DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention I (Claims 1-9) in the reply filed on 08/07/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-9 are examined. Claims 10-20 are withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9, line 1, change: “wherein the rotation of the first correlated magnet…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Seeley et al. (U.S. 11,530,019).
Regarding claim 1, Seeley et al. discloses a hub (2225, Fig. 13D) system comprising:
a motor (2208) operably coupled to a first correlated magnet (2202, as shown in Fig. 13D, motor 2208 is coupled to magnet 2202 via coupler 2203), wherein the first correlated magnet defines a first attachment surface (i.e., the surface of magnet 2202 interacting with second magnet 2214) having one or more first alignment configurations (i.e., the magnet 2202 is diametrically magnetized and therein has two alignment configurations with a north and south pole as shown in Fig. 13D); and
a propeller hub (2225) including one or more blades (2228), wherein the propeller hub is operably coupled to a second correlated magnet (second magnet 2214 via coupler 2218), and wherein the second correlated magnet defines a second attachment surface (i.e., the surface of magnet 2214 interacting with first magnet 2202) having one or more second alignment configurations (i.e., the magnet 2214 is diametrically magnetized and therein has two alignment configurations with a north and south pole as shown in Fig. 13D);
wherein the motor (2208) and the propeller hub (2225) are removably coupled (such removably coupled configuration avoids damage to the propeller assembly if the propeller is stuck or cannot rotate, Col. 20, lines 32-39) together via one or more of:
a magnetic attraction force formed between the first attachment surface of the first correlated magnet and the second attachment surface of the second correlated magnet (i.e., when the magnet rotates 2214, the entire combined assembly rotates turning propeller 2228 due to the magnetic attractions of the magnets 2214 and 2202 (Col. 20, lines 25-31)); and
an engagement between the one or more first alignment configurations (i.e., the first alignment configuration is shown in Fig. 13D of the polarities of each of the magnets) and the one or more second alignment configurations (i.e., the second alignment configuration comprises of an engagement of the reverse or opposite orientation of the polarities of each of the magnets shown in Fig. 13D, wherein the north pole would be on top instead of the south pole of magnet 2202, and the south pole would be on top instead of the north pole of magnet 2214).
Regarding claim 2, Seeley et al. discloses wherein the one or more first alignment configurations include a first magnetic pattern (i.e., the first pattern is shown in Fig. 13D of magnet 2202 wherein the south pole is on top of the north pole) and wherein the one or more second alignment configurations include a second magnetic pattern (i.e., the second pattern is shown in Fig. 13D of magnet 2214 wherein the north pole is on top of the south pole).
Regarding claim 3, Seeley et al. discloses wherein the engagement is a magnetic engagement defined by a first set of alternating north and south pole regions in the first magnetic pattern (i.e., as shown in Fig. 13D, there are alternating regions wherein a first top half of the first magnet (2202) is a south pole region and the bottom half is a north pole region for the magnetic pattern) being magnetically attracted (Col. 20, lines 10-11) to a second set of alternating north and south pole regions in the second magnetic pattern (i.e., as shown in Fig. 13D, there are alternating regions wherein a first top half of the second magnet (2214) is a north pole region and the bottom half is a south pole region for the second magnetic pattern).
Regarding claim 4, Seeley et al. discloses wherein the one or more first alignment configurations correspond to one or more first geometric configurations (i.e., the first alignment configuration can correspond to alternating semi-circular (i.e., geometric configuration) north and south pole regions, as shown in Fig. 6D for magnet 1110) and wherein the one or more second alignment configurations correspond to one or more second geometric configurations (i.e., the second alignment configuration can correspond to alternating semi-circular (i.e., geometric configuration) north and south pole regions, as shown in Fig. 6D for magnet 1117).
Regarding claim 7, Seeley et al. discloses wherein the engagement between the one or more first alignment configurations and the one or more second alignment configurations is configured to be broken in response to an external force applied to the one or more blades of the propeller hub (Col. 20, lines 32-50).
Regarding claim 8, Seeley et al. discloses wherein, when the engagement is broken, the first correlated magnet (2202 continues to rotate) is configured to rotate relative to the second correlated magnet (2214, Col. 20, lines 35-40).
Regarding claim 9, Seeley et al. discloses wherein rotation of the first correlated magnet (2202) relative to the second correlated magnet (2214) causes at least one of the one or more first alignment configurations to mate with at least one of the one or more second alignment configurations (i.e., due to the magnetic attraction of the fields created by magnets 2202 and 2214, Col. 20, lines 10-11, the drive magnet 2202 will continue to rotate and maintain polarity alignment but does not cause harmful torques to the propeller when the engagement is broken due to debris. Once the debris or object clears, the relative rotation of the drive magnet 2202 causes the magnets mate to each other due to the magnetic attraction and the propeller returns to normal operation, Col. 20, lines 35-45).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, Seeley et al. fails to disclose or suggest wherein the one or more first geometric configurations or the one or more second geometric configurations are cavities.
Regarding claim 6, Seeley et al. fails to disclose or suggest wherein the one or more first geometric configurations or the one or more second geometric configurations are protrusions.
Conclusion
/ERIC J ZAMORA ALVAREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745 08/18/2026