Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 8, 10, 11, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shinkai (JP 2010137902; Provided by applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Shinkai discloses, A lid (1) comprising: a main body (See annotated fig. below) formed in such a way as to be contactable with a container including an opening (See annotated fig. below) and an edge (22) forming an outer periphery of the opening, wherein the main body includes an insertion part (Fig. 2) configured to be capable of forming an insertion hole, the insertion part includes a hole lid (See annotated fig. below) that covers the insertion hole and a weakened part (11) that forms at least a part of an outer circumferential edge (See annotated fig. below) of the hole lid ,the weakened part includes a plurality of cuts (13) penetrating the main body in a thickness direction of the main body and a non-penetrating part (15) where the main body is not penetrated and at least a part of the fracture surface is located at a tip of the hole lid.
The limitation “the insertion hole is formed by applying stress to the insertion part from outside in the thickness direction of the main body, and when the insertion hole is formed, the non-penetrating part is broken, the broken non-penetrating part forms a fracture surface in a part of the outer circumferential edge of the hole lid, the hole lid is displaced together with the fracture surface” is considered to be functional language. The prior art of Shinkai has all the structures required perform the claimed functional limitation. Hence, the prior art is inherently capable of performing the limitation. It is well settled that it is possible for functional language to define structure, but that where no distinguishing structure has been defined, the claim is not patentable and is fully met by the reference. See In re Swinehart, 169 USPQ 226. See also General Electric v. United States, 198 USPQ 73 which further reinforced the concept that functional language which defines no structure cannot distinguish over the prior art.See MPEP 2173.05(g). Herein, Shinkai has cut and non-penetrating part in a shape just as the instant application that allows for hole to be formed.
Regarding claim 2, Shinkai discloses, A lid (1) comprising: a main body (See annotated fig. below) formed in such a way as to be contactable with a container including an opening (See annotated fig. below) and an edge (22) forming an outer periphery of the opening, wherein the main body includes an insertion part (Fig. 2) configured to be capable of forming an insertion hole, the insertion part includes a hole lid (See annotated fig. below) that covers the insertion hole and a weakened part (11) that forms at least a part of an outer circumferential edge (See annotated fig. below) of the hole lid , the hole lid includes a corner (See annotated fig. below)forming a protruding portion of a contour in plan view of the main body, the weakened part includes a plurality of cuts (13) penetrating the main body in a thickness direction of the main body and a non-penetrating part (15) where the main body is not penetrated, and at least a part of the fracture surface is located at a tip of the hole lid.
The limitation “the insertion hole is formed by applying stress to the insertion part from outside in the thickness direction of the main body, and when the insertion hole is formed, the non-penetrating part is broken, the broken non-penetrating part forms a fracture surface in a part of the outer circumferential edge of the hole lid, the hole lid is displaced together with the fracture surface” is considered to be functional language. The prior art of Shinkai has all the structures required perform the claimed functional limitation. Hence, the prior art is inherently capable of performing the limitation. It is well settled that it is possible for functional language to define structure, but that where no distinguishing structure has been defined, the claim is not patentable and is fully met by the reference. See In re Swinehart, 169 USPQ 226. See also General Electric v. United States, 198 USPQ 73 which further reinforced the concept that functional language which defines no structure cannot distinguish over the prior art. See MPEP 2173.05(g). Herein, Shinkai has cut and non-penetrating part in a shape just as the instant application that allows for hole to be formed.
Regarding claim 3, Shinkai discloses, a plurality of the fracture surfaces is formed (when a straw goes through, all the adjoining corner pieces where 15 breaks become fracture surface) and when the non-penetrating part is broken, and at least a part of at least one of the fracture surfaces is located at the tip of the hole lid.
Regarding claim 4, Shinkai discloses, weakened part includes a plurality of the non-penetrating parts (15), and at least one of the non-penetrating parts is broken by applying stress to the insertion part from the outside in the thickness direction of the main body.
Regarding claim 5, Shinkai discloses, wherein the insertion part includes a plurality of the hole lids (See annotated fig. below), and when the insertion hole is formed, the fracture surface is formed in a part of the outer circumferential edge of each of the hole lids.
Regarding claim 7, Shinkai discloses, weakened part has a structure in which at least three of the cuts are formed around the non-penetrating part (13 is around 15).
