Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/15/24 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim refers to “the surface of claim 10”. This should read “the method of claim 10”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 106082692 (YANG).
Regarding claims 1-2: The reference discloses forming a nanopattern on a glass substrate by etching. The nanopattern reduces the adhesion of dust/particulates. See Abstract.
Regarding claim 9: The surface may be formed of an organosilicon hydrophobic coating. See claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 106082692 (YANG).
Regarding claims 4-6: It is recognized that the reference does not disclose the claimed pitch and height ranges. However, the reference discloses patterning the surface of a glass substrate where the pattern has a pitch of 100nm and a height of 100nm. See claims 2 and 4. Theses values are within the disclosed ranges. The shape of the pattern may be varied, i.e. may be curved. See Figures 1 and 2.
Regarding claim 8: It is recognized the reference does not disclose all of the materials claimed as a substrate. However, the reference discloses glass.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 106082692 (YAANG) in view of US 2021/0331220 (SEKHAR).
Regarding claim 7: It is recognized that the YANG reference does not disclose a pattern having two different sizes. However, the SEKHAR reference discloses a patterned surface having two different scales (micro and nano). See claim 12. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the pattern of the SEKHAR reference in the YANG substrate. One would be motivated by the reasoned expectation of obtaining the improved dust mitigation.
Claims 3, 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 106082692 (YANG) in view of US 2013/0341823 (NAKAMATSU ET AL).
Regarding claims 3, 10-20: The YANG reference discloses the features of the claims, as described in the above 102 and 103 rejections, with the exception of producing the nanopattern via embossing. NAKAMATSU ET AL show that providing a nanoscale pattern via a nanoimprint mold is known when imprinting a polymer substrate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the NAKAMATSU method when using a polymer substrate such as in YANG claim 8.
While the references do not specify the percentage in the reduction of particulate contamination, one of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of changing the various production and usage factors to optimize the mitigation, i.e. varying the size/shape/height of the pattern, varying the substrate or particulate materials, etc.
/ELIZABETH E MULVANEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785