fornof, US 2007/0169627 A1.
Regarding claim 27, Schumacher-586 teaches the limitations of claim 18, as explained above.
Schumacher-586 differs from claim 27 because it is silent as to the interface comprising a sieve portion arranged inside the central annular bushing (formed by opening 18) with the sieve portion being permeable for pressurized air.
But Fornof teaches an air dryer system comprising a desiccant cartridge 116 having a filter 119 (a “sieve”) provided in the upstream area of the cartridge 116 with the filter being beneficial for removing liquid water, oil, and solid contaminants before the air enters the interior of the cartridge 116. See Fornof Fig. 1, [0018].
It would have been obvious to provide the filter 119 in the central bearing nozzle 22 of Schumacher-586 to remove liquid water, oil, and solid contaminants before air enters the interior of the air dryer cartridge 10.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schumacher, US 2019/0105586 A1 (Schumacher-586) in view of Pfefferl et al., US 2020/0277959 A1.
Regarding claim 28, Schumacher-586 teaches the limitations of claim 16, as explained above.
Schumacher-586 differs from claim 28 because it is silent as to at least one outlet for a check valve arranged outside the annular portion.
But Pfefferl teaches an air drying system comprising a line 22 for discharging air from the system, with a check valve 23 in the line 22 for preventing reverse flow from the air dryer. See Pfefferl Fig. 1, [0015].
It would have been obvious to use the line 22 and check valve 23 of Pfefferl for discharging air from the system of Schumacher-586 to prevent reverse flow from the air dryer.
Claims 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schumacher-586, US 2019/0105586 A1 (Schumacher-586) in view of Hilberer, US 2013/0206003 A1.
Regarding claim 29, Schumacher-586 teaches an air dryer cartridge 10 (the “desiccant cartridge”) comprising a cartridge body 16 (the “housing”), and an interface between air dryer cartridge 10 and air dryer module 12 (the “positioning and mounting interface according to claim 16”). See Schumacher-586 Fig. 1a, [0023].
Schumacher-586 differs from claim 29 because it is silent as to the air dryer cartridge 10 comprising a cartridge insert with the body 16 attached to the insert.
But Hilberer teaches an air dryer cartridge comprising a filter device 16 (a “cartridge insert”) that is attached to a housing 28 of the cartridge. See Hilberer Fig. 1, [0006], [0010]. The filter device 16 is beneficial because it is able to filter foreign particles. Id. at [0010].
It would have been obvious to provide the filter device 16 of Hilberer to be attached to the body 16 of Schumacher-586 to provide a filter mechanism capable of removing foreign particles.
Regarding claim 30, Schumacher-586 as modified teaches a filter system of a motor vehicle, which reads on the claimed “air control device for a vehicle.” See Schumacher-586 [0001]. The filter system comprises an air dryer module 12 (the “receiving portion”), a bayonet closure with a general ring shape (the “bayonet ring”), and the air dryer cartridge 10 (the “desiccant cartridge according to claim 29”). See Schumacher-586 Fig. 1a, [0021], [0022], [0025]. The cartridge 10 is mounted to the module 12 and secured to the system by the bayonet closure. Id.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16–26 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schumacher, DE 10 2019 004 926 B3. Schumacher, US 2022/0266172 A1 (Schumacher-172) is cited as an English language equivalent.
Regarding claim 16, Schumacher-172 teaches an interface between filter cartridge 12 and filter housing 14, which reads on the claimed “positioning and mounting interface for positioning a desiccant cartridge in, and mounting to, an air control device of a vehicle.”
The interface comprises an “annular portion,” as claimed, which is the circular portion of the cartridge 12 comprising openings 72. See Schumacher-172 Fig. 1, [0061]. The openings 72 read on the “at least one recess.”
The interface also comprises a “receiving portion of the air control device,” which is the portion of the housing 14 with fixing lugs 66. See Schumacher-172 Fig. 1, [0061]. The lugs 66 read on the “at least one pin.”
The openings 72 are configured for engaging with the lugs 66, as claimed. See Schumacher-172 Fig. 1, [0061].
Regarding claims 17 and 20, Schumacher-172 teaches that the annular portion has six openings 72 for engaging with six lugs 66, which reads on “at least two recesses for engaging with at least two pins of the receiving portion of the air control device,” as claimed. See Schumacher-172 Figs. 1, 5, [0045]. Each of the openings 72 and lugs 66 enclose an angle less than 180 degrees. Id.