Regarding claim 8, Shinkai discloses, wherein a raised part (7) is formed, and the insertion part is formed in a formation region of the raised part (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Shinkai discloses, joining region corresponding part corresponding to a region (See annotated fig. below)joined to the container along the edge of the container (See annotated fig. below); and a lid region corresponding part (See annotated fig. below) that is a portion inside the joining region corresponding part, wherein the insertion part is formed in the lid region corresponding part.
Regarding claim 11, Shinkai discloses a side wall (See annotated fig. below) is provided around an outer periphery of the main body, and the side wall is configured to be lockable to the container along the edge (22) of the container.
Regarding claim 13, Shinkai discloses a container (20) the container including the opening and the edge forming the outer periphery of the opening, wherein the lid is joined to the container (Fig. 3) .
Regarding claim 14, Shinkai discloses, A combination of a lid and a container, comprising, the lid and the container including the opening and the edge forming the outer periphery of the opening (See annotated fig. of claim 1, fig. 3).
Claim(s) 1 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shinkai (JP 2010137902 Fig. 4A; Provided by applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Shinkai discloses, A lid (1) comprising: a main body (See annotated fig. below) formed in such a way as to be contactable with a container including an opening (See annotated fig. below) and an edge (22) forming an outer periphery of the opening, wherein the main body includes an insertion part (See annotated fig. below) configured to be capable of forming an insertion hole, the insertion part includes a hole lid (See annotated fig. below) that covers the insertion hole and a weakened part (11a) that forms at least a part of an outer circumferential edge (See annotated fig. below) of the hole lid ,the weakened part includes a plurality of cuts (28) penetrating the main body in a thickness direction of the main body and a non-penetrating part (15) where the main body is not penetrated, and at least a part of the fracture surface (surface where 15 breaks) is located at a tip of the hole lid.
The limitation “the insertion hole is formed by applying stress to the insertion part from outside in the thickness direction of the main body, and when the insertion hole is formed, the non-penetrating part is broken, the broken non-penetrating part forms a fracture surface in a part of the outer circumferential edge of the hole lid, the hole lid is displaced together with the fracture surface” is considered to be functional language. The prior art of Shinkai has all the structures required perform the claimed functional limitation. Hence, the prior art is inherently capable of performing the limitation. It is well settled that it is possible for functional language to define structure, but that where no distinguishing structure has been defined, the claim is not patentable and is fully met by the reference. See In re Swinehart, 169 USPQ 226. See also General Electric v. United States, 198 USPQ 73 which further reinforced the concept that functional language which defines no structure cannot distinguish over the prior art. See MPEP 2173.05(g). Herein, Shinkai has cut and non-penetrating part in H shape just as the instant application that allows for hole to be formed.
Regarding claim 12, Shinkai discloses, wherein the cuts each include a circumferential surface part (See annotated fig. below; part where cut starts/share part with outer side of lid) and ends (end where the first cut ends) , and when different two of the cuts are defined as a first cut (See annotated fig. below) and a second cut (See annotated fig. below), respectively, at least one pair of the first cut and the second cut is arranged such that the non- penetrating part (15) is formed between one of the ends of the first cut and the circumferential surface part of the second cut.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinkai as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hayter (CA 2956920).
Regarding claim 6, Shinkai does not disclose, the non-penetrating part has a half-cut structure in which the main body is cut to a predetermined depth in the thickness direction of the main body.
Hayter discloses a weakened line having a half-cut structure and cut line (page 27, lines 1-17).
It would have been obvious to try to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shinkai to have non-penetrating part that are half cut as taught by Hayter for the purpose of making the tearing process easy.
As a result, Shinkai as modified would have the non-penetrating part has a half-cut structure in which the main body is cut to a predetermined depth in the thickness direction of the main body.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinkai as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Syed (US 20100252555).
Regarding claim 9, Shinkai does not explicitly disclose, the main body is formed of a paper-based material.
Syed discloses a container lid formed of a paper-based material (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shinkai to make the main body is formed of a paper-based material as taught by Syed as they are recyclable and less harmful to the environment.
Conclusion
/SANJIDUL ISLAM/ Examiner, Art Unit 3736
/ORLANDO E AVILES/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3736