DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0293067 to Bonvilain.
In Reference to Claim 1
Bonvilain discloses:
A piston pump (Fig.2) suitable for pumping a fluid at very low temperature, for example hydrogen, said pump (Fig.2) having a suction side and a compression side, the suction side comprising an inlet (16) provided for the liquid and intended to connected connect a liquid supply reservoir external to the pump (Fig.2), a suction chamber (31) for receiving the fluid and a first fluid degassing duct (14) communicating with the suction chamber (31),
the compression side comprising a pump cylinder (fig.2) carrying an assembly for compression and delivery of the liquid, said cylinder comprising a second chamber (60) which communicates with the suction chamber 31 and wherein the fluid at very low temperature circulates in order to cool the compression and delivery assembly (26).
In Reference to Claim 2
Bonvilain discloses:
wherein the cylinder comprises a first casing (48) and an internal cylinder body (48) carrying the compression and delivery assembly (26), said first casing (48) being attached to the cylinder body, said cylinder body having a recessed shape allowing the circulation of fluid in the second chamber (60).
In Reference to Claim 3
Bonvilain discloses:
[AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: connector]
a second degassing duct A communicating with the second chamber (60) and configured to allow degassing of the fluid circulating in the second chamber (60).
In Reference to Claim 4
Bonvilain discloses:
a pump liner (8) and a cylinder head (see paragraph [0052]) that are integral and coaxial, a piston (26) that is axially movable in the liner (8) forming a fluid compression chamber with the cylinder head (84), said cylinder head (pump head) connecting the liner (8) to the suction chamber, and a delivery opening (40, where discharge valve opens) arranged in the liner.
In Reference to Claim 5
Bonvilain discloses:
[AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: connector]
the cylinder head (pumping head) comprises a pre-compression chamber (B) communicating with the suction chamber (31).
In Reference to Claim 6
Bonvilain discloses:
wherein the cylinder head (pumping head) comprises an exhaust port (22) configured to allow the pressure in the compression chamber to be adjusted.
In Reference to Claim 7
Bonvilain discloses:
a second casing (56) that is external with respect to the first casing (48) and forming with the latter a space intended to be evacuated.
In Reference to Claim 8
Bonvilain discloses:
wherein an insulating material 8 is arranged between the first casing and the second casing, see paragraph [0047]-[0052].
In Reference to Claim 11
Bonvilain discloses:
A piston pump suitable for pumping a liquid at a very low temperature, comprising:
a suction side, comprising:
an inlet 16 provided for the liquid and intended to connect a liquid supply reservoir to the pump;
a suction chamber 31 for receiving the liquid; and
a liquid degassing duct 14 in communication with the suction chamber; and
a compression side, comprising:
a pump cylinder 26 30 carrying an assembly for compression and delivery of the liquid, said pump cylinder comprising a second chamber 60 which communicates with the suction chamber, wherein the liquid at very low temperature circulates in order to cool the compression and delivery assembly, see Fig.2 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0293067 to Bonvilain in view RU 2715072 to Klyunin Oleg Stanislavovich (Oleg).
In Reference to Claim 9-10
Bonvilain does not disclose:
wherein the insulating material is multi-layer insulation herein the multi-layer insulation comprises alternating layers of aluminum and layers of fiberglass.
Oleg discloses a liner 11 being made of multiple materials such as aluminum wrapped in a fiberglass plastic sheath 12 for a cyrogenic liquid and pressure.
At the time claimed invention was filed it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill to include multiple layers such as aluminum and layers of fiberglass, combine the teachings of Oleg with Bonvilan, since this would enable the practitioner of the primary reference to practice the advantage of handling pressure and low temperature environment that the cryogenic pump operates.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant Argues:
contends that there are two chambers, i.e. the elements demarcated with reference characters 50 and 60.
Examiner Response:
The Argument is fully considered but its not persuasive the prior art discloses two chambers, the office action had a typographical error the 2 chambers are 60 and 31.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY AYALA DELGADO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746