Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/15/2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 19, and 22 recite the conditional limitation "if." The use of the conditional term "if" introduces ambiguity regarding the boundaries of the claimed invention. It creates a choice between alternative steps or structural configurations without clearly defining which path is required for infringement. Under MPEP 2111.04, conditional limitations are treated as "contingent limitations."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 10, 13, 18 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2021/0119861 A1 by Tripathi et al. (hereafter referred to as Tripathi).
Regarding claim 1, Tripathi teaches A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (see at least Fig. 3), comprising:
a transceiver (see at least Fig. 3 (310)); and
at least one memory (see at least Fig. 3 (360)); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (see at least Fig. 3 (340, 360)) and configured to cause the UE to:
receive a first signaling indicating a cell movement type associated with a wireless cell (see at least ¶ [0058] and [0061]; “Examples of operations that can benefits from the NTN type include transmission and acquisition of system information, cell selection and network selection, handover, random access, DRX, data transfer, and paging.”); and
take, based at least in part on the cell movement type being quasi-Earth- fixed, one or more actions to account for the cell movement type being quasi-Earth-fixed (see at least ¶ [0059], [0061], and [0070]; “quasi-Earth-fixed beam”).
Regarding claim 5, Tripathi teaches the UE of claim 1. In addition, Tripathi teaches wherein the first signaling indicates a quasi-collocation relationship of a type "quasi-fixed" or "quasi-Earth- fixed" (see at least ¶ [0059]; “The NTN type can also differentiate among different types of beams such as Earth-fixed beams, quasi-Earth-fixed beams, and Earth-moving beams.”).
Regarding claim 10, Tripathi teaches A base station for wireless communication (see at least Fig. 2), comprising:
at least one memory (see at least Fig. 2 (230)); and
at least one processor coupled, with the at least one memory (see at least Fig. 2 (225, 230)) and configured to cause the base station to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a first signaling indicating a cell movement type associated with a wireless cell is quasi-Earth-fixed (see at least ¶ [0058] and [0061]; “Examples of operations that can benefits from the NTN type include transmission and acquisition of system information, cell selection and network selection, handover, random access, DRX, data transfer, and paging.”); and
take one or more actions to account for the cell movement type being quasi- Earth-fixed (see at least ¶ [0059], [0061], and [0070]; “quasi-Earth-fixed beam”).
Regarding claim 13, Tripathi teaches the base station of claim 10. In addition, Tripathi teaches wherein the first signaling indicates a quasi-collocation relationship of a type "quasi-fixed" or "quasi- Earth-fixed" (see at least ¶ [0059]; “The NTN type can also differentiate among different types of beams such as Earth-fixed beams, quasi-Earth-fixed beams, and Earth-moving beams.”).
Regarding claim 18, Tripathi teaches A method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving a first signaling indicating a cell movement type associated with a wireless cell (see at least ¶ [0058] and [0061]; “Examples of operations that can benefits from the NTN type include transmission and acquisition of system information, cell selection and network selection, handover, random access, DRX, data transfer, and paging.”); and
taking, based at least in part on the cell movement type being quasi-Earth-fixed, one or more actions to account for the cell movement type being quasi-Earth-fixed (see at least ¶ [0059], [0061], and [0070]; “quasi-Earth-fixed beam”).
Regarding claim 21, Tripathi teaches A processor for wireless communication (see at least Figs. 2 and 3), comprising:
at least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor to:
receive a first signaling indicating a cell movement type associated with a wireless cell (see at least ¶ [0058] and [0061]; “Examples of operations that can benefits from the NTN type include transmission and acquisition of system information, cell selection and network selection, handover, random access, DRX, data transfer, and paging.”); and
take, based at least in part on the cell movement type being quasi-Earth- fixed, one or more actions to account for the cell movement type being quasi-Earth- fixed (see at least ¶ [0059], [0061], and [0070]; “quasi-Earth-fixed beam”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tripathi as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, in view of LG ELECTRONICS INC: "Cell reselection based on time and location condition", 3GPP DRAFT; R2-2105786, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), (provided by applicant, hereafter referred to as LG).
Regarding claim 2, Tripathi teaches the UE of claim 1.
Tripathi does not appear to specifically teach wherein, to take the one or more actions, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to neglect an increase or a decrease of a quality of a signal of the wireless cell within a threshold quality value.
In the same field of endeavor, LG teaches wherein, to take the one or more actions, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to neglect an increase or a decrease of a quality of a signal of the wireless cell within a threshold quality value (see at least 2.1 timing information for earth-fixed beam: the earth-fixed beam fixes … even if the measured cell quality is good enough, it is not desirable .. to another cell again; existing cell reselection … how much the cell quality is good may not be really important because of the near-far-effect).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Tripathi with LG in order to aid in cell selection.
Regarding claim 11, Tripathi teaches the base station of claim 10.
Tripathi does not appear to specifically disclose wherein, to take the one or more actions, the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to transmit, to the UE, a second signaling indicating a beam fixing duration for the wireless cell.
In the same field of endeavor, LG teaches wherein, to take the one or more actions, the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to transmit, to the UE, a second signaling indicating a beam fixing duration for the wireless cell (see at least 2.1 timing information for earth-fixed beam: Thus, if service time period of each earth-fixed beam is provided).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Tripathi with LG in order to aid in cell selection.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tripathi as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, in view of ZTE CORPORATION ET AL: "Report of [AT115-e][108][NTN] idle mode aspects (ZTE)", 3GPP DRAFT; R2-2108889, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP),(provided by applicant, hereafter referred to as ZTE).
Regarding claim 12, Tripathi teaches the base station of claim 10.
Tripathi does not appear to specifically disclose wherein, to take the one or more actions, the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to transmit, to the UE, a second signaling indicating a time instant at which a beam switching occurs.
In the same field of endeavor, ZTE teaches wherein, to take the one or more actions, the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to transmit, to the UE, a second signaling indicating a time instant at which a beam switching occurs (see at least 3.2 Timing Info for earth moving cell: “the feeder link switch timing can be broadcasted by network, the all UEs will perform neighbor cell measurement at the feeder link switch timing”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Tripathi with LG in order to assist measurements and cell reselection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 6-8, 14-16, 19, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NATASHA W COSME/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465