Regarding claim 18, Schumacher-172 teaches an end plate 20 with an opening 58 (the portion of the end plate 20 where the opening is located reads on the “central annular bushing”) for engaging with a tubular support 56 of the filter housing 14 (the tubular support 56 reads on the “central nozzle of the receiving portion”). See Schumacher-172 Figs. 7, 8, [0054]. The central annular bushing is arranged inside of the annular portion. Id.
Regarding claim 19, Schumacher-172 teaches “at least two pairs of supporting pins” are arranged radially outside of the annular portion, which are the two pairs of the top, horizontal portion of lugs 66, as seen in Figs. 1, 5 and 6.
Regarding claim 21, Schumacher-172 teaches that a cross section of each opening 72 is formed at least partially as a circular ring sector, as seen in Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 22, Schumacher-172 teaches that an inside radius of opening 58 (the “second recess”) is smaller than an inside radius of wall 26 (the “first recess”), as claimed, as seen in Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 23, Schumacher-172 teaches that the first recess of wall 26 is open at a radially outer edge and the second recess of opening 58 has a fully closed edge, as claimed, as seen in Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 24, Schumacher-172 teaches that the annular portion comprises a plurality of ribs arranged transversely to a circumferential direction of the annular portion, as claimed, which is the material between openings 72, seen in Fig. 2. The plurality of ribs are spaced equidistantly from each other, as claimed.
Regarding claim 25, Schumacher-172 teaches the at least two pairs of supporting pins are arranged at an outer circumference of the interface contacting an inner circumference of the receiving portion until the cartridge 16 is positioned, as claimed, as seen in Figs. 1 and 5 where the horizontal portions of the lugs 66 are positioned toward the outer circumference of the area of housing 14 containing the lugs 66. Also, the supporting pins of each pair are spaced from each other enclosing an angle, as seen in Figs. 1 and 5.
Regarding claim 26, Schumacher-172 teaches that an angle enclosed by a pair of first supporting pins is greater than an angle enclosed by a second pair of supporting pins, where both angles are less than 90 degrees, as seen in the annotated figure below.
Regarding claim 29, Schumacher teaches a filter cartridge 12 (the “desiccant cartridge”) comprising a housing 16 (the “housing”), a filter material (the “cartridge insert”), and the interface between filter cartridge 12 and filter housing 14 (the “positioning and mounting interface according to claim 16”). See Schumacher Fig. 1, [0045]. The housing 16 is attached to the filter material, as claimed. Id.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schumacher, DE 10 2019 004 926 B3 in view of Fornof, US 2007/0169627 A1. Schumacher, US 2022/0266172 A1 (Schumacher-172) is cited as an English language equivalent.
Regarding claim 27, Schumacher-172 teaches the limitations of claim 18, as explained above.
Schumacher-172 differs from claim 27 because it is silent as to the interface comprising a sieve portion arranged inside the central annular bushing (formed by opening 58) with the sieve portion being permeable for pressurized air.
But Fornof teaches an air dryer system comprising a desiccant cartridge 116 having a filter 119 (a “sieve”) provided in the upstream area of the cartridge 116 with the filter being beneficial for removing liquid water, oil, and solid contaminants before the air enters the interior of the cartridge 116. See Fornof Fig. 1, [0018].
It would have been obvious to provide the filter 119 in the tubular support 56 of Schumacher-172 (the tubular support 56 supplies fluid to the cartridge 16) to remove liquid water, oil, and solid contaminants before air enters the interior of the cartridge 16.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schumacher, DE 10 2019 004 926 B3 in view of Pfefferl et al., US 2020/0277959 A1. Schumacher, US 2022/0266172 A1 (Schumacher-172) is cited as an English language equivalent.
Regarding claim 28, Schumacher-172 teaches the limitations of claim 16, as explained above.
Schumacher-172 differs from claim 28 because it is silent as to at least one outlet for a check valve arranged outside the annular portion.
But Pfefferl teaches an air drying system comprising a line 22 for discharging air from the system, with a check valve 23 in the line 22 for preventing reverse flow from the air dryer. See Pfefferl Fig. 1, [0015].
It would have been obvious to use the line 22 and check valve 23 of Pfefferl for discharging air from the system of Schumacher-172 to prevent reverse flow from the air dryer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Postel et al., US 2022/0143531 A1 (filter device with cartridge that attaches to housing); Thalmann et al., US 2017/0292418 A1 (filter device with cartridge that attaches to housing).
T. BENNETT MCKENZIE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1776
/T. BENNETT MCKENZIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776